print preview

Cluster and cross-sectional area Optronics in the specialist area Command and Control Systems

The first part of the Optronics series deals with the aspects of the cross-sectional function Optronics in the Cluster Optronics of the specialist area Command and Control Systems.

Stefan Keller, Specialist area Command and Control systems, Competence sector Command and Control and Reconnaissance Systems

The graphic shows a drawn thermal imaging device on orange background with the writing "optronics"
The graphic shows a drawn thermal imaging device on orange background with the writing "optronics"

A cluster (also known as an agglomeration) refers to a group of objects or topics with similar properties. The Cluster denotes the team involved in Optronics procurement.

Cluster Optronics

The Cluster Optronics is responsible for the procurement of optronic devices. The term optronics denotes the connection between optics and semiconductor electronics. This connection is sometimes also called opto-electronics or optotronics. Optronics refers in general to modern, optical surveillance and reconnaissance systems, observation and target acquisition systems.

The team in the Cluster Optronics in general deals with optronic systems such as thermal imaging devices (WBG), residual light amplifiers (RLV) and the respective laser modules (LM) laser light modules (LLM), as well as multifunctional laser range finders (MLEM).

Image Thermal imager of large visibility (WBG LR 19) in use at the observation post.
Thermal imager of large visibility (WBG LR 19) in use at the observation post.

Optronic devices enable surroundings to be better perceived during the day, but in particular at night. They are used in a variety of ways – from being installed in a fixed position on planes, helicopters or vehicles, to use in drone defence or directly with soldiers and firefighters.

Optronic devices are of great importance when it comes to substantially improving the all-weather and night combat capability of the troops. They enable pilots and soldiers to see at night, quickly identify missing people and recognise and identify various objects over long distances.

Cross-sectional area Optronics

The cross-sectional area Optronics has been created in the Cluster Optronics as the contact partner for optronic solutions.

Optronic systems are required and used for different purposes. The specialist area Command and Control Systems has developed a profound knowledge of the procurement of optronic devices over the last few years and would like to make this available in the form of a service.

The cross-sectional area Optronics’ potential customers include all competence sectors within armasuisse, the Armed Forces Staff, the Joint Operations Command and Training and Education Command, as well as the Federal Office of Police, the Federal Customs Administration and various Cantonal Police.

Scope of activities

In the procurements with a share of optronics, individual solutions are often in demand in order to provide optimum cover for customer needs.

The cross-sectional area Optronics stands for straightforward support. Customers are advised at the initialisation of their projects. Thanks to their long-term experience, the specialist area Command and Control Systems can quickly identify challenges in the area of Optronics and provide support through their advisory function.

In future, the service aims to propose the ideal optronic solution for various projects. In particular, it is hoped that synergies will be created through the concentration of activities in the area of market surveys and coordination with industry.

print preview

Cluster et niveau supradépartemental Optronique dans le domaine spécialisé Systèmes de conduite (DS FAF)

La première partie de la série optronique traite des aspects de la fonction transversale optronique au sein du cluster Optronique du domaine spécialisé Systèmes de conduite.

Stefan Keller, domaine spécialisé Systèmes de conduite, domaine de compétences Systèmes de conduite et d’exploration

Titel Optronik

Un cluster désigne un groupe d’objets ou de sujets ayant des caractéristiques similaires. Le cluster fait référence à l’équipe chargée des acquisitions en matière d’optronique.

Le cluster Optronique est responsable de l’acquisition d’appareils d’optroniques. Le terme optronique est une combinaison d’optique et d'électronique. Cette combinaison est appelée optoélectronique dans le domaine civil. Par optronique, on entend généralement les systèmes d’observation, de détection ainsi que les systèmes de mesure de buts.

L’équipe au sein du cluster Optronique s’occupe généralement des systèmes optroniques tels que les appareils à image thermique (AIT), les intensificateurs de lumière résiduelle (ILR), les modules lasers dédiés (ML), les pointeurs laser multifonction (PLM) et les télémètres à laser multifonction (TLM).

Image de l’appareil à image thermique de longue portée (AIT LR 19) en mission à son poste d’observation
Image de l’appareil à image thermique de longue portée (AIT LR 19) en mission à son poste d’observation

Les appareils d’optronique permettent une meilleure perception de l’environnement de jour, mais surtout de nuit. Ils sont utilisés de diverses manières : des installations fixées sur les avions, les hélicoptères ou les véhicules à celles de défense contre les drones, en passant par celles utilisées directement par les soldats ou les pompiers.

Les appareils optroniques revêtent une grande importance lorsqu’il s’agit d’améliorer de manière significative l’aptitude au combat des troupes par tous les temps et de nuit. Ils permettent aux pilotes et aux soldats de voir la nuit, de détecter rapidement des personnes disparues ou intrus et d’identifier divers objets même à longue distance.

Niveau supradépartemental Optronique

Le niveau supradépartemental Optronique nouvellement créé au sein du cluster Optronique est l’interlocuteur pour les solutions concernant l'optronique.

Les systèmes optroniques sont requis et utilisés de différentes manières. Au cours des dernières années, le domaine spécialisé des Systèmes de conduite a accumulé une grande expertise en matière d’acquisition d’appareils d’optronique et souhaite mettre ces connaissances à disposition sous forme d’un service.

Parmi les « clients » potentiels du niveau supradépartemental Optronique, on compte tous les domaines de compétences d’armasuisse, l’État-major de l’armée, le commandement des opérations et le commandement de l’instruction ainsi que fedpol, l’administration des douanes et différentes polices cantonales.

Domaine d’attribution

Dans le domaine des acquisitions d'appareils optroniques, des solutions spécifiques sont souvent nécessaires pour répondre de manière optimale aux besoins des clients.

Le niveau supradépartemental Optronique apporte une assistance simple et efficace. Les clients sont conseillés lors de l’initialisation de leurs projets. Fort de ses années d’expérience, le domaine spécialisé des Systèmes de conduite est en mesure d’identifier rapidement les défis dans le domaine de l’optronique et d’apporter son soutien par le biais de ses conseils.

À l’avenir, le service proposera la solution d’optronique optimale pour différents projets. Il s’agit en particulier de créer des synergies en concentrant les activités dans le domaine des analyses du marché et de la coordination avec l’industrie.