print preview

«Digitalisation aims to increase efficiency and in particular to provide relief in administrative activities»

JUD Andreas Müller-Storni, Strategic Head of GEVER and Head of competence sector Resources and Support, and Stefan Marti, Digitalisation Officer at armasuisse and Head of Enterprise Development – two key people answer questions on the «internal» digitalisation of armasuisse.

Romy Joller, specialist area Communications, competence sector Resources and Support

Portrait of Andreas Müller-Storni, Strategic Head of GEVER and Stefan Marti, Digitalisation Officer at armasuisse
Andreas Müller-Storni, Strategic Head of GEVER and Stefan Marti, Digitalisation Officer at armasuisse

Digitalisation, an ubiquitous concept. What does it mean for you, Mr. Müller-Storni?

For me, digitalisation means automated, continuous processes which make my daily work easier.

Mr. Marti, what does digitalisation mean for armasuisse?

What a question to start with, wow! You might as well ask me, what is the meaning of life... everyone understands digitalisation differently. For some, it is the transformation of the beloved paper document into a scanned PDF document. For others, it is the use of artificial intelligence (AI) or the use of quantum computer technology. As part of my work, I distinguish between «internal» and «external» digitalisation. «Internal» covers processes, the use of tools and the employees who need to/should use these tools. “External» applies to all the work in the area of Science and Technology, as well as the procurement and maintenance of systems and real estate.

Mr. Müller-Storni, which opportunities do you see in the ongoing digitalisation for the competence sector Resources and Support as well as armasuisse in general?

Digitalisation aims to increase efficiency and in particular to provide relief in administrative activities. You can thus invest more time in intellectual work, develop yourself and your own area as well as take on new tasks without encountering resource constraints straight away.

Mr. Marti, what is your role in this continuous transformation process?

In addition to my current role as Head of Enterprise Development, I have been appointed Digitalisation Officer at armasuisse. I have thus taken on the role of central point of contact for the topic of digitalisation. In future, I will probably devote most of my time to «internal» digitalisation. However, digitalisation is not a one-man show – quite the opposite! Together with Fabian Brechbühl (Chief Information Officer at armasuisse) we will put together a team spanning the whole of armasuisse, which will look after digitalisation. To this end, we want to break new ground and break existing patterns.

 

Mr. Müller-Storni, are there instruments which can help the employees to continue to drive digitalisation forward?

For me as the Strategic Head of GEVER armasuisse, Acta Nova is currently the best instrument available to us for further advancing digitalisation using existing resources, namely by reviewing and analysing our workflows to see whether they can be executed using a business transaction via Acta Nova. In Resources and Support, we have taken on a pioneering role in this regard, as interdisciplinary processes are very well suited to processing via standard business transactions. And in the core business, this led to Acta Nova being used increasingly for processing workflows.

Acta Nova

The DDPS uses Acta Nova as a comprehensive solution for the efficient management of business cases and transactions. Via business transactions, processes (work instructions, deadlines, remarks) can be assigned automatically to the persons involved in the process.

Mr. Marti, what are the greatest digital challenges which armasuisse needs to overcome in the near future?

It’s my opinion that the greatest digital challenge is not primarily the technology, but the way people, or the employees, handle it. A lot of very good digital tools are used in the Federal Administration and within armasuisse. However, we need to examine more closely how these tools are handled. We investigated and assessed the greatest digital challenges for armasuisse in a workshop with selected employees. The three most highly rated topics «cyber security», «automation» and «digital/smart workplace» were dealt with in depth in moderated working groups. We are now faced with a major digital change, in particular with the new SAP landscape. Not only is a new SAP system going to be implemented, but various new responsibilities are being defined as well as processes revised and adapted.

Mr. Müller-Storni, to what extent has digitalisation changed your working environment in comparison with your first day at armasuisse?

On my first day just over 14 years ago, we still used a lot of paper in our work. My predecessor handed over umpteen files to me – federal files and transparent files, filled with any amount of paper. Today, I just work with a few reference files, which fit easily in a hanging file drawer. All documents are in Acta Nova; any printouts are destroyed again after use. Particularly during the home workplace period, I was and still am very happy about this new working method, as I always have all the information with me.

In the past, I used to have all documents printed out for meetings. Today, I only do preparatory and follow-up work at my PC. At most, I will print out the agenda. On the one hand, this is more efficient, while on the other, it contributes to a more environmentally-friendly use of our resources.

Mr. Marti, what are the greatest risks of digitalisation for armasuisse?

In my opinion, the biggest risk is missing out on the development in digitalisation and as a result not being able to implement potential opportunities, such as an increase in efficiency. In the mid- and long-term, employee satisfaction and employer appeal would thus decrease. This in turn would result in armasuisse having increasing difficulty in filling vacancies with suitable employees and experiencing rising fluctuation.

Brief profile of Andreas Müller-Storni

Andreas Müller-Storni, Strategic Head GEVER

JUD Andreas Müller-Storni (60) is Head of the competence sector Resources and Support and thus a member of Corporate Management at armasuisse. Before he joined armasuisse in 2010, he was an Assistant at the University of Freiburg and subsequently held various positions at the TCS, most recently as Head of Enterprise Development and Coordination in the Executive Board. 

Brief profile of Stefan Marti

Stefan Marti, Digitalization Manager armasuisse

Stefan Marti (43) joined armasuisse as a project controller in 2008. He is Head of Enterprise Development as well as Deputy Sector Head of Enterprise Development and Controlling in the competence sector Resources and Support. The graduate business economist HF holds an EMBA in Digital Transformation and has a diploma from the SKU Executive Management Programme of the University of St. Gallen.

print preview

« La numérisation doit améliorer l’efficacité et surtout contribuer à alléger les tâches administratives »

Avec Andreas Müller-Storni, Docteur Utriusque Iuris, responsable stratégique GEVER et chef du domaine de compétences Ressources et support, et Stefan Marti, responsable de la numérisation chez armasuisse et chef du développement de l’entreprise, deux personnalités jouant un rôle clé dans la transformation numérique au sein d’armasuisse répondent à nos questions sur le sujet.

Romy Joller, domaine spécialisé Communication, domaine de compétences Ressources et support

Portrait d’Andreas Müller-Storni, responsable stratégique GEVER, et de Stefan Marti, responsable de la numérisation d’armasuisse
Andreas Müller-Storni, responsable stratégique GEVER, et Stefan Marti, responsable de la numérisation d’armasuisse

Le terme numérisation est sur toutes les lèvres. Quelle signification lui donnez-vous, Monsieur Müller-Storni ?

Pour moi, la numérisation fait référence à des processus fluides et automatisés qui facilitent mon travail quotidien.

Monsieur Marti, que signifie la numérisation pour armasuisse ?

Waouh ! Quelle première question ! C’est un peu comme si vous m’interrogiez sur le sens de la vie… Chacun(e) a sa propre définition de la numérisation. Pour les uns, c’est le fait de scanner son document papier préféré pour en faire un fichier PDF. Pour les autres, c’est le recours à l’intelligence artificielle (IA) ou l’utilisation de la technologie de l’ordinateur quantique. Dans le cadre de mes tâches, je fais une différence entre la transformation numérique interne et celle externe à l’exploitation. La transformation numérique interne fait référence aux processus, à l’utilisation des outils (Tools) et aux collaborateurs qui doivent ou devraient se servir de ces outils. Selon moi, le virage numérique externe à l’exploitation englobe les tâches dans le domaine de la science et de la technologie ainsi que l’acquisition et l’entretien de systèmes et d’immeubles.

Monsieur Müller-Storni, quelles opportunités entrevoyez-vous dans les progrès de la numérisation pour le domaine de compétences Ressources et support en particulier, et plus généralement pour armasuisse ?

La numérisation doit améliorer l’efficacité et surtout contribuer à un alléger les tâches administratives, afin de dégager plus de temps pour le travail de réflexion, pour le développement personnel de chacun(e) et celui de son domaine, et pour assumer de nouvelles tâches sans être confronté(e) d’emblée à une pénurie de ressources.

Monsieur Marti, quel est votre rôle dans ce processus continu de transformation ?

En plus de ma fonction actuelle de responsable du développement de l’entreprise, j’ai été nommé responsable de la numérisation au sein d’armasuisse. À ce titre, je joue un rôle clé en tant qu’interlocuteur central sur les questions liées à la numérisation. À l’avenir, je m’occuperai probablement de plus en plus de la transformation numérique au sein de l’exploitation. Mais la numérisation n’est pas un one-man-show, bien au contraire ! En collaboration avec Fabian Brechbühl (Chief Information Officer armasuisse), nous constituerons une équipe composée de représentants de tous les domaines d’armasuisse, à laquelle il appartiendra de s’occuper de la transformation numérique. Pour ce faire, nous aimerions emprunter des voies nouvelles et rompre avec les anciens schémas.

Monsieur Müller-Storni, y a-t-il des instruments avec lesquels les collaboratrices et collaborateurs peuvent contribuer à faire progresser la numérisation ?

Selon moi, en tant que responsable stratégique GEVER d’armasuisse, Acta Nova est à l’heure actuelle le meilleur instrument pour faire avancer la numérisation compte tenu des moyens dont nous disposons, car il nous permet de vérifier nos procédures et d’évaluer la possibilité de les exécuter via une transaction dans Acta Nova. Au sein de Ressources et support, nous avons joué un rôle de pionniers à cet égard, car les processus transversaux sont tout à fait adaptés à un traitement via les transactions standard. Et dans les activités principales aussi, cela s’est traduit par une augmentation des processus de travail exécutés via Acta Nova.

Acta Nova

Le DDPS utilise Acta Nova comme solution globale complète pour gérer efficacement les transactions et les opérations. Une transaction permet d’affecter de manière automatisée des processus (directives de travail, délais, remarques) entre les personnes impliquées.

Monsieur Marti, quels sont les principaux défis numériques qu’armasuisse devra relever dans un proche avenir ?

Je suis d’avis que le principal défi de la transformation numérique n’est pas la technique en elle-même, mais la manière dont les gens ou les collaborateurs/trices la gèrent. Au sein de l’administration fédérale et d’armasuisse, de nombreux outils numériques formidables sont d’ores et déjà utilisés. Mais ils n’ont pas encore déployé tout leur potentiel. Lors d’un atelier réalisé avec une sélection de collaborateurs/trices, nous avons cherché à déterminer les principaux défis du numérique pour armasuisse, puis nous les avons analysés. Les trois thèmes jugés les plus importants, « cybersécurité », « automatisation » et « poste de travail numérique / intelligent », ont été traités de manière plus approfondie dans des groupes de travail dirigés. Notamment avec le nouveau paysage SAP, un changement important nous attend dans le domaine numérique. Outre l’introduction d’un nouveau système SAP, de nouvelles responsabilités seront définies et les processus seront remaniés et adaptés.

Monsieur Müller-Storni, dans quelle mesure la numérisation a-t-elle modifié votre environnement de travail par rapport à votre première journée chez armasuisse ?

Quand j’ai rejoint armasuisse il y a un peu plus de 14 ans, on utilisait encore beaucoup de papier au travail. Mon prédécesseur m’avait remis plein de dossiers, des classeurs fédéraux et des chemises, plus ou moins remplis de feuilles. Aujourd’hui, je travaille avec assez peu de documents de travail personnels. Ils tiennent tous dans un seul tiroir pour dossiers suspendus. Tous les documents sont enregistrés dans Acta Nova et les impressions éventuelles sont détruites après leur utilisation. Je suis satisfait de cette nouvelle méthode de travail, que j’ai particulièrement appréciée pendant la période de travail à domicile, car j’avais ainsi toujours l’ensemble des informations à portée de la main.

Autrefois, je faisais encore imprimer tous les documents pour les séances. Mais aujourd’hui, pour les tâches de préparation et de suivi, j’utilise exclusivement mon ordinateur. Ce que j’imprime tout au plus, c’est l’ordre du jour. Premièrement, c’est plus efficace, et deuxièmement, c’est un moyen de contribuer à la préservation des ressources et de l’environnement.

Monsieur Marti, quels sont les principaux risques de la numérisation pour armasuisse ?

Selon moi, le principal risque est de rater le train de la numérisation et ainsi de passer à côté de certaines opportunités telles que le gain d’efficacité. À moyen et long terme, cela diminuerait la satisfaction du personnel et notre attrait en tant qu’employeur. armasuisse aurait ainsi de plus en plus de difficultés à trouver des collaborateurs/trices compétent(e)s pour pourvoir les postes vacants et une fluctuation croissante serait à déplorer.

Bref portrait Andreas Müller-Storni

Andreas Müller-Storni, responsable stratégique GEVER

Andreas Müller-Storni (60 ans), Dr. iur. utr., est le chef du domaine des compétences Ressources et support et de ce fait, il est membre de la direction d’armasuisse. Avant de rejoindre armasuisse en 2010, il a occupé un poste d’assistant à l’Université de Fribourg, puis il a travaillé au TCS dans différentes fonctions, dont celle de directeur du développement de l’entreprise et de la coordination au sein de la direction. 

Bref portrait de Stefan Marti

Stefan Marti, responsable de la numérisation chez armasuisse

Stefan Marti (43 ans) a rejoint armasuisse en 2008 en tant que spécialiste commercial de projets. Au sein du domaine de compétences Ressources et support, il occupe la fonction de responsable du développement de l’entreprise et de remplaçant du chef du domaine Développement de l’entreprise et controlling. L’économiste d’entreprise ES est titulaire d’un EMBA en Digital Transformation et a suivi le programme SKU Executive Management à la Haute École de St-Gall.