print preview

Research Program 3a - Secure in cyberspace

Cyberspace has become a military domain of operations, and an increasing number of nations are preparing to use it. This development requires essential adjustments in the Armed Forces, which are comparable with the expansion of warfare into airspace around 100 years ago. However, in cyberspace, as in the air, it is not merely a matter of preparing for a conflict, but about maintaining the constant availability, integrity and confidentiality of the functions on which we are dependent. The hitherto prevailing approach of reactive, selective action must be replaced by a logic of anticipation and resilience, in order to cope with major events which could increasingly take place simultaneously.

Cyberspace und Information

The constant further development and penetration of digitalisation in society are making cyberspace a key area for modern conflicts and wars. The likelihood of cyberspace attacks occurring in Switzerland is very high, yet it is hard to predict how much damage could be caused.

 The goal of the programme is to build up and secure technological expertise in order to identify, assess and reduce risks in cyberspace. Due to the very short technology cycles and the rapidly changing level of threat, the research focuses are guided agilely by the current trends and the needs of the Swiss Armed Forces at the Cyber Defence Campus. Concepts are being developed which recognise anomalies in data traffic in own networks and thus detect attacks which can be displayed on an operational picture of the cyber domain of operations. To protect own networks, competences will be built up to support operations for active defence against attacks or to deceive enemy players in cyberspace. Specific vulnerability analyses in critical infrastructures and mobile devices, cyber security in aerospace as well as post-quantum cryptography round off the portfolio.

Modern laboratory infrastructures are being used to examine research results in a realistic military environment. In addition to a cyber security lab for researching the security of software and hardware components in an isolated environment, domain-specific labs exist to examine the security of future vehicle, aircraft, satellite, internet and 5G communication.

Competence areas

A white padlock in front of a source code in the background

Digitalisation leads to the fact that information and communication infrastructures are increasingly being abused for criminal, intelligence, power-political or terrorist purposes. In order to detect threats early and increase our resilience in cyberspace, new security technologies and cyber defence methods are being developed.

A computer chip in the shape of a human brain.

Cyber operations and actions in cyber space are gaining in military significance. The response capability of restricting possible consequences during incidents, if necessary even defence against cyber attacks by active defence countermeasures is being examined here. 

Close-up of a human eye in a blue tone, surrounded by numbers and signs.

The cyber threat situation is characterised by several possible threats. These vary with regard to the purpose of an attack, the participants behind the attacks and those affected. New approaches and procedures are being examined in order to present an overall operational picture of the activities and threats in cyberspace.  

Various icons such as cloud, monitor, smartphone, cogwheel are networked together in front of the image of a server room.

In order for the Armed Forces, but also critical infrastructures, to remain operational in emergency situations and crises, they must have access to functioning and secure information and control systems at all times. This requires highly secure, robust and autonomous cyber infrastructures. Automated methods for finding and eliminating vulnerabilities are being examined for this purpose. 

Network

A wide network of partners from the professional world, academia, universities and other research institutes in Switzerland and abroad is actively used and maintained in order to develop expertise. In order to keep track of skills and capabilities, close contact and an exchange of information is maintained with users and the planning, procurement and test centres of the DDPS.

Research Program Manager

Research Program Manager
Dr. Vincent Lenders

Our «Secure in cyberspace» research program manager is delighted at your interest.

Downloads


Science and Technology Field of Study of Cybersecurity and Data Science
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 27 68

Research Program Manager

Dr. Vincent Lenders
E-Mail

Science and Technology

Field of Study of Cybersecurity and Data Science
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun

print preview

Programme de recherche 3a - Pour la sécurité de l’espace cybernétique

L’espace cybernétique est devenu une sphère d’opération militaire qu’un nombre croissant d’États se préparent à exploiter. Ce développement impose aux forces armées d’opérer des changements fondamentaux comparables à l’expansion de la guerre dans l’espace aérien il y a près d’un siècle. Toutefois, dans l’espace cybernétique comme aérien, l’enjeu n’est pas uniquement de se préparer à un conflit, mais aussi d’assurer la disponibilité permanente, l’intégrité et la confidentialité des fonctions dont l’on dépend. Dominante jusqu’à présent, la pensée axée sur des actions réactives et ponctuelles doit céder la place à une logique d’anticipation et de capacité de résistance afin de faire face à des événements de grande ampleur davantage susceptibles de survenir simultanément.

WTF_FoPrgm3_Titelbild

 

Le développement constant et la pénétration de la numérisation dans la société font de l’espace cybernétique l’un des principaux théâtres des conflits modernes. De nos jours, la Suisse est fortement susceptible d’être la cible d’attaques provenant de l’espace cybernétique, dont le potentiel de dommages est difficile à évaluer.

Ce programme vise à établir et à assurer des compétences technologies approfondies en matière d’identification, d’évaluation et de réduction des risques dans l’espace cybernétique. Face à des cycles technologiques très courts et à une menace en rapide évolution, les principaux axes de recherche sont explorés au sein du Cyber-Defence Campus en fonction des tendances et des besoins de l’armée. On y élabore des concepts visant à identifier des anomalies dans le trafic de données sur les réseaux internes qui permettent de détecter des attaques et de les représenter sur un tableau de la sphère d’opération cyber. Aux fins de protection des réseaux internes, on développe également des compétences de soutien aux opérations de défense active contre les attaques ou de tromperie des acteurs adverses dans l’espace cybernétique. Ce portefeuille est complété par des analyses ciblées des vulnérabilités des infrastructures critiques et des appareils mobiles, la cybersécurité dans le domaine aérospatial ainsi que la cryptographie post-quantique.

Des infrastructures de laboratoire de pointe sont utilisées pour l’étude des résultats de recherche dans un environnement militaire axé sur la pratique. Outre un laboratoire de cybersécurité pour l’étude de la sécurité des composants logiciels et matériels dans un environnement isolé, des laboratoires spécifiques sont disponibles pour des travaux sur la sécurité des communications de demain dans le domaine des véhicules, des avions, des satellites, d’Internet ou encore de la 5G.

Champs de compétences

Un cadenas blanc devant un code source en arrière-plan

La numérisation entraîne une recrudescence des cas de détournement des infrastructures d’information et de communication à des fins criminelles, d’espionnage, de politique de puissance ou de terrorisme. De nouvelles technologies de sécurité et méthodes de cyberdéfense sont conçues afin d’assurer la détection précoce des menaces et d’améliorer la capacité de résistance dans l’espace cybernétique.

 Une puce informatique en forme de cerveau humain.

Les cyberopérations et autres actions dans l’espace cybernétique gagnent en importance sur le plan militaire. On étudie ici la capacité de réaction afin de limiter les conséquences potentielles des incidents et, au besoin, de se défendre activement contre les cyberattaques au moyen de contre-mesures.

Gros plan d'un œil humain dans un ton bleu, entouré de chiffres et de signes.

La cybermenace se caractérise par une multitude de menaces potentielles. Le but des attaques, les acteurs derrière celles-ci, ou encore le cercle des victimes diffèrent à chaque fois. On étudie de nouveaux processus et approches afin de dresser un tableau global des activités et menaces dans l’espace cybernétique.

Différentes icônes comme le nuage, le moniteur, le smartphone, le matériel sont mises en réseau devant l'image d'une salle de serveurs.

Pour que l’armée comme les infrastructures critiques demeurent opérationnelles en cas de crises et de situations d’urgence, elles doivent pouvoir disposer à tout moment de systèmes d’information et de pilotage fonctionnels et sûrs. Des cyberinfrastructures ultra sécurisées, robustes et autonomes sont requises. On étudie par conséquent des méthodes automatisées de détection et de correction des vulnérabilités.

Réseau

Le développement de compétences techniques repose sur un vaste réseau de partenaires issus du monde économique, de hautes écoles, d’universités et d’autres centres de recherche, en Suisse comme à l’étranger. Des contacts étroits sont en place et des informations sont échangées avec des utilisateurs et services de planification, d’acquisition et d’expérimentation du DDPS afin d’assurer la pertinence de l’affectation des capacités.

Responsable de programme de recherche

Responsable de programme de recherche
Dr. Vincent Lenders

Notre responsable de programme de recherche « Pour la sécurité de l’espace cybernétique » se réjouit de votre intérêt!


Sciences et Technologies Domaine spécialisé
Cybersécurité et Data Science
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tél.
+41 58 468 27 68

Responsable de programme de recherche

Dr. Vincent Lenders
E-Mail

Sciences et Technologies

Domaine spécialisé
Cybersécurité et Data Science
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun