print preview

Security-relevant Technology and Industry Base (STIB)

Infographic Security-relevant Technology and Industry Base (STIB)

The STIB

A strong technological and industrial base is a component of armaments policy and thus also of security and defence policy in many nations. Switzerland in particular must take this aspect into consideration, because as a neutral nation which is not part of any defence alliance, it does not have any entitlement to military support by other nations. Research institutions and companies that have competencies, capabilities and capacities in the security and armaments industry in Switzerland form the STIB.

The STIB aims to contribute to reducing Switzerland’s dependencies on foreign countries in terms of armaments policy in defined areas. It should be able to ensure the central technological expertise and industrial capabilities for the Armed Forces and other institutions of national security in Switzerland with the required capacities.

Security-relevant economic activities

The security-relevant industrial sectors have been defined on the basis of the General Classification of the Economic Activities (NOGA). These essentially comprise the following business sectors:

  • Information technology, information services
  • Telecommunications
  • Electronics, electrical engineering , optics
  • Mechanical engineering
  • Repair and installation of machines and equipment
  • Metals, metal products
  • Rubber and plastic products
  • Chemical products
  • Vehicle construction, automotive parts
  • Aviation, (space transportation)
  • Technical, physical and chemical analysis
  • Research and development

Affiliation with such a branch of industry does not guarantee any entitlement to orders, funding or support services by the Swiss Confederation. Not everything which is basically designated as security-relevant is of equal significance for the DDPS. The economic activities have been prioritised differently for this reason. This prioritisation is an aid when using the control instruments to reinforce the STIB.

Control instruments

Armaments and civilian materials for the Armed Forces and other institutions of national security of the Swiss Confederation are procured in the areas of security-relevant focus technologies and industrial core skills, if possible within Switzerland.

In order to support the preservation and development of security-relevant key technologies and industrial core capabilities and capacities in Switzerland, despite procurements abroad, armasuisse binds foreign armament suppliers to an industrial cooperation with the STIB from a procurement volume of 20 million Swiss Francs. This aims to reduce foreign dependency on defence in the area of security-relevant key technologies and to fortify the security of supply of the Swiss Armed Forces.

Cooperation agreements with selected partners should enable Swiss companies to participate in international research projects and procurements as well as to access technologies and markets abroad. Specifically, this means that, for example, when concluding treaties or where armasuisse’s bilateral and multilateral cooperations are concerned, it is checked whether it is basically possible to include the STIB.

With applied research, scientific and technical competences which are required to support the entire armament procedure can be further developed. To this end, the DDPS awards research contracts and uses the networks with universities, colleges, institutes, industry and the administration at home and abroad. If possible, research contracts will be awarded within Switzerland.

The intensified cooperation of the DDPS with the federal agencies entrusted with the innovation promotion and policy (such as Innosuisse) aims to create incentives to strengthen the STIB. In addition, new vessels are to be created in order to make better use of the innovative capability of the Swiss economy and to be able to focus on the needs of the Armed Forces.

The DDPS maintains regular exchange with industry. This enables the STIB to focus on the future needs of the Armed Forces, to obtain current information on possible participation in international projects of armasuisse and to be informed on forthcoming changes in procurement relevant for them. In return, this exchange offers armasuisse the opportunity to become acquainted with new or previously unknown companies, as well as their competences and skills.

An efficient STIB requires competitive framework conditions which enable the companies to also offer internationally competitive products and services.

Documents

Technology and market monitoring

 

In 2018, self-registration in the STIB database was replaced by automated «Technology and Market Monitoring» (TMM). The data is collected via web crawlers which search publicly available sources such as the commercial register, company websites and social media channels. The data is scanned at regular intervals and updated monthly in TMM.

Thanks to TMM, companies can be found together with their information such as offered products, services and technologies. This enables companies to be visible both as potential (sub)suppliers as well as possible offset partners for procurements.


Center of Excellence STIB Federal Office for Defence Procurement armasuisse
Guisanplatz 1
3000 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 480 57 46

E-Mail

print preview

Base technologique et industrielle importante pour la sécurité (BTIS)

Infographique La base technologique et industrielle importante pour la sécurité (BTIS)

La BTIS

Dans nombre d’États, une base technologique et industrielle performante est une composante de la politique d’armement, et donc de la politique de sécurité et de défense. Ce point compte particulièrement pour la Suisse, qui, en sa qualité d’État neutre, ne peut pas conclure d’alliance défensive et donc prétendre à un appui militaire de la part d’autres États. Les institutions de recherche et les entreprises qui disposent en Suisse de compétences, facultés et capacités techniques dans le domaine de la défense et de la sécurité constituent la BTIS.

La BTIS doit contribuer à réduire la dépendance de la Suisse envers l’étranger, en matière de politique d’armement, dans les domaines définis. Elle doit être en mesure de garantir en Suisse les compétences technologiques et aptitudes industrielles centrales, avec les capacités nécessaires, pour l’armée et d’autres institutions fédérales chargées de la sécurité de l’État.

Branches économiques importantes pour la sécurité

Les secteurs industriels importants pour la sécurité ont été définis conformément à la nomenclature générale des activités économiques (NOGA). Pour l’essentiel, cela comprend les secteurs économiques suivants :
• Informatique, services d’information
• Télécommunication
• Électronique, électrotechnique, optique
• Génie mécanique
• Réparation et installation de machines et d’équipements
• Métaux produits métalliques
• Produits en caoutchouc et en plastique
• Produits chimiques
• Construction automobile, pièces automobiles
• Aéronautique, (transport spatial)
• Investigation technique, physique et chimique
• Recherche et développement

L’appartenance à une telle branche économique ne garantit aucun droit à des mandats ni à des prestations d’encouragement ou de soutien de la part de la Confédération. En effet, tout ce qui en principe peut être qualifié d’important pour la sécurité n’a pas la même importance pour le DDPS. Des priorités différentes ont donc été attribuées aux branches économiques. Cette définition de priorités aide à recourir aux instruments de pilotage visant à renforcer la BTIS.

Instruments de pilotage

L’acquisition de biens d’armement et de matériel civil pour l’armée et les autres institutions fédérales chargées de la sécurité de l’État se fait si possible en Suisse pour ce qui concerne les technologies et aptitudes industrielles clés importantes pour la sécurité.

Afin de soutenir, malgré les acquisitions à l’étranger, le maintien et le développement en Suisse de technologies, de compétences et d’aptitudes industrielles clés importantes pour la sécurité, armasuisse oblige des fournisseurs d’armement étrangers à entretenir, à partir d’un volume d’acquisition de 20 millions de francs, une collaboration industrielle avec la BTIS. Cette démarche est destinée à réduire la dépendance par rapport à l’étranger dans le domaine des technologies clés en matière de défense et de sécurité, et à renforcer la sécurité d’approvisionnement de l’armée suisse.

Les contrats de coopération avec des partenaires précis autorisent des entreprises suisses à participer à des projets de recherche et à des processus d’acquisition sur le plan international, de même qu’à accéder à des technologies et à des marchés à l’étranger. Concrètement, cela signifie qu’en cas de conclusion d’accords internationaux par exemple, ou en cas de coopérations bilatérales et multilatérales d’armasuisse, le recours à la BTIS peut en principe être examiné.

La recherche axée sur l’application permet d’accroître les compétences technico-scientifiques requises pour soutenir l’ensemble du déroulement de l’armement. Pour ce faire, le DDPS attribue des contrats de recherche et se sert de ses réseaux avec les universités, les hautes écoles, l’industrie et l’administration en Suisse et à l’étranger. Dans la mesure du possible, des contrats de recherche sont attribués en Suisse.

L’intensification de la collaboration du DDPS avec les services fédéraux en charge de promouvoir l’innovation et de mener une politique adaptée (p. ex. Innosuisse) vise à créer des incitations pour le renforcement de la BTIS. Il s’agit en outre de créer de nouveaux canaux afin de tirer plus clairement parti de la capacité d’innovation de l’économie suisse et de l’orienter en fonction des besoins de l’armée suisse.

Le DDPS entretient des échanges réguliers avec l’industrie. La BTIS peut ainsi s’orienter en fonction des futurs besoins de l’armée, reçoit des informations actuelles sur la possible participation à des projets internationaux d’armasuisse et est renseignée sur les changements importants pour elle en matière de marchés publics. En contrepartie, ces échanges permettent à armasuisse de découvrir de nouvelles entreprises ou des entreprises encore inconnues ainsi que leurs compétences et aptitudes.

Une BTIS performante nécessite des conditions-cadres compétitives qui permettent aux entreprises de proposer des produits et des prestations concurrentiels, même au niveau international.

Documents

Technologie et monitoring du marché

En 2018, l’enregistrement volontaire dans la base de données BTIS a été remplacée par une procédure automatisée « Technologie et monitoring du marché » (TMM) Les données sont collectées via Webcrawler, qui recherche les sources publiquement disponibles telles que le registre du commerce, les sites Internet d’entreprises et les réseaux sociaux. Les données sont recherchées à intervalles réguliers puis mises à jour chaque mois dans la TMM.

La TMM permet ainsi de trouver des entreprises et leurs informations telles que les produits, prestations et technologies qu’elles proposent. Cela augmente la visibilité des entreprises, que ce soit en tant que fournisseurs ou sous-traitants potentiels ou comme éventuels partenaires d’affaires compensatoires pour les acquisitions.


Center of Excellence BTIS Office fédéral de l’armement
armasuisse
Guisanplatz 1
3000 Berne
Tél.
+41 58 480 57 46

E-Mail