print preview

A look ahead to the electrified mobility of the DDPS

In 2019, the Federal Council developed the «Federal Government’s Climate Package», an ambitious roadmap for reducing greenhouse gas emissions in the federal government. Each administrative unit in the federal government is obliged to significantly reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 2030. An important step on this path is the electrification of administration vehicles and the parallel setup of an efficient charging infrastructure.

Real Estate, Department of Environmental Management, Norms and Standards, Cédric Fridez | Land Systems, Department of Commerce Order, Kurt Etter

Kurt Etter and Cédric Fridez are standing at the tram stop at Guisanplatz. In the background you can see the armasuisse area AC G1.

 

Kurt Etter and Cédric Fridez work at armasuisse in the areas of Land Systems and Real Estate Management. We asked them how the future of e-mobility stands in the DDPS department.

Mr. Etter, why is the government currently electrifying a part of its vehicle fleet?

The government is aware of its role model status. It wants to shape the future through an active approach, which has led to the new policy of acquiring mainly purely electrically driven passenger cars and delivery vans for the vehicle fleet. The goals require committed action: With the newly registered administration vehicles up to 3.5 tons, at least 20% must be electrically driven by the end of 2022. In addition, passenger cars must be in the two most energy-efficient categories (category A or B of the energy label of the Swiss Federal Office of Energy).

And how will the roadmap from 2022 look?

Over the next few years, the supply of purely electrically driven vehicle models will steadily increase in the market. The climate package’s specification for new registrations by 2022 is an absolute minimum requirement. In order to reach the DDPS’ declared reduction goal of 40% of CO2, we must consistently focus on purely electrically driven vehicles.
The quota of electrically driven vehicles is expected to increase again by 20% during the period between 2022 and 2025, and by a further 30% up to 2030. Thus at least 70% of our administration vehicles will be completely electrified in the next ten years, corresponding to around 2100 electric vehicles.

How many tons of CO2 will be saved in this manner? And does the electrification of the vehicle fleet offer further advantages?

If we assume that a typical administration vehicle covers 15,000 kilometres a year, then a purely electrically driven vehicle emits around 2.3 tons less CO2 than a comparable vehicle with a combustion engine. Thus around 1200 litres of diesel or petrol can be saved for each vehicle, each year. A further advantage of electrical vehicles (known as Battery Electrical Vehicles) which should not be underestimated is the comparatively low operating cost. They are also quieter and thus make a considerable contribution to low-noise mobility. 

Mr. Fridez, you are faced with the task of setting up a DDPS-wide network with charging stations for electrical vehicles. Where do you start?

We need to plan a charging network over the entire life cycle of an electrical vehicle and establish it all over Switzerland. I am part of an interdisciplinary team at armasuisse Real Estate which has accepted this challenging task. From a technical point of view, numerous recommendations, which we have tailored to the needs of the DDPS, are already available from the manufacturers and the technical bodies. We are now testing the charging infrastructure in a pilot project up to the end of 2021.

What kind of insights do you hope to gain from the pilot project and where are the greatest challenges?

The pilot project will be implemented by the specialist department Construction Management East at locations all over Switzerland, which will have as many different requirements and infrastructures as possible. In the pilot project, we are laying the foundations for testing the relatively new technology in operation.
The project’s challenges lie in the complexity of the numerous requirements. We need to take into account the most diverse topics, for example, the digitalisation of processes, of billing (meter to cash). At the same time, we must be able to guarantee legal security for users, investors and system landscapes of manufacturers. We need to develop these issues in as short a time as possible, and learn quickly from the experiences we have made. This is the only way we can meet the high expectations our users have of the charging infrastructure of the future.

Will I also be able to charge my private vehicle at the DPPS charging stations in the future?

That isn’t possible at the moment. Service vehicles of up to 3.5 tons, which are used by professional military employees, have the most urgent priority. In further steps, charging facilities will then also be created for other user groups. This is, by the way, already being tested in the pilot project mentioned earlier.

Finally a question to both of you: Which means of transport do you personally use in your private and professional life?

Kurt Etter: I combine public transport with my own electric car. I therefore continue to be as flexible as I was before, while also making a contribution to the environment.
Cédric Fridez: I’m a convert! Since I changed my job, I have mutated from a convinced combustion engine fan to an almost invariable electric vehicle user. I mainly travel to work by train these days or by public transport in general. Privately, I have also discovered the e-mountain bike, although I only switch on the battery for support on the way back from a tour if possible.

Brief profile Kurt Etter

Kurt Etter works in the competence sector Land Systems at armasuisse and is responsible for procuring administration vehicles and delivery vans up to 3.5 tons total weight for the entire federal administration.

Brief profile Cédric Fridez

Cédric Fridez works at armasuisse Real Estate in the specialist area Environmental Management, Standards and Norms as an electrical consultant, «Instrumentation and Control» (MSRL) and protection from «Electromagnetic Pulses» (EMP).


armasuisse Immobilien Guisanplatz 1
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 463 20 20

E-Mail


Öffnungszeiten Telefonzentrale über Auffahrt

Montag bis Mittwoch
08:00 - 12:00/ 13:15 - 17:00

Donnerstag und Freitag
Geschlossen



Öffnungszeiten Telefonzentrale

Montag bis Donnerstag
08:00-12:00/ 13:15-17:00

Freitag
08:00-12:00/ 13:15-16:00

print preview

Ein Blick in die Zukunft der elektrifizierten Mobilität des VBS

Der Bundesrat hat 2019 mit dem «Klimapaket Bundesverwaltung» einen ehrgeizigen Fahrplan entwickelt, um die Treibhausgas-Emissionen in der Bundesverwaltung zu senken. Jede Verwaltungseinheit der Bundesverwaltung ist verpflichtet, die Treibhausgasemissionen bis ins Jahr 2030 deutlich zu reduzieren. Ein wichtiger Schritt auf diesem Weg ist die Elektrifizierung der Verwaltungsfahrzeuge und der parallele Aufbau einer effizienten Ladeinfrastruktur.

Immobilien, Fachbereich Umweltmanagement, Normen und Standards, Cédric Fridez | Landsysteme, Fachbereich Kommerz Order, Kurt Etter

Kurt Etter und Cédric Fridez stehen an der Tramhaltestelle beim Guisanplatz. Im Hintergrund sieht man das armasuisse Areal VZ G1.

 

Kurt Etter und Cédric Fridez arbeiten bei armasuisse in den Bereichen Landsysteme und im Immobilienmanagement. Wir haben bei Ihnen nachgefragt, wie es um die Zukunft der E-Mobilität im Departement VBS steht.

Herr Etter, warum elektrifiziert der Bund gerade jetzt einen Teil seines Fahrzeugparks?

Der Bund ist sich seiner Vorbildrolle bewusst. Er will die Zukunft durch aktives Handeln gestalten, deshalb gilt bei der Fahrzeugflotte neu der Grundsatz, dass hauptsätzlich rein elektrisch betriebene Personen- und Lieferwagen angeschafft werden. Die Ziele fordern engagiertes Handeln: Bei den neuzugelassenen Verwaltungsfahrzeugen bis 3.5 Tonnen muss bis Ende 2022 mindestens ein Anteil von 20 Prozent elektrisch betrieben sein. Zudem müssen Personenwagen grundsätzlich den beiden energieeffizientesten Kategorien angehören (Kategorie A oder B der Energieetikette des Bundesamts für Energie).

Und wie sieht der Fahrplan ab dem Jahr 2022 aus?

In den nächsten Jahren wird das Angebot an rein elektrisch betriebenen Fahrzeugmodellen auf dem Markt stetig steigen. Die Vorgabe aus dem Klimapaket für Neuzulassungen bis 2022 ist als absolute Mindestanforderung zu verstehen. Um das vom VBS erklärte Reduktionsziel von 40 Prozent CO2 zu erreichen, müssen wir konsequent auf rein elektrisch betriebene Fahrzeuge setzten. Für den Zeitraum 2022 bis 2025 wird der Anteil an elektrisch betriebenen Neuwagen voraussichtlich nochmals um 20 Prozent steigen, bis 2030 um weitere 30 Prozent. Somit werden in zehn Jahren mindestens 70 Prozent unserer Verwaltungsfahrzeuge voll elektrifiziert sein, was rund 2100 Elektrofahrzeugen entspricht.

Wie viele Tonnen CO2 werden dadurch eingespart? Und bietet die Elektrifizierung der Fahrzeugflotte weitere Vorteile?

Wenn wir davon ausgehen, dass ein typisches Verwaltungsfahrzeug jährlich 15 000 Kilometer zurücklegt, so stösst ein rein elektrisch betriebenes Fahrzeug rund 2.3 Tonnen weniger CO2 aus, als ein vergleichbares Fahrzeug mit Verbrennungsmotor. Damit lassen sich pro Fahrzeug und Jahr rund 1200 Liter Diesel oder Benzin einsparen. Ein weiterer nicht zu unterschätzender Vorteil der Elektrofahrzeuge (sogenannte Battery Electrical Vehicles), sind die vergleichsweise preiswerten Betriebskosten. Sie sind zudem leiser und tragen damit wesentlich zur geräuscharmen Mobilität bei. 

Herr Fridez Sie stehen vor der Aufgabe ein VBS-weites Netz mit Ladestationen für Elektrofahrzeuge aufzubauen. Wo fängt man da überhaupt an?

Es geht darum, ein Ladenetz über den ganzen Lebenszyklus eines Elektrofahrzeugs zu planen und schweizweit aufzubauen. Ich bin Teil eines interdisziplinären Teams von armasuisse Immobilien, das sich dieser herausfordernden Aufgabe annimmt. Technisch liegen seitens der Hersteller und der Fachgremien bereits zahlreiche Empfehlungen vor, die wir auf die Bedürfnisse des VBS abgestimmt haben. Nun erproben wir die Ladeinfrastruktur in einem Pilotprojekt bis Ende 2021.

Welche Erkenntnisse erhoffen Sie sich aus dem Pilotprojekt und wo liegen die grössten Herausforderungen?

Das Pilotprojekt wird vom Fachbereich Baumanagement Ost an Standorten in der ganzen Schweiz umgesetzt, die möglichst unterschiedliche Anforderungen und Infrastrukturen aufweisen. Mit dem Pilotprojekt legen wir die Grundlage, um die relativ junge Technik im Betrieb zu erproben.
Die Herausforderungen des Projekts liegen in der Komplexität der zahlreichen Anforderungen. Wir müssen Unterschiedlichstes berücksichtigen, beispielsweise die Digitalisierung von Prozessen, der Abrechnung (Meter to Cash). Gleichzeitig müssen wir die Rechtssicherheit für Nutzer, Investoren und Systemlandschaften von Herstellern garantieren können. Diese Sachverhalte gilt es in kürzester Zeit zu erarbeiten, beziehungsweise aus den gemachten Erfahrungen rasch lernen. Nur so können wir die hohen Erwartungen erfüllen, die unsere Nutzer an die zukünftige Ladeinfrastruktur stellen.

Kann ich mein privates Fahrzeug zukünftig ebenfalls an den VBS-Ladestationen betanken?

Im Moment geht das noch nicht. Die dringlichste Priorität haben Fahrzeuge bis 3.5 Tonnen, die von den Angehörigen des Berufsmilitärs genutzt werden. Parallel dazu sollen ebenfalls Lademöglichkeiten für weitere Anspruchsgruppen geschaffen werden. Diese sind ebenfalls bereits Teil des zuvor genannten Pilotprojekts.

Zuletzt noch eine Frage an Sie beide: Welche Verkehrsmittel nutzen Sie persönlich im privaten und beruflichen Alltag?

Kurt Etter: Den Öffentlichen Verkehr kombiniere ich mit meinem privaten Elektroauto. Damit bin ich weiterhin so flexibel wie früher und leiste zusätzlich einen Beitrag an unsere Umwelt.
Cédric Fridez: Ich bin ein Konvertit! Aus einem überzeugten Verbrennungsmotoren-Fanatiker bin ich seit meinem Arbeitsplatzwechsel zum fast ausnahmslosen Elektrofahrzeugnutzer mutiert. Ich fahre heute hauptsächlich mit dem Zug oder allgemein mit dem Öffentlichen Verkehr zur Arbeit. Privat habe ich das E-Mountainbike für mich entdeckt, wobei der Akku möglichst erst auf der Rückfahrt einer Tour, zur Unterstützung eingeschalten wird.

Kurzporträt Kurz Etter

Kurt Etter arbeitet im Kompetenzbereich Landsysteme bei armasuisse und ist für die Beschaffung von Verwaltungsfahrzeugen und Lieferwagen bis 3.5 Tonnen Gesamtgewicht der gesamten Bundesverwaltung verantwortlich.

Kurzporträt Cédric Fridez

Cédric Fridez arbeitet bei armasuisse Immobilien im Fachbereich Umweltmanagement, Normen und Standards als Fachberater Elektro, «Messen, Steuern, Regeln, Leiten» (MSRL) und Schutz vor «Elektromagnetischen Pulsen» (EMP).


armasuisse Immobilien Guisanplatz 1
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 463 20 20

E-Mail


Öffnungszeiten Telefonzentrale

Montag bis Donnerstag
08:00-12:00/ 13:15-17:00

Freitag
08:00-12:00/ 13:15-16:00