print preview

«We use the AHP method to determine the overall benefit of the candidates»

Recently the candidates submitted their second proposal. From the perspective of the project teams, this marks the start of another important phase: the analysis of the proposal, the determination of the total benefit and the total cost, and the final reporting. Xavier Comby, responsible for the engineering part of the NFA-project, explains how the determination of the total benefit is carried out by using the so-called «AHP method».

Aeronautical Systems, Air2030 Programme

Xavier Comby stands in front of a flipchart and explains an equation
Xavier Comby, sub-project manager technology «New Fighter Aircraft»

AHP stands for «Analytic Hierarchy Process» and is a method of decision support used to determine the total benefit of each candidate. The name of this method refers to three of its most important features. The method is:

  1. Analytical, because the total benefit is determined based on mathematical calculations. 
  2. Hierarchical, because the so-called evaluation points are organised hierarchically in the same way as a decision tree, i.e. from the main evaluation criteria to the individual evaluation points.
  3. Process-oriented and systematic respectively, and therefore transparent and comprehensible.

The AHP method was developed by the mathematician Thomas Saaty at the end of the 1970s and has since been the subject of numerous research papers. When defining the evaluation process in the NFA and Bodluv GR projects, the latest research studies concerning AHP were thoroughly analysed and validated by the project team, for example with the help of specially developed simulations with the Matlab software.

When you compare the traditional benefit analysis with the AHP method, you will find that the latter is mathematically somewhat more demanding. It is essentially based on so-called matrix multiplications and the determination of eigenvectors. One of the advantages of the method is that not only is an evaluation of the various evaluation points carried out, but also the consistency of an evaluation is calculated and thus becomes visible. Furthermore, the AHP method makes visible how strong the consensus of an evaluation team and thus of a decision making process is.

The AHP method is particularly suitable for the evaluation of more complex systems such as weapon systems. In the NFA and Bodluv GR project, an established software is used for this purpose, which was procured on the basis of market clarifications and discussions with other, uninvolved procurement authorities and was then thoroughly tested and validated before its application.

How does the AHP method work?

In principle, the method works in such a way that, as part of a clearly defined process, the participants in a team of experts compare certain evaluation points in pairs. This pair-wise comparison makes it easier for the evaluators to assess the performance characteristics systematically.

In principle, the four main evaluation criteria have been defined in the Air2030 projects with the corresponding weightings at project start: These are effectiveness with 55%, product support with 25% and the opportunities for cooperation and direct industrial participation with 10% each. In the NFA project these criteria were divided into about 80 evaluation points. The AHP method is used to determine the benefit of the candidates for each of these evaluation points.

The basis for comparing the candidates are the so-called technical reports. On the one hand, these summarise the findings from the analysis of the proposals or the answers to the questionnaire which the candidates had to answer with the proposal. The findings from the testing activities are also incorporated into these technical reports, mainly by validating the candidates' answers. Each technical report refers to one evaluation point per candidate and is not comparative. With around 80 evaluation points for the NFA project and four candidates, 320 technical reports must therefore be produced. The comparison of the candidates is based on objective measures per evaluation point, which were established at an early stage of the project.

«Each technical report refers to one evaluation

   point per candidate and is not comparative»

                                            Xavier Comby

As a possible example of an evaluation point the «ease of maintenance» can be used. This evaluation point would be assigned to the main evaluation criterion «product support». Measures that could be used in this example would be, for example, the average time taken to repair a defective aircraft and release it for flight operations. The data source for these parameters is the information provided by the manufacturers, which was validated during the ground tests in Switzerland.

These data and their analysis are documented and summarised as results for each candidate individually in a Technical Report «Ease of Maintenance» by the corresponding expert team.

Based on these technical reports, the candidates are then compared with each other using the AHP method. To stay with our example: The candidate for whom such a repair can be carried out most efficiently receives more points than the other candidates.

AHP sessions

The comparison of the candidates takes place in so-called AHP sessions, a process of which is formally defined. This can be roughly summarised as follows using our example:

  1. The persons in charge of the Expert Team on «Ease of Maintenance» present the findings on this evaluation point to the evaluation team on the basis of their technical report.
  2. The presentation is followed by a question and answer session.
  3. Each individual member of the evaluation team will then compare the candidates independently. The consistency of these individual evaluations is checked by the AHP tool.
  4. Then, the aggregation of the individual evaluations into an overall evaluation follows. The AHP-Tool again determines how consistent the overall evaluation is and how the consensus within the evaluation team is.
  5. Significant inconsistencies in the evaluation team are detected by the tool and must be clarified before an evaluation is finally accepted.

Comparison of total benefits with total costs

The result of the comparison of total benefit and total cost is presented in a diagram in which the vertical y-axis represents the total benefit. The horizontal x-axis is the cost axis. Here, both the procurement costs of the systems and their operating costs over a 30-year are taken into account for the evaluation of the total costs. Seen in this light, the total benefit and the total costs each flow 50% into the diagram or into the comparison of total benefit to total costs.

Benefit analysis with AHP

The AHP method is initially used in the NFA and Bodluv GR projects. The experiences of other procurement authorities and our own experience to date show that the method is robust. It is particularly advantageous in comparison with the traditional benefit analysis when more complex systems are evaluated. The experience gained in the Air2030 programme will be documented and passed on for further projects. For a successful application of the method, it must not be forgotten that a project must create the conditions early in the process to be able to use AHP later in the process. The requirements are directly linked to the questions in the questionnaire of the request for proposal and these in turn are linked to the individual main evaluation criteria or evaluation points. This means that the project team must be clear early on what it wants to evaluate a few years after the project has started.

Brief profile

Xavier Comby (46) is a graduate ETHZ physicist and holds a Master in Aviation from the ISAE (Institut Supérieur de l'Aéronautique et de l'Espace) in Toulouse/France. He joined armasuisse in 2014 after holding positions in aviation companies in Switzerland and abroad both as a systems engineer and in management roles. In the NFA project, he is responsible for the engineering part of the project. At the level of the Air2030 programme, he manages the system-of-systems engineering and creates technical specifications for cross-programme aspects.

print preview

«Nous déterminons l'utilité globale des candidats à l'aide de la méthode AHP»

Récemment, les candidats ont soumis leurs deuxièmes offres. Pour l’équipe de projet débute une nouvelle phase importante: l’analyse des offres, la détermination de l’utilité globale et des coûts totaux ainsi que la rédaction du rapport final. Xavier Comby, responsable du projet partiel Technique, explique comment la détermination de l’utilité globale est réalisée à l’aide de la méthode dite «AHP».

Systèmes aéronautiques, Programme Air2030

Xavier Comby se tient devant un tableau de conférence et explique une équation.
Xavier Comby, responsable du projet partiel Technique du nouvel avion de combat

AHP est l’acronyme de «Analytic Hierarchy Process» (Processus d'analyse hiérarchique) et désigne une méthode d’aide à la décision permettant de déterminer l’utilité globale de chaque candidat. Le nom de cette méthode fait référence à trois de ses principales caractéristiques. Cette méthode est en effet:

  1. analytique, puisque la détermination de l’utilité globale se fait à l’aide de calculs mathématiques; 
  2. hiérarchique, dans la mesure où les points d’évaluation sont organisés de façon hiérarchique, comme dans un arbre de décision, des principaux critères d’évaluation aux points d’évaluation individuels; 
  3. orientée processus, ou systématique, puisqu' elle est transparente et compréhensible.

Développée à la fin des années 70 par le mathématicien Thomas Saaty, la méthode AHP a depuis fait l’objet de nombreux travaux scientifiques. Pour la définition du processus d’évaluation dans les projets NAC et DSA LP, les plus récentes études scientifiques sur l’AHP ont été analysées en détail et validées par l’équipe de projet, notamment à l’aide de simulations spécialement développées à l’aide du logiciel Matlab.

Par rapport aux analyses de la valeur d’usage conventionnelles, la méthode AHP est un peu plus exigeante sur le plan mathématique. Elle s’appuie essentiellement sur la multiplication de matrices et la détermination de leurs vecteurs propres. Entre autres avantages, cette méthode permet non seulement d’évaluer les différents points d’évaluation, mais aussi de calculer la cohérence de l’évaluation et de la mettre en évidence. En outre, la méthode AHP fait clairement apparaître la robustesse du consensus au sein d’une équipe d’évaluation, et donc celle du résultat de la décision.

Elle est particulièrement bien adaptée à l’évaluation de systèmes complexes tels que des systèmes d’armes.

Pour les projets NAC et DSA LP, un logiciel reconnu est utilisé. Celui-ci a été acquis sur la base d’analyses de marché et d’échanges avec d’autres offices d'armement non impliqués, testé et validé.

Comment fonctionne la méthode AHP?

Le principe de la méthode consiste à permettre aux membres d’une équipe d’experts de comparer par paires, dans le cadre d’un processus clairement défini, des points d’évaluation. Ces comparaisons par paires permettent aux évaluateurs de classer plus facilement les candidats.

Fondamentalement, au début du projet Air2030, quatre critères principaux d’évaluation ont été définis avec leurs pondérations : l’efficacité, avec un coefficient de 55 %, le support produit, avec 25 %, et les possibilités de coopération et d’affaires compensatoires directes, avec chacune 10 %. Pour le projet NAC, ces critères ont été subdivisés en près de 80 points d’évaluation. La méthode AHP permet de déterminer pour chacun de ces points d’évaluation l’utilité des différents candidats.

La comparaison entre les candidats repose sur les rapports dits techniques. Ces rapports rassemblent d’une part les connaissances tirées de l’analyse des offres ou des réponses au questionnaire auquel les candidats ont dû répondre en soumettant leurs offres et d'’autre part, les résultats des activités d’essai,dont le but principal est de valider les réponses des candidats. Les différents rapports portent chacun sur un point d’évaluation par candidat et ne sont pas comparatifs. Avec près de 80 points d’évaluation pour le projet NAC et quatre candidats, ce sont donc 320 rapports techniques qui doivent être préparés. Pour chaque point, la comparaison des candidats repose sur des grandeurs de mesure objectives qui ont été définies à un stade antérieur du projet.

«Les différents rapports portent chacun sur un point

d’évaluation par candidat et ne sont pas comparatifs»

                                                 Xavier Comby

Par exemple, un point d’évaluation pourrait être la «facilité d’entretien». Ce point d’évaluation serait attribué au critère principal Support produit. Les grandeurs de mesure qui pourraient être utilisées dans ce cas seraient par exemple les temps moyens nécessaires à la réparation d’un avion défectueux et à sa remise en état de vol.

Les sources de données pour ces grandeurs sont les données des fabricants qui ont été vérifiées pendant les essais au sol en Suisse.

Pour chaque candidat, ces données et leur analyse sont documentées par l’équipe d’experts correspondante et récapitulées dans un «Rapport technique Facilité d’entretien».

Ces rapports techniques servent ensuite de base pour comparer comme ci-dessous les candidats les uns par rapport aux autres à l’aide de la méthode AHP. Pour reprendre notre exemple : le candidat permettant la remise en état la plus efficace obtiendra plus de points que les autres candidats.

Sessions AHP

La comparaison des candidats intervient lors de «sessions AHP» dont le déroulement est formellement défini. Poursuivant notre exemple, cela pourrait se résumer ainsi:

  1. Les responsables de l’équipe d’experts «Facilité d’entretien» présentent à l’équipe d’évaluateurs, à partir de leur rapport technique, les résultats obtenus pour ce point d’évaluation.
  2. Après la présentation a lieu une séance de questions et réponses.
  3. La comparaison des candidats est ensuite effectuée de façon indépendante par chaque membre de l’équipe d’évaluation. La cohérence de ces évaluations individuelles est vérifiée par l’outil AHP.
  4. Les évaluations individuelles sont ensuite regroupées dans une évaluation globale. L’outil AHP évalue alors le niveau de cohérence de l’évaluation globale ainsi que le degré de consensus au sein de l’équipe.
  5. Les incohérences significatives au sein de l’équipe d’évaluation sont détectées par l’outil et doivent être clarifiées avant qu’une évaluation soit définitivement acceptée.

Comparaison de l’utilité globale et des coûts totaux

Le résultat de la comparaison de l’utilité globale et des coûts totaux est présenté dans un diagramme dont l’axe des ordonnées (axe y) représente l’utilité globale et l’axe des abscisses (axe x) est celui des coûts. L’évaluation des coûts intègre ici tant les coûts d’acquisition des systèmes que les coûts d’exploitation sur une période de 30 ans. Ces deux dimensions, utilité globale et coûts totaux, pèsent ainsi chacune pour 50% dans le diagramme et dans la comparaison de l’utilité globale par rapport aux coûts totaux.

Analyse de la valeur d’usage avec AHP

Dans un premier temps, la méthode AHP est utilisée dans les projets NAC et DSA LP. L’expérience d’autres offices d'armement et la nôtre ont montré qu’elle était robuste. Par rapport à l’analyse traditionnelle de la valeur d’usage, elle est particulièrement intéressante pour l’évaluation de systèmes complexes. Les expériences acquises lors du programme Air2030 seront documentées et mises à disposition d’autres projets. Pour que l’utilisation de la méthode soit un succès, il ne faut pas oublier que le projet doit créer, tôt dans le processus, les conditions qui permettront ultérieurement d’utiliser la méthode AHP. Les exigences en la matière doivent être directement liées aux questions posées dans le questionnaire de l’appel d’offres, qui doivent à leur tour porter sur les différents critères d’évaluation principaux et points d’évaluation. Cela signifie que l’équipe de projet doit savoir assez tôt dans le processus ce qui devra être évalué plusieurs années après le début du projet.

Bref portrait

Xavier Comby (46 ans) est physicien diplômé de l’EPF de Zurich et titulaire d’un Mastère en Aéronautique de l’ISAE (Institut Supérieur de l’Aéronautique et de l’Espace) à Toulouse, France. Après avoir occupé plusieurs postes d’ingénieur système puis de cadre dans des entreprises aéronautiquesen Suisse et à l’étranger, il a rejoint armasuisse en 2014. Au sein du projet NAC, il est responsable du projet partiel Technique. Au sein du programme Air2030, il dirige le System-of-Systems Engineering et élabore des prescriptions techniques pour des aspects transversaux du programme.