print preview

DDPS strengthens Cyberdefence Partnership with EPFL

Bern, 29.08.2019 – The Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sport (DDPS) strengthens its cyberdefence partnership with EPFL with the inauguration of the Cyberdefence Campus in Lausanne (Sept 5th) and a two-day conference on artificial intelligence (Sept 5-6th).

Cyberdefence requires today a collaborative effort to quickly adapt to new threats and develop the needed competences and skills. The Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sport (DDPS) has established a new site of its Cyberdefence (CYD) Campus at the EPFL Innovation Park in Lausanne and has entered into a partnership with EPFL's Center for Digital Trust (C4DT). This partnership will strengthen collaboration in research and development between DDPS's CYD Campus and EPFL's innovation centre by enabling news ways of open collaboration between researchers, the industry and armasuisse Science and Technology. The focus of the partnership is to foster technology transfer and innovation in cyberdefence with priorities in technologies for cyber security, digital trust, data science and artificial intelligence.
 
This partnership is inaugurated with a two-day conference on artificial intelligence with two keynotes and ten talks from leading international experts coming from research, industry and government. The conference will discuss the role of upcoming cyber threats and trends in artificial intelligence that are relevant for the defence and security sector.

This new partnership is part of the DDPS action plan for cyberdefence and supports the National strategy for Switzerland's protection against cyber risks (NCS). The CYD Campus is the link between the Federal Department of Defence, academia and the industry and serves as an anticipation platform for cyber developments.

Additional informations

Address for enquiries

Jacqueline Stampfli
Deputy Head of Communication armasuisse
+41 58 464 60 42

Publisher

print preview

Le DDPS renforce son partenariat de cyberdéfense avec l’EPF Lausanne

Berne, 29.08.2019 – L’inauguration du Cyberdefence Campus à Lausanne le 5 septembre prochain et une conférence de deux jours les 5 et 6 septembre marqueront le début du partenariat renforcé en matière de recherche et de développement entre le Département fédéral de la défense, de la protection de la population et des sports (DDPS) et l’EPF Lausanne.

La cyberdéfense nécessite des efforts coordonnés pour s’adapter rapidement aux nouvelles menaces et développer les compétences et capacités requises. Le Département fédéral de la défense, de la protection de la population et des sports (DDPS) a par conséquent implanté un nouveau site du Cyberdefence (CYD) Campus à Lausanne, marquant le début d’un partenariat avec le « Center for Digital Trust » (C4DT) de l’EPF Lausanne. Placé sous le signe d’une collaboration plus étroite en matière de recherche et de développement entre le CYD Campus du DDPS et le centre d’innovation de l’EPFL, ce partenariat offrira de nouvelles perspectives de collaboration ouverte entre les chercheurs, l’industrie et armasuisse, Sciences et Technologies. La collaboration mettra l’accent sur la promotion des transferts de technologies et d’innovations dans les domaines de la cyberdéfense, en accordant la priorité à la cybersécurité, à la confiance numérique (Digital Trust), à la science des données et à l’intelligence artificielle.
 
Une conférence de deux jours pour marquer ce démarrage et consacrée à l’intelligence artificielle fera en outre intervenir des experts internationaux de premier plan issus du monde de la recherche, de l’industrie et des autorités à l’occasion de deux allocutions inaugurales et de dix présentations. Elle discutera du rôle que joueront les futures cybermenaces et les développements dans le domaine de l’intelligence artificielle pertinents pour le secteur de la défense et de la sécurité.

Ce nouveau partenariat appartient à la réalisation du Plan d’action cyberdéfense du DDPS et soutient la Stratégie nationale de protection de la Suisse contre les cyberrisques (SNPC). Le CYD Campus sert de lien entre le DDPS, le monde académique et l’industrie pour les aspects de la cyberdéfense liés à la technologie et comme plateforme d'anticipation.

Plus d'informations

Adresse pour l'envoi de questions

Jacqueline Stampfli-Bieri
Suppléante du chef de la communication d’armasuisse
+41 58 464 60 42

Editeur