print preview

Research at armasuisse Science and Technology

The world in which we live is characterised by technological progress. And this progress is forging ahead ever more rapidly. However, in addition to the advantages that this change involves, we are all also facing ever greater challenges. How will our world change, and what will the consequences be for people and for the environment? Finding answers to these questions is particularly relevant for those involved in security issues. For this reason, armasuisse Science and Technology is posing precisely these questions.

Elianne Egli, Innovation and Processes, Science and Technology

Front view of the General Guisan House (GHH) in Thun.
A large part of armasuisse S+T’s research activities take place in the General-Herzog-Haus (GHH) in Thun.

When the patron of armasuisse S+T’s location, General Hans Herzog, co-founded the Federal Construction Works in Thun in 1863, he would probably not have dreamed possible what would become reality almost 160 years later. On the fourth floor of the General-Herzog-Haus in Thun, simulation specialists are reproducing the world as a digital twin, in the sensor laboratory on the second floor, an experiment is currently being planned in which it is possible to see through the clouds, and in the neighbouring building, walking robots and flying drones abound. Technology is striding forward at a dizzying pace. They are major drivers in the configuration of modern armies and key factors of successful operational management. Keeping up with technological development is thus essential – not just for the procurement areas of armasuisse, but also for the Armed Forces.

Making knowledge useful for the DDPS

armasuisse S+T’s research activities are structured into research programmes, the contents of which are largely oriented to the operational capabilities of the Armed Forces. Six research programmes are currently active:

  • Reconnaissance and Surveillance
  • Communications
  • Cyberspace and Data Science
  • Impact, Protection and Safety
  • Unmanned Mobile Systems
  • Technology Foresight

In addition, there are the two interdisciplinary areas «Human Factors and Complexity Management» and «Materials Sciences and Energy».

Research in the area of security is also carried out at universities as well as in industry. Industry is trying to make itself fit for tomorrow’s market through its research. As a result, it has very focussed and in-depth knowledge. Universities also perform excellent research work. Knowledge with regard to technologies for national security is, however, only fragmentarily available as no technical military degree courses are offered at universities in Switzerland. This is where armasuisse S+T comes into play. It develops this outstanding technological knowledge for the DDPS. The scientists in the General-Herzog-Haus network the existing competences from various different research institutions and industries both in Switzerland and abroad and make them – supplemented with their own findings from trials and experiments – usable for the DDPS.

Support for decision makers

A solid decision-making basis is created in defence as well as in armasuisse, based on these findings. The knowledge required for complex planning will thus be made available to decision makers, for example, in the Armed Forces staff. The head of Research Management at armasuisse S+T, Dr. Hansruedi Bircher, clarifies: «The Armed Forces staff has to plan our army. For this purpose, it needs to know how technology is developed, what is in store for us and what impact the development has on the skills portfolio.»

Next stop: Innovation

In the future, however, findings will no longer only be generated at armasuisse S+T, they will also be tested. Innovation projects are planned to introduce more innovation into the Armed Forces in future, while simultaneously making armasuisse S+T’s knowledge transparent. In this way, S+T is preparing the DDPS for the technologies of tomorrow, thus making an important contribution to security in Switzerland.

print preview

La recherche chez armasuisse Sciences et technologies

Le monde dans lequel nous vivons est marqué par les progrès technologiques qui vont en s’accélérant. Si ce tournant présente une multitude d’avantages, il s’accompagne également de défis toujours plus importants. Comment notre monde va-t-il évoluer, avec quelles conséquences pour les humains et l’environnement ? Trouver des réponses à ces questions revêt une importance cruciale pour les acteurs de la sécurité, raison pour laquelle armasuisse Sciences et technologies s’y attèle.

Elianne Egli, Innovation et processus, Science et technologie

Vue de face de la General-Guisan-Haus (GHH) à Thoune
Le bâtiment General-Herzog-Haus (GHH) à Thoune concentre la majeure partie des activités de recherche d’armasuisse S+T.

L’un des co-fondateurs de la société de construction Eidgenössische Konstruktions Werkstätte de Thoune en 1863, le général Hans Herzog – qui a donné son nom au site d’armasuisse S+T – n’aurait sans doute pas pu imaginer les possibilités qui s’offrent à nous près de 160 ans plus tard. Installés au quatrième étage du bâtiment, des spécialistes de la simulation ont créé un « jumeau » virtuel de notre monde, tandis que le laboratoire de capteurs du 2e étage prépare actuellement une expérience permettant de voir à travers les nuages, et que des bâtiments adjacents abritent des robots de marche et des drones volants. Les technologies progressent à une vitesse vertigineuse. Elles constituent des moteurs essentiels pour l’organisation des armées modernes et des facteurs-clés pour la bonne conduite des opérations. Il est donc indispensable de suivre le rythme de ces évolutions, tant dans le domaine des acquisitions d’armasuisse que dans celui de l’armée.

Exploitation des connaissances par le DDPS

Les activités de recherche d’armasuisse S+T se répartissent au sein de programmes dont le contenu est largement aligné sur les capacités opérationnelles de l’armée. Six programmes de recherche sont actifs à l’heure actuelle :

  • Reconnaissance et surveillance
  • Communication
  • Espace cybernétique et Data Science
  • Effets, protection et sécurité
  • Systèmes autonomes sans pilote
  • Prospective technologique

À cela s’ajoutent les deux thèmes transversaux « Gestion de la complexité et facteurs humains » et « Sciences des matériaux et énergie ».

Des recherches dans le domaine de la sécurité sont menées aussi bien dans les universités que le monde industriel. À travers ses projets, l’industrie s’efforce de se préparer au marché de demain et dispose par conséquent de connaissances particulièrement spécialisées et approfondies. Les universités mènent elles aussi d’excellents travaux de recherche. Les connaissances technologiques pertinentes pour la sécurité nationale sont toutefois fragmentaires puisque les universités suisses ne proposent aucune filière consacrée aux technologies militaires. C’est là qu’intervient armasuisse S+T en fournissant d’excellentes connaissances technologiques pour le compte du DDPS. Les scientifiques de la General-Herzog-Haus font le lien entre les compétences existantes au sein de nombreux instituts de recherche et industries, en Suisse comme à l’étranger, et les rendent exploitables pour le DDPS tout en y ajoutant les résultats de leurs propres essais et expériences.

Soutien aux décideurs 

Ces enseignements contribuent à établir de solides bases décisionnelles dans le domaine de la défense et au sein d’armasuisse. Les décideurs, à l’instar de ceux de l’État-major de l’armée, disposent alors des connaissances nécessaires pour établir des planifications complexes. Le Dr. Hansruedi Bircher, responsable de la gestion de la recherche au sein d’armasuisse S+T, de préciser : « L’État-major de l’armée assure la planification. Il doit donc savoir comment évolueront les technologies, ce à quoi nous devons nous attendre et l’influence de ces évolutions sur l’éventail des capacités de l’armée. »

Prochaine étape : l’innovation

À l’avenir, armasuisse S+T devra non seulement produire des connaissances, mais aussi les tester. Des projets visent à introduire davantage d’innovations au sein de l’armée, tout en renforçant la transparence des connaissances d’armasuisse S+T. S+T prépare ainsi le DDPS pour les technologies de demain, tout en apportant une contribution précieuse à la sécurité de la Suisse.