print preview

Test Center

of the army‘s most important abilities. Functional safety is also of highest priority with regard to the procurement of weapons systems and ammunition. Experts from this neutral and independent department assess the effectiveness of ballistic and detonation protection and the usability of weapon systems and ammunition. Tests and technical clarifications are carried out using state-of-the-art testing and measurement technology.

WTT_testcenter

Weapon and Ammunition Tests

The core abilities include ballistic assessments (exterior, interior, and end ballistics), ammunition impact analyses and the testing of shooting safety. Ammunition and weapons systems are also tested or assessed for their operational capability. An ongoing task is to ensure and further develop Switzerland‘s unique expertise in ammunition technology, ballistics and wound ballistics as well as weapon efficacy and detonics.

Ballistic experiments are usually associated with significant noise emissions. Noise protection structures (LSBT) were built in Thun in the 1990s to minimise the impact on the population and the environment. LSBT comprises four instrumented underground systems with lengths between 30 m and 500 m. These allow for ballistic tests and trials with all calibres and types of ammunition permitted in Switzerland under laboratory conditions without resulting in significant emissions.

Ballistic and Detonics Protection Tests

S+T‘s accredited test centre STS0118 is specifically responsible for bullet and impact resistance verification including stab/puncture protection in the areas of protective clothing and light armour. Protection tests are also carried out on armoured vehicles and building sections at S+T. Protection concepts for people, vehicles and buildings are experimentally investigated and assessed in the context of concept trials.

Unique Test Infrastructure

Our measuring and testing facilities are available to national and international customers for system and component testing. All facilities have state-of-the-art equipment, and our highly qualified personnel ensure professional testing.

Outdoor Firing Range 450 m

WTT_schiessachse_im_freien_450m

The longest-running firing range extends over 450 m and is cleared for most ammunition types imported into Switzerland, but is usually only used if none of the underground facilities can be used.

Special Firing Range 200 m

WTT_schiessachte_200m

In the 200 m firing range it is possible to use smaller guided missiles or ammunition with warheads; Furthermore, the 200 m firing range is designed to fire at explosive targets or to activate smaller explosions. 

Outdoor Firing Range 50 m

WTT_schiessachse_im_freien_50m

The smaller firing range is designed for small calibre and non-lethal weapons (NLW) and has two 50 m cable pulleys, a mobile bullet trap and a covered sand backstop.

Underground Firing Range (500, 200, 40 and 30 m)

ballistische_schutzprüfungen

The noise protection structures in Thun (LSBT) have four underground systems, of which the two long firing ranges were built specifically for exterior, interior and end ballistics. They are cleared for all tube-shot inert ammunition types up to and including 155 mm calibre (artillery).

Factsheet 1

Maintain a safe distance when shooting? Of course, but within reason!

Hilly terrain surrounding a firing range

The safe distances that have to be maintained as per the rulebook when shooting are based on physical attributes and relate to flat terrain. Users (soldiers) then inevitably pose the question of whether hilly or mountainous terrain surrounding a firing range could not act as a natural backstop, thus making it possible to greatly reduce the safe distances stipulated.

Read more...

Factsheet 2

Fuel cells deployed in the Alps

Fuel cells deployed in the Alps

For ballistic trials and testing on firing ranges in the Alps, radio relays are generally used to ensure the safety of everyone involved (and of uninvolved parties) and to ensure that work proceeds smoothly. Armasuisse S+T is currently conducting tests with fuel cells in the high Alpine zone with a view to finding a more modern and sustainable alternative to the existing system, which involves crates full of batteries.

Read more...

Factsheet 3

News

Simulation

Developing protective clothing poses permanent challenges

Protective clothing in the form of body armour has been constantly modified and improved since time immemorial. The two world wars of the 20th century ensured that further developments to protective clothing were continuously pursued. Today, protective clothing is mainly worn by the armed forces and the police and is subject to standardised test procedures applicable throughout the world.

Factsheet 4

New Pencil Probes tested in the Shock Tube

New Pencil Probes tested in the Shock Tube

Until recently, laboratories throughout the world were reliant on just one commercial manufacturer of pencil probes. It was only at the end of last year that a competitor launched its own sensors, thus providing an alternative source for the first time in years.

Read more...

Factsheet 5

Successful reaccreditation

Certificate S+T

Science and Technology (S+T) was tasked with monitoring and evaluating the development of the new explosive practice round 16 for our mortars. The ammunition has been subjected to a series of tests in various S+T establishments. The aim is provide units with a safe and reliable product.

Read more...

Factsheet 6

Qualification of the new practice ammunition for the 81 mm mortar

The round leaving the barrel
The round leaving the barrel

Science and Technology (S+T) was tasked with monitoring and evaluating the development of the new explosive practice round 16 for our mortars. The ammunition has been subjected to a series of tests in various S+T establishments. The aim is provide units with a safe and reliable product.

Factsheet 7

Protective spectacles testing: so that nothing gets in your eyes

Model head made of polyurethane
Model head made of polyurethane

All members of the Swiss Armed Forces are equipped with spectacles as protection against fragments from projectiles or missiles. Minute fragments in particular can quickly enter the eyes and cause irreparable damage. S+T was commissioned by armasuisse's P+C Competence Sector to draw up an appropriate test method for protective spectacles as there were to date no adequate guidelines for the Armed Forces' needs.


Science and technology Test Center
Dr. Stephan Lampert
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 30 68
Fax
+41 58 468 28 41

E-Mail

print preview

Centre de test

La protection individuelle constitue l’une des capacités les plus importantes en cas d’engagement de l’armée. En matière d’acquisition de systèmes d’armes et de munitions, la sûreté de fonction-​nement revêt également une priorité absolue. Les experts de notre service spécialisé, évaluent l’efficacité de la protection balistique et détonique ainsi que la capacité d’engagement des systèmes d’armes et des munitions de manière indépendante et neutre. Les tests et les examens techniques sont effectués avec les technologies d’essai et de mesure les plus modernes.

WTT_testcenter

Tests d’armes et de munitions

Parmi nos principales compétences, on retrouve les examens balistiques (balistique interne, extérieure et terminale), les analyses d’effet des munitions et le contrôle de la sécurité lors des tirs. Des munitions et des systèmes d’armes sont également testés du point de vue de leur capacité d’engagement. Une tâche permanente consiste à garantir et développer les compétences spécialisées uniques en Suisse en rapport avec les munitions, la balistique, la balistique lésionnelle ainsi qu’avec les effets des armes et la détonique.

Les essais balistiques s’accompagnent généralement d’importantes nuisances sonores. Afin que leur impact soit aussi limité que possible pour la population et l’environnement, les ouvrages antibruit de Thoune (LSBT) ont été construits dans les années 90. Sont regroupés sous ce nom quatre installations souterraines allant de 30 à 500 mètres. Ces structures permettent de procéder à des essais et à des tests balistiques dans des conditions de laboratoire et sans provoquer de nuisances majeures avec tous les calibres et toutes les sortes de munitions admis en Suisse.

Tests de protection balistiques et détoniques

L’organe de contrôle accrédité STS0118 du centre S+T est seul responsable des tests de protection anti-projectiles, y compris la protection anti-lame dans les domaines des vêtements de protection et des blindages légers. Le centre S+T effectue aussi des tests de protection sur des véhicules blindés et sur des parties de bâtiments. Des concepts de protection sont par ailleurs expérimentés et évalués pour les êtres humains, les véhicules et les bâtiments, notamment dans le cadre de tests de principe.

Une infrastructure de test unique en son genre

Nos installations de mesure et d’essai sont à disposition de clients nationaux et internationaux en vue de tests de systèmes et de composants. Toutes les installations sont dotées des équipements les plus modernes. Notre personnel hautement qualifié garantit un déroulement professionnel des essais.

Axes de tirs souterrains (500, 200, 40 et 30 m)

WTT_unterflur_schiessachsen

Les ouvrages antibruit comprennent quatre installations souterraines. Les deux axes de tirs les plus longs ayant été cons​truits pour des tests de balistique intérieur et extérieur ainsi que des tests de balistique terminale. Les axes de tirs peuvent être utilisés pour toutes les sortes de munitions inertes tirées par tube allant jusqu’à un calibre de 155 mm. 

Axe de tirs en plein air (50 m)

WTT_schiessachse_im_freien_50m

Le petit axe de tirs est conçu pour des armes de petit calibre et des armes non létales et dispose de deux convoyeurs à câble de 50 m, d’un pare-balles mobile ainsi que d’une butte de sable couverte.

Axe de tirs pour cas particuliers (200 m)

WTT_schiessachte_200m

L’axe de tirs 200 m permet
d’utiliser des missiles de
petite taille ou des munitions équipées d’ogives explosives.
L’axe de tirs est par ailleurs
aménagé de sorte à pouvoir procéder à des tirs sur des cibles explosives ou à déclencher de petites explosions.

Axe de tirs en plein air (450 m)

WTT_schiessachse_im_freien_450m

L’axe de tirs le plus ancien s’étend sur 450 mètres et peut être utilisé pour toutes les sortes de munitions admises en Suisse, mais n’est en règle générale utilisé que si aucune des installations souterraines ne peut être employée.

Actuelle

8,1cm mortier 19 – essai au sein de la troupe à Walenstadt

8,1cm mortier 19 – essai au sein de la troupe à Walenstadt 

Suite à l’instruction, durant les semaines 41 à 44, se tient entre Walenstadt et la place de tir de Wichlen l’essai de la troupe du nouveau système mortier 19.

Lire la suite...

Factsheet 1

Distances de sécurité lors des tirs? Bien sûr, mais sur mesure s’il vous plaît!

Région de collines

Les distances de sécurité réglementaires à respecter lors des tirs ont été déterminées sur des bases relevant de la physique et elles se réfèrent à des terrains plats. Il est inévitable que l’utilisateur (la troupe) se demande s’il ne serait pas possible, dans une région de collines ou en montagne par exemple, de réduire fortement les distances de sécurité si la topographie d’une place de tir fait effet de pare-balles naturel.

Lire la suite...

Factsheet 2

Utilisation de piles à combustible en haute montagne

Vêtements de protection

Les essais balistiques sur les places de tir alpines nécessitent généralement d'utiliser des relais radio pour garantir la sécurité de tout le monde, que l’on soit directement concerné ou non, et le déroulement sans problème des travaux. armasuisse S+T procède actuellement à des essais d’utilisation de piles à combustible en haute montagne, dans le but de remplacer par une solution moderne et durable les caisses d'accumulateurs actuellement utilisées.

Lire la suite...

Factsheet 3

Le développement de vêtements de protection: un challenge permanent

Nouvelles sondes

Dans l’antiquité déjà, les tenues de protection faisaient l’objet de travaux incessants, à l’époque sous la forme d’armures. Mais les deux guerres mondiales du XXe siècle aussi ont contribué au développement continu des tenues de protection. Aujourd’hui, les militaires et les policiers sont les principaux utilisateurs de vêtements de protection qui font, dans le monde entier, l’objet de procédures d’examens standardisées.

Factsheet 4

Nouvelles sondes crayon testées dans le tube à choc

Nouvelles sondes

Jusqu’à récemment, les laboratoires du monde entier n’avaient qu’un seul fabricant commercial à qui s’en remettre pour se procurer des sondes crayon. Un autre producteur a mis sur le marché l’année passée ses propres capteurs, offrant ainsi pour la première fois enfin une alternative.

Lire la suite...

Factsheet 5

Qualification du nouvel obus d’exercice explosif pour le lance-mines 8.1cm

Obus à la sortie du tube.
Obus à la sortie du tube

Le département Sciences et Technologie s’est vu confier la tâche de suivre le développement et d’évaluer le futur obus d’exercice explosif 16 de notre lance-mines. Celui-ci a été soumis à toute sorte de tests rigoureux dans les différentes installations de S+T. Le but final étant de livrer un produit sûr et fiable à nos troupes.

Factsheet 6

Test des lunettes pare-éclats: un clin d’œil à la protection

Testdummy
Testdummy

Tous les militaires vont être équipés de lunettes pare-éclats afin d'être protégés contre des petits fragments projetés ou tirés qui peuvent atteindre l'œil et causer des dommages irréversibles.  S+T a été mandaté par le DC E+K d'armasuisse pour élaborer une méthode d’essai adaptée aux lunettes de protection, car jusqu'ici, aucune directive adéquate ne répondait aux besoins de l'armée.


Sciences et technologies Centre de tests
Dr. Stephan Lampert
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tél.
+41 58 468 30 68
Fax
+41 58 468 28 41

E-Mail

Sciences et technologies

Centre de tests
Dr. Stephan Lampert
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun