print preview

S+T Research Program 4 - Impact, Protection and Safety

Defence-relevant agency and security topics are researched within the «Impact, Protection and Safety» research program. The technological and scientific expertise in these areas is to be maintained for the benefit of the Swiss Armed Forces.

armasuisse W+T Forschungsprogramm Wirkung, Schutz und Sicherheit


The development of defences in the fields of chemical, kinetic, thermal and electromagnetic weapons are monitored and technology demonstrators are investigated. To minimise the consequences of attacks on our forces and networks, defence concepts are drawn up and reviewed. Expertise is developed in a targeted manner with the help of research projects and partnerships.

The following research topics should be mentioned here:

Materials science and the ageing of plastics

Nowadays, plastics are used in countless protection systems (protective vests, helmets, etc.). These materials are sensitive to light, moisture and heat. Research is being carried out into the influence that the environment has on various plastics as well as the consequences for material characteristics that are relevant to ballistics.

NEMP protection (Nuclear Electromagnetic Pulse)

Nuclear electromagnetic pulse is indispensable for critical facilities and systems. Research is being carried out to determine whether NEMP protection requirements could be reduced. This would result in significant cost savings in value preservation measures.

Active protective agents

Active protective agents significantly increase the survival probability of mobile platforms by destroying an attacking system before it hits the target. The improvements in sensor systems and processing power have resulted in significant advances being made in this area in recent years. When combined with a traditional base armour, active protection systems generate a very high level of protection with a moderate amount of additional weight.

Protection against IEDs

If parties face each other in combat and one is much stronger than the other, cost-effective and self-made weapons are often used. Protective measures against explosive charges and the protection of light armoured vehicles and containers against ballistic weapons and mines must be adapted accordingly to the threats.
 

The list above is only an excerpt from the current research topics. The basic principles of traditional ballistic and explosive weapons are being further developed, and the advances made in the development of commonly used weapons and defensive measures are constantly being monitored.

The research program thus develops the technological and scientific expertise that is required in procurement projects related to weapons and defence systems. This also results in knowledge being developed in the area of ammunition monitoring and therefore for the safe handling of ammunition and explosives.

Competence areas

WTF_FoPrgm4_KF1_Wirkung

 


A comprehensive overview and knowledge of the potential agency of current and future threat and weapon systems; basic and specialist expertise in the internal, external and terminal ballistics of kinetic-thermal weapons and electromagnetic effectors; specialist safety expertise in the handling and storage of explosives, including vulnerability, ageing and environmental impact. Development of the basic competence in the area of changes to the properties of plastics used in military technology due to environmental impacts.

WTF_FoPrgm4_KF2_mobile Objekte


Basic and specialist knowledge for the evaluation of modern defence concepts for mobile platforms; ballistic protection; protection against mines and electromagnetic effectors; reduction of the size and volume of armour while maintaining a similar level of protection; the ballistic and thermal properties of modern composite materials; the electromagnetic shielding potential of micro and nanomaterials. Electromagnetic compatibility of the sensors installed in vehicles and containers.

WTF_FoPrgm4_KF3_Infrastruktur


Knowledge of the protection of infrastructures and buildings against kinetic-thermal and electromagnetic effectors; evaluation of the dynamic properties of building materials such as fibre-reinforced concrete; concepts for the structural hardening of buildings; shielding of important infrastructures against high-energy electromagnetic fields.

WTF_FoPrgm4_KF4_Rechenmodelle


The modelling and simulation of external and terminal ballistics of kinetic-thermal effectors; the calculation of electromagnetic effects, including non-ionising radiation; basic principles for material models; numerical simulation of highly dynamic phenomena. The development of systems analysis models to estimate the impact of warheads or to evaluate the vulnerability of ground-based and airborne platforms.

Technology demonstrators

WTF_FoPrgm4_TD_30mm-APFSDS-Zerstört_Format-3-2


In cooperation with RUAG Defence, the possibility of protecting oneself actively from fin-stabilised ammunition was examined. For this purpose, trials with 30mm to 120mm ammunition were performed. The results illustrate the feasibility of such active protection systems and show how spatial and temporal precision must be achieved in order to obtain the necessary protective effect.

WTF_FoPrgm4_TD2_IED-GDELS


The experimental sensor enables spatial all-round coverage, which is particularly interesting for surveillance tasks. Observation areas in different directions can be covered simultaneously.

WTF_FoPrgm4_TD3 Thermobarics_2


Model projectiles with easily reproducible terminal ballistic characteristics have been developed in cooperation with GDELS/Mowag. The projectiles should display similar characteristics to those IED projectiles found in Iraq and Afghanistan. The protective capacity of passive protective systems is thus examined and possibly improved.

Network

An active and wide-ranging network of partners from the professional world, academia, universities and other research institutes in Switzerland and abroad is utilised and maintained in order to develop expertise. In order to keep track of skills and capabilities, close contact and an exchange of information is maintained with users and the planning, procurement and test centres of the DDPS.

Research Program Manager

Research Manager
Dr. André Koch

Our «Impact, Protection and Safety» research program manager is delighted at your interest.


Science and Technology Research Management
and Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 29 11

Research Programm Manager

Dr. André Koch

E-Mail

Science and Technology

Research Management
and Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun

print preview

Programme de recherche 4 - Effets, protection et sécurité

Le programme de recherche « Effets, protection et sécurité » se consacre aux thématiques liées aux effets et à la protection pertinentes pour la défense. Les compétences technico-scientifiques dans ces domaines doivent être préservées au profit de l’Armée suisse.

armasuisse W+T Forschungsprogramm Wirkung, Schutz und Sicherheit


Ce programme suit les développements technologiques des armes chimiques, cinétiques, thermiques et électromagnétiques, et étudie des démonstrateurs technologiques. Des concepts de protection sont en outre conçus et évalués dans l’optique de minimiser les conséquences d’attaques visant les forces et infrastructures du pays. L’expertise est approfondie de manière ciblée au moyen de projets de recherche et de partenariats.

Il convient de mentionner ici les axes de recherche suivants :

Science des matériaux et vieillissement des matières plastiques

De nos jours, les matières plastiques sont employées dans une multitude de systèmes de protection (gilets pare-balles, casques, etc.). Ces matières sont sensibles à la lumière, à l’humidité et à la chaleur. L’influence de l’environnement sur diverses matières plastiques est analysée, ainsi que son impact sur les caractéristiques pertinentes du point de vue balistique.

Protection NEMP (Nuclear Electromagnetic Pulse)

Cette protection est primordiale pour les installations critiques. Permettant potentiellement des économies considérables dans le domaine du maintien de la valeur, la possibilité de revoir les exigences de protection NEMP à la baisse est étudiée.

Moyens de protection actifs

Ils permettent d’accroître sensiblement la probabilité de survie des plateformes mobiles en détruisant un système ennemi avant qu’il ne touche sa cible. Les progrès des capteurs et des capacités de calcul ont permis d’accomplir des progrès notables dans ce domaine. Combinés à un blindage traditionnel, les systèmes de protection actifs procurent un niveau de protection très élevé pour un poids additionnel modéré.

Protection contre les engins explosifs improvisés (IED)

Des moyens peu onéreux ou improvisés sont souvent engagés lorsque deux parties aux forces asymétriques s’affrontent. La protection contre les charges explosives ainsi que la protection balistique ou contre les mines de véhicules faiblement blindés ou de conteneurs doit par conséquent être adaptée aux menaces.

La liste susmentionnée ne présente que quelques-uns des axes de recherche actuels. Le développement des fondamentaux de la balistique et détonique traditionnelles se poursuit en parallèle de celui des armes et moyens de protection courants.

Ce faisant, ce programme de recherche assure les compétences technico-scientifiques nécessaires à la réalisation d’expertises dans le cadre de processus d’acquisition d’armes et de systèmes de protection. Il en découle en outre des constatations utiles en matière de surveillance des munitions et, par extension, de manipulation sûre des munitions et matières explosives.

Champs de compétences

WTF_FoPrgm4_KF1_Wirkung


Vue d’ensemble et connaissances exhaustives des effets potentiels de systèmes de menace et d’armement actuels et futurs ; maîtrise des fondamentaux et expertise en matière de balistique intérieure, extérieure et terminale d’armes thermocinétiques et électromagnétiques ; expertise en matière de sécurité de la manipulation et du stockage de matières explosives, y c. vulnérabilité, vieillissement et impact sur l’environnement. Élaboration des fondamentaux des modifications des propriétés des matières plastiques pertinentes dans le domaine de l’armement sous l’effet de facteurs environnementaux.

WTF_FoPrgm4_KF2_mobile Objekte


Connaissances de base et expertise en vue de l’évaluation de concepts de protection modernes de plateformes mobiles ; protection balistique ; protection contre les mines et les armes électromagnétiques ; réduction de la masse et du volume des blindages à niveau de protection similaire ; caractéristiques balistiques et thermiques de matériaux composites modernes ; potentiel de protection électromagnétique de matériaux microscopiques et nanomatériaux. Compatibilité électromagnétique des capteurs installés dans des véhicules ou conteneurs.

WTF_FoPrgm4_KF3_Infrastruktur


Connaissances dans le domaine de la protection des infrastructures et des bâtiments contre les armes thermocinétiques et électromagnétiques ; évaluation des propriétés dynamiques de matériaux de construction comme le béton renforcé par des fibres ; concepts de renforcement des bâtiments ; protection d’infrastructures importantes contre les champs électromagnétiques de haute puissance.

WTF_FoPrgm4_KF4_Rechenmodelle


Modélisation et simulation de la balistique extérieure et terminale d’armes thermocinétiques ; calcul des effets électromagnétiques, rayonnements non ionisants (RNI) compris ; fondements de modèles de matériaux ; simulation numérique de phénomènes hautement dynamiques. Développement de modèles d’analyse de système pour l’estimation de l’effet des ogives ou l’évaluation de la vulnérabilité des plateformes terrestres ou aériennes.

Démonstrateurs technologiques

WTF_FoPrgm4_TD_30mm-APFSDS-Zerstört_Format-3-2

La possibilité de se protéger activement contre les obus-flèches a été examinée en collaboration avec RUAG Defence. Des essais ont été effectués avec des munitions de divers calibres (de 30 mm à 120 mm) ; les résultats illustrent la faisabilité de tels systèmes actifs et permettent d’évaluer les précisions spatiales et temporelles requises pour obtenir l’effet de protection voulu.

WTF_FoPrgm4_TD2_IED-GDELS

Le capteur expérimental permet une observation spatiale à 360 degrés, ce qui est particulièrement intéressant pour les tâches de surveillance. Des secteurs d’observation de directions différentes peuvent être saisis simultanément.

WTF_FoPrgm4_TD3 Thermobarics_2

Des modèles de charges avec des propriétés balistiques terminales très reproductibles ont été développés en collaboration avec GDELS/Mowag. Les projectiles doivent avoir des caractéristiques similaires à celles des charges IED trouvées en Irak et en Afghanistan. À l’aide de ces charges, le degré de protection des systèmes de protection passifs peut être étudié et, éventuellement, amélioré.

Réseau

Le développement de compétences techniques repose sur un vaste réseau actif de partenaires issus du monde économique, de hautes écoles, d’universités et d’autres centres de recherche, en Suisse comme à l’étranger. Des contacts étroits sont en place et des informations sont échangées avec des utilisateurs et services de planification, d’acquisition et d’expérimentation du DDPS afin d’assurer la pertinence de l’affectation des capacités.

Responsable de programme de recherche

Responsable de programme de recherche
Dr. André Koch

Notre responsable du programme de recherche « effets, protection et sécurité » se réjouit de votre intérêt!


Sciences et Technologies Gestion de la recherche
et de recherche opérationnelle
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tél.
+41 58 468 29 11

Responsable du programme de recherche

Dr. André Koch

E-Mail

Sciences et Technologies

Gestion de la recherche
et de recherche opérationnelle
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun