print preview

Research Program 1 - Reconnaissance and Surveillance

The reconnaissance and surveillance research program operated by the armasuisse Science and Technology competence sector deals with five capability-oriented competence areas in the field of ISTAR (Intelligence, Surveillance, Target Acquisition and Reconnaissance). In addition, new methods of procuring information are identified and technological and scientific expertise is developed to rectify any capability shortages within the Armed Forces. All of this is carried out with the help of a multilateral cooperation network.

WTF_FoPrgm1_Titelbild_Kamera


Information that is relevant for making decisions can in future be generated quicker, more accurately and also under difficult conditions, such as during rainy and cloudy weather. There is a wide range of reasons behind this. In comparison to the situation today, the further development of intelligent algorithms will allow for the improved tracking and classification of targets. This applies to the further development of radar technology for air surveillance, for example. The latest developments in the field of cognitive and multistatic radar technologies allow for the improved detection of air targets through the use of environmental information. Intelligent algorithms also play a key role in the pooling of data from numerous sensors and the consolidation of information to form an overview appropriate to the situation.

Due to the advances made in electronics, the collected sensor data can be increasingly digitised and processed. This can be seen, for example, in image-based reconnaissance. Using multi-camera systems, wide-angle shots with a very high image resolution can be taken in real time. Other developments in electronics and semi-conductor technology allow for the miniaturisation of sensor components, which is of interest for applications with micro- and mini-drones. The advances made in electronics opens up spectral ranges that have not yet been able to be used with the sensor systems currently available. This promises improvements in the reconnaissance of targets in unfavourable weather conditions and under camouflage.

The latest technological developments are pushing the performance limits of future reconnaissance and surveillance devices and equipment. The main tasks of the research program are thus as follows:

  • The identification of the relevant technologies and their trends in relation to intelligence gathering (IMINT, RADINT, MASINT, ACCOUSTINT, SAR, GEOINT)
  • The identification of new technological options
  • The securing of the fundamentals and specialist knowledge for advice, testing and expertise

Competence areas

Luftaufklärung
Air reconnaissance

The advances made in antenna technology, high-frequency engineering and algorithmics will allow for new applications in the future. Research topics include cognitive, multistatic and passive radar systems. Interference, such as echo signals caused by the terrain as well as backscatter signals from aircraft, must also be taken into consideration. New approaches for detecting drones are being evaluated.

IMINT Technologie für Abstandsaufklärung
IMINT technologies for standoff reconnaissance

In comparison to traditional systems, the advances made in technology promise an improved detection of ground targets, e.g. with hyperspectral sensors. Important information can also be recorded in bad weather conditions with imaging radar sensors (Synthetic Aperture Radar – SAR). The further development of SAR technology on multi-channel systems pledges to record human activities on the ground in real time

Intelligente Ueberwachung Boden
Intelligent surveillance of activities on the ground

Due to the ever-increasing volume of data being recorded, an intelligent sensor-based preliminary evaluation is gaining in significance. The additional trend towards networking promises to safeguard surveillance tasks with low staff costs. In this competence area, the trends and limits of intelligent and networked surveillance must be identified and assessed.

Leistungsgrenze moderner Sensorik
Improvements to detectors

The new developments in detector and sensor technology are being evaluated with respect to their performance limits. This relates to multi-sensor systems, miniaturisation and sensor systems that access new spectral bands, as well as new methods of wide-angle reconnaissance. Research is also being carried out into new approaches for increasing sensor distances and for deployments in urban terrain (e.g. through-wall sensing).

 

Zieldetektion und Tarnanalyse
Target detection and camouflage analysis

The properties of targets and the background are captured for radar, visual, hyperspectral, infra-red-based and acoustic sensors. Signature analysis and the analysis of human influences form the core of the evaluation. Furthermore, the advances made in multispectral, mobile and adaptive camouflage are collected and evaluated in this competence area.

Technology demonstrators

Gefechtsfeldradar
Gefechtsfeldradar

The FERAMO experimental field radar is used for close-range reconnaissance tasks (a few hundred meters). It can detect people, vehicle and small drones.

GigaEye Demonstrator
GigaEye Demonstrator

The experimental sensor permits complete all-round coverage, which is of particular interest for surveillance tasks. This allows simultaneous observation of sectors in a variety of different directions.

MIRANDA Radarsensor
MIRANDA

The MIRANDA technology demonstrator allows images of the ground to be taken from the air even during bad weather when other sensors are unable to deliver any useable information. Quicklook pictures have been transmitted in real time up to a distance of 120km and high-resolution SAR images have produced resolutions of up to 15 cm.

WTF_FoPrgm1_TD5_HostileFireIndication


Due to engine noise, helicopter crews are unlikely to hear gunshots aimed at their aircraft. It is therefore even more important in such cases for pilots to receive automatic warnings indicating the proximity of hazardous zones. In order to develop expertise in this area, a Cougar helicopter has been fitted with 14 special microphones for test purposes.

Demonstrator Multisensor
Demonstrator Multisensor

The desired reconnaissance result can often not be achieved with a single sensor. The multi-sensor platform makes it possible to exploit the potential of sensor data fusion.

Adaptive Tarnung
Adaptive Camouflage

This project examines demonstration camouflage kits which adapt vehicles to match their background (immediate surroundings). This type of adaptation is of interest in both the thermal infrared and visual electromagnetic spectrum.

Network

The development of expertise is based on a wide network of partners from the professional world, academia, universities and other research institutes in Switzerland and abroad. In order to keep track of skills and capabilities, close contact and an exchange of information is maintained with users and the planning, procurement and test centres of the DDPS.

Research Program Manager

Research Program Manager
Dr. Peter Wellig

Our «Reconnaissance and Surveillance» research program manager is delighted at your interest!


Science and Technology Field of Study Research Management and Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 28 10

Research Program Manager

Dr. Peter Wellig

E-Mail

Science and Technology

Field of Study Research Management and Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun

print preview

Programme de recherche 1 - Reconnaissance et surveillance

Le programme de recherche « Reconnaissance et surveillance » du domaine Sciences et technologies d’armasuisse traite de cinq champs de compétences axés sur les capacités dans le domaine ISTAR (Intelligence, Surveillance, Target Acquisition and Reconnaissance). Il présente de nouvelles opportunités en matière d’acquisition d’informations et met en place des compétences technico-scientifiques en lien avec les lacunes de capacités de l’armée à l’aide d’un réseau de coopération multilatéral.

WTF_FoPrgm1_Titelbild_Kamera


À l’avenir, les informations déterminantes pour la prise de décision pourront être obtenues de manière plus rapide et plus précise, même dans des conditions difficiles comme en cas de pluie et de couverture nuageuse, et ce pour de multiples raisons. Par rapport à aujourd’hui, le développement d’algorithmes intelligents permettra une meilleure identification et classification des cibles, notamment grâce à des technologies radar plus avancées pour la surveillance de l’espace aérien. Les derniers progrès dans le domaine des technologies radar cognitives et multistatiques permettent une détection améliorée des cibles aériennes sur la base d’informations issues de l’environnement. Les algorithmes intelligents jouent également un rôle important dans la fusion des données de multiples capteurs ainsi que dans la consolidation d’informations en vue d’établir un tableau pertinent de la situation.

Les progrès de l’électronique permettent de numériser et de traiter une quantité toujours plus importante de données de capteurs, comme en témoigne la reconnaissance fondée sur des images. Des images grand angle à très haute résolution, obtenues au moyen de systèmes faisant appel à plusieurs caméras, peuvent être prises en temps réel. D’autres progrès du domaine de l’électronique et des semi-conducteurs permettent de miniaturiser certains composants des capteurs, présentant un intérêt pour des applications dans des micro-drones et mini-drones. Le développement constant de l’électronique crée des plages spectrales que les capteurs actuels ne permettent pas encore d’exploiter, laissant présager de plus amples progrès en matière d’identification des cibles par des conditions météorologiques peu propices ou depuis des positions camouflées.

Les progrès technologiques actuels ayant une incidence sur les limites de futurs moyens de reconnaissance et de surveillance, les principaux objectifs du programme de recherche sont les suivants :

  • Identifier les technologies pertinentes ainsi que les tendances en matière d’acquisition d’informations (IMINT, RADINT, MASINT, ACCOUSTINT, SAR, GEOINT).
  • Mettre en avant de nouvelles opportunités technologiques.
  • Réunir les bases et les connaissances techniques nécessaires au conseil, à l’expérimentation et aux expertises.

Champs de compétences

Luftaufklärung
Reconnaissance aérienne

Les progrès en matière de technologie des antennes, de technique des hautes fréquences et d'algorithmes permettront, à l'avenir, de réaliser de nouvelles solutions. La recherche porte notamment sur les systèmes de radars cognitifs, multistatiques ou passifs. Il convient également de tenir compte d'effets perturbateurs comme les signaux d'échos liés à la topographie ainsi que la rétrodiffusion d'objets volants. De nouvelles approches sont évaluées pour la détection de drones.

Technologie IMINT pour l’exploration à distance
Technologie IMINT pour l’exploration à distance

Comparativement aux systèmes traditionnels, les progrès technologiques sont prometteurs d’une meilleure détection d’objectifs terrestres, par exemple à l’aide de capteurs hyperspectraux. Des informations importantes peuvent être saisies aussi en cas de mauvais temps avec des capteurs radar stigmatiques (SAR). La poursuite du développement de la technologie SAR avec des systèmes à plusieurs canaux est prometteuse pour la détection en temps réel d’activités humaines au sol.

Surveillance intelligente d’activités au sol
Surveillance intelligente d’activités au sol

En raison de l’augmentation continue des quantités de données saisies, l’importance d’un dépouillement préalable intelligent de ces dernières à proximité du capteur s’accroît. La tendance supplémentaire à l'interconnexion permet de s’attendre à pouvoir accomplir des tâches de surveillance avec un personnel réduit. Dans ce champ de compétences, il s’agit de saisir les tendances et les limites de la surveillance intelligente interconnectée et d’en faire l’appréciation.

Leistungsgrenze moderner Sensorik
les progrès des détecteurs

Les progrès des détecteurs et des capteurs sont évalués sous l’angle des limites de performances. Cela concerne les capteurs multiples, la miniaturisation, les capteurs opérant dans de nouvelles bandes spectrales, ainsi que les nouvelles possibilités d'exploration grand-angle. De nouvelles approches d’augmentation des distances d’engagement des capteurs ou d’engagement en zone urbaine (Through Wall Sensing) sont également examinées.

Détection de cibles et analyse du camouflage
Détection de cibles et analyse du camouflage

Les propriétés des cibles et des arrière-plans sont saisies par les capteurs radar, visuels, hyperspectraux, fonctionnant à partir de l’infrarouge et acoustiques. L’essentiel des travaux porte sur l’analyse des signatures et celle des influences humaines lors du dépouillement des données. De plus, les progrès du camouflage multispectral, mobile et adaptatif sont saisis et évalués dans ce champ de compétences.

Démonstrateurs technologiques

Radar pour champ de bataille
Radar pour champ de bataille

Le radar de terrain expérimental FERAMO est utilisé pour l'exploration rapprochée (quelques centaines de mètres). Il permet de détecter des personnes, des véhicules et de petits drones.

Démonstrateur GigaEye
Démonstrateur GigaEye

Le capteur expérimental autorise l'observation sur 360 degrés, ce qui est particulièrement intéressant pour les tâches de surveillance. Des secteurs d'observation de directions différentes peuvent être saisis simultanément.

MIRANDA Radarsensor
MIRANDA

Le démonstrateur technologique MIRANDA permet de faire des prises de vue aériennes du sol également par mauvaises conditions météorologiques, alors que d'autres capteurs ne fourniraient aucune information utilisable. Les images Quicklook ont pu être transmises en temps réel jusqu’à une distance de 120 km, et les images SAR offrent une résolution élevée jusqu’à 15 cm.

WTF_FoPrgm1_TD5_HostileFireIndication

Les coups de fusil sont à peine audibles pour l'équipage, car ils disparaissent dans le bruit de l'hélicoptère. Il est donc d'autant plus important pour les pilotes d'obtenir des avertissements automatiques et des indications sur les zones de dangers en cas d'événement. Pour acquérir de la compétence d’appréciation dans ce domaine, un hélicoptère Cougar a été équipé de 14 microphones spéciaux à des fins de tests.

Demonstrator Multisensor
Demonstrator Multisensor

Souvent, un unique capteur ne permet pas d'obtenir le résultat souhaité de l'exploration. La plate-forme multicapteurs permet de tirer parti du potentiel qu'offre la fusion des données de capteurs.

Adaptive Tarnung
Camouflage adaptatif

Ce projet sert à l'analyse de démonstrateurs de camouflage avec lesquels les véhicules sont adaptés à l'arrière-plan (environnement local). L'intérêt porte sur l'adaptation aussi bien dans le spectre thermique infrarouge que dans le spectre électromagnétique visuel.

Réseau

Le développement de compétences techniques repose sur un vaste réseau de partenaires issus du monde économique, de hautes écoles, d’universités et d’autres centres de recherche, en Suisse comme à l’étranger. Des contacts étroits sont en place et des informations sont échangées avec des utilisateurs et services de planification, d’acquisition et d’expérimentation du DDPS afin d’assurer la pertinence de l’affectation des capacités.

Responsable de programme de recherche

Responsable de programme de recherche
Dr. Peter Wellig

Notre responsable de programme de recherche
« reconnaissance et surveillance » se réjouit de votre intérêt!


Sciences et Technologies Gestion de la recherche
et de recherche opérationnelle
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tél.
+41 58 468 28 10

Responsable de programme de recherche

Dr. Peter Wellig

E-Mail

Sciences et Technologies

Gestion de la recherche
et de recherche opérationnelle
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun