print preview

Cyber-Defence and Information

Security organizations are increasingly reliant on reliable and secure communication and information-gathering means. Close attention, therefore, needs to be paid to technological developments and threats in cyberspace. This means that information security is not merely a matter of technology. Adequate effectiveness of protective measures need to be continuously verified and tuned with the responsible agencies for them to act quickly and effectively in care of a cyber attack. Attacks of this type occur soundlessly and without warning, and the slightest weak point can result in major damage.

td2

Risk analysis of information and communication systems

armasuisse_GHH_3_026

The effectiveness of security plans and security measures needs to be constantly validated under operational and threat scenarios. Plans are reviewed and formal information system audits are conducted for this purpose. These can be supplemented by verification and penetration tests for assessing the suitability, robustness and reliability of measures for protecting the flow of information.

Information management and information security management

armasuisse_GHH_3_035

A central task performed by information management and information security management is to design and improve control and performance delivery procedures in the field of information and communication technologies (ICT). This includes continuously and comprehensively assessing strategy, objectives and outcomes, and the potential risks to the ICT function.

Developing «cyber-defence» expertise

armasuisse_GHH_3_054

The Armed Forces are reliant on precisely targeted monitoring of developments in technology with respect to threats. Scenarios which include possible courses of action and sustainable, risk-based protective measures are defined for the long term. To achieve this, we design and implement prototypes and demonstrators. This allows decision-makers, developers and users to close the gap between aspirations and specific requirements and to manage complexity.

Cyber-Defence Campus

Defence_Campus_Keyvisual

Thanks to its wide-ranging expertise and international competence network, the Cyber Defence Campus is the link between the DDPS, industry, academic institutions and hacker communities when it comes to all things related to cyber security. To be able to keep one step ahead of cyber threats and developments in this area, the CYD Campus works closely with academic institutions such as the ETHZ and the EPFL and, where possible, also involves partners from industry.

CYD Campus

Factsheet 1

SDR system architecture

Software

Software-defined radio (SDR) systems are ideally structured in the same way as conventional radios. The signal first passes through the RF front end, before being processed and finally output for the user. 

Read more...

Factsheet 2

Software which tells the hardware what to do.....

Software

The technological trend points to the decreasing specialisation of hardware components. For the most part, ICT systems will in future be controlled primarily by software.

In the past, hardware components tended to be replaced by cheaper and higher-performance hardware components: ever faster processors and larger memories were the order of the day. But now hardware components are controlled by software and hence one is networked with the other. The general virtualisation of all ICT resources promises greater flexibility at lower cost by dividing up the available resources appropriately and deploying them according to need. Rigorous specialisation through software configuration and control makes it possible, for example, to adapt the necessary processing, memory and network elements flexibly in line with functional and performance requirements. In figurative terms, it is thus possible to switch within a short time from a large auditorium to several separate classrooms – or vice versa – as capacity can be freely allocated. But this increased flexibility also means greater risks. The experts at S+T examine all types of software and hardware systems by regularly testing them, comparing them and checking their safety.

Factsheet 3

Practice makes perfect – the world of simulator training

Cockpit

S+T has produced a summary of existing training and simulator systems. Training facilities are a vital element in all security-related organizations – not least of all the Swiss Armed Forces, given the growing shortage of training opportunities, training periods and training staff. It is essential to keep developing these facilities with a view to optimizing the usefulness of the training results.

Factsheet 4

Methodical decision-making processes – a strategic core competency in a changing environment

Bereitstellung für Vorversuch
Practice-proven: equipment ready for preliminary testing

Organizations with security-related roles such as the DDPS, the police or the cantons are constantly confronted with the need to adapt to a rapidly changing environment. Here a methodical approach is beneficial to decision-making and also saves costs. In this context, S+T is conducting a multi-phase proof-of-principle trial. This covers the whole process from the initial on-screen simulation and the initial field trials through to full-scale exercises with armed forces personnel.

Factsheet 5

armasuisse - ETH Zurich team receives Best Paper Award

Best Paper Award
Best Paper Award

Vincent Lenders (armasuisse Science and Technology) together with David Gugelmann, Fabian Gasser and Bernhard Ager (ETH Zurich) have received an award at the annual Digital Forensic Research Workshop conference (DFRWS EU 2015) in Dublin.

Read more...


Sciences and technology C4I-Networks
Mr. Adrian Turtschi
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 27 52
Fax
+41 58 468 28 41

E-Mail

Sciences and technology

C4I-Networks
Mr. Adrian Turtschi
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun

print preview

Cyber-Defence et Information

Les organismes actifs dans le domaine de la sécurité ont un besoin toujours plus urgent de moyens d'information et de communication fiables et sûrs, c'est pourquoi les développements et les menaces technologiques dans l'espace de l'information (Cyberspace) doivent être suivis attentivement. La sécurité de l'information n'est, dès lors, pas seulement une question de technologies. Les mesures de protection doivent faire l'objet de vérifications continues de leur efficacité et être convenues avec les responsables des engagements, de manière à pouvoir agir rapidement et efficacement en cas d'attaque visant des informations et des systèmes. De telles attaques sont menées à l'improviste, ne font aucun bruit et peuvent engendrer des dommages importants s'il existe la moindre faille.

WTF_FoPrgm2_TD2

Analyse des risques concernant les systèmes d'information et de communication

armasuisse_GHH_3_026


L'efficacité des concepts et des mesures de sécurité doit être prouvée constamment à partir de scénarios d'engagement et de menace. A cet effet, des vérifications sont faites au niveau conceptuel et des audits formels de systèmes d'information sont effectués. En complément, il est possible de réaliser des tests dits de vérification et de pénétration. Ceux-ci renseignent sur les performances, la robustesse et la mesure dans laquelle le flux d'informations est digne de confiance.

Gestion des informations et de leur sécurité

armasuisse_GHH_3_035


Une tâche fondamentale de la gestion de l'information et de la gestion de la sécurité des informations est la conception et l'amélioration des processus de pilotage et d'élaboration de prestations en relation avec la technologie de l'information et de la communication ( TIC ). Cela inclut l'appréciation continue de la stratégie, des objectifs et des résultats, ainsi que l'évaluation globale des risques liés aux fonctions TIC.

Développement de la compétence «Cyber-Defence»

armasuisse_GHH_3_054


L'armée a besoin d'un monitoring du développement des technologies et des menaces. Des scénarios sont élaborés incluant des possibilités d'action et des mesures de protection durables à long terme fondées sur une analyse des risques. Des prototypes et des démonstrateurs sont développés et mis en oeuvre à cet effet. Les décideurs, les développeurs et les utilisateurs ont ainsi la possibilité de combler les lacunes existant entre leurs intentions et les exigences concrètes, afin de maîtriser la complexité.

Cyber-Defence Campus

Defence_Campus_Keyvisual

De par son vaste savoir-faire et son réseau international de compétences, le Campus cyberdéfense fait la liaison entre le DDPS, l’industrie, les milieux universitaires et les communautés de hackers pour tous les sujets pertinents en matière de cyberdéfense. Pour suivre les progrès fulgurants et les menaces dans le domaine de la cybercriminalité, le CYD-Campus travaille en étroite collaboration avec les institutions académiques telles que l’ETHZ ou l’EPFL. Autant que possible, l’industrie est également impliquée.

CYD Campus

Actuelle

Photo Pierre Dumont

armasuisse: distinction d’un stagiaire par le CCDCoE de l’OTAN pour un engagement à Tallinn (Estonie)

Nous avons le plaisir d’informer que M. Pierre Dumont, stagiaire chez armasuisse Sciences et technologies, a obtenu une distinction du Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence (CCDCoE) de l’OTAN pour ses contributions aux travaux de recherche et pour son engagement pendant l’exercice Locked Shields 2017. Dans le cadre de son stage chez armasuisse Sciences et technologies, M. Dumont a eu la possibilité de contribuer pendant six mois à des travaux de recherche auprès du CCDCoE à Tallinn (Estonie), ce qui lui a permis de faire des expériences importantes pour la Suisse dans le domaine cybernétique.

Lire la suite...

Factsheet 1

L'architecture des systèmes SDR

Cockpit

Dans le cas optimal, les systèmes Software-defined Radio (SDR) sont structurés de la même manière que la radio classique, c’est-à-dire que le signal transite d'abord par le RF Frontend, pour être ensuite traité et transmis à l’utilisateur.

 

Lire la suite...

Factsheet 2

Le logiciel commande, le Hardware obéit...

Cockpit

La tendance technologique est à la disparition des composantes de Hardware spécialisées. Les systèmes TIC ne sont généralement plus commandés que par le logiciel.

Par le passé, les composantes de Hardware à remplacer l’étaient par des composantes de Hardware meilleur marché et plus performantes. Des processeurs encore plus rapides et plus de mémoire – telle était la devise! Entre-temps, les composantes de Hardware sont commandées par le logiciel, si bien qu’elles sont interconnectées. La «virtualisation» systématique de toutes les ressources TIC est prometteuse d’une flexibilité accrue et d’une réduction des coûts, en ce sens que les ressources disponibles peuvent être attribuées de manière ciblée en fonction des besoins. La spécialisation systématique par la configuration du logiciel et via le pilotage par ce dernier permet, par exemple, d’adapter avec flexibilité les éléments nécessaires de traitement et d’enregistrement ainsi que ceux du réseau, en fonction des fonctionnalités et des performances requises. A titre de comparaison, on pourrait dire qu’il est par exemple possible de transformer très rapidement une grande salle de conférence en plusieurs petits locaux de formation séparés et inversement, grâce à l’attribution souple des capacités disponibles. Un gain de flexibilité signifie cependant aussi une augmentation des risques. Les experts de W+T procèdent à l’examen de système de logiciels et de hardware en tous genres en les testant et les vérifiant régulièrement, et en examinant leur niveau de sécurité.

 

Factsheet 3

C'est en forgeant qu'un devient forgeron!

Cockpit

S+T a établi une vue d'ensemble des systèmes d'instruction et de simulation. L'instruction est une composante fondamentale de tout organisme de sécurité, spécialement pour l'armée suisse puisque les possibilités d'instruire, le temps à disposition et les formateurs se raréfient continûment. La poursuite du développement axée sur les résultats de l'instruction, tout en optimalisant la valeur intrinsèque, est d'une importance capitale.

Factsheet 4

La prise de décisions méthodique comme compétence-clé straté-gique dans un environnement en évolution

Testé dans la pratique: mise à disposition pour l'essai préalable
Testé dans la pratique: mise à disposition pour l'essai préalable

Les organismes actifs dans le domaine de la sécurité comme le DDPS, la police ou les cantons, se retrouvent sans cesse devant la tâche de devoir s'adapter à un environnement changeant rapidement. Une démarche méthodique apporte ainsi des compétences décisionnelles et permet d'économiser des coûts supplémentaires. S+T effectue une analyse à plusieurs niveaux à l'occasion d'un essai de principe. Cela va de la simulation à l'écran et des premiers essais préalables sur le terrain jusqu'à un exercice de troupe.

Factsheet 5

Best Paper Award pour l'équipe d'arma-suisse et de l'EPF de Zurich

Best Paper Award
Best Paper Award

Vincent Lenders (Sciences et technologies d'armasuisse) ainsi que David Gugelmann, Fabian Gasser et Bernhard Ager (EPF de Zurich) ont décroché une distinction à la conférence annuelle sur la recherche en investigation numérique (DFRWS EU 2015) à Dublin.


Sciences et technologies Cyber-Defence et Information
Dr. Vincent Lenders
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tél.
+41 58 480 10 65
Fax
+41 58 468 28 41

E-Mail

Sciences et technologies

Cyber-Defence et Information
Dr. Vincent Lenders
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun