print preview

Dr Bernhard Knechtenhofer, Head of the Command and Control and Reconnaissance Systems competence sector in a short interview

Kaj-Gunnar Sievert, specialist area Communications, Resources and Support

What makes the work at armasuisse special? Sent as SMS

The work at armasuisse is meaningful, as we make a significant contribution to the security of our country. This sense of purpose is very satisfying for me. On top of that, I find the work contents – our projects – very exciting. I enjoy working for armasuisse. Sent as SMS

Why are more women welcome at armasuisse? Sent as SMS

I am convinced that mixed teams often produce even better supported solutions. On top of this, we will have to replace numerous colleagues who are retiring over the next few years as a result of our age pyramid in the CCR sector. Without women, we would barely be able to fill these positions. Sent as SMS

Can leadership be learned? Sent as SMS

Much, but not everything can be learned. It certainly helps a lot if the manager has a certain flair for dealing with people and situations. With training and concrete personal experiences, this tendency can be specifically influenced, complemented and/or encouraged. Sent as SMS

Which topics will you as a manager take with you from this time of the pandemic? Sent as SMS

The last year has shown that we can also deliver good results in other forms of cooperation. I see the work on site as an advantage, in particular in creative work or in staff appraisals and negotiations. Pure information transfer can also be performed very efficiently via SKYPE. Sent as SMS

How do you switch off from work? Sent as SMS

When I come home in the evening and my children tell me all about what they have been doing throughout the day, I forget my work very quickly. The family and my various activities alongside my work at armasuisse always help me to switch off quickly from work. Sent as SMS

What do you laugh about? Sent as SMS

I can laugh a lot - in particular about myself. Not everything in life is so deadly serious. I am an optimist and I see many good things each day which make me laugh. Sent as SMS

Brief profile

Dr. Bernhard Knechtenhofer has been Head of the Command and Control and Reconnaissance Systems competence sector at armasuisse since December 1, 2019. His area of responsibility includes procurement projects such as the Telecommunications of the Armed Forces (TK A). Dr. Knechtenhofer studied Economics at the University of St Gallen and graduated with a doctorate. He was then active in the private sector and switched to the Federal Administration in 2006. Dr. Knechtenhofer finally joined armasuisse following various different roles and administrative units. Dr. Knechtenhofer also holds a Master of Advanced Studies in Security Policy and Crisis Management from ETH Zurich.

print preview

Brève interview avec Bernhard Knechtenhofer, chef du domaine de compétences Systèmes de conduite et d’exploration

Kaj-Gunnar Sievert, domaine spécialisé Communication, ressources et support

Qu’est-ce qui rend le travail chez armasuisse particulier ? Envoyé par SMS

Le travail chez armasuisse a un sens car nous apportons une contribution essentielle à la sécurité de notre pays. Cette utilité est très gratifiante pour moi. De plus, je trouve le contenu du travail - nos projets - passionnant. J’aime travailler pour armasuisse.  Envoyé par SMS

Pourquoi la présence de plus de femmes chez armasuisse est-elle bienvenue ? Envoyé par SMS

Je suis convaincu que des équipes mixtes apportent souvent des solutions encore plus solides. De plus, du fait de la pyramide des âges du domaine SC+E, nous devrons remplacer de nombreux départs à la retraite dans les prochaines années. Sans les femmes, nous aurons du mal à pourvoir ces postes. Envoyé par SMS

Est-ce que diriger s’apprend ? Envoyé par SMS

Beaucoup s’apprend mais pas tout. Cela aide beaucoup si le cadre a déjà un certain flair pour les personnes et les situations. Par des formations et l’expérience personnelle concrète, il est possible d’agir sur cette prédisposition, de la compléter et/ou de la stimuler. Envoyé par SMS

En tant que cadre, quels enseignements avez-vous tirés de la pandémie ? Envoyé par SMS

L’année écoulée a montré que nous pouvions également obtenir de bons résultats avec d’autres formes de coopération. Je considère le travail sur site comme un avantage, notamment pour le travail créatif ou pour les entretiens et les négociations avec le personnel. Mais le simple échange d’informations via SKYPE peut être tout autant efficace. Envoyé par SMS

Comment déconnectez-vous du travail ? Envoyé par SMS

Lorsque je rentre à la maison le soir et que mes enfants me racontent leur journée, j’oublie rapidement le travail. La famille et mes différentes activités à côté de mon travail chez armasuisse me permettent toujours de décrocher rapidement du travail. Envoyé par SMS

Qu’est-ce qui vous fait rire ? Envoyé par SMS

J’aime beaucoup rire, en particulier de moi-même. Tout n’est pas aussi sérieux dans la vie. Je suis un optimiste et je vois chaque jour beaucoup de choses qui me font rire. Envoyé par SMS

Bref portrait

Bernhard Knechtenhofer est le chef du domaine de compétence Systèmes de conduite et d’exploration d’armasuisse depuis le 1er décembre 2019. Son domaine de responsabilité comprend des projets d’acquisition comme le projet Télécommunications de l’armée (TC A). Knechtenhofer a étudié les sciences économiques à l’université de Saint-Gall où il a obtenu son doctorat. Il a travaillé ensuite dans le secteur privé avant d’entrer dans l’administration fédérale en 2006. Après avoir occupé diverses fonctions dans différentes unités administratives, Knechtenhofer entre finalement chez armasuisse. Knechtenhofer possède par ailleurs un Master of Advanced Studies en Security Policy and Crisis Management de l’EPF de Zurich.