print preview

Pilot project Bike promotion

During the Corona crisis, we have come to realise the advantages of the bicycle. The goal of the Bike promotion project is to give more employees a taste for using a bike frequently for their personal as well as for their job mobility. In this series, we review the pilot phase of the project, the advantages of the «push-bike» and the experiences of «habitual pedallers».

Joller Romy, specialist area communication, resources and support; Mazenauer Benjamin, specialist area vehicles and power supply, land systems

From left to right: Heinz Flückiger (quality management); Benjamin Mazenauer (project manager), Patrick Hofer (quality management); Joel Gerber (commerce); Martin Stocker (L FB IMMO)
From left to right: Heinz Flückiger (quality management); Benjamin Mazenauer (project manager), Patrick Hofer (quality management); Joel Gerber (commerce); Martin Stocker (L FB IMMO)

If you ride a bike, you are being climate-friendly, saving money and space while also doing something positive for your health. You are out in the fresh air, not standing in traffic congestion and do not need to look for a parking space or run to the next station. In no time at all, you’re in the city or at the Bundesplatz – and if you wear a helmet and ride a well-maintained bike, you’re safe on the road. Even Thun can be reached well from Berne by electric bike and within a reasonable time.

Both the health and ecological aspects are particularly close to the hearts of the two Federal Councillors Viola Amherd (VBS) and Simonetta Sommaruga (UVEK), which is why they decided to launch the Bike promotion project in June 2020.

In the first phase, five administrative units took part in the project: GS-UVEK, GS-VBS, armasuisse, BFE and ASTRA. During this pilot phase, the employees of the administrative units mentioned above received access to rental electric bikes from Rent a Bike and to the entire bicycle fleet of PubliBike.

Statistics as of 30.12.2020

Diagram of PubliBike subscriptions as of 30.12.2020, armasuisse 133 pcs. (44%), Swiss federal office of energy 93 pcs. (31%), general secretariat DDPS 48 pcs. (16%), general secretariat federal department of de environment, transport, energy and communications13 pcs. (4%), astra 15 pcs. (5%)

With 133 subscriptions armasuisse achieved by far the highest subscription figures at PubliBike, of which we are very proud. The following articles give insights into the experiences of the project managers, the benefits of riding a bike as well as the motivation of people who use a bike almost daily.

«When a passion becomes a job»

Ritratto di Benjamin Mazenauer

As the overall manager for bicycle procurement and a passionate mountain biker, the Bike promotion project is particularly close to Benjamin Mazenauer’s heart. Find out more about his role in the interview.

To the interview

«Bike sharing is the ideal supplement to public and private transport for short distances»

Portrait of Markus Bacher

Markus Bacher is the managing director of Switzerland’s largest bike sharing company PubliBike Ltd. In the interview he talks about the project and the reason armasuisse has been chosen as pilot project partner.

To the interview

print preview

Pilotprojekt Veloförderung

Viele haben im Zuge der Corona-Krise die Vorzüge des Fahrrads erkannt. Ziel des Projekts Veloförderung ist es, dass noch mehr Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf den Geschmack kommen, das Velo des Öfteren für die persönliche sowie berufliche Mobilität zu nutzen. In dieser Serie blicken wir zurück auf die Pilotphase des Projekts, die Vorteile der «Drahtesel» und die Erfahrungen von «Gewohnheitspedaleuren».

Joller Romy, Fachbereich Kommunikation, Ressourcen und Support; Mazenauer Benjamin, Fachbereich Fahrzeuge und Stromversorgung, Landsysteme

Von links nach rechts: Heinz Flückiger (Qualitätsmanagement); Benjamin Mazenauer (Projektleiter), Patrick Hofer (Qualitätsmanagement); Joel Gerber (Kommerz); Martin Stocker (L FB IMMO) fahrend auf dem Velo
Von links nach rechts: Heinz Flückiger (Qualitätsmanagement); Benjamin Mazenauer (Projektleiter), Patrick Hofer (Qualitätsmanagement); Joel Gerber (Kommerz); Martin Stocker (L FB IMMO):

Wer Fahrrad fährt, ist klimafreundlich, kostengünstig und platzsparend unterwegs und tut ausserdem etwas Gutes für seine Gesundheit. Man bewegt sich an der frischen Luft, steht nicht im Stau und muss keinen Parkplatz suchen oder zur nächsten Haltestelle hasten. Im Nu ist man in der Stadt oder am Bundesplatz – und wer einen Helm trägt und ein gut gepflegtes Velo fährt, ist auch sicher unterwegs. Mit dem Elektrovelo ist selbst Thun von Bern aus gut und in angemessener Zeit erreichbar.

Der gesundheitliche sowie der ökologische Aspekt liegt den beiden Bundesrätinnen Viola Amherd (VBS) und Simonetta Sommaruga (UVEK) besonders am Herzen, weshalb sie im Juni 2020 entschieden haben, das Projekt Veloförderung zu lancieren.

In einer ersten Phase nahmen fünf Verwaltungseinheiten am Projekt teil: das GS-UVEK, das GS-VBS, die armasuisse, das BFE sowie das ASTRA. Während dieser Pilotphase erhielten die Mitarbeitenden der genannten Verwaltungseinheiten Zugang zu Miet-Elektrofahrräder von Rent a Bike und sowie zu der gesamten Fahrradflotte von PubliBike.

Statistik Stand 30.12.2020

Diagramm Abos PubliBike per 30.12.2020, armasuisse 133 Stk. (44%), bfe 93 Stk. (31%), gs-vbs 48 Stk. (16%), gs-uvek 13 Stk. (4%), astra 15 Stk. (5%)

Die armasuisse hat mit 133 Abonenntinnen und Abonnenten bei PubliBike mit Abstand die meisten Abozahlen erreicht, worauf wir sehr stolz sind. In den folgenden Beiträgen erhalten Sie Einblicke in die Erfahrungen der Projektverantwortlichen, die Vorzüge des Velofahrens sowie die Beweggründe von Menschen die das Velo fast täglich nutzen.

«Wenn aus einer Leidenschaft der Beruf wird»

Ritratto di Benjamin Mazenauer

Als Gesamtverantwortlicher für die Beschaffung von Fahrrädern und als leidenschaftlicher Mountainbiker liegt Benjamin Mazenauer das Projekt Veloförderung besonders am Herzen. Erfahren Sie mehr über seine Rolle im Interview.

Zum Interview

«Bikesharing ist die ideale Ergänzung zu öffentlichen und privaten Transportmitteln für kurze Strecken»

Porträt von Markus Bacher

Markus Bacher ist Geschäftsführer des schweizweit grössten Bikesharingunternehmens PubliBike AG. Wie es dazu kam, dass armasuisse als Pilotprojekt-Partner auserwählt wurde, erfahren Sie im Interview.

Zum Interview