print preview

armasuisse 2020 Sustainability Report

As a competence centre for procurement, technology and real estate, armasuisse needs to take into account the ecological, economic and social sustainability dimensions in its activities. The 2020 Sustainability Report shows the environmentally related developments in its own company as well as in the areas of procurement and decommissioning. In addition, the first measures relating to the Swiss Confederation’s envisaged climate package have already been included in the report. armasuisse Real Estate’s Annual Report, which will appear separately, illuminates the sustainable development of the DDPS’s more than 7000 properties in 2020.

Nadine Schröder, specialist area Communications, Resources and Support; Philip Spengler, specialist area Enterprise Development and Controlling, Resources and Support

--50% used paper, -4% fuel consumption in the armasuisse service fleet of cars, +13% suppliers in the area of textiles with certificate

 

armasuisse takes its environmental responsibility seriously, in keeping with the DDPS’s slogan «a modern, efficient department is also an ecologically responsible department». The climate package to reduce the greenhouse gas emissions announced in 2019 and the associated measures have already had a positive impact on armasuisse’s 2020 Sustainability Report. For armasuisse, the project means that it must reduce its CO2 emissions by 40% in comparison with 2001 by 2030. armasuisse is certified according to the standards ISO 9001 (Quality Management), ISO 14001 (Environment Management) as well as recently with regard to the standard ISO 27001 (Information Security Management).

It is hardly surprising that the COVID-19 pandemic strongly influences the 2020 Sustainability Report. One prominent example is the massive decline in air travel. armasuisse employees flew 3,395,093 kilometres less in 2020. This corresponds to a decline of 84% compared with the previous year. This decline can be attributed in particular to the closed borders, but also to the instruction «Train not plane», which was issued as part of the climate package. Likewise, a reduction of 4% in the fuel consumption of armasuisse’s car service fleet and a reduction of around 50% in the quantity of waste paper in comparison with previous years was recorded.

The service vehicles which armasuisse procured for the Federal Office for Customs and Border Security (FOCBS) represent a small flaw as regards energy efficiency. Due to operational requirements for the vehicles, such as all-wheel drive, heavy payload and autonomy in operation, the CO2 emissions of the cars and lorries purchased up to 3.5 tons total weight increased by 20%. However, if these figures are considered across the board, it can be seen that with this procurement, older and more inefficient models are being replaced, and thus the environmental balance of the fleet actually in use is altogether improved. The new models and the clear specifications have resulted in the fact that the Federal Administration can now only procure vehicles with alternative power for vehicles up to 3.5 tones. A decline in CO2 emissions can thus be expected with the cars to be procured in the future.

Sustainability in disposal

Not only procurement, but also decommissioning and further use of a once procured commodity must be performed according to legal specifications. The purchasers already need to think of subsequent disposal at the procurement stage, by assessing the environmental relevance of disposal in an environmental checklist and recording the logistical master data and environmentally relevant data for the disposal process. The disposal of ammunition serves as an example here: Altogether, armasuisse disposed of 1,100 tons of ammunition and ammunition remnants last year. Of this, 970 tons of metal and explosives were recycled – in other words, supplied to the raw materials market. A further 130 tons of gunpowder, cardboard and refuse were burned in order to supply the site with district heating through the energy gained. Around one quarter of the costs generated through the disposal work could be covered by the sale of raw materials such as various metals and explosive generate. In addition, armasuisse regularly and systematically clears ammunition remnants from shooting ranges, thus also making a value contribution to environmental protection and personal security.

A glimpse into the future

Both the implementation of the climate package as well as the other environmental and sustainability measures which armasuisse sets itself annually improve ecological, economic and social sustainability on a continuous basis. The digital shift and the associated technical development also lead to the fact that more and more efficient systems are being introduced to the market. We can assume that the trend of virtual meetings will remain and that trips as well as, in particular, air travel will continue to be restricted to a minimum. The digitalisation strategy currently being developed will generate further measures from 2021, so that armasuisse will be able to act in an even more environmentally friendly manner. Last but not least, the revised Procurement Act, which came into effect in 2021, is contributing to further progress in the social and ecological areas. It provides the purchasers with more options for more sustainable procurement, by allowing them to give greater consideration, for example, to the labour and environmental conditions, in addition to the price, in the awarding of services and contracts.

armasuisse 2020 Sustainability Report (in German)

print preview

Nachhaltigkeitsbericht armasuisse 2020

Als Kompetenzzentrum für Beschaffung, Technologie sowie Immobilien hat armasuisse in ihren Tätigkeiten sowohl die ökologischen, ökonomischen wie auch sozialen Nachhaltigkeitsdimensionen zu berücksichtigen. Der Nachhaltigkeitsbericht 2020 zeigt die umweltbezogenen Entwicklungen im eigenen Betrieb sowie im Bereich der Beschaffung und der Ausserdienststellungen auf. Zudem fliessen auch bereits die ersten Massnahmen rund um das vorgesehene Klimapaket des Bundes in den Bericht ein. Die nachhaltige Entwicklung der über 7000 Immobilien des VBS im Jahr 2020 beleuchtet der demnächst separat erscheinende Jahresbericht von armasuisse Immobilien

Nadine Schröder, Fachbereich Kommunikation, Ressourcen und Support; Philip Spengler, Fachbereich Unternehmensentwicklung und Controlling, Ressourcen und Support

-50% Altpapier, -4% Treibstoffverbrauch bei der PW-Dienstflotte armasuisse und +13% Lieferant im Textilbereich, welche nachhaltige Zertifikate besitzen.

 

In Anlehnung an das VBS-Motto «Ein modernes, effizientes Departement ist auch ein ökologisch verantwortungsvolles Departement» nimmt armasuisse ihre Umweltverantwortung wahr. Das im 2019 angekündigte Klimapaket zur Senkung des Treibhausgas-Ausstosses und die damit verbundenen Massnahmen haben sich bereits positiv im Nachhaltigkeitsbericht 2020 von armasuisse ausgewirkt. Für armasuisse bedeutet das Vorhaben, dass sie ihre CO2-Emissionen bis 2030 im Vergleich zu 2001 um 40 Prozent reduziert. armasuisse ist gemäss den Normen ISO 9001 (Qualitätsmanagement), ISO 14001 (Umweltmanagement) sowie neu auch bzgl. der Norm ISO 27001 (Informationssicherheitsmanagement) zertifiziert.

Kaum überraschend ist es, dass die Corona-Pandemie den Nachhaltigkeitsbericht 2020 stark prägt. Ein prominentes Beispiel ist der massive Rückgang der Flugreisen. Im 2020 sind die armasuisse-Mitarbeitenden 3'395'093 Kilometer weniger geflogen. Dies entspricht einem Rückgang von 84 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vorjahr. Dieser Rückgang ist insbesondere auf die geschlossenen Grenzen, aber auch auf die Anweisung «Zug statt Flug» zurückzuführen, welche im Rahmen des Klimapakets erlassen wurde. Ebenso lassen sich beim Treibstoffverbrauch der PW-Dienstflotte von armasuisse ein Rückgang von vier Prozent und bei der Menge an Altpapier ein Rückgang von rund 50 Prozent im Vergleich zu den Vorjahren verzeichnen.

Ein kleiner Makel in Sachen Energieeffizienz stellen die Einsatzfahrzeuge dar, welche armasuisse für das Bundesamt für Zoll und Grenzsicherheit (BAZG) beschafft hat. Aufgrund einsatzbedingter Anforderungen an die Fahrzeuge wie Allradantrieb, grosse Nutzlast sowie Autonomie im Betrieb, erhöhte sich der CO2-Austoss der beschafften Personen- und Lieferwagen bis 3.5 Tonnen Gesamtgewicht um 20 Prozent. Betrachtet man diese Zahlen jedoch übergreifend lässt sich erkennen, dass mit dieser Anschaffung ältere und ineffizientere Modelle abgelöst werden und sich somit die Umweltbilanz der im Einsatz stehenden Flotte insgesamt verbessert. Die neuen Modelle und die klaren Vorgaben bewirken, dass die Bundesverwaltung bei den Fahrzeugen bis 3.5 Tonnen grundsätzlich nur noch Fahrzeuge mit alternativem Antrieb beschaffen kann. Es darf künftig also ein Rückgang der CO2-Emissionen bei den zu beschaffenden Personenwagen erwartet werden.

Nachhaltigkeit in der Entsorgung

Doch nicht nur die Beschaffung, sondern auch die Ausserdienststellung und die Weiterverwendung eines einst beschafften Gutes hat nach gesetzlichen Vorgaben zu erfolgen. Bereits bei der Beschaffung müssen die Beschaffenden an die spätere Entsorgung denken, indem sie auf einer Umweltcheckliste die Umweltrelevanz der Entsorgung mitbeurteilen und die logistischen Stammdaten und umweltrelevanten Daten für den Entsorgungsprozess erfassen. Als Beispiel dient hier die Entsorgung von Munition: Insgesamt hat armasuisse im letzten Jahr 1’100 Tonnen Munition und Munitionsrückstände entsorgt. Davon wurden 970 Tonnen Metalle und Sprengstoffe recycliert - also dem Rohstoffmarkt zugeführt. Weitere 130 Tonnen an Treibladungspulver, Karton und Kehricht wurden verbrannt, um mit der dadurch gewonnenen Energie das Areal mit Fernwärme zu versorgen. Zirka ein Viertel der durch die Entsorgungsarbeiten generierten Kosten, konnte durch den Verkauf von Rohmaterialien, wie verschiedenste Metalle und Sprengstoffgeneraten, gedeckt werden. Zudem räumt armasuisse die Munitionsrückstände auf den Schiessplätzen regelmässig und systematisch weg, womit ebenfalls ein wertvoller Beitrag an den Umweltschutz und die Personensicherheit geleistet wird.

Ein Blick in die Zukunft

Sowohl die Umsetzung des Klimapakets als auch die übrigen Umwelt- und Nachhaltigkeitsmassnahmen, welche sich die armasuisse jährlich vorgibt, verbessern die ökologische, ökonomische und soziale Nachhaltigkeit kontinuierlich. Auch führt der digitale Wandel und die damit verbundene technische Entwicklung dazu, dass immer effizientere Systeme auf den Markt kommen. Wir können davon ausgehen, dass der Trend der virtuellen Meetings bestehen bleibt und sich die Reisen sowie insbesondere die Flugreisen weiterhin auf ein Minimum beschränken. Die Digitalisierungs-Strategie, welche aktuell in Erarbeitung ist, wird ab 2021 weitere Massnahmen generieren, damit armasuisse noch umweltfreundlicher handeln kann. Nicht zuletzt trägt das revidierte Beschaffungsgesetz, welches per 2021 in Kraft getreten ist, dazu bei, im sozialen und ökologischen Bereich weitere Fortschritte zu machen. Es ermöglicht den Beschaffenden mehr Möglichkeiten zur nachhaltigeren Beschaffung, in dem sie nebst dem Preis beispielsweise auch die Arbeits- und Umweltschutzbedingungen bei der Leistungs- und Auftragsvergabe stärker berücksichtigen können.

Nachhaltigkeitsbericht armasuisse 2020