print preview

«A functioning logistics system provides the fundamental prerequisite for the weapon system to be operated»

In the last article of our Air2030 series, we focus on product support. Product support ensures that the system remains functional throughout its service life. In the evaluation of a new fighter aircraft and an extended-range ground-based air defence system, product support plays a major role and accounts for 25 percent of the benefit analysis. Walter Infanger, project manager for product support, describes in the following article how product support is embedded in the evaluation process of a new fighter aircraft.

Aeronautical Systems, Air2030 Programme

Portrait of Walter Infanger
Walter Infanger, project manager for product support «new fighter aircraft»

Product support for a high-technology weapon system, such as a combat aircraft, is of central importance. Product support plays a major role in ensuring the required fleet availability as well as the associated operational capability and autonomy of the Air Force. For the combat aircraft, as the primary operational asset of the Air Force, this applies to all situations and in particular to times of increased tension up to the point of defence.

(Almost) everything around the weapon system

A functioning logistics system provides the fundamental prerequisite for the weapon system to be operated. Product support includes all the logistics elements required for subsequent operation. These include tools, spares with an appropriate management strategy, inspection and test facilities, technical documentation, pilot and technical training, training equipment, infrastructure and much more. Related safety and environmental aspects are also part of product support.

Working in a integrated Team

During the evaluation the Product Support Core Team consists of one employee of armasuisse, one employee of the Armed Forces Logistics Base and one employee of the Air Force, thus forming an integrated team. This core team is supported in various areas by further specialists from the above-mentioned organisational units. The product support requirements for the new fighter aircraft were defined at the beginning of the project. armasuisse is responsible for the project until its introduction. The system responsibility is then transferred to the Armed Forces Logistics Base, which is responsible for the utilisation phase. As a future user, it is important that the Air Force is actively involved in the operational aspects in all phases.

Evaluation and validation of data

In the Request for Proposal, candidates were asked to provide extensive binding data, which they had to submit with their proposals. The plausibility of the data was validated both during product support audits and during flight and ground tests. The audits were carried out with the respective armed forces abroad. Specialists from the areas of operations, maintenance, logistics and training audited the candidates for three days each according to defined test points. The flight and ground tests took place in Switzerland. During the evaluation, the binding data as well as the results of the audits and the flight and ground tests are now evaluated, assessed and compared with regard to various assessment points. A possible evaluation point could be «ease of maintenance». Among other things, the ease with which aircraft maintenance can be carried out will be assessed under this point. The efficiency of aircraft maintenance also has an influence on personnel workload, which in turn has an impact on the life cycle costs.

Evaluation criteria for the new fighter aircraft

In the cost-benefit analysis of the evaluation, the weighting of product support is 25 percent on the benefit axis. The other main evaluation criteria for the benefit of the system are effectiveness with 55 percent, cooperation between the armed forces and cooperation between procurement authorities with 10 percent and direct offsets with 10 percent. Only at the end of the evaluation process, after the comparison of total benefits and total costs in the evaluation report, is it possible to determine the results of the evaluation.

Bref portrait

Walter Infanger (49) is a graduate engineer in electrical engineering. After working as mechanic, technician, systems engineer and project manager in Swiss aviation companies he joined armasuisse in 2008. From November 2008 - until March 2018 Walter Infanger was responsible for the integrated logistics support for the fighter aircraft F/A-18C/D Hornet. In addition, he was project manager for product support in the projects Upgrade 25 (U25) and Service Life Extension (NUV) F/A-18C/D as well as project manager for spares procurement within the framework of the armament programs 13 and 16. Since 2018 he has been project manager for product support of the «New Fighter Aircraft» project.

print preview

« Une logistique qui fonctionne est une condition indispensable pour qu'unsystème d’arme puisse être engagé »

Dans la dernière partie de notre série Air2030, nous nous penchons sur l’assistance produit. C’est en effet elle qui garantit que le système fonctionne pleinement pendant toute sa durée de vie. L’assistance produit a donc une importance considérable dans l’évaluation du nouvel avion de combat et du nouveau système de défense sol-air de longue portée. Elle représente 25% dans l’examen de la valeur d’usage. Walter Infanger, chef de projet partiel pour l’assistance produit, décrit dans cet article comment l’assistance produit est intégrée dans le processus d’évaluation du nouvel avion de combat.

Systèmes aéronautiques, Programme Air2030

Portrait de Walter Infanger
Walter Infanger, chef de projet partiel pour l'assistance produit du «nouvel avion de combat»

L’assistance produit pour un système d’arme de haute technologie, comme pour un avion de combat, est d’une importance capitale. Elle contribue de manière considérable à garantir la disponibilité exigée de la flotte ainsi que la capacité opérationnelle et l’autonomie des Forces aériennes. Pour l’avion de combat comme moyen d’intervention primaire des Forces aériennes, cela se vérifie dans toutes les situations et en particulier en périodes de fortes tensions, voire en cas de défense.

(Presque) tout concernant le système d’arme

Une logistique qui fonctionne est une condition indispensable pour qu'un système d’arme puisse être engagé. L’assistance produit comprend tous les éléments logistiques nécessaires à l'exploitation de ce système. Il s’agit notamment des outils, des pièces de rechange, des installations de contrôle et de test, des documents techniques, des formations aéronautiques et techniques, des outils de formation, des infrastructures et davantage encore. Les aspects sécuritaires et environnementaux liés sont aussi rattachés à l’assistance produit.

Travailler dans une équipe intégrée

L’équipe de l’assistance produit est constituée pendant l’évaluation par un collaborateur d’armasuisse, un autre de la Base logistique de l’armée et un autre des Forces aériennes, formant ainsi une équipe intégrée. Dans certains domaines spécifiques, cette équipe reçoit le soutien d’autres spécialistes des unités organisationnelles mentionnées. Les exigences d’assistance produit du nouvel avion de combat ont été définies au début du projet. armasuisse assume la responsabilité du projet jusqu’à l’introduction. C’est ensuite la Base logistique de l’armée qui est responsable durant la phase d’utilisation. En tant que futur utilisateur, il est aussi important que les Forces aériennes soient impliquées dans les décisions concernant les aspects opérationnels.

Évaluation et validation des données

Les appels d’offres ont exigé des candidats des données détaillées et contraignantes qu’ils ont dû soumettre en même temps que leur offre. La plausibilité des données a été validée tant pendant les audits d’assistance produit que pendant les essais en vol et au sol. Les audits ont été réalisés auprès des forces armées correspondantes à l’étranger. Lors de ceux-ci, des spécialistes des domaines de la disponibilité opérationnelle et de l’exploitation, de la logistique et de la formation ont examiné les candidats ou leurs forces armées pendant trois jours selon des points à tester bien définis. Les essais en vol et au sol ont eu lieu en Suisse. Dans la phase actuelle d’évaluation, les données contraignantes ainsi que les résultats des audits et des essais en vol et au sol sont en train d’être analysés, évalués et comparés par rapport à différents points à analyser. La « facilité d’entretien » représente un point d’évaluation possible. Dans le cadre de celui-ci, on évalue notamment la simplicité de maintenance de l’avion. L’efficacité de la maintenance de l’avion a par ailleurs une influence sur les ressources en personnel, ce qui se répercute ensuite sur les coûts du cycle de vie.

Critères d’évaluation pour le nouvel avion de combat

Dans l’examen du rapport coût-utilité, l’assistance produit représente 25% sur l’axe de l’utilité. Les autres principaux critères d’évaluation de l’utilité du système sont l’efficacité (opérationnelle, autonomie) à hauteur de 55%, la coopération entre les forces armées et entre les offices d'armement à hauteur de 10%, et enfin les compensations directes avec 10%. La question de savoir au final quel avion de combat est le plus performant peut uniquement être évaluée à la fin du processus d’évaluation, après la comparaison de l’utilité globale et des coûts totaux dans le rapport d’évaluation.

Bref portrait

Walter Infanger (49 ans) est ingénieur en électrotechnique diplômé ETS. Après avoir occupé des postes de mécanicien, de technicien, d’ingénieur système et de chef de projet dans des entreprises aéronautiques en Suisse, il est entré chez armasuisse en 2008. De novembre 2008 à mars 2018 il était responsable de l’assistance logistique intégrée pour l’avion de combat F/A-18C/D Hornet. Il était également chef de projet partiel assistance produit pour les projets Maintien des capacités (U25) et Prolongation de la durée d’utilisation (NUV) des F/A-18C/D et chef de projet partiel pour l’acquisition du matériel de remplacement dans le cadre des programmes d’armement RP13 et RP16. Depuis 2018, il est chef de projet partiel pour l’assistance produit du projet « Nouvel avion de combat ».