print preview

Thomas Knecht, Head of competence sector Purchasing and Cooperations in a short interview

Kaj-Gunnar Sievert, specialist area Communications, Resources and Support

What makes your work at armasuisse so fascinating? Sent as SMS

No day is the same as any other. The diversity of topics and challenges at armasuisse is absolutely unique. I value the cooperation with colleagues as well as with our customers at the Armed Forces. The work on the various committees of the DDPS, but also at federal level, is very rewarding. Sent as SMS

From which professional experiences does the main customer, the Armed Forces, benefit from you the most? Sent as SMS

My various career stations in the private sector provided me with a “basic set” of experiences, in particular in the area of procurement. Business knowledge, as well my skills in public procurement and those of my colleagues help the main customer to receive correctly procured, economic solutions. Sent as SMS

armasuisse as a career starter and/or lateral entrant? Sent as SMS

Both. armasuisse is an extremely attractive employer for both groups. armasuisse offers outstanding support for career starters, regardless of which profession. Lateral entrants are also always welcome to join us. They contribute valuable external perspectives to our working environment.   Sent as SMS

What has changed in your management style with the pandemic/home workplace? Sent as SMS

My participatory management style has proved to be very successful, even in the current period.  Naturally there have been one or two situations in which direct management and corresponding decisions were called for. Other than that, I try to maintain contact with my management team via the various communication channels and especially via personal (telephone) contact). Sent as SMS

Which topics will you as a manager take with you from this time of the pandemic? Sent as SMS

That the management principles of armasuisse also had their significance during the pandemic and will continue to do so. The successful performance of tasks is not possible without trust in your colleagues, especially in times of crisis. I am extremely impressed at the high level of flexibility and the commitment of my colleagues during this pandemic. Sent as SMS

How do you switch off from work? Sent as SMS

I am privileged to live in a family with my wife and our 3 children. As they all have very different needs at 10, 16 and 19 years old, it’s a challenge.  I thus spend an enjoyable part of my free time helping with homework, performing chauffeur services, acting as a sports coach, etc. These are extremely enriching activities which represent a good contrast with my work. Sent as SMS

Brief profile

Thomas Knecht (55) holds a Masters in Public Management from the University of Bern and is a qualified businessman from the HKG (College of Higher Education). After various professional roles in the private sector, he joined today’s armasuisse in 2001. Following several different appointments, he was promoted to vice-director in 2008 and today heads the competence sector Purchasing and Operations.

print preview

Thomas Knecht, Leiter Kompetenzbereich Einkauf und Kooperationen im Kurzinterview

Kaj-Gunnar Sievert, Fachbereich Kommunikation, Ressourcen und Support

Was macht Ihre Arbeit bei armasuisse so spannend? Als SMS gesendet.

Kein Tag gleicht dem anderen. Die Vielfältigkeit der Themen und Herausforderungen bei armasuisse ist absolut einzigartig. Ich schätze die Zusammenarbeit mit Mitarbeitenden sowie unseren Kunden bei der Armee. Auch die Arbeit in den verschiedensten Gremien im VBS, aber auch auf Stufe Bund ist wirklich bereichernd. Als SMS gesendet

Von welchen beruflichen Erfahrungen profitiert der Hauptkunde Armee am meisten von Ihnen? Als SMS gesendet.

Die verschiedenen beruflichen Stationen in der Privatwirtschaft haben mir ein "Grundset" an Erfahrungen, insbesondere im Bereich der Beschaffung, mitgegeben. Das betriebswirtschaftliche Wissen, sowie die Kenntnisse im öffentlichen Beschaffungswesen von mir und meinen Mitarbeitenden hilft mit, damit der Hauptkunde korrekt beschaffte und wirtschaftliche Lösungen erhält. Als SMS gesendet.

Armasuisse als Berufseinsteiger und/oder Quereinsteiger? Als SMS gesendet.

Sowohl als auch. armasuisse ist für beide Gruppen ein äusserst attraktiver Arbeitgeber. Als Berufseinsteiger, in welchem Beruf auch immer, bietet armasuisse eine hervorragende Betreuung. Auch Quereinsteiger sind immer wieder bei uns willkommen. Sie bringen wertvolle Aussensichten in unsere Arbeitswelt ein.   Als SMS gesendet.

Was hat sich in Ihrer Führungsart mit der Pandemie/Home Office geändert? Als SMS gesendet.

Mein partizipativer Führungsstil hat sich auch in der aktuellen Zeit sehr bewährt.  Selbstverständlich gab es die eine oder andere Situation, in der direkte Führung und entsprechende Entscheide gefordert waren. Ansonsten versuche ich, mit meinem Führungsteam den Kontakt über die verschiedenen Kommunikationskanäle und vor allem über den persönlichen (telefonischen) Kontakt aufrecht zu erhalten. Als SMS gesendet.

Welche Themen nehmen als Kaderperson aus der Zeit der Pandemie mit? Als SMS gesendet.

Dass die Führungsgrundsätze der armasuisse auch in der Pandemie ihre Bedeutung hatten und weiterhin haben. Ohne Vertrauen in die Mitarbeitenden ist speziell in Krisenzeiten keine erfolgreiche Leistungserbringung möglich. Ich bin tief beeindruckt, wie hoch die Flexibilität und die Leistungsbereitschaft der Mitarbeitenden in dieser Pandemie ist. Als SMS gesendet.

Wie schalten Sie von der Arbeit ab? Als SMS gesendet.

Ich habe das Privileg, in einer Familie zusammen mit meiner Frau und unseren 3 Kindern zu leben. Da diese mit 10, 16  und 19 Jahren sehr unterschiedliche Bedürfnisse haben, bin ich gefordert. So verbringe ich einen schönen Teil meiner Freizeit mit Aufgabenhilfe, Chauffeurdiensten, Sportcoach etc. Dies sind äusserst bereichernde Tätigkeiten, die einen guten Kontrast zu meinem Beruf darstellen. Als SMS gesendet.

Kurzporträt

Thomas Knecht (55) ist Inhaber eines Master of Public Management der Universität Bern und ausgebildeter Kaufmann der höheren Kaufmännischen Gesamtschule (HKG). Nach verschiedenen beruflichen Tätigkeiten in der Privatwirtschaft trat 2001 in die heutige armasuisse ein. Über verschiedene Funktionen wurde er 2008 zum Vizedirektor befördert und führ heute den Kompetenzbereich Einkauf und Kooperationen.