print preview

Thomas Knecht, Head of competence sector Purchasing and Cooperations in a short interview

Kaj-Gunnar Sievert, specialist area Communications, Resources and Support

What makes your work at armasuisse so fascinating? Sent as SMS

No day is the same as any other. The diversity of topics and challenges at armasuisse is absolutely unique. I value the cooperation with colleagues as well as with our customers at the Armed Forces. The work on the various committees of the DDPS, but also at federal level, is very rewarding. Sent as SMS

From which professional experiences does the main customer, the Armed Forces, benefit from you the most? Sent as SMS

My various career stations in the private sector provided me with a “basic set” of experiences, in particular in the area of procurement. Business knowledge, as well my skills in public procurement and those of my colleagues help the main customer to receive correctly procured, economic solutions. Sent as SMS

armasuisse as a career starter and/or lateral entrant? Sent as SMS

Both. armasuisse is an extremely attractive employer for both groups. armasuisse offers outstanding support for career starters, regardless of which profession. Lateral entrants are also always welcome to join us. They contribute valuable external perspectives to our working environment.   Sent as SMS

What has changed in your management style with the pandemic/home workplace? Sent as SMS

My participatory management style has proved to be very successful, even in the current period.  Naturally there have been one or two situations in which direct management and corresponding decisions were called for. Other than that, I try to maintain contact with my management team via the various communication channels and especially via personal (telephone) contact). Sent as SMS

Which topics will you as a manager take with you from this time of the pandemic? Sent as SMS

That the management principles of armasuisse also had their significance during the pandemic and will continue to do so. The successful performance of tasks is not possible without trust in your colleagues, especially in times of crisis. I am extremely impressed at the high level of flexibility and the commitment of my colleagues during this pandemic. Sent as SMS

How do you switch off from work? Sent as SMS

I am privileged to live in a family with my wife and our 3 children. As they all have very different needs at 10, 16 and 19 years old, it’s a challenge.  I thus spend an enjoyable part of my free time helping with homework, performing chauffeur services, acting as a sports coach, etc. These are extremely enriching activities which represent a good contrast with my work. Sent as SMS

Brief profile

Thomas Knecht (55) holds a Masters in Public Management from the University of Bern and is a qualified businessman from the HKG (College of Higher Education). After various professional roles in the private sector, he joined today’s armasuisse in 2001. Following several different appointments, he was promoted to vice-director in 2008 and today heads the competence sector Purchasing and Operations.

print preview

Brève interview avec Thomas Knecht, chef du domaine de compétences Achats et coopérations

Kaj-Gunnar Sievert, domaine spécialisé Communication, ressources et support

Qu’est-ce qui rend votre travail chez armasuisse aussi passionnant ? Envoyé par SMS

Chaque jour est différent. Les sujets et défis qui s’offrent à moi chez armasuisse sont incroyablement diversifiés. J’apprécie la collaboration avec les collègues ainsi qu’avec nos clients de l’armée. Le travail, dans les différents organes du DDPS comme au niveau fédéral, est vraiment enrichissant. Envoyé par SMS

Parmi vos expériences professionnelles, quelle est celle qui bénéficie le plus à votre client principal – l’armée ? Envoyé par SMS

Les différents postes que j’ai occupés dans le secteur privé m’ont fourni une expérience de base dans différents domaines, et plus particulièrement dans celui de l’acquisition. Mes connaissances en gestion d’entreprise et en marchés publics, ainsi que celles de mes collaborateurs, nous permettent de fournir à notre client principal des solutions économiques dans les conditions fixées. Envoyé par SMS

Peut-on travailler chez armasuisse lorsqu’on débute dans la vie professionnelle ou que l’on vient d’un autre secteur ? Envoyé par SMS

La réponse est oui dans les deux cas. armasuisse est un employeur extrêmement attractif pour ces deux groupes. Nous offrons un excellent encadrement aux débutants, quelle quel que soit la profession, et les personnes issues d’autres secteurs sont toujours les bienvenues chez nous. Elles apportent une vision des choses différente qui est très précieuse pour notre travail.  Envoyé par SMS

Dans quelle mesure la pandémie et le télétravail ont-ils changé votre style de management ? Envoyé par SMS

Mon style de management participatif s’est également avéré très efficace dans les conditions actuelles. Il y a bien eu l’une ou l’autre situation requérant un management directif et des prises de décision, évidemment. Cela mis à part, j’essaye de rester en contact avec mon équipe de direction par les différents canaux de communication, et plus particulièrement par téléphone, afin de maintenir un contact personnel. Envoyé par SMS

En tant que cadre, quels enseignements avez-vous tirés de la pandémie ? Envoyé par SMS

Que les principes de conduite d’armasuisse gardaient toute leur signification durant une pandémie – et après. Il est indispensable de faire confiance à ses collaborateurs afin de garantir une fourniture de prestations efficace, particulièrement en temps de crise. Je suis très impressionné par la grande flexibilité et l’engagement dont nos collaborateurs ont fait preuve durant la pandémie. Envoyé par SMS

Comment déconnectez-vous du travail ? Envoyé par SMS

J’ai le privilège de vivre en famille, avec ma femme et nos trois enfants. À 10, 16 et 19 ans, ils ont des besoins fort différents et je suis très sollicité. Je passe donc une bonne partie de mes loisirs à surveiller les devoirs, faire le chauffeur, encadrer les activités sportives, etc. Ce sont des activités très enrichissantes, qui me changent du travail. Envoyé par SMS

Bref portrait

Thomas Knecht (55 ans) est titulaire d’un Master of Public Management de l’Université de Berne et a suivi une formation commerciale à l’école supérieure de gestion commerciale (ESGC). Après différentes activités professionnelles dans le secteur privé, il a rejoint ce qui est aujourd’hui armasuisse en 2001. Après avoir occupé diverses fonctions, il a été promu vice-directeur en 2008 et dirige aujourd’hui le domaine de compétences Achats et coopérations.