print preview

«My expectations have been met or even exceeded!»

After completing his Bachelor’s degree in International Affairs, Dominik Bläsi started a university internship at armasuisse in the competence sector Command and Control and Reconnaissance Systems in October 2020. During an interview, Dominik answered questions about his internship and future challenges.

Picture of Dominik Bläsi at the armasuisse headquarters

 

What made you apply for a job at armasuisse?

The job description already indicated exciting tasks, and the positioning of armasuisse between the federal government and the private sector/industry interested me. I saw this as an opportunity to learn a great deal.

How do you categorise your daily tasks in the overall picture of armasuisse?

As a university intern in a procurement competence sector, I mainly support the Head of the specialist area Commerce and his team leaders in their management tasks. I can thus get involved in various strategic projects (Center of Excellence STIB or HR development). Being involved in some of the procurement projects is also part of my duties. Here, I support colleagues in their work in the project team (such as the Airport Noise Monitoring System or Camera Special Unit Dog). In addition, I was also able to work in Resource Management. In addition, I launched a networking platform for the university interns within armasuisse last year, the Avenir Group. At the moment, this group is advocating for the introduction of a first-name culture throughout armasuisse. Altogether, I am involved in several tasks and was able to take on responsibility at an early stage.

What would you like to pass on to future university interns?

Be open for all kinds of tasks, because there’s always the opportunity to help and present your perspective. In addition, personal initiative is much appreciated, which means that you can help shape your internship yourself and at the same time participate in the further development of armasuisse. 

In retrospect, what would you change, if you had the chance to do so?

Luckily not a lot. I was always able to tackle any «problems» immediately, after talking to my managers. In retrospect, maybe I could have taken on responsibility even quicker, but due to the complex relationships and the versatility of the tasks, you of course need a «warm-up phase», which, however, always motivated me.

Compared with your first working day – how do you stand in relation to the expectations you had at the beginning?

My expectations have been met or even exceeded. At the beginning, I never thought that I would help with such a wide variety of tasks or even be able to take over the lead. The internship was really very exciting and informative.

Where do you see yourself in three years?

I hope by then to have completed my Master’s (International Affairs and Governance at the HSG) and have found an exciting job, perhaps even with armasuisse again.

print preview

«Die Erwartungen wurden erfüllt oder sogar übertroffen!»

Nach seinem Bachelor-Abschluss in International Affairs startete Dominik Bläsi im Oktober 2020 bei der armasuisse ein Hochschulpraktikum im Kompetenzbereich Führungs- und Aufklärungssysteme. Im Rahmen eines Interviews beantwortete Dominik Fragen über sein Praktikum und künftige Herausforderungen.

Bild von Dominik Bläsi im Hauptsitz der armasuisse

 

Was hat dich dazu bewogen, dich bei der armasuisse zu bewerben?

Der Stellenbeschrieb wies bereits spannende Aufgaben aus und die Positionierung der armasuisse zwischen dem Bund und der Privatwirtschaft/Industrie hat mich interessiert. Darin sah ich die Möglichkeit vieles zu lernen.

Wie ordnest du deine täglichen Aufgaben im Gesamtbild der armasuisse ein?

Als Hochschulpraktikant in einem Beschaffungs-Kompetenzbereich, unterstütze ich hauptsächlich den Leiter des Fachbereichs Kommerz und seine Teamleiter in ihren Managementaufgaben. So kann ich mich in diverse strategische Projekte einbringen (Center of Excellence STIB oder Personalentwicklung). Die Mitarbeit in einigen Beschaffungsprojekten ist ebenfalls Teil meiner Aufgaben. Dort unterstütze ich Kolleginnen und Kollegen bei ihrer Arbeit im Projektteam (z.B. Airport Noise Monitoring System oder Kamera-Spezialeinsatzhund). Ausserdem konnte ich auch bei der Ressourcensteuerung mitarbeiten. Zusätzlich habe ich im vergangenen Jahr eine Networking-Plattform für die Hochschulpraktikanten innerhalb der armasuisse ins Leben gerufen, die Avenir-Gruppe. Momentan setzt sich diese für die Einführung einer armasuisse-übergreifenden Du-Kultur ein. Insgesamt bin ich bei vielen Aufgaben involviert und konnte bereits früh Verantwortung übernehmen.

Was möchtest du künftige Hochschulpraktikanten mitgeben?

Seid offen für alle möglichen Aufgaben, denn es gibt immer die Möglichkeit mitzuhelfen und eure Perspektive einzubringen. Ausserdem wird Eigeninitiative sehr geschätzt, so könnt ihr das Praktikum auch selbst mitgestalten und nebenbei bei der Weiterentwicklung der armasuisse mitwirken.

Was würdest du im Nachhinein verändern, wenn du die Möglichkeit dazu hättest?

Zum Glück nicht viel. Ich konnte nach Absprache mit meinen Vorgesetzten allfällige «Probleme» immer gleich angehen. Vielleicht hätte ich rückblickend noch schneller Verantwortung übernehmen können, aufgrund der komplexen Zusammenhänge und der Vielseitigkeit der Aufgaben braucht es aber natürlich eine «Aufwärmphase», was mich aber immer motiviert hat.

Im Vergleich zu deinem ersten Arbeitstag: wie stehst du gegenüber deinen Erwartungen die zu Beginn hattest?

Die Erwartungen wurden erfüllt oder sogar übertroffen. Ich hatte am Anfang nicht gedacht, dass ich bei so vielseitigen Aufgaben mithelfen oder sogar den Lead übernehmen könnte. Das Praktikum war wirklich sehr spannend und lehrreich.

Wo siehst du dich in drei Jahren?

Dann habe ich hoffentlich meinen Master (International Affairs und Governance an der HSG) in der Tasche und habe einen spannenden Job gefunden, vielleicht sogar wieder bei armasuisse.