print preview

Security-relevant Technology and Industry Base (STIB)

Infographic Security-relevant Technology and Industry Base (STIB)

The STIB

A strong technological and industrial base is a component of armaments policy and thus also of security and defence policy in many nations. Switzerland in particular must take this aspect into consideration, because as a neutral nation which is not part of any defence alliance, it does not have any entitlement to military support by other nations. Research institutions and companies that have competencies, capabilities and capacities in the security and armaments industry in Switzerland form the STIB.

The STIB aims to contribute to reducing Switzerland’s dependencies on foreign countries in terms of armaments policy in defined areas. It should be able to ensure the central technological expertise and industrial capabilities for the Armed Forces and other institutions of national security in Switzerland with the required capacities.

Security-relevant economic activities

The security-relevant industrial sectors have been defined on the basis of the General Classification of the Economic Activities (NOGA). These essentially comprise the following business sectors:

  • Information technology, information services
  • Telecommunications
  • Electronics, electrical engineering , optics
  • Mechanical engineering
  • Repair and installation of machines and equipment
  • Metals, metal products
  • Rubber and plastic products
  • Chemical products
  • Vehicle construction, automotive parts
  • Aviation, (space transportation)
  • Technical, physical and chemical analysis
  • Research and development

Affiliation with such a branch of industry does not guarantee any entitlement to orders, funding or support services by the Swiss Confederation. Not everything which is basically designated as security-relevant is of equal significance for the DDPS. The economic activities have been prioritised differently for this reason. This prioritisation is an aid when using the control instruments to reinforce the STIB.

Control instruments

Armaments and civilian materials for the Armed Forces and other institutions of national security of the Swiss Confederation are procured in the areas of security-relevant focus technologies and industrial core skills, if possible within Switzerland.

In order to support the preservation and development of security-relevant key technologies and industrial core capabilities and capacities in Switzerland, despite procurements abroad, armasuisse binds foreign armament suppliers to an industrial cooperation with the STIB from a procurement volume of 20 million Swiss Francs. This aims to reduce foreign dependency on defence in the area of security-relevant key technologies and to fortify the security of supply of the Swiss Armed Forces.

Cooperation agreements with selected partners should enable Swiss companies to participate in international research projects and procurements as well as to access technologies and markets abroad. Specifically, this means that, for example, when concluding treaties or where armasuisse’s bilateral and multilateral cooperations are concerned, it is checked whether it is basically possible to include the STIB.

With applied research, scientific and technical competences which are required to support the entire armament procedure can be further developed. To this end, the DDPS awards research contracts and uses the networks with universities, colleges, institutes, industry and the administration at home and abroad. If possible, research contracts will be awarded within Switzerland.

The intensified cooperation of the DDPS with the federal agencies entrusted with the innovation promotion and policy (such as Innosuisse) aims to create incentives to strengthen the STIB. In addition, new vessels are to be created in order to make better use of the innovative capability of the Swiss economy and to be able to focus on the needs of the Armed Forces.

The DDPS maintains regular exchange with industry. This enables the STIB to focus on the future needs of the Armed Forces, to obtain current information on possible participation in international projects of armasuisse and to be informed on forthcoming changes in procurement relevant for them. In return, this exchange offers armasuisse the opportunity to become acquainted with new or previously unknown companies, as well as their competences and skills.

An efficient STIB requires competitive framework conditions which enable the companies to also offer internationally competitive products and services.

Documents

Technology and market monitoring

 

In 2018, self-registration in the STIB database was replaced by automated «Technology and Market Monitoring» (TMM). The data is collected via web crawlers which search publicly available sources such as the commercial register, company websites and social media channels. The data is scanned at regular intervals and updated monthly in TMM.

Thanks to TMM, companies can be found together with their information such as offered products, services and technologies. This enables companies to be visible both as potential (sub)suppliers as well as possible offset partners for procurements.


Center of Excellence STIB Federal Office for Defence Procurement armasuisse
Guisanplatz 1
3000 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 480 57 46

E-Mail

print preview

Sicherheitsrelevante Technologie- und Industriebasis (STIB)

Infografik Sicherheitsrelevante Technologie- und Industriebasis (STIB)

Die STIB

Eine leistungsfähige technologische und industrielle Basis ist in vielen Staaten eine Komponente der Rüstungspolitik und somit auch der Sicherheits- und Verteidigungspolitik. Gerade die Schweiz muss diesen Aspekt berücksichtigen, weil sie als neutraler Staat, der keiner Verteidigungsallianz angehört, keinen Anspruch auf militärische Unterstützung durch andere Staaten hat. Forschungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen, die in der Schweiz über Kompetenzen, Fähigkeiten und Kapazitäten im sicherheits- und wehrtechnischen Bereich verfügen, bilden die STIB.

Die STIB soll dazu beitragen, in definierten Bereichen die rüstungspolitischen Abhängigkeiten der Schweiz vom Ausland zu reduzieren. Sie soll in der Lage sein, die für die Armee und weitere Institutionen staatlicher Sicherheit des Bundes zentralen Technologiekompetenzen und Industriefähigkeiten mit den erforderlichen Kapazitäten in der Schweiz sicherzustellen.

Sicherheitsrelevante Wirtschaftszweige

Die sicherheitsrelevanten Industriebereiche wurden auf der Basis der allgemeinen Systematik der Wirtschaftszweige (NOGA) festgelegt. Im Wesentlichen werden darunter folgende Wirtschaftszweige verstanden: Informatik, Informationsdienstleistungen

• Informatik, Informationsdienstleistungen
• Telekommunikation
• Elektronik, Elektrotechnik, Optik
• Maschinenbau
• Reparatur und Installation von Maschinen und Ausrüstung
• Metall, Metallerzeugnisse
• Gummi und Kunststoffwaren
• Chemische Erzeugnisse
• Fahrzeugbau, Automobilteile
• Luftfahrt, (Raumtransport)
• Technische, physikalische und chemische Untersuchung
• Forschung und Entwicklung

Die Zugehörigkeit zu einem solchen Wirtschaftszweig garantiert keinen Anspruch auf Aufträge, Förderungs- oder Unterstützungsleistungen durch den Bund. Denn nicht alles, was grundsätzlich als sicherheitsrelevant bezeichnet wird, ist für das VBS von gleich grosser Bedeutung. Aus diesem Grund wurden die Wirtschaftszweige unterschiedlich priorisiert. Diese Priorisierung ist ein Hilfsmittel bei der Anwendung der Steuerungsinstrumente zur Stärkung der STIB.

Steuerungsinstrumente

Die Beschaffung von Rüstungsgütern und zivilem Material für die Armee und weitere Institutionen staatlicher Sicherheit des Bundes erfolgt in den Bereichen sicherheitsrelevante Schwerpunkttechnologien und industrielle Kernfähigkeiten wenn möglich im Inland.

Um trotz Beschaffungen im Ausland den Erhalt und Aufbau von sicherheitsrelevanten Schwerpunkttechnologien und industriellen Kernfähigkeiten und Kapazitäten in der Schweiz zu unterstützen, verpflichtet armasuisse ausländische Rüstungslieferanten ab einem Beschaffungsvolumen von 20 Millionen Franken zu einer industriellen Zusammenarbeit mit der STIB. Dadurch soll die wehrtechnische Abhängigkeit vom Ausland im Bereich der sicherheitsrelevanten Schwerpunkttechnologien reduziert und die Versorgungssicherheit der Schweizer Armee gestärkt werden.

Durch Kooperationsverträge mit ausgewählten Partnern können die Beteiligung von Schweizer Unternehmen an internationalen Forschungsprojekten und Beschaffungen sowie der Zugang zu Technologien und Märkten im Ausland ermöglicht werden. Konkret heisst dies, dass z.B. beim Abschluss von Staatsverträgen oder bei bi- und multilateralen Kooperationen der armasuisse geprüft wird, ob ein Einbezug der STIB grundsätzlich möglich ist.

Mit anwendungsorientierter Forschung können die wissenschaftlich-technischen Kompetenzen weiter aufgebaut werden, die zur Unterstützung des gesamten Rüstungsablaufs erforderlich sind. Dazu vergibt das VBS Forschungsaufträge und nutzt die Netzwerke zu Universitäten, Hochschulen, Instituten, der Industrie und der Verwaltung im In- und Ausland. Wenn möglich werden Forschungsaufträge im Inland vergeben.

Die verstärkte Zusammenarbeit des VBS mit den mit Innovationsförderung und -politik betrauten Bundesstellen (z.B. Innosuisse) soll Anreize zur Stärkung der STIB schaffen. Weiter sollen neue Gefässe geschaffen werden, um die Innovationsfähigkeit der Schweizer Wirtschaft besser nutzen und auf den Bedarf der Armee auszurichten zu können.

Das VBS pflegt einen regelmässigen Austausch mit der Industrie. Dadurch kann sich die STIB am zukünftigen Bedarf der Armee ausrichten, erhält aktuelle Informationen zur möglichen Beteiligung an internationalen Projekten der armasuisse und wird über anstehende, für sie relevante Änderungen im Beschaffungswesen informiert. Im Gegenzug bietet dieser Austausch armasuisse die Möglichkeit, neue oder bisher nicht bekannte Unternehmen und deren Kompetenzen und Fähigkeiten kennenzulernen.

Eine leistungsfähige STIB erfordert wettbewerbsfähige Rahmenbedingungen, die es den Unternehmen ermöglichen, auch international konkurrenzfähige Produkte und Dienstleistungen anzubieten.

Dokumente

Technologie und Markt Monitoring

2018 wurde die Selbstregistrierung in der STIB-Datenbank durch ein automatisiertes «Technologie und Markt Monitoring» (TMM) abgelöst. Die Daten werden via Webcrawler erhoben, welcher öffentlich verfügbare Quellen wie das Handelsregister, Firmenwebsites und Social-Media-Kanäle durchsucht. Die Daten werden in regelmässigen Abständen abgesucht und monatlich im TMM aktualisiert.

Dank des TMM sind Unternehmen mit ihren Informationen wie angebotene Produkte, Dienstleistungen und Technologien auffindbar. Dadurch werden Unternehmen sowohl als potentielle (Unter-)Lieferanten als auch als mögliche Offsetpartner bei Beschaffungen sichtbar.


Center of Excellence STIB Bundesamt für Rüstung
armasuisse
Guisanplatz 1
3000 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 480 57 46

E-Mail