print preview

Research at armasuisse Science and Technology

The world in which we live is characterised by technological progress. And this progress is forging ahead ever more rapidly. However, in addition to the advantages that this change involves, we are all also facing ever greater challenges. How will our world change, and what will the consequences be for people and for the environment? Finding answers to these questions is particularly relevant for those involved in security issues. For this reason, armasuisse Science and Technology is posing precisely these questions.

Elianne Egli, Innovation and Processes, Science and Technology

Front view of the General Guisan House (GHH) in Thun.
A large part of armasuisse S+T’s research activities take place in the General-Herzog-Haus (GHH) in Thun.

When the patron of armasuisse S+T’s location, General Hans Herzog, co-founded the Federal Construction Works in Thun in 1863, he would probably not have dreamed possible what would become reality almost 160 years later. On the fourth floor of the General-Herzog-Haus in Thun, simulation specialists are reproducing the world as a digital twin, in the sensor laboratory on the second floor, an experiment is currently being planned in which it is possible to see through the clouds, and in the neighbouring building, walking robots and flying drones abound. Technology is striding forward at a dizzying pace. They are major drivers in the configuration of modern armies and key factors of successful operational management. Keeping up with technological development is thus essential – not just for the procurement areas of armasuisse, but also for the Armed Forces.

Making knowledge useful for the DDPS

armasuisse S+T’s research activities are structured into research programmes, the contents of which are largely oriented to the operational capabilities of the Armed Forces. Six research programmes are currently active:

  • Reconnaissance and Surveillance
  • Communications
  • Cyberspace and Data Science
  • Impact, Protection and Safety
  • Unmanned Mobile Systems
  • Technology Foresight

In addition, there are the two interdisciplinary areas «Human Factors and Complexity Management» and «Materials Sciences and Energy».

Research in the area of security is also carried out at universities as well as in industry. Industry is trying to make itself fit for tomorrow’s market through its research. As a result, it has very focussed and in-depth knowledge. Universities also perform excellent research work. Knowledge with regard to technologies for national security is, however, only fragmentarily available as no technical military degree courses are offered at universities in Switzerland. This is where armasuisse S+T comes into play. It develops this outstanding technological knowledge for the DDPS. The scientists in the General-Herzog-Haus network the existing competences from various different research institutions and industries both in Switzerland and abroad and make them – supplemented with their own findings from trials and experiments – usable for the DDPS.

Support for decision makers

A solid decision-making basis is created in defence as well as in armasuisse, based on these findings. The knowledge required for complex planning will thus be made available to decision makers, for example, in the Armed Forces staff. The head of Research Management at armasuisse S+T, Dr. Hansruedi Bircher, clarifies: «The Armed Forces staff has to plan our army. For this purpose, it needs to know how technology is developed, what is in store for us and what impact the development has on the skills portfolio.»

Next stop: Innovation

In the future, however, findings will no longer only be generated at armasuisse S+T, they will also be tested. Innovation projects are planned to introduce more innovation into the Armed Forces in future, while simultaneously making armasuisse S+T’s knowledge transparent. In this way, S+T is preparing the DDPS for the technologies of tomorrow, thus making an important contribution to security in Switzerland.

print preview

Forschung bei armasuisse Wissenschaft und Technologie

Die Welt, in der wir leben, ist von technologischem Fortschritt geprägt. Und dieser Fortschritt schreitet immer rasanter voran. Nebst den Vorteilen, die dieser Wandel mit sich bringt, stehen wir alle aber auch vor immer grösseren Herausforderungen. Wie wird sich unsere Welt verändern, welche Konsequenzen für Mensch und Umwelt werden daraus resultieren? Antworten auf diese Fragen zu finden, ist besonders für jene relevant, die sich mit Sicherheit beschäftigen. Aus diesem Grund stellt sich armasuisse Wissenschaft und Technologie genau diesen Fragen.

Elianne Egli, Innovation und Prozesse, Wissenschaft und Technologie

Forderansicht des General-Guisan-Haus (GHH) in Thun
Im General-Herzog-Haus (GHH) in Thun, findet ein Grossteil der Forschungsaktivitäten von armasuisse W+T statt .

Als der Namensgeber des Standorts von armasuisse W+T, General Hans Herzog, 1863 die Eidgenössische Konstruktionswerkstätte in Thun mitgründete, hätte er es wohl nicht für möglich gehalten, was fast 160 Jahre später Realität sein würde. Im vierten Stock des General-Herzog-Hauses in Thun sitzen Simulationsspezialisten, welche die Welt in einen digitalen Zwilling abbilden, im Sensorik-Labor im 2. Stock wird gerade ein Experiment geplant, bei dem man durch die Wolken hindurch sehen kann und im Nebengebäude befinden sich laufende Roboter und fliegende Drohnen. Die Technologie schreitet in einem schwindelerregenden Tempo voran. Sie sind wesentliche Treiber bei der Ausgestaltung moderner Armeen und Schlüsselfaktoren erfolgreicher Operationsführung. Ein Mithalten mit der Technologieentwicklung ist also essentiell – nicht nur für die Beschaffungsbereiche von armasuisse, sondern auch für die Armee.

Wissen für das VBS nutzbar machen

Die Forschungsaktivitäten von armasuisse W+T sind in Forschungsprogramme gegliedert, welche sich inhaltlich weitgehend an den operationellen Fähigkeiten der Armee orientieren. Derzeit sind sechs Forschungsprogramme aktiv:

  • Aufklärung und Überwachung
  • Kommunikation
  • Cyberspace und Data Science
  • Wirkung, Schutz und Sicherheit
  • Unbemannte mobile Systeme
  • Technologiefrüherkennung

Dazu kommen die beiden Querschnittsbereiche «Human Factors und Komplexitätsmanagement» sowie «Materialwissenschaften und Energie».

Auch an Universitäten sowie in der Industrie wird Forschung im Sicherheitsbereich betrieben. Die Industrie versucht sich, durch ihre Forschung fit für den Markt von morgen zu machen. Dadurch hat sie ein sehr fokussiertes und tiefes Wissen. Universitäten leisten ebenfalls exzellente Forschungsarbeiten. Das Wissen in Bezug auf Technologien für die nationale Sicherheit ist jedoch nur fragmentarisch vorhanden, weil in der Schweiz an Universitäten keine militärtechnischen Studiengänge angeboten werden. Dabei kommt armasuisse W+T ins Spiel. Es erschliesst dieses hervorragende Technologiewissen für das VBS . Die Wissenschaftler/-innen im General-Herzog-Haus vernetzen die bestehenden Kompetenzen aus verschiedenen Forschungseinrichtungen und der Industrie aus der Schweiz sowie dem Ausland und machen sie – ergänzt mit eigenen Erkenntnissen aus Versuchen und Erprobungen – für das VBS nutzbar.

Unterstützung für Entscheidungsträger/-innen

Basierend auf diesen Erkenntnissen wird in der Verteidigung sowie in der armasuisse eine solide Entscheidungsgrundlage geschaffen. Entscheidungsträgern/-innen beispielsweise im Armeestab wird somit notwendiges Wissen für ihre komplexen Planungen zur Verfügung gestellt. Der Leiter des Forschungsmanagements bei armasuisse W+T, Dr. Hansruedi Bircher, präzisiert: «Der Armeestab muss unsere Armee planen. Dafür muss er wissen, wie sich die Technologie entwickeln wird, was auf uns zukommt und welchen Einfluss die Entwicklung auf das Fähigkeitsportfolio hat.»

Nächster Halt: Innovation

In Zukunft sollen bei armasuisse W+T jedoch nicht mehr nur Erkenntnisse generiert werden; sie sollen auch getestet werden. Mit Innovationsprojekten soll zukünftig mehr Innovation in die Armee gebracht und gleichzeitig das Wissen von armasuisse W+T transparent gemacht werden. Damit rüstet W+T das VBS für die Technologien von morgen und leistet somit einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Sicherheit in der Schweiz.