print preview

Weather sounding systems for the Air Force and artillery

Warm, good weather with few clouds. We hear weather information like this on the radio and it’s enough to plan a barbecue. The Armed Forces, however, require much more precise information about the air mass and density, in order to ensure the accuracy of the artillery or the Air Force.

Raphael Neuhaus, specialist area Command and Control Systems, competence sector Command and Control + Reconnaissance Systems

A picture shows a cloud and the address Cluster Meteo below

What is radio sounding?

A radiosonde equipped with various measuring devices is carried up into the air by a balloon filled with hydrogen or helium. Helium has been used in the Swiss Armed Forces exclusively for sounding since 2018. This radiosonde rises with a more or less constant speed from approx. 5 m/s and is carried away by the wind current. The sounding system supplies measured values on the air temperature, humidity, air pressure and wind data of the atmosphere, from the ground up to a height of 30 km. To this end, a radiosonde, with sensors for temperature and humidity, as well as a position measuring system (GPS), is launched. Each radiosonde transmits its measured values at intervals of one second by radio to the ground station. The vertical profiles of the measured parameters can be determined from this data – up to the height at which the balloon bursts. 

Each of the curves represents the behaviour of a meteorological parameter dependent on the height. The blue curve stands for the profile of the relative humidity, the red for the temperature profile. The green curve on the right side reflects the wind speed, while the violet curve reflects the wind direction.
© MeteoSchweiz

The radio sounding system ARGUS

The radio sounding system ARGUS 37 has been developed by Meteolabor AG specifically for meteorological research. The reception and evaluation of radio sounding data has now been made possible with little effort. The client was MeteoSchweiz. The high-altitude weather sounding system ARGUS 48 was procured for the Air Force in 2017. This was a further development of the ARGUS 37 system.

armasuisse SA C+C was commissioned in 2020 to procure a sounding system for the artillery which enables mobile handling in operations. ARGUS 60 will meet this requirement and is currently in the prototype phase. ARGUS 48 was used as the basis and is being further developed with the additional requirements. The goal of having a system for the Air Force and artillery can be achieved, as compatibility exists. The meteorological conditions have a strong influence on the trajectories of artillery and mortar rounds, in order to achieve the desired effect at the target with the first fire strike. For this purpose, meteorological messages are created when ARGUS60 is used for sounding. These messages are accepted by INTAFF and processed. 

In cooperation with armasuisse, Meteoschweiz has tendered procurement for an automatic radio sounding system. This system is in Payerne and triggers sounding every day at noon and at midnight, on 365 days a year. For this purpose, multiple probes with balloons are provided in the system and connected to the gas pipeline. The balloon is blown up and when it is the appropriate size, the cover is opened and the probe starts automatically. 

Automatic radio sounding system in Payerne
© MeteoSchweiz

print preview

Wettersondiersysteme für die Luftwaffe und Artillerie

Heute warmes und schönes Wetter mit wenig Wolken. Solche Wetterinformationen hören wir im Radio und diese genügen, um eine Grillade zu planen. Die Armee benötigt aber weitaus genauere Informationen über die Luftmasse und ihre Dichte, um zum Beispiel die Treffsicherheit der Artillerie oder Luftwaffe sicherzustellen.

Raphael Neuhaus, Fachbereich Führungssysteme, Kompetenzbereich Führungs- und Aufklärungssysteme

Auf einem Bild sieht man eine Wolke und darunter die Anschrift Cluster Meteo

 

Was ist eine Radiosondierung?

Eine mit verschiedenen Messgeräten ausgerüstete Radiosonde wird von einem mit Wasserstoff oder Helium gefüllten Ballon in die Höhe getragen. In der Schweizer Armee wird seit 2018 für die Sondierung ausschliesslich Helium benutzt. Diese Radiosonde steigt mit mehr oder weniger konstanter Geschwindigkeit von ca. 5 m/s auf und wird von der Windströmung weggetragen. Das Sondiersystem liefert Messwerte der Lufttemperatur, Luftfeuchtigkeit, Luftdruck und Winddaten der Atmosphäre, vom Boden bis zu einer Höhe von 30 km. Dazu lässt man eine Radiosonde, mit Messfühlern für Temperatur und Feuchtigkeit sowie einem Positionsmesssystem (GPS) aufsteigen. Jede Radiosonde übermittelt ihre Messwerte in Abständen von einer Sekunde per Funk an die Bodenstation. Aus diesen Daten lassen sich die vertikalen Profile der gemessenen Parameter bestimmen – bis zu der Höhe, in der der Ballon platzt.

Jede der Kurven stellt das Verhalten eines meteorologischen Parameters in Abhängigkeit von der Höhe dar. Die blaue Kurve steht für das Profil der relativen Luftfeuchte, die rote für das Temperaturprofil. Die grüne Kurve auf der rechten Seite gibt die Windgeschwindigkeit, die violette die Windrichtung wieder.
Sondier-Profil
© MeteoSchweiz

Das Radiosondierungssystem ARGUS

Das Radiosondierungssystem ARGUS 37 wurde von Meteolabor AG speziell für die meteorologische Forschung entwickelt. Der Empfang und die Auswertung von Radiosondierungsdaten wurde nun mit kleinem Aufwand möglich. Auftraggeber war MeteoSchweiz.

Im Jahr 2017 wurde für die Luftwaffe das Höhenwettersondiersystem ARGUS 48 beschafft. Dies war eine Weiterentwicklung des Systems ARGUS 37. armasuisse Fachbereich Führungssysteme wurde im 2020 beauftrag, für die Artillerie ein Sondiersystem zu beschaffen, dass eine mobile Handhabung im Einsatz ermöglicht. Diese Anforderung wird ARGUS 60 erfüllen und ist momentan in der Prototyp-Phase. Als Basis diente ARGUS 48, dass mit den zusätzlichen Anforderungen weiterentwickelt wurde. Das Ziel, ein System für die Luftwaffe und Artillerie zu haben, kann erreicht werden, da die Kompatibilität vorhanden ist. Die meteorologischen Bedingungen haben starken Einfluss auf die Flugbahnen von Artillerie- und Mörsergeschossen, um mit dem ersten Feuerschlag die gewünschte Wirkung im Ziel zu erreichen. Dazu werden bei der Sondierung mit ARGUS60 Meteomeldungen erstellt. Diese Meldungen werden durch das Integrierte Artillerie Führungs- und Feuerleitsystem (INTAFF) übernommen und weiterverarbeitetet.

In Zusammenarbeit mit armasuisse hat MeteoSchweiz eine Beschaffung für ein automatisches Radiosondiersystem ausgeschrieben. Dieses System steht in Payerne und löst jeweils mittags und um Mitternacht eine Sondierung aus. Dies an 365 Tage im Jahr. Dazu werden mehrere Sonden mit Ballone im System bereitgestellt und an die Gasleitung angeschlossen. Der Ballon wird aufgeblasen und bei entsprechender Grösse wird der Deckel geöffnet und die Sonde startet automatisch.

Automatisches Radiosondiersystem in Payerne
© MeteoSchweiz