print preview

A look ahead to the electrified mobility of the DDPS

In 2019, the Federal Council developed the «Federal Government’s Climate Package», an ambitious roadmap for reducing greenhouse gas emissions in the federal government. Each administrative unit in the federal government is obliged to significantly reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 2030. An important step on this path is the electrification of administration vehicles and the parallel setup of an efficient charging infrastructure.

Real Estate, Department of Environmental Management, Norms and Standards, Cédric Fridez | Land Systems, Department of Commerce Order, Kurt Etter

Kurt Etter and Cédric Fridez are standing at the tram stop at Guisanplatz. In the background you can see the armasuisse area AC G1.

 

Kurt Etter and Cédric Fridez work at armasuisse in the areas of Land Systems and Real Estate Management. We asked them how the future of e-mobility stands in the DDPS department.

Mr. Etter, why is the government currently electrifying a part of its vehicle fleet?

The government is aware of its role model status. It wants to shape the future through an active approach, which has led to the new policy of acquiring mainly purely electrically driven passenger cars and delivery vans for the vehicle fleet. The goals require committed action: With the newly registered administration vehicles up to 3.5 tons, at least 20% must be electrically driven by the end of 2022. In addition, passenger cars must be in the two most energy-efficient categories (category A or B of the energy label of the Swiss Federal Office of Energy).

And how will the roadmap from 2022 look?

Over the next few years, the supply of purely electrically driven vehicle models will steadily increase in the market. The climate package’s specification for new registrations by 2022 is an absolute minimum requirement. In order to reach the DDPS’ declared reduction goal of 40% of CO2, we must consistently focus on purely electrically driven vehicles.
The quota of electrically driven vehicles is expected to increase again by 20% during the period between 2022 and 2025, and by a further 30% up to 2030. Thus at least 70% of our administration vehicles will be completely electrified in the next ten years, corresponding to around 2100 electric vehicles.

How many tons of CO2 will be saved in this manner? And does the electrification of the vehicle fleet offer further advantages?

If we assume that a typical administration vehicle covers 15,000 kilometres a year, then a purely electrically driven vehicle emits around 2.3 tons less CO2 than a comparable vehicle with a combustion engine. Thus around 1200 litres of diesel or petrol can be saved for each vehicle, each year. A further advantage of electrical vehicles (known as Battery Electrical Vehicles) which should not be underestimated is the comparatively low operating cost. They are also quieter and thus make a considerable contribution to low-noise mobility. 

Mr. Fridez, you are faced with the task of setting up a DDPS-wide network with charging stations for electrical vehicles. Where do you start?

We need to plan a charging network over the entire life cycle of an electrical vehicle and establish it all over Switzerland. I am part of an interdisciplinary team at armasuisse Real Estate which has accepted this challenging task. From a technical point of view, numerous recommendations, which we have tailored to the needs of the DDPS, are already available from the manufacturers and the technical bodies. We are now testing the charging infrastructure in a pilot project up to the end of 2021.

What kind of insights do you hope to gain from the pilot project and where are the greatest challenges?

The pilot project will be implemented by the specialist department Construction Management East at locations all over Switzerland, which will have as many different requirements and infrastructures as possible. In the pilot project, we are laying the foundations for testing the relatively new technology in operation.
The project’s challenges lie in the complexity of the numerous requirements. We need to take into account the most diverse topics, for example, the digitalisation of processes, of billing (meter to cash). At the same time, we must be able to guarantee legal security for users, investors and system landscapes of manufacturers. We need to develop these issues in as short a time as possible, and learn quickly from the experiences we have made. This is the only way we can meet the high expectations our users have of the charging infrastructure of the future.

Will I also be able to charge my private vehicle at the DPPS charging stations in the future?

That isn’t possible at the moment. Service vehicles of up to 3.5 tons, which are used by professional military employees, have the most urgent priority. In further steps, charging facilities will then also be created for other user groups. This is, by the way, already being tested in the pilot project mentioned earlier.

Finally a question to both of you: Which means of transport do you personally use in your private and professional life?

Kurt Etter: I combine public transport with my own electric car. I therefore continue to be as flexible as I was before, while also making a contribution to the environment.
Cédric Fridez: I’m a convert! Since I changed my job, I have mutated from a convinced combustion engine fan to an almost invariable electric vehicle user. I mainly travel to work by train these days or by public transport in general. Privately, I have also discovered the e-mountain bike, although I only switch on the battery for support on the way back from a tour if possible.

Brief profile Kurt Etter

Kurt Etter works in the competence sector Land Systems at armasuisse and is responsible for procuring administration vehicles and delivery vans up to 3.5 tons total weight for the entire federal administration.

Brief profile Cédric Fridez

Cédric Fridez works at armasuisse Real Estate in the specialist area Environmental Management, Standards and Norms as an electrical consultant, «Instrumentation and Control» (MSRL) and protection from «Electromagnetic Pulses» (EMP).


armasuisse Immobilien Guisanplatz 1
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 463 20 20

E-Mail


Öffnungszeiten Telefonzentrale über Auffahrt

Montag bis Mittwoch
08:00 - 12:00/ 13:15 - 17:00

Donnerstag und Freitag
Geschlossen



Öffnungszeiten Telefonzentrale

Montag bis Donnerstag
08:00-12:00/ 13:15-17:00

Freitag
08:00-12:00/ 13:15-16:00

print preview

Coup d’œil sur l’avenir de la mobilité électrique du DDPS

En 2019, le Conseil fédéral, par le biais de son «train de mesures pour l’administration fédérale», a élaboré une feuille de route ambitieuse visant à diminuer les émissions de gaz à effet de serre au sein de l’administration fédérale. Chaque unité administrative est ainsi tenue de réduire nettement ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre d’ici à l’année 2030. Une étape importante dans cet objectif réside dans l’électrification des véhicules de l’administration et la mise en place simultanée d’une nouvelle infrastructure de recharge efficace.

Immobilier, domaine spécialisé gestion de l'environnement, normes et standards, Cédric Fridez | Systèmes terrestres, domaine spécialisé Commerce Order, Kurt Etter

Kurt Etter et Cédric Fridez se trouvent à l'arrêt de tramway de la Guisanplatz. A l'arrière-plan, vous pouvez voir la zone d'armasuisse VZ G1.

 

Kurt Etter et Cédric Fridez travaillent chez armasuisse dans les domaines Systèmes terrestres et Gestion immobilière. Nous leur avons demandé comment se présentait l’avenir de l’e-mobilité au DDPS.

Monsieur Etter, pourquoi la Confédération électrifie-t-elle actuellement une partie de sa flotte de véhicules?

La Confédération est consciente de son rôle d’exemple. Elle entend modeler l’avenir à travers une action énergique. C’est pour cette raison que la flotte de véhicules est désormais gérée selon le principe de l’acquisition de voitures de tourisme et de véhicules de livraison 100% électriques. Ces objectifs exigent une action résolue: d’ici fin 2022, au moins 20% des nouvelles immatriculations de véhicules de l’administration d’un poids allant jusqu’à 3,5 tonnes doivent être dotés d’une motorisation électrique. Par ailleurs, les voitures de tourisme doivent faire partie des deux catégories les plus efficaces sur le plan énergétique (catégorie A ou B de l’étiquette-énergie de l’Office fédéral de l’énergie).

Et quelle est la feuille de route à partir de 2022? 

Dans les prochaines années, l’offre en modèles de véhicules purement électriques va s’accroître sur le marché. La prescription issue du train de mesures sur le climat pour les nouvelles immatriculations d’ici 2022 doit être considérée comme une exigence minimale absolue. Pour parvenir à l’objectif de réduction de 40% du CO2 visé par le DDPS, nous devons systématiquement miser sur les véhicules à propulsion totalement électrique.
Pour la période allant de 2022 à 2025, la part de nouveaux véhicules à propulsion électrique devrait encore augmenter de 20%, puis de 30% supplémentaires d’ici 2030. En dix ans, au moins 70% des véhicules de l’administration fédérale seront ainsi entièrement électrifiés, ce qui correspond environ à 2100 véhicules électriques.

Combien de tonnes de CO2 cette mesure permettra-t-elle d’économiser? Et l’électrification de la flotte de véhicules offre-t-elle d’autres avantages?

Si nous partons du principe qu’un véhicule type de l’administration parcourt 15 000 kilomètres par an, un véhicule purement électrique émet environ 2,3 tonnes de CO2 de moins qu’un véhicule comparable à moteur à combustion. Par véhicule et par an, on peut ainsi économiser près de 1200 litres de Diesel ou d’essence. L’un des autres avantages non négligeables des véhicules électriques (appelés Battery Electrical Vehicles) sont les coûts d’exploitation relativement avantageux. De plus, ils sont moins bruyants et contribuent ainsi nettement à la mobilité silencieuse. 

Monsieur Fridez, vous avez pour mission de mettre en place un réseau de stations de recharge pour les véhicules électriques dans tout le DDPS. À quoi vous attaquez-vous en premier?

Il s’agit de planifier un circuit de recharge sur tout le cycle de vie d’un véhicule électrique et de le déployer dans toute la Suisse. Je fais partie d’une équipe interdisciplinaire d’armasuisse Immobilier à qui incombe de relever cette tâche ambitieuse. Au niveau technique, les fabricants et les organes spécialisés ont déjà émis de nombreuses recommandations que nous avons adaptées aux besoins du DDPS. Nous testons à présent l’infrastructure de recharge jusqu’à fin 2021, dans le cadre d’un projet pilote.

Quels enseignements espérez-vous tirer du projet pilote et où se situent les principaux défis?

Le projet pilote est mis en œuvre par le domaine spécialisé Gestion des projets de constructions Est, sur des sites répartis dans toute la Suisse, qui présentent un très grand nombre d’exigences et d’infrastructures différentes. Ce projet pilote nous permet de jeter les bases nécessaires pour tester une technique relativement récente.
Les défis du projet se situent dans la complexité des nombreuses exigences. Nous devons prendre en compte les choses les plus variées, comme la numérisation des processus, de la facturation (Meter to Cash). Dans le même temps, nous devons pouvoir assurer la sécurité juridique des utilisateurs, des investisseurs et des infrastructures systèmes des fabricants. Ces aspects doivent être traités au plus vite, nous devons apprendre rapidement des expériences réalisées. C’est la seule façon de répondre aux attentes élevées de nos utilisateurs à l’égard de la future infrastructure de recharge.

Pourrai-je, à l’avenir, faire aussi le plein pour mon véhicule privé aux stations de recharge du DDPS?

Cela ne fonctionne pas encore pour le moment. La priorité la plus urgente est donnée aux véhicules de fonction de moins de 3,5 tonnes, utilisés par les employés militaires. Dans d’autres étapes consécutives, il est prévu de créer des possibilités de recharge pour d’autres groupes intéressés. Cela sera d’ailleurs déjà testé dans le cadre du projet pilote déjà évoqué.

Une dernière question à vous deux: quel moyen de transport utilisez-vous personnellement tant au plan professionnel que privé?

Kurt Etter: Je combine les transports publics et mon véhicule électrique privé. Ainsi, je garde la même souplesse qu’avant et je contribue à la protection de l’environnement.
Cédric Fridez: Je suis un converti! Depuis mon changement de lieu de travail, je suis passé du fanatique des moteurs à combustion à l’utilisateur de véhicules presque exclusivement électriques. Je me rends au travail principalement en train ou par les transports publics. Sur le plan privé, j’ai découvert le VTT électrique, en activant de préférence la batterie que sur le chemin du retour de mes sorties, à titre d’aide.

Bref portrait Kurt Etter

Kurt Etter travaille au Centre de compétences Systèmes terrestres d’armasuisse. Il est responsable de l’acquisition des véhicules et des voitures de livraison jusqu’à un poids total de 3,5 tonnes pour toute l’administration fédérale.

Bref portrait Cédric Fridez

Cédric Fridez travaille chez armasuisse Immobilier, au domaine spécialisé Gestion de l'environnement, normes et standards UNS, en tant que conseiller technique Électro, «Mesure, commande, régulation et gestion» (MCRG) et protection contre les «impulsions électromagnétiques» (EMP).


armasuisse Immobilier Guisanplatz 1
CH-3003 Berne
Tél.
+41 58 463 20 20

E-Mail


Heures d'ouverture demandes par téléphone

Lundi - Jeudi
08:00-12:00/ 13:15-17:00

Vendredi
08:00-12:00/ 13:15-16:00