print preview

«Digital Transformation: the fascination with the potential of possibilities and doing what was hitherto unthinkable.»

Thomas Rothacher, Head of competence sector Science and Technology and Deputy National Armaments Director at armasuisse, talks in an interview about armasuisse’s «Digital Journey» and the digitalisation technologies of the future. He explains why augmented reality/virtual reality, artificial intelligence and data science have great potential.

Lea Ryf, specialist area Communication, competence sector Resources and Support

Thomas Rothacher, Head of competence sector Science and Technology and Deputy National Armaments Director, talks in an interview about digitalisation and digital transformation.
Portrait image of Thomas Rothacher, Head of competence sector Science and Technology at armasuisse and Deputy National Armaments Director.

The «Digital Journey» is a learning journey through the technological, organisational and cultural transformation process in the DDPS and at armasuisse. What was your motivation in signing up as the representative at armasuisse for the Digital Journey?

We are living in times of enormous technological transformation, which heavily influences our (working) life. These changes interest me and I am happy to contribute to this topic, while at the same time I am interested in getting to know as many different perspectives as possible in more detail.

We are living in times of enormous technological transformation, which heavily influences our (working) life.

 

Can you tell us more about the ambitions and the areas of activity for digitalisation at armasuisse which will serve as the compass during the «Digital Journey»? And what does this mean broken down for the competence sector Science and Technology?

I tend to split up digitalisation into different areas. On the one hand, it will be important to achieve consistency of data, particularly in processes throughout the entire Federal Administration, but also across the interfaces with our partners. On the other hand, digitalisation will enable us to take advantage of completely different (military) opportunities, in particular when I think of artificial intelligence (KI) or data science. Digitalisation thus means so much more than reproducing analogue processes electronically.

Digitalisation thus means so much more than reproducing analogue processes electronically.

 

What do digitalisation and the digital transformation process mean in your competence sector Science and Technology?

As I already mentioned, advancing technological change is opening up many new possibilities in the area of digitalisation. We are attempting to investigate the impact of this technological transformation on the capabilities of the Armed Forces. For example: What will change as a result of being able to evaluate enormous amounts of data records by AI? How must armed forces be set up in the future, and which knowledge, which skills do they need to have? Interesting questions which we respond to in simulations using AI methods and to which we provide possible answers.

Digitalisation is a central topic for us and likewise affects the structure of our organisation. Over the last few years, new competence centres such as the Cyber Defence Campus (CYD Campus) and the Swiss Drone and Robotics Centre (SDRC) have thus been created. I am convinced that we will make our organisation even more flexible (not to mention even more agile) in the future.

What opportunities and risks of digitalisation and digital transformation lie in store for armasuisse?

With the knowledge and understanding prevalent in armasuisse, we should succeed in taking a leading role. We must have the courage to transform not only our digital tools, but also our processes and our culture. I already see various implemented approaches in this regard, such as the new flexible forms of work.

I foresee risks most likely in the speed of implementation and in the area of the culture of error. Our behaviour is characterised by conceptual approaches and enormous risk mitigation, in other words, to not make any mistakes if possible. My feeling is that this behaviour is no longer appropriate everywhere. Speed is gaining in significance. Trying things out and learning from them is becoming more important.

Speed is gaining in significance. Trying things out and learning from them is becoming more important.

 

Which technologies do you visualise in 5-10 years with regard to digitalisation at armasuisse?

Augmented reality/virtual reality will be our constant companion, to design new system solutions, for example, or to perpetrate 3D models in the area of infrastructure or to hold meetings with our avatars. AI and data science will support us in finding new solutions and approaching new suppliers. Development, production and supply chains will be continuously digitalised and we will become a part of this chain.

However, I believe it to be key that we as human beings will still remain in the centre.

What does digitalisation mean for you personally?

Fascination with the brave new world!

Brief portrait of Thomas Rothacher

Thomas Rothacher (50) has been working in various organisations and roles at armasuisse since 1998. Since 1 August 2013, he has been Head of the competence sector Science and Technology in Thun. He was appointed Deputy National Armaments Director on 1 March 2020. Following his apprenticeship as a metallurgy lab technician, he studied physics, mathematics and philosophy at the University of Bern and graduated in 1998 with an MSc in physics. In addition to his successfully acquired doctorate (PhD) in 2004, he completed additional in-service training and courses in further education, both at the University of St Gallen and abroad.

print preview

«Digitale Transformation: Die Faszination des Potenzials der Möglichkeiten und am Tun von bisher Undenkbarem.»

Thomas Rothacher, Leiter Kompetenzbereich Wissenschaft und Technologie und Stv. Rüstungschef armasuisse, spricht im Interview über die «Digital Journey» von armasuisse sowie Digitalisierungstechnologien der Zukunft. Er erklärt, warum Augmented Reality / Virtual Reality, Künstliche Intelligenz und Data Science grosses Potenzial haben.

Lea Ryf, Fachbereich Kommunikation, Kompetenzbereich Ressourcen und Support

Porträtbild von Thomas Rothacher, Leiter Kompetenzbereich Wissenschaft und Technologie armasuisse und Stv. Rüstungschef.
Thomas Rothacher, Leiter Kompetenzbereich Wissenschaft und Technologie und Stv. Rüstungschef, im Interview über Digitalisierung und digitale Transformation.

Die «Digital Journey» ist eine Lernreise durch den technologischen, organisatorischen und kulturellen Transformationsprozess im VBS und bei armasuisse. Was war die Motivation für Sie, sich als Vertreter armasuisse für die Digital Journey zu melden?

Wir befinden uns in Zeiten eines enormen Technologiewandels, welcher unser (Arbeits-)Leben stark prägt. Mich interessieren diese Veränderungen und ich bringe mich gerne zu dieser Thematik ein respektive bin daran interessiert, möglichst viele unterschiedliche Perspektiven näher kennen zu lernen.

Wir befinden uns in Zeiten eines enormen Technologiewandels, welcher unser (Arbeits-)Leben stark prägt.

 

Können Sie uns mehr über die Ambitionen und die Handlungsfelder für die Digitalisierung bei armasuisse erzählen, welche als Kompass in der «Digital Journey» dienen? Und was bedeutet dies heruntergebrochen für den Kompetenzbereich Wissenschaft und Technologie?

Ich neige dazu, die Digitalisierung in unterschiedliche Felder zu unterteilen. Auf der einen Seite wird es darum gehen, eine Durchgängigkeit von Daten zu erreichen, dies vor allem in Prozessen der gesamten Bundesverwaltung aber auch über die Nahtstellen mit unseren Partnern hinweg. Auf der anderen Seite, wird uns die Digitalisierung zu ganz anderen (militärischen) Möglichkeiten befähigen, insbesondere, wenn ich an Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) oder Data Science denke. Digitalisierung ist also weit mehr, als analoge Prozesse elektronisch abzubilden.

Digitalisierung ist also weit mehr, als analoge Prozesse elektronisch abzubilden.

 

Was bedeutet Digitalisierung und digitaler Transformationsprozess in Ihrem Kompetenzbereich Wissenschaft und Technologie?

Wie gerade erwähnt, eröffnet der fortschreitende Technologiewandel viele neue Möglichkeiten im Bereich der Digitalisierung. Wir versuchen, den Einfluss dieses Technologiewandels auf die Fähigkeiten der Armee zu eruieren. Zum Beispiel: Was ändert sich durch die Möglichkeiten, enorme Datensätze mittels KI auszuwerten? Wie müssen Streitkräfte in Zukunft aufgestellt werden, über welches Wissen, welche Fähigkeiten müssen sie verfügen? Interessante Fragen, welche wir in Simulationen mithilfe von KI-Ansätzen beantworten respektive mögliche Antworten aufzeigen.

Die Digitalisierung beschäftigt uns stark und wirkt sich ebenfalls auf den Aufbau unserer Organisation aus. So wurden in den letzten Jahren neue Kompetenzzentren wie der Cyber-Defence Campus (CYD Campus) und das Schweizerische Drohnen- und Robotikzentrum (SDRZ) geschaffen. Ich bin überzeugt, dass wir zukünftig unsere Organisation noch flexibler (um nicht zu sagen agiler) gestalten werden.

Welche Chancen und Risiken birgt die Digitalisierung und digitale Transformation für armasuisse?

Mit dem in armasuisse vorhandenen Wissen und Verständnis sollte es uns gelingen, eine führende Rolle einzunehmen. Wir müssen den Mut haben, nicht nur unsere digitalen Tools, sondern auch unsere Prozesse und unsere Kultur zu wandeln. Dafür sehe ich bereits einige umgesetzte Ansätze, beispielsweise die neuen flexiblen Arbeitsformen.

Risiken sehe ich am ehesten in der Umsetzungsgeschwindigkeit und im Thema der Fehlerkultur. Unser Verhalten ist geprägt von konzeptionellen Denkansätzen und einer enormen Risikoverminderung, also möglichst keinen Fehler zu begehen. Ich bin der Überzeugung, dass dieses Verhalten nicht mehr überall angebracht ist. Geschwindigkeit gewinnt an Bedeutung. Dinge auszuprobieren und daraus zu lernen, wird wichtiger.

Geschwindigkeit gewinnt an Bedeutung. Dinge auszuprobieren und daraus zu lernen, wird wichtiger.

 

Welche Technologien sehen Sie in 5-10 Jahren in Bezug auf Digitalisierung bei armasuisse?

Augmented Reality / Virtual Reality werden uns stetig begleiten, beispielsweise um neue Systemlösungen zu designen oder 3D-Modelle im Bereich der Infrastruktur zu begehen oder Meetings mit unseren Avataren abzuhalten. KI und Data Science werden uns unterstützen, neue Lösungen zu finden und neue Lieferanten anzugehen. Entwicklungs-, Produktions- und Lieferketten werden durchgehend digitalisiert und wir werden Teil dieser Kette sein.

Zentral erscheint mir aber, dass wir als Menschen immer noch im Zentrum stehen werden.

Was bedeutet für Sie persönlich Digitalisierung?

Faszination der schönen neuen Welt!

Kurzporträt von Thomas Rothacher

Thomas Rothacher (50) arbeitet seit 1998 in verschiedenen Organisationen und Funktionen bei armasuisse. Seit 1. August 2013 leitet er den Kompetenzbereich Wissenschaft und Technologie in Thun. Am 1. März 2020 wurde er zum stellvertretenden Rüstungschef ernannt. Nach seiner Lehre als Metallkundelaborant studierte er an der Universität Bern Physik, Mathematik sowie Philosophie und schloss 1998 als MSc in Physics ab. Nebst dem im Jahr 2004 erfolgreich erworbenen Doktortitel (PhD) hat er weitere berufsbegleitende Aus- und Weiterbildungen unter anderem an der Universität St Gallen und im Ausland absolviert.