print preview

Significance of increasingly autonomous systems in a military context

More autonomous robots and weapon systems provide numerous military advantages and harbour the potential to revolutionise warfare. However, the associated challenges and risks should not be underestimated. They are still not sufficient today to bring about a clear international regulation on the use of autonomous weapon systems. armasuisse S+T supports Switzerland in the discussion surrounding the use of autonomous systems.

Pascal Vörös, Swiss Drone and Robotics Centre SDRC, armasuisse Science and Technology in cooperation with the area Armed Forces Development Programme/Armed Forces Planning Division

A man and a girl are standing in front of the futuristic looking main building of armasuisse S+T in Thun. Standing in front of them is the walking robot ANYmal while drones hover above them in the sky.

In 2018, Elon Musk and 160 organisations from research and development, as well as 2400 other experts in the campaign «Stop Killer Robots» appealed against the construction of autonomous weapon systems. The subject of such a threat thus, for the first time, raised the awareness of many in the population at large. 

As a part of the technology centre of the DDPS, armasuisse Science and Technology, the Swiss Drone and Robotics Centre (SDRC) deals intensively with the current and future applications of unmanned, autonomous systems. In this article, we take a look at why the subject of increasing autonomy in robots in a military context is of high significance. 

Autonomous robots – potential to revolutionise warfare

In addition to developments in the hardware of robotics with more powerful components such as sensors and processors, it is above all the methods of machine learning which enable dramatic progress to be made today. Robots are becoming more autonomous as a result of this “artificial intelligence” – both in terms of fulfilling their task in the environment, as well in completing their missions and interacting with human beings (see article «Really autonomous – or perhaps just automatic?»).

The SDRC is observing the rapid development of autonomous systems directly in practice. The two research demonstrators Armano and ANYmal have thus made enormous progress over the last three years, for example (see videos below). The increased autonomy of these two systems should benefit the Swiss Armed Forces in disaster relief. The SDRC does not pursue any research projects on the benefits of autonomous weapon systems. However, other countries are active in this area. 

Back in 2009, the American political scientist P.W. Singer explored the beginning of robot-based warfare in his book «Wired for War: The Robotics Revolution and Conflict in the 21st Century». Since then, autonomous weapons have continually been described as the third revolution in warfare (after gunpowder and atomic weapons). Autonomous weapon systems enable military superiority to be potentially ensured. With mechanical support, the loop of target search, target detection, decision on target engagement and target engagement is massively accelerated in combat operations. According to the OODA Loop Paradigm (see figure) the player who passes through this loop faster than the opponent wins the battle.

Cycle OODA-Loop

The rapid passage through this loop makes the Israeli defence system Iron Dome, for example, correspondingly valuable from a military perspective. Under constant surveillance of the airspace (observe) the system recognises approaching missiles within fractions of a second (orient), calculates their potential danger and decides whether they should be shot down (decide); if the answer is yes, the system shoots the missiles (act). A human being has no chance of performing this task in the same time period and thus in time before an event has occurred. 

Another key aspect as regards the revolution of warfare by autonomous systems is that the technologies and hardware have become more affordable and available through the massive commercial investments. The KARGU-2 drone, described in the last article in this Insights series is an example of this. The war around Nagorno-Karabakh between Armenia and Azerbaijan in autumn 2020, in which small drones were deployed, recently showed the world that more autonomous systems can indeed change warfare today. The impact of these resources made military officials around the world sit up and take notice.

This leads to the third key argument regarding why such systems could revolutionise warfare: smaller, cheaper, versatile and more capable robots mean that they can operate more and more in groups or even in swarms. And this with the potential of overwhelming the opponent’s defence. 

More autonomous robots – military advantages

In addition to accelerated operations, the reduction in costs and the scalability into groups, more autonomous weapon systems (AWS) offer numerous other military advantages: 

AWS serve to protect and relieve own forces by reducing the exposure of own soldiers in war zones. They enable a certain compensation of inventory reduction, as assigned tasks can be performed more efficiently, more permanently and more effectively with fewer staff at the front and with the corresponding technical aids – even if maintenance might be more costly. 

In addition, AWS can be used in environments in which the communication is faulty or impaired (such as faulty radio or GPS communications; as well as reduction in the electronic reconnaissance capabilities of the opponent). Operations that are tedious, difficult to endure, dangerous and time-consuming for humans (such as site surveillance, support in contaminated areas, detection and elimination of booby traps, fire fighting, etc.) will become more easily possible. 

Operations at locations that are difficult to reach or inaccessible for human beings will become easier or generally even possible through AWS (such as mountain regions, space, deep sea, etc.). 

AWS provides the opportunity to comply better with humanitarian and human rights law, as unmanned or even autonomous weapon systems do not act based on emotions (such as tiredness, stress, fear, hate, etc.). In addition, this results in the potential to reduce or even to avoid collateral damage through selective and precise impact.

More autonomous robots – military disadvantages

Some of the advantages mentioned above can become corresponding disadvantages if an opponent can benefit from them, but not one’s own armed forces. The systems – and in particular mini drones – have become more affordable and available. A weaker opponent, and not state actors, is thus also offered the possibility of being able to achieve substantial impact at a distance. This leads to a considerable effort in defending such systems, as they are being used more and more frequently. 

AWS entail the difficulty of having to distinguish between manned, unmanned and autonomous weapon systems. In addition, it is difficult to combat «swarms» of different systems (purely autonomous and intelligent or a mixture, such as drones, decoys and cruise missiles to overwhelm the integrated air defence). In addition, a further challenge is distinguishing between enemy and civilian systems, or even own systems. This is associated with an increased need for protection at the rear.

One challenge posed by AWS is to use the increased autonomy while simultaneously retaining human control over important military decisions. Where in the past, for example, a human being used to identify and register an object as hostile, it might be that today, the machine assumes this task. But should the machine now make the decision on target neutralisation? One of the main precepts of human dignity states: A human being may not be objectified. If a machine now reduces a human being to a target registered automatically with sensors, is a human being then reduced to an object? Which regulations need to be provided in order to be able to exclude this?

LAWS – positioning Switzerland and armasuisse S+T article

In order to address the various challenges and open questions on the topic of LAWS, work was begun within the framework of the United Nations in 2014. Three years later, an international group of governmental experts (GGE) for LAWS was formally created. Its mandate is to evaluate any open and arising issues in conjunction with emerging technologies in the area of LAWS. Switzerland is also participating in this discussion under the management of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA). The DDPS, including armasuisse S+T, supports this.

The most recent examples of the increasing significance of the topic are relevant political initiatives of the Security Policy Committee of the National Council. For example, two postulates from the Federal Council demand an examination and a report on clear regulations for autonomous weapons and the impact of drone technology on the security of Switzerland. 

For this purpose, armasuisse S+T can access its existing technical expertise and its research network. It delivers appropriate input on the required papers and discussions for the benefit of our partners in the Armed Forces and the FDFA. The SDRC manages various research projects which have corresponding points of contact. Apart from the determination of the degree of autonomy of systems (see article «Really autonomous – or perhaps just automatic?») the SDRC is also active in responding to ethical questions surrounding LAWS. For this purpose, an ethic evaluation scheme is being developed in cooperation with the universities of Zurich and St. Gallen, for example, to be able to address and make an informed assessment regarding ethical risks. Another project is investigating how consultation by a human being or artificial intelligence has an impact on the decision maker in a command support scenario. Interestingly enough, initial results have shown that those questioned actually attribute responsibility to the machine. One of the next steps of the SDRC is to systematically monitor the development of armed, more autonomous systems and to work through case studies. 

Conclusion

The systems are rapidly gaining autonomy in practice, leading to maximum, numerous military advantages. Prohibiting LAWS thus appears difficult and a profound examination of the topic seems appropriate. Just as the «Director of Studies at the Center for a New American Security» Paul Scharre wrote: «The Winner of the robotics revolution will not be who develops this technology first or even who has the best technology, but who figures out how best to use it».

print preview

Importance de l’autonomie croissante des systèmes dans le contexte militaire

Toujours plus autonomes, les robots et systèmes d’armes présentent d’innombrables avantages militaires et le potentiel de révolutionner la guerre. Mais il ne faut pas sous-estimer les défis et risques qui s’y rapportent. Pour l’heure, ils ne permettent pas d’obtenir une réglementation internationale claire en matière d’engagement des systèmes d’armes autonomes. armasuisse S+T soutient la Suisse dans le débat sur l’engagement des systèmes autonomes.

Pascal Vörös, Centre suisse des drones et de la robotique/CSDR, armasuisse Sciences et technologies, en collaboration avec le domaine Développement de l’armée/Planification de l’armée

Un homme et une petite fille se tiennent devant le bâtiment principal futuriste d’armasuisse S+T à Thoune. Devant eux se trouve le robot de marche ANYmal, tandis que des drones sillonnent le ciel.

En 2018, Elon Musk s’est associé à 160 organisations du monde de la recherche et de l’économie ainsi qu’à 2400 experts pour soutenir la campagne « Stop Killer Robots » contre la fabrication de systèmes d’armes autonomes. Cette action a sensibilisé pour la première fois une grande partie de la population à cette menace.

Dans le cadre du centre technologique du DDPS, armasuisse Sciences et technologies, le Centre suisse des drones et de la robotique (CSDR) se consacre aux applications actuelles et futures des systèmes autonomes sans équipage. Nous abordons ci-après les raisons qui font de l’autonomie croissante des robots dans le contexte militaire un sujet de première importance.

Autonomie accrue : le potentiel de révolutionner la guerre

Outre les avancées dans le domaine du matériel, avec des composants plus puissants comme les capteurs et les processeurs, c’est l’apprentissage automatique (machine learning) qui a permis de réaliser les progrès les plus spectaculaires. Cette « intelligence artificielle » accroît l’autonomie des robots, tant en matière de réalisation des tâches dans l’environnement que d’accomplissement des missions et d’interaction avec les humains (voir l’article « Vraiment autonome, ou seulement automatique ? »).

Le CSDR suit de près le développement fulgurant des systèmes autonomes dans la pratique. Les deux démonstrateurs de recherche Armano et ANYmal ont notamment accompli d’énormes progrès au cours des trois dernières années. L’Armée suisse devrait pouvoir tirer parti de l’autonomie accrue de ces systèmes dans le domaine de l’aide en cas de catastrophe*. Si le CSDR ne mène aucun projet de recherche pour le compte de systèmes d’armes autonomes, d’autres pays sont présents sur ce créneau.

En 2009 déjà, le politologue américain P.W. Singer explorait les prémices de la guerre robotique dans son ouvrage « Wired for War: The Robotics Revolution and Conflict in the 21st Century ». Dans l’intervalle, les armes autonomes ont sans cesse été décrites comme la troisième révolution de la guerre, après la poudre à canon et l’arme nucléaire. Les systèmes d’armes autonomes revêtent le potentiel d’affirmer la suprématie militaire d’un État. L’aide des machines permet en effet d’accélérer considérablement le schéma « recherche, acquisition, décision et combat » sur le champ de bataille. Selon la boucle OODA (voir illustration), quiconque réalise les quatre phases de la boucle en premier l’emporte sur son adversaire.

Cycle OODA-Loop

La succession rapide de ces phases fait notamment tout l’intérêt du système de défense israélien Iron Dome sur le plan militaire. Surveillant en permanence l’espace aérien (observe), le système identifie en quelques fractions de seconde les roquettes en approche (orient), calcule leur potentiel de menace et décide si elles doivent être interceptées (decide). Le cas échéant, il les abat (act). Un humain n’aurait aucune chance d’accomplir ces tâches dans le même intervalle de temps et donc avant que l’événement ne se produise.

Autre aspect essentiel de la révolution que représentent les systèmes autonomes : le coût en baisse et la disponibilité accrue des technologies et du matériel grâce à d’énormes investissements commerciaux. Le drone KARGU-2 décrit dans le dernier article de cette série illustre bien ce phénomène. Caractérisée par l’utilisation de petits drones, la guerre dans le Haut-Karabakh qui a opposé l’Arménie à l’Azerbaïdjan à l’automne 2020 a montré à quel point ces systèmes à l’autonomie accrue ont d’ores et déjà le potentiel de révolutionner la guerre. L’efficacité de ces engins a retenu l’attention des armées du monde entier.

Ce qui nous amène au troisième argument central soulignant le potentiel de ces systèmes : plus petits, moins chers, plus variés et plus compétents, ces robots sont de plus en plus souvent utilisés en groupes, voire en essaims, avec le potentiel de submerger les défenses adverses.

Autonomie accrue : avantages sur le plan militaire

Outre une conduite de l’action accélérée, la réduction des coûts et l’évolutivité des systèmes d’armes autonomes (SAA) dans le cadre de groupes présentent de nombreux avantages sur le plan militaire.

Les SAA contribuent en effet à protéger et à alléger la charge des forces alliées grâce à une moindre exposition des soldats dans les zones de guerre. Ils permettent de compenser les réductions des effectifs dans une certaine mesure, puisqu’un contingent réduit appuyé par des moyens techniques adéquats est en mesure d’accomplir ses missions de manière plus efficiente, durable et efficace. Ceci même si l’entretien requis serait plus important.

Les SAA peuvent par ailleurs être engagés dans des environnements où les communications sont perturbées (p. ex. liaisons radio ou GPS perturbées ainsi qu’une réduction des possibilités d’exploration électronique de l’adversaire). Ils facilitent également les engagements ennuyeux, pénibles, dangereux ou chronophages pour les humains (comme la surveillance de terrains, le soutien dans des zones contaminées, la détection et l’élimination des pièges explosifs ou encore la lutte contre les incendies).

Les SAA permettent d’intervenir pour la première fois ou de faciliter l’intervention dans les lieux difficiles d’accès, voire inaccessibles, à l’instar des régions montagneuses, de l’espace ou des fonds marins.

Ils offrent la possibilité de mieux respecter le droit humanitaire international, puisque les systèmes d’armes sans équipage ou autonomes ne fondent pas leurs décisions sur des émotions humaines (comme la fatigue, le stress, la peur ou la haine). Enfin, les dommages collatéraux potentiels peuvent être réduits ou évités grâce à une action sélective et précise.

Autonomie accrue : inconvénients sur le plan militaire

Certains avantages susmentionnés peuvent se transformer en inconvénients si l’adversaire trouve le moyen d’en tirer parti, contrairement aux forces alliées. Ces systèmes, et tout particulièrement les mini-drones, sont devenus moins chers et plus disponibles, offrant par conséquent à un adversaire plus faible et à des acteurs non étatiques la possibilité d’exercer un impact considérable à distance. Se défendre contre de tels systèmes nécessite des moyens considérables compte tenu de leur généralisation.

Difficulté des SAA : la nécessité de distinguer entre les systèmes d’armes avec équipage, sans équipage et autonomes. La lutte contre les essaims de drones de plusieurs types est par ailleurs complexe (systèmes purement autonomes et intelligents ou mélange, à l’instar d’une combinaison de drones, de leurres et de missiles de croisière pour submerger la défense aérienne intégrée). Faire la différence entre les systèmes ennemis, civils et ses propres systèmes est aussi une tâche ardue qui implique un besoin en protection accru dans le secteur arrière.

La question se pose également de savoir comment tirer parti de l’autonomie accrue des SAA, tout en conservant un contrôle humain sur les décisions militaires importantes. Une tâche autrefois réalisée par un humain, comme l’identification et l’acquisition d’un objet ennemi, pourrait très bien être assurée par une machine de nos jours. Mais la machine a-t-elle réellement le droit de décider de neutraliser une cible ? L’un des grands principes de la dignité humaine consiste à ne pas faire de l’humain un objet. Mais quand une machine réduit un humain à une cible acquise automatiquement par des capteurs, l’humain devient-il un objet ? Quelles règlementations faudrait-il mettre en place pour exclure pareille situation ?

LAWS : positionnement de la Suisse et contribution d’armasuisse S+T

Des travaux ont été engagés en 2014 dans le cadre des Nations Unies pour aborder les nombreux défis et questions en suspens liés aux LAWS (Lethal Autonomous Weapons Systems ou systèmes d’armes létales autonomes). Un Groupe d’experts gouvernementaux traitant des LAWS est né trois ans plus tard, avec pour mission d’évaluer les problématiques actuelles et émergentes en lien avec les nouvelles technologies dans ce domaine. La Suisse participe également aux débats, sous la conduite du Département fédéral des affaires étrangères (DFAE) et avec le soutien du DDPS, dont armasuisse S+T.

Les récentes interventions de la Commission de politique de sécurité du Conseil national à ce propos témoignent de l’importance croissante de ce sujet. Deux postulats exigent notamment du Conseil fédéral qu’il examine et établisse un rapport quant à des règles claires concernant les armes autonomes et les conséquences de la technologie des drones sur la sûreté de la Suisse.

Pour ce faire, armasuisse S+T peut compter sur son expertise technique et son réseau de recherche, et fournit des prises de position pour le compte de nos partenaires au sein de l’armée et du DFAE. Quelques projets de recherche du CSDR présentent des transversalités avec ces thématiques. Outre la détermination de l’autonomie des systèmes (voir l’article « Vraiment autonome, ou seulement automatique ? »), le CSDR s’efforce aussi de répondre aux questions éthiques entourant les LAWS. Un modèle d’évaluation est notamment développé en collaboration avec les universités de Zurich et de Saint-Gall afin d’évaluer et de traiter les risques éthiques avec pertinence. Un autre projet est consacré à l’effet que les conseils prodigués par une intelligence humaine ou artificielle produisent sur les décideurs dans un scénario d’aide à la conduite. Il est intéressant de constater que selon les premiers résultats, les personnes interrogées accordent effectivement une part de responsabilité à la machine. L’une des prochaines mesures du CSDR consiste à surveiller de manière plus systématique les progrès des systèmes armés autonomes et à traiter des exemples pratiques.

Bilan

L’autonomie des systèmes progresse à vitesse grand V dans la pratique, présentant une multitude d’avantages notables sur le plan militaire. Faire interdire les LAWS semble par conséquent difficile, d’où la pertinence d’une étude approfondie du sujet. Comme le souligne Paul Scharre, directeur des études au Center for a New American Security, « Le grand gagnant de la révolution robotique ne sera pas celui qui développera cette technologie en premier ou même celui qui aura la meilleure technologie, mais celui qui saura en tirer le meilleur parti ».