print preview

«My rusty German skills did not prevent me from settling in quickly»

In an interview, Rudy Yangi Y'Alili talks about his time as a university intern and how things will continue for him afterwards.

Specialist Area Communication, Alisha Held

Picture of Rudy Yangi Y'Alili, university intern Law
Rudy Yangi Y'Alili is a university intern in the Department of Law, Transport and Customs. He studied law at the University of Geneva.

How were your first three months at armasuisse?
My first three months at armasuisse were, above all, a period of settling in. First of all, I had to adapt from a linguistic point of view. Then I had to familiarise myself with the organisation of armasuisse and the working methods in the various specialist departments of armasuisse’s legal services.

On the whole, this phase went very well. This was due to my good integration in the legal services department as well as with the colleagues in other competence areas – despite my somewhat rusty German skills. The introductions to the various fields of law, which I received from colleagues in the legal services, were also helpful.

What were your highlights in the work here?
For me, there were three special highlights:

  • My involvement in the development of the Cyber Defence campus in the competence sector Science and Technology (S+T). My task was to prepare sample contracts for the cooperation between the Cyber Defence Campus and external partners. This gave me an insight into an interesting area.
  • The possibility of being able to negotiate an amicable settlement with a lawyer, almost independently, in a liability case involving armasuisse real estate.
  • The opportunity to celebrate with work colleagues at the “Fête de l'Escalade” and to smash the symbolic chocolate pot. It was a great opportunity to experience a Geneva tradition.

Do you have the option of staying with armasuisse? If you do, which department and position?
Yes, I have been offered a position as a legal expert in the competence area S+T – in the Swiss Drone and Robotics Centre (SDRZ), even though I actually belong to the Law Department from an administrative point of view. It will be a temporary contract, starting on August 1, 2020 and ending on January 31, 2021.

Which challenges do you see yourself facing?
In the more distant future, on February 1, 2021, a major challenge awaits me: my legal internship in a law firm in Geneva. I would like to be admitted to the bar. However, after more than one year of professional legal experience, I will approach this new challenge with determination and confidence.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
In five years, I see myself as a lawyer in law firm or in the Federal Administration. After a year in the service of the Swiss Confederation, I would say that the various professional opportunities as a lawyer in the Federal Administration have convinced me.

print preview

«Même mes connaissances rouillées de l'allemand n'ont pas empêché une acclimatation rapide»

Dans cet interview, Rudy Yangi Y'Alili parle de son expérience comme stagiaire de haute école et de la façon dont il va continuer après cela.

Domaine spécialisé Communication, Alisha Held

Photo de Rudy Yangi Y'Alili, stagiaire d'haute école au sein du domaine spécialisé de droit
Rudy Yangi Y'Alili est stagiaire d'haute école au département du droit, des transports et des douanes. Il a étudié le droit à l'Université de Genève.

Comment se sont passés tes trois premiers mois chez armasuisse ?
Mes trois premiers mois chez armasuisse étaient surtout des mois d'acclimatation. En effet, j'ai dû dans un premier temps m'adapter d'un point de vue linguistique, et ensuite connaître l'organisation d'armasuisse ainsi que la méthode de travail dans les différents domaines du droit relevant du service juridique d'armasuisse.

Dans l'ensemble cette période s'est très bien déroulée, grâce à une bonne intégration tant au sein du service juridique, qu'avec d'autres collègues d'autres domaines de compétence (et ce malgré mon allemand quelque peu rouillé…), mais également grâce à des séances d'introduction pour chaque domaine du droit dispensé par les collègues du service juridique.

Quels ont été les temps forts de ton travail chez nous ?
Je citerais trois moments forts :

  • Mon implication dans le développement du Cyber Defense campus du domaine de compétence S+T à travers la rédaction de modèles de contrats de collaboration entre le Cyber Defense Campus et des partenaires externes. Cette expérience m'a fait découvrir un domaine très intéressant.
  • La possibilité de pouvoir négocier de manière quasi autonome un accord à l'amiable avec un avocat, dans le cadre d'un cas de responsabilité civile impliquant armasuisse immobilier.
  • Pouvoir célébrer « la fête de l'escalade » avec les collègues au CAG1, en brisant la marmite en chocolat symbolique. Ce un excellent moment de partage des traditions genevoises.

As-tu la possibilité de rester chez armasuisse ? Si oui, dans quelle division et à quel poste ?
Oui j'ai reçu une offre pour une place de juriste au sein du domaine de compétence S+T (centre suisse de drone et de robotique même si administrativement je reste intégré au sein du RSRe). Il s'agit d'un contrat de durée déterminée qui débute le 1er août 2020 et se termine le 31 janvier 2021.

Quels défis penses-tu devoir relever ?
Dans un avenir plus lointain, le 1er février 2021, un grand défi m’attend : mon stage d’avocat dans une étude à Genève. Je voudrais obtenir mon brevet d’avocat. Mais après plus d’une année d’expérience juridique, j’aborderai ce nouveau défi avec détermination et confiance.

Où te vois-tu dans 5 ans ?
Dans 5 ans je me vois en tant qu'avocat au sein d'un cabinet ou juriste au sein de l'administration fédérale. Après avoir passé un an au service de la Confédération je dirais que j'ai été convaincu par les différentes possibilités au sein de l'administration fédérale en tant que juriste.