print preview

Presentation of specialist area Command and Control Systems

The specialist area Command and Control Systems (SA C+C) is a part of the competence sector Command and Control and Reconnaissance Systems (CS C+R). The CS C+R is responsible for implementing pioneering C4ISTAR systems. The services and products are also available to other customers in addition to the Armed Forces. SA C+C is one of the four specialist procurement areas in the CS C+R and is responsible for various departments in the overall C4ISTAR spectrum.

Stefan Keller, Specialist area Command and Control Systems, Competence sector Command and Control and Reconnaissance Systems

Soldiers use the medium-range thermal imaging device 19 (WBG MR 19) in observation activities

 

We would like to introduce the SA C+C and its fields of activity over a series of articles. This month, we would like to start with an overview of the specialist area as well as the cluster Optronics. We will present other clusters at a later point in time.

The specialist area Command and Control Systems implements projects from the C4ISTAR area in the following six clusters:

The six clusters of SA C+C: optronics, radar, command and control, reconnaissance, meteo, surveillance and special projects.

The SA C+C consists of 23 employees who ensure that projects are implemented in the six clusters. The specialist area consists of the head of the specialist area, their deputy, an assistant and 20 project managers at all levels.

Employees sometimes work across clusters and are each involved in several projects at the same time.

The range of topics covered by the SA C+C is wide-ranging and varied, as shown above. The SA C+C covers a wide spectrum, from residual light amplifiers, radar systems, command and control systems, meteorological systems, surveillance systems for target projection, to x-ray systems and document verification devices.

A brief overview of the individual clusters and their fields of activity is given below.

Cluster Optronics

The graphic shows a thermal imaging device

The Cluster Optronics is responsible for the procurement of optronic devices. Optronics, the combination of optics and electronics, deals with modern optical surveillance and reconnaissance systems.

In the Cluster Optronics, optronic systems are generally considered to be thermal imaging devices (WBG), residual light amplifiers (RLV) and the respective laser modules (LM) laser light modules (LLM), as well as multifunctional laser range finders (MLEM).

Cluster Radar

The graphic shows a radar

In the Cluster Radar, we distinguish between air surveillance and approach guidance systems. In airspace maintenance, an integrated Recognized Air Picture (RAP) must be created to be able to lead and deploy own forces in the entire area of interest of the Armed Forces and in particular for the Air Force.

The approach guidance systems are used to control take-off and landing of the planes at the airfields, at any time of the day or night as well as in all weather conditions.

Cluster Command and Control and Reconnaissance

The graphic shows a command and control device

The Cluster Command and Control and Reconnaissance procures, on the one hand, C2 systems (command and control), which enable various data to be networked and displayed, thus helping to ensure the command and control of missions.

However, it also procures tactical reconnaissance systems, which make a valuable contribution to command and control.

Cluster Meteo

On the graphic there is a cloud and sun

As the name implies, the Cluster Meteo deals with projects which are related to the weather. Meteorological data together with their preparation and provision are key for planning, executing and controlling operations on the ground as well as in the air.

Cluster Surveillance

The graphic shows a surveillance camera

In the Cluster Surveillance, systems are procured which are used to monitor objects or, for example, also to monitor the aircraft noise on the military air bases.

Cluster Special Projects

The graphic shows some drones and buildings

The Cluster Special Projects deals with projects which are difficult to assign to other clusters or which relate to several clusters simultaneously.

Projects such as defence against mini-drones, luggage x-ray units, document verification devices, metal detectors, etc. can be summarised here

Detailed information on the respective clusters and the associated projects will be published in future armasuisse Insights articles.

print preview

Vorstellung Fachbereich Führungssysteme

Der Fachbereich Führungssysteme (FB FAF) ist Teil des Kompetenzbereiches Führungs- und Aufklärungssysteme (KB F+A). Der KB F+A ist verantwortlich für die Realisierung zukunftsweisender C4ISTAR-Systeme. Die Leistungen und Produkte stehen nebst der Armee auch weiteren Kunden zur Verfügung. Der FB FAF ist einer der vier Beschaffungsfachbereiche im KB F+A und ist verantwortlich für diverse Teilbereiche aus dem gesamten C4ISTAR Spektrum.

Stefan Keller, Fachbereich Führungssysteme, Kompetenzbereich Führungs- und Aufklärungssysteme

Der Soldat benützt das Wärmebildgerät mittlerer Reichweite 19 (WBG MR 19) beim Beobachtungseinsatz.

In mehreren Beiträgen möchten wir den FB FAF und dessen Tätigkeitsfelder näherbringen. Beginnen möchten wir diesen Monat mit einer Übersicht über den Fachbereich sowie dem Cluster Optronik. Zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt werden wir die weiteren Cluster vorstellen.

Der Fachbereich Führungssysteme realisiert Vorhaben aus dem C4ISTAR Bereich in den folgenden sechs Clustern:

 Die sechs Cluster des FB FAF: Optronik, Radar, Führung und Aufklärung, Meteo, Überwachung, Spezialprojekte

 

Der FB FAF besteht aus 23 Mitarbeitern, welche die die Umsetzung von Projekten in den sechs Clustern sicherstellen. Der Fachbereich besteht aus dem Leiter Fachbereich, dessen Stellvertreter, einer Assistentin sowie aus 20 Projektleitern aller Stufen. Die Mitarbeitenden arbeiten teilweise clusterübergreifend und sind jeweils in mehreren Vorhaben gleichzeitig engagiert.

Die Palette der Themengebiete, die durch den FB FAF abgedeckt wird, ist vielseitig und bunt, wie die obenstehende Abbildung zeigt. Von Restlichtverstärkern, Radarsystemen, Führungssystemen über Meteosysteme, Überwachungssysteme für den Objektschutz bis hin zu Röntgensystemen und Dokumentprüfgeräten deckt der FB FAF ein breites Spektrum ab.

Nachfolgend eine kurze Übersicht über die einzelnen Cluster und deren Tätigkeitsfelder.

Cluster Optronik

Auf der Grafik ist ein Wärmebildgerät abgebildet

Der Cluster Optronik ist verantwortlich für die Beschaffung von optronischen Geräten. Optronik, die Kombination von Optik und Elektronik, befasst sich mit modernen optischen Überwachungs- und Aufklärungssystemen.

Im Cluster Optronik versteht man im Allgemeinen unter optronischen Systemen Wärmebildgeräte (WBG), Restlichtverstärker (RLV) sowie die dazugehörigen Laser Module (LM), Laser Licht Module (LLM) sowie Multifunktionale Laserentfernungsmesser (MLEM).

Cluster Radar

Auf der Grafik ist ein Radar und ein Flugzeug abgebildet

Im Cluster Radar unterscheiden wir zwischen Luftraumüberwachungs- und Anflugleitsystemen. Bei der Luftraumüberwachung geht es darum, im gesamten Interessenraum der Armee und insbesondere für die Luftwaffe ein Integriertes Luftlagebild (Recognized Air Picture RAP) zu erstellen, um die eigenen Kräfte führen und einsetzen zu können.

Bei den Anflugleitsystemen geht es darum, auf den Flugplätzen die Flugzeuge kontrolliert landen und starten zu lassen, und dies bei jeder Tages- und Nachtzeit sowie bei jedem Wetter.

Cluster Führung und Aufklärung

Auf der Grafik ist ein Führungsinstrument abgebildet

Der Cluster Führung und Aufklärung beschafft zum einen zukunftsweisende C2-Systeme (command and control), welche die Vernetzung und Darstellung verschiedener Informationen ermöglicht und somit hilft, die Führung von Missionen sicherzustellen.

Zum anderen werden hier aber auch taktische Aufklärungssysteme beschafft, welche einen wertvollen Beitrag an die Führung liefern.

Cluster Meteo

Auf der Grafik ist eine Wolke mit einer Sonne abgebildet

Der Cluster Meteo beschäftigt sich wie der Name schon sagt mit Projekten welche im Zusammenhang mit dem Wetter stehen. Meteorologische Daten sowie deren Aufbereitung und Zurverfügungstellung sind zentral für die Planung, Durchführung und Steuerung von Einsätzen zu Boden wie auch in der Luft.

Cluster Überwachung

Auf der Grafik ist eine Überwachungskamera abgebildet

Im Cluster Überwachung werden Systeme beschafft welche zur Überwachung von Objekten oder zum Beispiel auch zur Überwachung des Fluglärms auf den militärischen Flugplätzen dienen.

Cluster Spezialprojekte

Auf der Grafik sind Häuser innerhalb einer Kuppe abgebildet

Der Cluster Spezialprojekte befasst sich mit Projekten welche sich schwer in anderen Clustern zuordnen lassen oder die mehrere Cluster gleichzeitig betreffen. Hier lassen sich Vorhaben wie Abwehr von Minidrohnen, Gepäckröntgenanlagen, Dokumentenprüfgeräte, Metalldetektoren etc. zusammenfassen.

Detaillierte Informationen zu den jeweiligen Clustern und den dazugehörigen Projekten werden in weiteren armasuisse Insights Artikeln publiziert.