print preview

Research Program 2 - Communications

Information and communications technologies develop rapidly and the development cycles are commensurately short, which is why there is a risk that technologies become obsolete in the foreseeable future. This risk must be countered with new technologically and economically balanced solutions. In order to develop the requisite technological and scientific expertise, technology monitoring studies, research projects and field and laboratory tests are carried out with demonstrators, as part of which a multilateral cooperation network can be utilised.

Kommunikation


Communication plays a key role in network-centric operations as well as in collaborations between civilian and military bodies. Reliable and efficient systems for mobile communications networks that allow for proper and timely command control capabilities – even in difficult conditions – are needed.

This research program focuses on developing the competences for the professional evaluation of technologies for future military systems. The aim of the program is to support strategic, operational and tactical decision-making in a degraded information environment and to validate conceptual approaches for future armament programmes.

Owing to the fast pace at which advances are made in civilian mobile communication technologies, testing must be carried on an ongoing basis to determine in which form these can be integrated into a military environment.

As no single technology will represent a comprehensive solution in the future, heterogeneous means of communication with modular architecture will also be taken into consideration. Intelligent and self-organising systems are extremely important if a large number of nodes (sensors, decision-makers and effectors) are to be networked together optimally. This requires the development of an intelligent network management system (incl. routing procedures) for the efficient utilisation of resources.

The increasing communication need for transmitting data and information between mobile systems (as well as command control and sensor networks) calls for the efficient use of limited resources in the electromagnetic field. Using software-defined and cognitive radios, waveforms and frequency occupation are optimised in accordance with their use and the electromagnetic environment. The new antenna technologies, such as smart antennas, can be used to increase performance and spectral efficiency as well as to reduce detectability. Alternative solutions to communicating using satellites include using swarms of drones or HAP (high-altitude platforms).

Competence areas

Kommunikationssysteme


Research is being carried out into the development of communication networks through the modular integration of relevant technologies. Approaches for the continuous and intelligent optimisation of the allocation of resources are reviewed in accordance with the current requirements and based on the information on the location.

WTF_FoPrgm2_KF2_Effiziente_Anwendung_EM_Raum1


In addition to optimising the spectral efficiency, smart antennas can reduce detectability and energy consumption. The approach using cognitive radios allows for the frequency bands available to be used in a more intelligent, flexible and economic manner.

WTF_FoPrgm2_KF3_Militärische_Relevanz_ziv_Kommunikationstech


The rapid pace of technological developments and the associated short system life cycles of civilian means of telecommunication have resulted in the use of constantly changing new concepts and technical systems for military applications. The development opportunities for military communication networks are reviewed through the continuous integration of relevant and new civilian technologies.

Technology demonstrators

TD1_Software Defined Radio


The RECOMS platform from the School of Engineering in Yverdon features a field programmable gate array (FPGA), a Linux processor and a software development environment. This platform is used to carry out research into waveforms and new processes for software-defined radio and cognitive radio in real environments.

WTF_FoPrgm2_TD2


An autonomous swarm of microdrones is being used to research broadband communication networks between airborne platforms and/or armed forces on the ground.

Network

The development of expertise is based on a wide network of partners from the professional world, academia, universities and other research institutes in Switzerland and abroad. In order to keep track of skills and capabilities, close contact and an exchange of information is maintained with users and the planning, procurement and test centres of the DDPS.

Research Program Manager

Research Program Manager
Dr. Christof Schüpbach

Our «Communications» research program manager is delighted at your interest!


Science and Technology Field of Study Communication and Electromagnetic Protection
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 28 32

Research Program Manager

Dr. Christof Schüpbach

E-Mail

print preview

Programme de recherche 2 - Communication

Les technologies d’information et de communication évoluent rapidement, raccourcissant d’autant les cycles de développement. Dès lors, les technologies mises en œuvre actuellement risquent de devenir obsolescentes dans un avenir proche. Ce risque doit être maîtrisé au moyen de solutions nouvelles équilibrées sur les plans techniques et économiques. Afin de mettre en place l’expertise technico-scientifique nécessaire, des études de veille technologique, projets de recherche et autres essais de terrain et en laboratoire sont donc réalisés sur la base d’un réseau de coopération multilatéral.

Communikation


La communication joue un rôle clé pour la conduite des opérations en réseau et la coopération civilo-militaire. Les réseaux de communication mobiles ont besoin de systèmes fiables et performants pour une capacité de conduite adaptée et rapide, même dans des conditions difficiles.

Ce programme de recherche consiste à mettre en place les compétences requises pour l’évaluation technique des technologies employées par les systèmes militaires de demain. Il s’agit d’appuyer la prise de décision stratégique, opérationnelle et tactique dans un environnement informationnel dégradé ainsi que de valider diverses approches conceptuelles pour de futurs programmes d’armement.

Les progrès fulgurants des technologies civiles de communication mobile doivent constamment être évalués afin de déterminer sous quelle forme elles pourront être intégrées dans un environnement militaire.

Puisqu’à l’avenir également, aucune technologie unique ne fera office de solution universelle, des moyens de communication hétérogènes présentant une architecture modulaire sont aussi pris en considération. Les systèmes intelligents et auto-organisés revêtent une grande importance lorsqu’il s’agit de mettre en réseau plusieurs nœuds (capteurs, décideurs et effecteurs) de manière rapide et optimale. Pour ce faire, une impulsion est donnée au développement d’une gestion du réseau intelligente (processus de routine incl.) visant à une utilisation efficiente des ressources.

Les besoins de communication croissants liés à la transmission de données et d’informations entre les systèmes mobiles (ainsi qu’entre les réseaux de conduite et de capteurs) exigent une utilisation plus efficiente des ressources limitées dans l’espace électromagnétique. La forme d’onde et l’occupation des fréquences sont optimisées en fonction de l’utilisation et de l’environnement électromagnétique grâce à la radio logicielle et à la radio cognitive. De nouvelles technologies d’antenne comme les antennes intelligentes permettent d’accroître les performances et l’efficience spectrale, tout comme de réduire la détectabilité des systèmes. Des essaims de drones ou encore des plateformes de haute altitude (HAPS) peuvent constituer des alternatives à la communication par satellite.

Champs de compétences

Kommunikationssysteme


Le développement de réseaux de communication est examiné via l’intégration modulaire de technologies pertinentes. Les approches d’optimisation continue et intelligente de la distribution des ressources sont examinées en fonction des besoins immédiats en matière d’engagement et sur la base des informations sur la situation.

WTF_FoPrgm2_KF2_Effiziente_Anwendung_EM_Raum1


Outre l’optimisation de l’efficience spectrale, les antennes intelligentes peuvent réduire la détectabilité et la consommation d’énergie. La radio cognitive permet quant à elle d’occuper les bandes de fréquences disponibles de manière plus intelligente, plus flexible et plus économique.

WTF_FoPrgm2_KF3_Militärische_Relevanz_ziv_Kommunikationstech


Les progrès fulgurants des technologies de communication civiles et le raccourcissement des cycles de vie qui en découle donnent lieu à la mise en œuvre constante de nouveaux concepts et systèmes dans le domaine militaire. Les possibilités de développement de réseaux de communications militaires sont examinées par l’intégration continuelle de nouvelles technologies civiles pertinentes.

Démonstrateurs technologiques

TD1_Software Defined Radio


La plateforme RECOMS de l’école d’ingénieurs d’Yverdon combine une Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA), un système Linux et un environnement de développement logiciel dans l’optique d’étudier des formes d’onde et de nouveaux processus de radio logicielle et cognitive en conditions réelles.

WTF_FoPrgm2_TD2


Un essaim autonome de micro-drones est utilisé pour examiner les réseaux de communication à large bande entre des plateformes aériennes et/ou des forces d’intervention terrestres.

Responsable de programme de recherche

responsable de programme de recherche
Dr. Christof Schüpbach

Notre responsable de programme de recherche « communication » se réjouit de votre intérêt!

Téléchargements


Sciences et Technologies Domaine spécialisé Communication et protection électromagnétique
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tél.
+41 58 468 28 32

Responsable de programme de recherche

Dr. Christof Schüpbach

E-Mail

Sciences et Technologies

Domaine spécialisé Communication et protection électromagnétique
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun