print preview

Airfield ground weather at the military airfields

Meteorological information plays a crucial role in aviation. Wind, clouds and visibility are particularly important criteria when planning flights as well as when operating an airfield. The following article presents various tools for measuring meteorological information.

Raphael Neuhaus, specialist area Command and Control Systems, competence sector Command and Control + Reconnaissance Systems

A picture shows a cloud and the address Cluster Meteo below

 

With the Airfield Ground Weather system (Flpl Bo Wet), measuring equipment is installed at both ends of the runway. The sensor data is forwarded for processing to the servers and visualised via clients.

Sketch of airfield runway with sensor system, server and clients
Schematic diagram of Bo Wet 20

The sensor data and reports (METAR - METeorological Aerodrome Report) supplied by the system form the basis for the safe operation of an airfield and for the airfield weather forecasts essential for planning flights (TAF - Terminal Aerodrome Forecast). Knowledge of the current weather at the airfield is an essential requirement for preparing and executing missions.

Due to the increasing joint use of the military airfields for civilian purposes and the standardised quality of flying weather data, it is essential that the measurement equipment and the data processing chain (METAR creation) comply wherever possible with the international civilian guidelines (ICAO).

METAR is a standardised report in short form which describes the meteorological observation of an individual airfield. Wind information such as direction and wind force, visibility, type and intensity of precipitation, cloud, height and density of cloud cover and air pressure are all conveyed. Visibility and ceiling are also shown as a colour code (colour state).

The new Bo Wet 20 system is currently being installed on the military airfields and will replace the existing Bo Wet 94 system. The Bo Wet 20 system will be equipped with new ground weather sensors from Vaisala and the software SMART from MeteoSchweiz. Using SMART, the flying weather observations can also be generated and dispatched automatically (Auto METAR).

METAR report with explanation on how to read it
Description of a METAR report
© MeteoSchweiz

Why is measuring equipment set up at both ends of the runway?

When the Föhn wind is blowing in Meiringen, the situation is such that the south wind (Föhn) blows at the southern end of the runway while the north valley wind blows at the northern end. A similar situation also exists in Locarno, where the north wind from the Verzasca Valley blows against the valley wind of the Magadino plain. It goes without saying that the pilot needs to know at take-off and landing from which direction the wind is blowing and how strong it is. And whether there is ground fog in the autumn is also an important factor.

SMART client with the data from the ground weather system
View of SMART software
© MeteoSchweiz

print preview

Système de données météo au sol sur les aérodromes militaires

Les données météo jouent un rôle crucial dans l’aéronautique. Le vent, les nuages et la visibilité sont des critères particulièrement importants pour la planification des vols et le fonctionnement d’un aérodrome. L'article ci-dessous présente divers instruments de mesure des données météo.

Raphael Neuhaus, domaine spécialisé Systèmes de conduite, domaine de compétences Systèmes de conduite et d’exploration

Sur une photo, on voit un nuage, et en dessous, on peut lire Cluster Météo

 

Le système de données météo au sol pour aérodromes (Flpl Bo Wet) comprend des équipements de mesure installés à chaque extrémité de piste. Les données des capteurs sont envoyées vers des serveurs pour traitement, puis affichées sur des logiciels clients.

Schéma de piste d’aérodrome avec capteurs, serveur et clients
Schéma de principe Bo Wet 20

Les données des capteurs et les messages transmis par le système (METAR – METeorological Aerodrome Report) sont un élément fondamental d'un fonctionnement parfaitement sûr des aérodromes, ainsi que des prévisions météorologiques sur les aérodromes qui sont indispensables à la planification des vols (TAF – Terminal Aerodrome Forecast). Connaître la météo sur l’aérodrome au moment de la planification de vol est un impératif pour préparer et mener les missions.

La co-utilisation civile de plus en plus fréquente des aérodromes militaires et la qualité uniforme des données météo de vol imposent d’utiliser autant que possible des équipements de mesure et une chaîne de traitement des données (présentation des METAR) conformes aux directives internationales (OACI).

Les METAR sont de brefs messages standardisés qui relatent les observations météorologiques sur un aérodrome donné. Ils donnent des informations sur la direction et la force des vents, sur la visibilité, le type et l’intensité des précipitations, l’opacité atmosphérique, l’altitude et la densité des nuages, ainsi que la pression atmosphérique. La visibilité et le plafond sont également présentés selon un code couleur (Colourstate).

Le nouveau système Bo Wet 20, en cours d’installation sur les aérodromes militaires, remplace le système existant Bo Wet 94. Le système Bo Wet 20 est doté de nouveaux capteurs météo au sol Vaisala et du logiciel SMΛRT de MétéoSuisse. SMΛRT permet également de générer et d’envoyer automatiquement les observations météo (Auto-METAR).

Message METAR avec instructions de lecture
Description d’un message METAR
© MeteoSchweiz

Pourquoi des équipements de mesure sont-ils installés aux deux extrémités de la piste ?

À Meiringen, il peut arriver que l’extrémité sud de la piste soit déjà soumise à un vent du sud (le fœhn), tandis qu’un vent de vallée de secteur nord persiste au nord de la piste. Une situation similaire est observée à Locarno, où un vent du nord provenant du val Verzasca fait face au vent de la plaine de Magadino. Il va de soi que les pilotes ont besoin de connaître la direction et la force du vent au moment du décollage comme de l’atterrissage. La présence ou non de brouillard au sol en automne est également un facteur important.

Client SMART avec informations du système météo au sol
Visuel du logiciel SMART
© MeteoSchweiz