print preview

«Digital Transformation: the fascination with the potential of possibilities and doing what was hitherto unthinkable.»

Thomas Rothacher, Head of competence sector Science and Technology and Deputy National Armaments Director at armasuisse, talks in an interview about armasuisse’s «Digital Journey» and the digitalisation technologies of the future. He explains why augmented reality/virtual reality, artificial intelligence and data science have great potential.

Lea Ryf, specialist area Communication, competence sector Resources and Support

Thomas Rothacher, Head of competence sector Science and Technology and Deputy National Armaments Director, talks in an interview about digitalisation and digital transformation.
Portrait image of Thomas Rothacher, Head of competence sector Science and Technology at armasuisse and Deputy National Armaments Director.

The «Digital Journey» is a learning journey through the technological, organisational and cultural transformation process in the DDPS and at armasuisse. What was your motivation in signing up as the representative at armasuisse for the Digital Journey?

We are living in times of enormous technological transformation, which heavily influences our (working) life. These changes interest me and I am happy to contribute to this topic, while at the same time I am interested in getting to know as many different perspectives as possible in more detail.

We are living in times of enormous technological transformation, which heavily influences our (working) life.

 

Can you tell us more about the ambitions and the areas of activity for digitalisation at armasuisse which will serve as the compass during the «Digital Journey»? And what does this mean broken down for the competence sector Science and Technology?

I tend to split up digitalisation into different areas. On the one hand, it will be important to achieve consistency of data, particularly in processes throughout the entire Federal Administration, but also across the interfaces with our partners. On the other hand, digitalisation will enable us to take advantage of completely different (military) opportunities, in particular when I think of artificial intelligence (KI) or data science. Digitalisation thus means so much more than reproducing analogue processes electronically.

Digitalisation thus means so much more than reproducing analogue processes electronically.

 

What do digitalisation and the digital transformation process mean in your competence sector Science and Technology?

As I already mentioned, advancing technological change is opening up many new possibilities in the area of digitalisation. We are attempting to investigate the impact of this technological transformation on the capabilities of the Armed Forces. For example: What will change as a result of being able to evaluate enormous amounts of data records by AI? How must armed forces be set up in the future, and which knowledge, which skills do they need to have? Interesting questions which we respond to in simulations using AI methods and to which we provide possible answers.

Digitalisation is a central topic for us and likewise affects the structure of our organisation. Over the last few years, new competence centres such as the Cyber Defence Campus (CYD Campus) and the Swiss Drone and Robotics Centre (SDRC) have thus been created. I am convinced that we will make our organisation even more flexible (not to mention even more agile) in the future.

What opportunities and risks of digitalisation and digital transformation lie in store for armasuisse?

With the knowledge and understanding prevalent in armasuisse, we should succeed in taking a leading role. We must have the courage to transform not only our digital tools, but also our processes and our culture. I already see various implemented approaches in this regard, such as the new flexible forms of work.

I foresee risks most likely in the speed of implementation and in the area of the culture of error. Our behaviour is characterised by conceptual approaches and enormous risk mitigation, in other words, to not make any mistakes if possible. My feeling is that this behaviour is no longer appropriate everywhere. Speed is gaining in significance. Trying things out and learning from them is becoming more important.

Speed is gaining in significance. Trying things out and learning from them is becoming more important.

 

Which technologies do you visualise in 5-10 years with regard to digitalisation at armasuisse?

Augmented reality/virtual reality will be our constant companion, to design new system solutions, for example, or to perpetrate 3D models in the area of infrastructure or to hold meetings with our avatars. AI and data science will support us in finding new solutions and approaching new suppliers. Development, production and supply chains will be continuously digitalised and we will become a part of this chain.

However, I believe it to be key that we as human beings will still remain in the centre.

What does digitalisation mean for you personally?

Fascination with the brave new world!

Brief portrait of Thomas Rothacher

Thomas Rothacher (50) has been working in various organisations and roles at armasuisse since 1998. Since 1 August 2013, he has been Head of the competence sector Science and Technology in Thun. He was appointed Deputy National Armaments Director on 1 March 2020. Following his apprenticeship as a metallurgy lab technician, he studied physics, mathematics and philosophy at the University of Bern and graduated in 1998 with an MSc in physics. In addition to his successfully acquired doctorate (PhD) in 2004, he completed additional in-service training and courses in further education, both at the University of St Gallen and abroad.

print preview

« Transformation numérique : la fascination du potentiel des possibilités, à l’œuvre de ce qui était impensable jusqu’à présent. »

Dans cet entretien, Thomas Rothacher, chef du domaine de compétences Sciences et technologie et suppléant du directeur général de l’armement, évoque le « parcours numérique » d’armasuisse et les technologies numériques du futur. Il explique pourquoi la réalité augmentée, la réalité virtuelle, l’intelligence artificielle et la Data Science ont un grand potentiel.

Lea Ryf, domaine spécialisé Communication, domaine de compétences Ressources et support

Portrait de Thomas Rothacher, chef du domaine de compétences Sciences et technologie d’armasuisse et suppléant du directeur général de l’armement.
Thomas Rothacher, chef du domaine de compétences Sciences et technologie et suppléant du directeur général de l’armement, interviewé sur la numérisation et la transformation numérique.

Le « Digital Journey » est un voyage d’apprentissage à travers le processus de transformation technologique, organisationnel et culturel au sein du DDPS et d’armasuisse. Qu’est-ce qui vous a motivé à vous engager en tant que représentant d’armasuisse pour le parcours numérique ?

Nous vivons à une époque marquée par une évolution technologique fulgurante, qui a un grand impact sur notre vie, notamment professionnelle. Ces changements m’intéressent, et m’impliquer dans cette thématique me plaît. J’ai envie de connaître en détail un maximum de perspectives différentes.

Nous vivons à une époque marquée par une évolution technologique fulgurante, qui a un grand impact sur notre vie, notamment professionnelle.

 

Pouvez-vous nous en dire plus sur les ambitions et les champs d’action de la numérisation chez armasuisse, qui servent de boussole du « parcours numérique » ? Et qu’est-ce que cela implique si on l’applique au domaine de compétences Sciences et technologie ?

J’ai tendance à subdiviser la numérisation en différents champs. L’objectif est d’un côté d’arriver à la continuité et à la fluidité des données, notamment dans les processus de toute l’administration fédérale, mais aussi au niveau des interfaces avec nos partenaires. De l’autre côté, le virage numérique développera nos capacités et mettra à notre disposition des moyens (militaires) entièrement différents, notamment dans le domaine de l’intelligence artificielle (IA) ou de la Data Science. La numérisation va donc bien au-delà de la représentation électronique des processus analogiques.

La numérisation va donc bien au-delà de la représentation électronique des processus analogiques.

 

Qu’impliquent la numérisation et le processus de transformation numérique dans votre domaine de compétences Sciences et technologie ?

Comme signalé précédemment, les progrès technologiques offrent beaucoup de nouvelles possibilités dans le domaine du numérique. Nous essayons de déterminer l’impact de cette évolution technologique sur les capacités de l’armée. Par exemple, qu’est-ce qui change du fait des possibilités d’analyser d’énormes fichiers au moyen de l’IA ? Comment les forces armées devront-elles se présenter à l’avenir ? De quelles connaissances et capacités devront-elles disposer ? Autant de questions intéressantes auxquelles nous répondons ou pour lesquelles nous montrons des réponses possibles dans des simulations basées sur des méthodes issues de l’IA.

La transformation numérique nous donne beaucoup à faire et a aussi des répercussions sur la structure de notre organisation. Ainsi, ces dernières années, de nouveaux centres de compétences comme le Cyber-Defence Campus (CYD Campus) et le Centre Suisse des Drones et de la Robotique (CSDR) ont été créés. Je suis persuadé que demain, nous rendrons notre organisation encore plus flexible, pour ne pas dire plus agile.

Quels sont les risques et les opportunités de la numérisation et de la transformation numérique pour armasuisse ?

Grâce aux connaissances dont dispose armasuisse, et vu sa conception des choses, elle devrait réussir à jouer un rôle de leader dans ce domaine. Nous devons avoir le courage de transformer non seulement nos outils numériques, mais aussi nos processus et notre culture. Je constate que certaines approches, comme les nouvelles formes de travail flexibles, ont déjà été mises en œuvre.

J’entrevois des risques plutôt en termes de vitesse de mise en œuvre et de culture de l’erreur. Notre comportement est marqué par des approches conceptuelles et une énorme réduction du risque, donc la volonté de commettre le moins d’erreurs possibles. Je suis convaincu que ce comportement n’est plus toujours approprié. La vitesse gagne en importance. Il devient plus important de tester des choses et d’en tirer des enseignements.

La vitesse gagne en importance. Il devient plus important de tester des choses et d’en tirer des enseignements.

 

Quelles technologies entrevoyez-vous d’ici 5 à 10 ans en ce qui concerne la numérisation chez armasuisse ?

La réalité augmentée ou la réalité virtuelle nous accompagneront constamment, par exemple pour concevoir de nouvelles solutions systèmes, accomplir des modèles en 3D dans le domaine de l’infrastructure ou tenir des réunions avec nos avatars. L’IA et la Data Science nous soutiendront pour trouver de nouvelles solutions et aborder de nouveaux fournisseurs. Les chaînes de développement, de production et de livraison seront numérisées de bout en bout et nous ferons partie de cette chaîne.

Il me paraît toutefois essentiel que nous restions l’élément central en tant que personnes.

Que signifie pour vous personnellement la numérisation ?

La fascination d’un nouveau monde qui a tant à offrir !

Bref portrait de Thomas Rothacher

Thomas Rothacher, 50 ans, a rejoint armasuisse en 1998, où il a occupé différentes fonctions dans diverses organisations. Il dirige le domaine de compétences Sciences et technologie à Thoune depuis le 1er août 2013. Le 1er mars 2020, il a été nommé suppléant du directeur général de l’armement. Après un apprentissage de laborantin en métallurgie, il a étudié la physique, les mathématiques et la philosophie à l’Université de Berne, où il a obtenu un MSc in Physics en 1998. Titulaire d’un PhD depuis 2004, il a également suivi des formations initiales et continues en cours d’emploi, notamment à l’Université de St-Gall et à l’étranger.