print preview

Dr Bernhard Knechtenhofer, Head of the Command and Control and Reconnaissance Systems competence sector in a short interview

Kaj-Gunnar Sievert, specialist area Communications, Resources and Support

What makes the work at armasuisse special? Sent as SMS

The work at armasuisse is meaningful, as we make a significant contribution to the security of our country. This sense of purpose is very satisfying for me. On top of that, I find the work contents – our projects – very exciting. I enjoy working for armasuisse. Sent as SMS

Why are more women welcome at armasuisse? Sent as SMS

I am convinced that mixed teams often produce even better supported solutions. On top of this, we will have to replace numerous colleagues who are retiring over the next few years as a result of our age pyramid in the CCR sector. Without women, we would barely be able to fill these positions. Sent as SMS

Can leadership be learned? Sent as SMS

Much, but not everything can be learned. It certainly helps a lot if the manager has a certain flair for dealing with people and situations. With training and concrete personal experiences, this tendency can be specifically influenced, complemented and/or encouraged. Sent as SMS

Which topics will you as a manager take with you from this time of the pandemic? Sent as SMS

The last year has shown that we can also deliver good results in other forms of cooperation. I see the work on site as an advantage, in particular in creative work or in staff appraisals and negotiations. Pure information transfer can also be performed very efficiently via SKYPE. Sent as SMS

How do you switch off from work? Sent as SMS

When I come home in the evening and my children tell me all about what they have been doing throughout the day, I forget my work very quickly. The family and my various activities alongside my work at armasuisse always help me to switch off quickly from work. Sent as SMS

What do you laugh about? Sent as SMS

I can laugh a lot - in particular about myself. Not everything in life is so deadly serious. I am an optimist and I see many good things each day which make me laugh. Sent as SMS

Brief profile

Dr. Bernhard Knechtenhofer has been Head of the Command and Control and Reconnaissance Systems competence sector at armasuisse since December 1, 2019. His area of responsibility includes procurement projects such as the Telecommunications of the Armed Forces (TK A). Dr. Knechtenhofer studied Economics at the University of St Gallen and graduated with a doctorate. He was then active in the private sector and switched to the Federal Administration in 2006. Dr. Knechtenhofer finally joined armasuisse following various different roles and administrative units. Dr. Knechtenhofer also holds a Master of Advanced Studies in Security Policy and Crisis Management from ETH Zurich.

print preview

Dr. Bernhard Knechtenhofer, Leiter Kompetenzbereich Führungs- und Aufklärungssysteme im Kurzinterview

Kaj-Gunnar Sievert, Fachbereich Kommunikation, Ressourcen und Support

Was macht das Besondere der Arbeit bei armasuisse aus? Als SMS gesendet.

Die Arbeit bei armasuisse ist sinnvoll, da wir zur Sicherheit unseres Landes einen massgeblichen Beitrag leisten. Diese Sinnhaftigkeit ist für mich sehr befriedigend. Kommt dazu, dass die Arbeitsinhalte – unsere Projekte – für mich sehr spannend sind. Ich arbeite gerne für armasuisse.  Als SMS gesendet

Warum sind mehr Frauen bei armasuisse willkommen? Als SMS gesendet.

Ich bin überzeugt, dass in gemischten Teams oft noch besser abgestützte Lösungen entstehen. Kommt dazu, dass wir aufgrund unserer Alterspyramide im F+A in den nächsten paar Jahren aufgrund von Pensionierungen zahlreiche Abgänge zu ersetzen haben. Ohne Frauen werden wir diese Positionen kaum besetzen können. Als SMS gesendet.

Ist Führung erlernbar? Als SMS gesendet.

Vieles, aber nicht alles ist erlernbar. Es hilft schon sehr, wenn die Führungskraft ein gewisses Flair für Menschen und Situationen mitbringt. Mit Ausbildungen und konkreten eigenen Erfahrungen kann diese Veranlagung gezielt beeinflusst, ergänzt und/oder gefördert werden.  Als SMS gesendet.

Welche Themen nehmen als Kaderperson aus der Zeit der Pandemie mit? Als SMS gesendet.

Das letzte Jahr hat gezeigt, dass wir auch in anderen Formen der Zusammenarbeit gute Ergebnisse erbringen können. Die Arbeit vor Ort sehe ich als Vorteil insbesondere bei kreativen Arbeiten oder bei Personalgesprächen und Verhandlungen. Reine Informationsvermittlung kann durchaus auch effizient über SKYPE erfolgen. Als SMS gesendet.

Wie schalten Sie von der Arbeit ab? Als SMS gesendet.

Wenn ich am Abend zu Hause ankomme und meine Kinder mir erzählen, was sie durch den Tag alles erlebt haben, vergesse ich die Arbeit ganz rasch J. Die Familie und meine verschiedenen Aktivitäten nebst der Arbeit bei armasuisse lassen mich stets rasch von der Arbeit abschalten. Als SMS gesendet

Worüber können Sie lachen? Als SMS gesendet.

Ich kann viel lachen - insbesondere auch über mich. Nicht alles im Leben ist so tierisch ernst. Ich bin Optimist und sehe jeden Tag viele gute Dinge, die mich zum lachen bringen. Als SMS gesendet.

Kurzporträt

Dr. Bernhard Knechtenhofer ist seit dem 1. Dezember 2019 Leiter des Kompetenzbereichs Führungs- und Aufklärungssystem bei armasuisse. In seinem Verantwortungsbereich liegen Beschaffungsprojekte wie zum Beispiel die Telekommunikation der Armee (TK A). Dr. Knechtenhofer studierte an der Universität St. Galle Wirtschaftswissenschaften und schloss mit einem Doktortitel ab. Anschliessend war er in der Privatwirtschaft tätig und wechselte 2006 in die Bundesverwaltung. Über verschiedene Funktionen und Verwaltungseinheiten kam Dr. Knechtenhofer schliesslich zu armasuisse. Dr. Knechtenhofer verfügt zudem über ein Master of Advanced Studies in Security Policy and Crisis Management der ETH Zürich.