print preview

«When a passion becomes a job»

Benjamin Mazenauer is responsible for procuring protected wheeled vehicles and special vehicles, which means he has a particularly important role in the «Bike Support» project. You can read about why the project is very close to his heart and the special challenges associated with it in the interview below.

Joller Romy, specialist area communication, resources and support

Benjamin Mazenauer, project manager for protected wheeled vehicles and special vehicles
Benjamin Mazenauer, project manager for protected wheeled vehicles and special vehicles

Why is the Bike Support project particularly close to your heart? What do you associate with it?

At armasuisse, I’m responsible for procuring protected wheeled vehicles and special vehicles. An incredible contrast, which I greatly appreciate in my daily work. As an enthusiastic mountain biker and racing buff, I’m privileged to be able to integrate my passion in my job time and again.

When we received the request regarding the bicycle support project, we knew that everything would have to be carried out very quickly but nonetheless correctly with regard to procedures. My project team didn’t hesitate for a second. We knew what had to be done and that we could rely on each other unconditionally. That is the main essence of such a project.

How did the collaboration with PubliBike and Rent a Bike come about?

We performed a market analysis based on user requirements. This showed us that the requirements could only be met if significant concessions were made with one particular company. For this reason, we started two pilot projects independently of each other:

On the one hand, we looked for a sharing provider of e-bikes >25 km/h for long distances. We also looked for a solution for renting e-bikes <25 km/h for short distances.
Based on this, we made inquiries at various companies via an invitation procedure.

At Rent a Bike, the cost-benefit ratio was found to be the most suitable after a conclusive benefit analysis. During the pilot project, the collaboration with Rent a Bike proved to be extremely straightforward, service-oriented and professional.

In the city of Berne and the environment, PubliBike offers an area-wide network of e-bikes <25 Km/h as well as normal bikes and was able to win through against the other applicants with a strong cost-benefit ratio.

What were the special challenges in this project?

The many stakeholder groups of the various federal departments. The various, often divergent requirements regarding the end result and in particular the fact that everybody working on the project was themselves a specialist on the subject of bicycles. As a result, I was confronted with around 20 project managers.

As the project was directly launched by the two Federal Councillors, it made it both interesting as well as highly sensitive, as a very large public interest exists in this regard nationwide. In addition, the time constraints could definitely be described as challenging.

Do you make personal use of the offers for bike support? Do you use Rent a Bike or PubliBike for your job mobility needs or rather your own personal bike?

I use PubliBike for short distances. In these times of Covid-19 this solution for trips in the immediate vicinity has turned out to be ideal for me. Free from the risk of being infected, I perceived this new means of transport as an incredible relief in everyday working life.

I use Rent a Bike for discussions and meetings if I have to pedal for longer than 5 minutes.

Have you switched to a different means of transport for winter?

No, in Covid-19 times there is no means of transport that is more suitable. There are very many excuses – all of which, by the way, I know very well myself, and sometimes use.
Personally, I find the time from December to March the most pleasant time of the year to ride a bike. Privately, I «cruise» on my mountain bike through the designated trails in the forests and hold good conversations with colleagues while simply enjoying the landscape and nature. I can thus optimally switch off.

How would you advise your colleagues so that they can use their bikes even during the cold and wet days?

Just try it out and experience the new-found flexibility.

There are bad clothes, but there’s no bad weather.

Never go out without the safety components: Luminous waistcoat, helmet and light are indispensable components on a bike ride.

Has anything unexpected or amusing ever happened to you on one of your bike rides?

I’ve been surprised by animals – squirrels, ground hogs and doe. These are the unexpected pleasant experiences. However, I also once met a mother wild boar, who wasn’t exactly happy to see me. Well anyway, ultimately I was faster.

 

Brief profile

Benjamin Mazenauer works as project manager for protected wheeled vehicles and special vehicles in the specialist area Vehicles and Power Supply.

print preview

«Wenn aus einer Leidenschaft der Beruf wird»

Benjamin Mazenauer ist verantwortlich für die Beschaffung von geschützten Radfahrzeugen und Spezialfahrzeugen und trägt dadurch eine besonders wichtige Rolle beim Projekt «Veloförderung». Wieso ihm das Projekt sehr am Herzen liegt und welche besonderen Herausforderungen damit verbunden waren, erfahren Sie im Interview.

Joller Romy, Fachbereich Kommunikation, Ressourcen und Support

Benjamin Mazenauer schiebt sein Velo über einen grossen Platz, trägt den Helm unter dem Arm und lächelt in die Kamera.
Benjamin Mazenauer, Projektleiter geschützte Radfahrzeuge und Spezialfahrzeuge

Wieso liegt Ihnen das Projekt Veloförderung besonders am Herzen? Was verbinden Sie damit?

Ich bin bei der armasuisse verantwortlich für die Beschaffung von geschützten Radfahrzeugen und von Spezialfahrzeugen. Ein unglaublicher Gegensatz, den ich in meiner täglichen Arbeit sehr zu schätzen weiss. Als begeisterter Mountainbiker und «Gümmeler», habe ich das Privileg, meine Leidenschaft immer wieder aufs Neue in meinen Beruf integrieren zu können.

Als wir die Anfrage bezüglich dem Projekt Fahrradförderung erhalten haben, wussten wir bereits, dass alles sehr schnell aber dennoch prozessual korrekt durchgeführt werden muss. Mein Projektteam hat keine Sekunde gezögert. Wir wussten was zu tun war und dass wir uns bedingungslos aufeinander verlassen können. Dies ist die wichtigste Essenz in so einem Projekt.

Wie war die Zusammenarbeit mit PubliBike und Rent a Bike zustande gekommen?

Auf Basis der Nutzeranforderungen haben wir eine Marktanalyse durchgeführt. Diese hat aufgezeigt, dass die Anforderungen nur mit einschneidenden Kompromissen von einer einzelnen Firma erfüllt werden können. Aus diesem Grund haben wir zwei voneinander unabhängige Pilotprojekte gestartet:

Einerseits suchten wir ein Sharing-Anbieter für E-Bikes >25 Km/h für Langstrecken. Daneben suchten wir eine Lösung zur Miete von E-Bikes<25 Km/h für die Kurzstrecken.

Auf dieser Basis haben wir mittels Einladungsverfahren diverse Firmen angefragt.

Bei Rent a Bike war das Kosten-Nutzen-Verhältnis nach abschliessender Nutzwertanalyse am geeignetsten. Im Verlaufe des Pilots erwies sich die Zusammenarbeit mit Rent a Bike als äusserst unkompliziert, dienstleistungsorientiert und professionell.

PubliBike bietet in der Stadt Bern und Umgebung ein flächendeckendes Netz an E-Bikes <25 Km/h sowie normalen Fahrrädern an und konnte sich mit einem starken Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis gegen die übrigen Bewerber durchsetzen.

Welches waren besondere Herausforderungen bei dem Projekt?

Die vielen Anspruchsgruppen der diversen Bundesämter. Die verschiedenen teils divergenten Ansprüche an das Endresultat und vor allem die Tatsache, dass jeder, der in diesem Projekt mitarbeitete selbst ein Spezialist in Sachen Fahrrädern ist. Ich war demnach mit ca. 20 Projektleitern konfrontiert.

Dass das Projekt direkt von den beiden Bundesrätinnen injiziert wurde, machte es sowohl interessant, als auch äusserst delikat, da diesbezüglich bundesübergreifend ein sehr grosses, öffentliches Interesse besteht. Zudem konnten die zeitlichen Vorgaben durchaus als sportlich bezeichnet werden.

Machen Sie persönlich Gebrauch von den Angeboten zur Veloförderung? Nutzen Sie Rent-a-Bike oder PubliBike für Ihre berufliche Mobilität oder doch lieber Ihr persönliches Velo?

Ich benutze PubliBike für Kurzstrecken. In Zeiten von Covid-19 hat sich für mich diese Lösung für Besuche im näheren Umfeld als optimal herauskristallisiert. Frei vom Risiko angesteckt zu werden, empfand ich dieses neue Fortbewegungsmittel im Berufsalltag als unglaubliche Erleichterung.

Rent a Bike benutze ich für Besprechungen und Sitzungen, wenn ich länger als 5 Minuten in die Pedale treten muss.

Haben Sie jetzt im Winter auf ein anderes Transportmittel umgesattelt?

Nein, in Zeiten von Covid-19 gibt es kein geeigneteres Fortbewegungsmittel. Es gibt nur sehr viele Ausreden –die ich im Übrigen alle selbst bestens kenne und auch gelegentlich davon Gebrauch mache.

Privat empfinde ich den Zeitraum Dezember bis März als die schönste Zeit im Jahr, um Fahrrad zu fahren. Privat «cruise» ich mit dem Mountainbike durch die dafür vorgesehenen Trails in den Wäldern und führe dabei mit Kollegen gute Gespräche und geniesse einfach mal die Landschaft und die Natur. So kann ich optimal abschalten.

Was raten Sie Ihren Kolleginnen und Kollegen damit die Fahrräder auch während den kälteren und nassen Tage zum Einsatz kommen?

Einfach mal ausprobieren und die neu gewonnene Flexibilität erfahren.

Es gibt schlechte Kleider, aber nicht schlechtes Wetter.

Nie auf die Sicherheitskomponenten verzichten: Leuchtweste, Helm und Licht gehören zu einer Velofahrt unabdingbar dazu.

Ist Ihnen während Ihrer Velofahrten etwas Unerwartetes oder Lustiges passiert?

Ich wurde schon von Tieren überrascht – Eichhörnchen, Murmeltieren und Hirschkühen. Dies sind die unerwartet schönen Erlebnisse.

Ich machte aber auch schon Bekanntschaft mit einer Wildschweinmutter, die nicht gerade erfreut war, mich anzutreffen. Nun ja, schlussendlich war ich aber schneller.

Kurzporträt

Benjamin Mazenauer ist im Fachbereich Fahrzeuge und Stromversorgung als Projektleiter für geschützte Radfahrzeuge und Spezialfahrzeuge tätig.