print preview

Simulation and outer space

In the areas of simulation and outer space, we are researching, developing and testing technologies and solutions for capability development, mission support as well as education and training of the Swiss Armed Forces. Bringing added value to the troops is our purpose.

Capability-based research

A yellow beam of the shines out of the astronomical institute of the University of Bern into the luminous night sky
© AIUB Uni Bern

With our research programmes Outer Space and Complexity Management, we are specifically building assessment competences for technologies which are relevant for the operational skills of the Swiss Armed Forces. Using technology monitoring, we are continuously monitoring national and international developments and assess them according to aspects such as technical feasibility, availability, usability, costs and dependencies.
 

Innovation

Screenshot of the SitSat application

Innovations only result from ideas when these are transposed into new products, services or procedures which are actually used successfully. In order for the Swiss Armed Forces to benefit from the added value of these innovations, we are developing, testing and transferring solutions for optimum support of the troops in the areas of capability development, mission support as well as education and training.

Decision support

Close-up of a compass
© pixabay

Where customer orders are concerned, we support the troops in complex issues. Here, we help our customers in selecting the ap-propriate technology and architecture (in concept develop-ment and experimentation (CD&E), in simulating and analysing military threat scenarios as well as in holistic and robust decision-making for operations or comprehensive investments. Our objective is to make the military added value from science and technology available to the troops in good time.

Testing

Screenshot of a simulation application: A tank can be seen in the foreground, a burning car in the background

In order to review conceptual ideas or new acquisitions of systems for their suitability and feasibility early on, we test innovative products for the troops. Through extensive examinations in our laboratories, we test products from the areas of simulation and outer space with regard to their impact on military operations. The knowledge obtained flows into new conceptions or acquisitions at any early stage and thus helps to minimise risks early on.


Our customers

The various coats of arms of the Operations and Training Command, the Army Staff, the FUB and the Logistics Base.


Our areas

Simulation

Screenshot of a simulation application

Space

An orbit circles the earth


armasuisse Science and Technology Dr. Michael Rüegsegger
Head of Operations Research and System Analysis (ORSA)
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 483 88 89

E-Mail

print preview

Simulation et spatial

Nous menons des activités de recherche, de conception ainsi que des tests de technologies et de solutions dans les domaines de la Simulation et du spatial pour le développement des forces armées, l’aide à l’engagement ainsi que l’instruction et l’entraînement de l’Armée suisse. Dans ce contexte, nous mettons toujours l’accent sur la plus-value militaire apportée pour la troupe.

Recherche axée sur les capacités

Un rayon jaune de l'Institut d'astronomie de l'Université de Berne rayonne dans le ciel nocturne lumineux
© AIUB Uni Bern

Nous mettons en place des compétences ciblées en matière d’évaluation des technologies pour les capacités opérationnelles de l’Armée suisse dans le cadre du programme de recherche Spatial et du thème transversal de la gestion de la complexité. Nous analysons en permanence les développements nationaux et internationaux au moyen d’un suivi des technologies, et nous les évaluons en fonction de critères comme la faisabilité technique, la disponibilité, la possibilité d’engagement, les coûts et les dépendances.

Innovation

Capture d'écran de l'application SitSat

Les innovations reposent sur des idées qui trouvent des applications tangibles dans de nouveaux produits, de nouvelles prestations ou procédés. Pour que l’Armée suisse bénéficie de la plus-value de ces innovations, nous concevons, testons et implémentons des solutions fournissant ainsi un soutien optimal à la troupe en matière de développement des forces armées, d’aide à l’engagement, d’instruction et d’entraînement.

Aide à la décision

Gros plan sur une boussole
© pixabay

Sur la base de mandats, nous soutenons la troupe dans les problématiques complexes. Nous aidons nos clients à choisir la bonne technologie et la bonne architecture, à évaluer des concepts (CD&E), à simuler et à analyser des scénarios de menace militaires, ou encore à prendre des décisions fondées dans la perspective d’engagements ou d’investis-sements globaux considérables. Notre objectif consiste à fournir au bon moment à la troupe la plus-value militaire d’armasuisse Sciences et technologies.

Essais

Capture d'écran d'une application de simulation : Au premier plan, un char, à l'arrière-plan, une voiture en feu.

Nous testons des produits novateurs pour le compte de la troupe afin d’évaluer leur pertinence, la faisabilité de nouveaux concepts ou l’acquisition de nouveaux systèmes. Nous réalisons des analyses complexes dans nos laboratoires pour tester des produits des domaines Simulation et Espace sur le plan de leur plus-value militaire. Les connaissances qui en découlent sont prises en compte en amont de nouveaux concepts ou de nouvelles acquisitions, contribuant ainsi à réduire les risques potentiels.


Nos clients

Les différents blasons du commandement des opérations, de l'instruction, de l'état-major de l'armée, de la BAC et de la base logistique


Nos domaines

Simulation

Capture d'écran d'une application de simulation

Spatial

Une orbite autour de la Terre


armasuisse Science et technologies Dr. Michael Rüegsegger
Responsable Recherche opérationnelle et analyse de systèmes (ORSA)
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thoune
Tél.
+41 58 483 88 89

E-Mail