print preview

«My rusty German skills did not prevent me from settling in quickly»

In an interview, Rudy Yangi Y'Alili talks about his time as a university intern and how things will continue for him afterwards.

Specialist Area Communication, Alisha Held

Picture of Rudy Yangi Y'Alili, university intern Law
Rudy Yangi Y'Alili is a university intern in the Department of Law, Transport and Customs. He studied law at the University of Geneva.

How were your first three months at armasuisse?
My first three months at armasuisse were, above all, a period of settling in. First of all, I had to adapt from a linguistic point of view. Then I had to familiarise myself with the organisation of armasuisse and the working methods in the various specialist departments of armasuisse’s legal services.

On the whole, this phase went very well. This was due to my good integration in the legal services department as well as with the colleagues in other competence areas – despite my somewhat rusty German skills. The introductions to the various fields of law, which I received from colleagues in the legal services, were also helpful.

What were your highlights in the work here?
For me, there were three special highlights:

  • My involvement in the development of the Cyber Defence campus in the competence sector Science and Technology (S+T). My task was to prepare sample contracts for the cooperation between the Cyber Defence Campus and external partners. This gave me an insight into an interesting area.
  • The possibility of being able to negotiate an amicable settlement with a lawyer, almost independently, in a liability case involving armasuisse real estate.
  • The opportunity to celebrate with work colleagues at the “Fête de l'Escalade” and to smash the symbolic chocolate pot. It was a great opportunity to experience a Geneva tradition.

Do you have the option of staying with armasuisse? If you do, which department and position?
Yes, I have been offered a position as a legal expert in the competence area S+T – in the Swiss Drone and Robotics Centre (SDRZ), even though I actually belong to the Law Department from an administrative point of view. It will be a temporary contract, starting on August 1, 2020 and ending on January 31, 2021.

Which challenges do you see yourself facing?
In the more distant future, on February 1, 2021, a major challenge awaits me: my legal internship in a law firm in Geneva. I would like to be admitted to the bar. However, after more than one year of professional legal experience, I will approach this new challenge with determination and confidence.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
In five years, I see myself as a lawyer in law firm or in the Federal Administration. After a year in the service of the Swiss Confederation, I would say that the various professional opportunities as a lawyer in the Federal Administration have convinced me.

print preview

«Eingerostete Deutschkenntnisse standen einer raschen Eingewöhnung nicht im Weg»

Im Interview erzählt Rudy Yangi Y'Alili über seine Zeit als Hochschulpraktikant und wie es für ihn danach weitergeht.

Fachbereich Kommunikation, Alisha Held 

Foto von Rudy Yangi Y'Alili, Hochschulpraktikant Recht
Rudy Yangi Y'Alili ist Hochschulpraktikant im Fachbereich Recht, Transport und Zoll. Er studierte Rechtswissenschaft an der Universität in Genf.

Wie waren die ersten drei Monate für dich bei der armasuisse?

Meine ersten drei Monate bei armasuisse waren vor allem eine Zeit der Eingewöhnung. Zunächst einmal musste ich mich aus sprachlicher Sicht anpassen. Dann musste ich mich mit der Organisation von armasuisse und der Arbeitsweise in den verschiedenen Fachgebieten des Rechtsdienstes von armasuisse vertraut machen.

Insgesamt ist diese Phase sehr gut verlaufen. Das lag an der guten Integration sowohl im Rechtsdienst als auch mit den Kolleginnen und Kollegen in anderen Kompetenzbereichen – und dass trotz meiner etwas eingerosteten Deutschkenntnisse. Hilfreich waren auch die Einführungen in die verschiedenen Rechtsgebiete, die ich von den Kolleginnen und Kollegen des Rechtsdiensts erhalten habe.

Was waren deine Highlights bei der Arbeit hier?
Für mich gab es drei besondere Highlights:

  • Meine Mitwirkung an der Entwicklung des Cyber-Defence Campus im Kompetenzbereich Wissenschaft und Technologie (W+T). Meine Aufgabe war es, Musterverträge für die Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Cyber-Defence Campus und externen Partnern auszuarbeiten. Dadurch erhielt ich einen Einblick in einen interessanten Bereich.

  • Die Möglichkeit, in einem Haftpflichtfall, der armasuisse Immobilien betraf, nahezu selbständig mit einem Anwalt eine gütliche Einigung aushandeln zu können.

  • Die Gelegenheit, mit den Arbeitskolleginnen und -kollegen «Fête de l'Escalade» zu feiern und den symbolischen Schokoladentopf zu zerschlagen. Es war ein toller Anlass, gemeinsam eine Genfer Tradition zu erleben.

Hast du die Möglichkeit bei der armasuisse zu bleiben? Wenn ja, welche Abteilung und welche Stelle?
Ja, mir wurde eine Stelle als Jurist im Kompetenzbereich W+T angeboten – im Schweizer Drohnen- und Robotik-Zentrum (SDRZ), auch wenn ich damit aus administrativer Sicht weiter zum Fachbereich Recht gehöre. Es handelt sich um einen befristeten Vertrag, der am 1. August 2020 beginnt und am 31. Januar 2021 endet.

Welche Herausforderung siehst du auf dich zukommen?
In etwas fernerer Zukunft, am 1. Februar 2021, wartet eine grosse Herausforderung auf mich: mein Anwaltspraktikum in einer Kanzlei in Genf. Ich möchte mein Anwaltspatent erwerben. Nach mehr als einem Jahr juristischer Berufserfahrung werde ich diese neue Herausforderung jedoch entschlossen und zuversichtlich angehen.

Wo siehst du dich in 5 Jahren?
In fünf Jahren sehe ich mich als Jurist in einer Anwaltskanzlei oder in der Bundesverwaltung. Nach einem Jahr im Dienst der Eidgenossenschaft würde ich sagen, dass mich die verschiedenen beruflichen Möglichkeiten als Jurist in der Bundesverwaltung überzeugt haben.