print preview

Back Homepage

Study on offset transactions: Higher research intensity, higher export volume and higher export dynamics

Bern, 21.11.2022 – Companies which have the chance to exercise offset transactions for arms procurement exhibit a higher research intensity, a higher export volume and higher export dynamics than the relevant comparable sectors in each case. This is shown by an independent study from BAK Economics. Between 2018 and 2021, around one billion Francs flowed into Swiss industry thanks to these transactions. The study also shows which data can be used to measure the achievement of offset goals and transform it into periodic monitoring. Based on these results, armasuisse is continuing to expand the digitalisation of its working tools and is adjusting its processes.

As regards foreign armament business, the manufacturers must compensate for part or all of the order volume with orders placed to Swiss companies. To test the efficiency of these offset transactions, armasuisse commissioned an impact analysis from the economics research institute BAK Economics. The analysis is used to check which data can be used to measure the economic impact of offset transactions and whether there are any indicators for achieving the offset goals. It comprises three modules: a data analysis of the companies benefiting from offset, a company survey of these companies and a technological analysis of Swiss industry.

Higher research intensity, export volume and export dynamics

According to the data analysis, altogether 616 offset transactions were carried out in the period under review between 2018 and 2021, in which 194 Swiss companies were involved. The entire order volume amounted to around one billion Swiss Francs. Around 8% of the order volume can be directly allocated to offset transactions, where the economic performance of the benefiting Swiss company was directly incorporated in the procured armaments. The majority (92%) of the offset volume is concerned with indirect offset transactions, including those in the form of industrial and research assignments, the transfer of technology and expertise, as well as marketing support.

The analysis of the individual companies shows that those firms which have the chance to exercise offset transactions exhibit a higher research intensity, a higher export volume and higher export dynamics than the comparable sectors. It is not possible to state whether this result can be causally attributed to the offset policy (or other factors) without the availability of additional data points. From an economic perspective, it could further be expected that a higher level of productivity and/or growth is also associated with higher research and export activity, for which, however, no consistent evidence could be found.

Companies consider offsets as important

According to the company survey, the second module of the study, the companies tend to estimate the relevance of offset transactions more highly, the more they are oriented towards such transactions (share of turnover). In addition, the positive benefits of offset transactions tend to be more pronounced in SMEs than in large companies. Specifically, almost every third company surveyed assessed offset transactions as important or fairly important with regard to access to security-relevant key technologies, gain of expertise in these technologies, strengthening of export capability and thus their competitiveness overall. The companies surveyed thus indicated that they achieved around 7% additional exports through offset, for example, (SMEs 8.5%; large companies 2.5%). 95 of a total of 194 companies benefiting from offset took part in the company survey.

Swiss industry well positioned in security-relevant technology

The analysis of the research performance in the area of security-relevant fields of technology, the third module in the study, came to the conclusion that Swiss industry is well positioned in the global technological contest. The analysis, carried out based on patent data, attests to the fact that Swiss industry focuses on cutting-edge research, as the share of top patents is significantly above average in all fields of technology. Almost every fourth patent developed by Swiss researchers (23%) is what is known as a world class patent. Switzerland is thus in first place with regard to the effectiveness of research. In the security-relevant fields of technology, the share of the total number of globally active patents is 0.4%, while for the world class patents it is 1%. This means that Swiss researchers were involved in the development of every hundredth active world class patent.

The evaluation of the data for the group of companies participating in offset transactions shows that the patent dynamic of these firms lies within the STIB average. The average increase in the patent portfolio in security-relevant technologies cumulatively amounts to 23% (STIB:24%) in companies participating in offset between 2017 and 2021. It is important to consider here that the innovation effect in SMEs frequently appears less in the form of patented knowledge.

Digitalisation for better controlling quality

The study by BAK Economics also contains proposals under which conditions more comprehensive evaluations of the offset tool would be possible in future and could be transformed into periodic monitoring. The optimisation of the data collection process as well as the collection of additional data at the companies benefiting from offset transactions are at the forefront in this respect.

With the IT project “Digitalisation offset reporting”, started in 2021, armasuisse is creating a web-based platform for the reporting and controlling, as well as the statistical recording and evaluation of offset transactions. Automated processes will improve the quality of offset controlling and reduce the expenditure in this regard. In addition, the strategic controlling has been included in the current version of the offset policy as the basis for periodic monitoring.

Additional informations

Address for enquiries

Jacqueline Stampfli
Deputy Head of Communications armasuisse
+41 58 464 60 42

Publisher


Back Homepage

print preview

Retour Page d'accueil

Étude sur les affaires compensatoires: intensité de recherche, volume et dynamique d’exportations plus élevés

Berne, 21.11.2022 – Les entreprises qui participent aux affaires compensatoires d’acquisitions d’armement présentent une intensité de recherche plus élevée, tout comme un volume et une dynamique d’exportations plus importants que les secteurs comparables. Telle est la conclusion d’une étude indépendante de BAK Economics. De 2018 à 2021, près d’un milliard de francs ont été injectés dans l’industrie suisse grâce à ces affaires. L’étude montre par ailleurs quelles données permettent de mesurer l’atteinte des objectifs des affaires compensatoires et de la transférer dans un monitoring périodique. Sur la base de ces résultats, armasuisse continue de développer la numérisation de ses instruments de travail et adapte ses processus.

Dans le domaine des affaires d’armement à l’étranger, les fabricants doivent compenser une partie ou la totalité du volume de commande par des commandes passées à des entreprises suisses. Afin de vérifier l’effet de ces affaires compensatoires, armasuisse a commandé une analyse d’effet à l’institut de recherche économique BAK Economics. Dans le cadre de cette analyse ont été examinées les données permettant de mesurer les effets économiques des affaires compensatoires et de déterminer s’il existe des indices permettant d’atteindre les objectifs fixés en matière d’affaires compensatoires. L’analyse comprend trois modules: une analyse des données des entreprises bénéficiaires d’affaires compensatoires, un sondage auprès de ces entreprises et une analyse technologique de l’industrie suisse.

Intensité de recherche, volume et dynamique d’exportations plus élevés

Selon l’analyse des données, 616 affaires compensatoires ont été totalisées au cours de la période étudiée de 2018 à 2021, auxquelles 194 entreprises suisses ont participé. Le volume total de commande s’élevait à environ 1 milliard de francs suisses. Environ 8% du volume de commande peut être attribué à des affaires compensatoires directes, pour lesquelles la prestation économique de l’entreprise suisse bénéficiaire a été directement intégrée dans l’armement acquis. Pour la majeure partie (92%) du volume des affaires compensatoires, il s’agissait d’affaires compensatoires indirectes, entre autres sous forme de mandats industriels et de recherche, de transferts de technologie et de savoir-faire ainsi que de soutien marketing.

L’analyse des différentes entreprises montre que celles qui participent aux affaires compensatoires affichent une intensité de recherche, un volume et une dynamique d’exportations plus élevés que les secteurs comparables. Il est impossible de dire si ce résultat est dû à la politique d’affaires compensatoires (ou à d’autres facteurs) sans disposer de points de données supplémentaires. D’un point de vue économique, on pourrait s’attendre à ce que l’augmentation de l’activité de recherche et d’exportation s’accompagne d’un niveau et/ou d’une croissance plus élevés de la productivité, mais aucune preuve cohérente n’a pu être trouvée à ce sujet.

Les entreprises considèrent les affaires compensatoires comme importantes

Selon le sondage mené auprès des entreprises, le deuxième module de l’étude, ces dernières ont tendance à estimer que les affaires compensatoires sont d’autant plus importantes qu’elles sont orientées vers ce type d’affaires (part du chiffre d’affaires). De plus, l’utilité positive des affaires compensatoires a tendance à s’exprimer davantage dans les PME que dans les grandes entreprises. Dans le détail, près d’une entreprise interrogée sur trois estime que les affaires compensatoires sont «importantes» ou «plutôt importantes» en ce qui concerne l’accès aux technologies-clés liées à la sécurité, l’acquisition de savoir-faire dans ces technologies, le renforcement de la capacité d’exportation et donc, globalement, de leur compétitivité. Les entreprises interrogées ont par exemple indiqué que les affaires compensatoires leur avaient permis de réaliser environ 7% d’exportations supplémentaires (PME 8,5%; grandes entreprises 2,5%). 95 entreprises sur un total de 194 bénéficiaires d’affaires compensatoires ont participé au sondage.

L’industrie suisse bien positionnée dans les technologies liées à la sécurité

L’analyse de la performance de recherche dans les domaines technologiques liés à la sécurité, le troisième module de l’étude, conclut que l’industrie suisse est bien positionnée dans la compétition technologique mondiale. L’analyse effectuée sur la base des données relatives aux brevets atteste que l’industrie suisse met l’accent sur la recherche de pointe, car la proportion de brevets de pointe est nettement supérieure à la moyenne dans tous les domaines technologiques. Près d’un brevet sur quatre (23%) développé par des chercheurs suisses fait partie des brevets dits de classe mondiale. La Suisse se place ainsi au premier rang en termes d’efficacité de la recherche. La part du nombre total de brevets actifs au niveau mondial est de 0,4% dans les domaines technologiques liés à la sécurité et de 1,0% pour les brevets de classe mondiale. Cela signifie que des chercheurs suisses ont été à l’œuvre dans le développement d’un brevet de classe mondiale actif sur cent.

L’évaluation des données pour le groupe d’entreprises ayant une participation dans des affaires compensatoires montre que la dynamique des brevets de ces entreprises se situe dans la moyenne de la BTIS. L’augmentation moyenne du portefeuille de brevets dans les technologies liées à la sécurité est de 23% cumulés entre 2017 et 2021 pour les entreprises ayant une participation dans des affaires compensatoires (BTIS: 24%). Il convient ici de tenir compte du fait que souvent, l’effet d’innovation se manifeste moins sous la forme de connaissances brevetées dans les PME.

La numérisation pour améliorer la qualité du controlling

L’étude de BAK Economics contient également des propositions sur les conditions dans lesquelles des évaluations plus complètes de l’instrument Affaires compensatoires seraient possibles à l’avenir et pourraient être transférées dans un monitoring périodique. L’optimisation du processus de collecte de données ainsi que la collecte de données supplémentaires auprès des entreprises bénéficiaires d’affaires compensatoires figurent en tête de liste à cet égard.

Au moyen du projet informatique «Numérisation du reporting des affaires compensatoires» lancé en 2021, armasuisse entend créer une plateforme en ligne pour la déclaration, le contrôle et la saisie des affaires compensatoires à des fins statistiques. Des processus automatisés permettent d’accroître la qualité du controlling des affaires compensatoires et de réduire la charge de travail induite par ce controlling. En outre, le contrôle stratégique a été intégré dans la version actuelle de la politique en matière d’affaires compensatoires en tant que base d’un monitoring périodique.

Plus d'informations

Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Jacqueline Stampfli
Suppl. chef de la communication d’armasuisse
+41 58 464 60 42

Editeur


Retour Page d'accueil