print preview

«Digitalisation affects all of us, both in the working world as well as in our private life»

Digitalisation is one of the focal points of the DDPS for the coming years. This transformation process does not only affect the technology, but also the processes, the culture and the cooperation. This digital transformation is described as the «DDPS Digital Journey». But what is actually meant by digitalisation or digital transformation?

Lea Ryf, specialist area Communication, competence sector Resources and Support

Michael Sahli, Head of IT and Digitalisation DDPS, in an interview about digitalisation and digital transformation
Michael Sahli, Head of IT and Digitalisation DDPS, in an interview about digitalisation and digital transformation

What are the goals of the «DDPS Digital Journey»?

Digitalisation is also a transformation process for the DDPS: technological, organisational and cultural. «Digital Journey» designates a learning journey which will not be over in the foreseeable future. Our focus is thus not only on the destination, but on the journey itself.

In the first stage this year, we will develop the target image, the ambitions and the areas of activity for digitalisation in the DDPS. We thus set the strategic framework for the entire DDPS, which will serve as a compass for the journey.

Social change is closely connected with digitalisation

Digitalisation and digital transformation is a purely technological project and only affects IT. Do you agree with this statement?

The steps in digitalisation so far, such as the first use of computers, were above all a technological change. In addition to the use of new, digital technologies, the term digital transformation also covers the changes in society – new needs and changed processes emerge. For example, the use of social media, the smart wrist companion or payment by smartphone. Economic and political consequences follow.

Structural changes as well as new applications and systems, such as the creation of networks or the use of artificial intelligence (AI) emerge as a result of the progressive development in the technological sector. Today, processes can be fully automated or digitalised. Technology is therefore certainly an important factor in digitalisation but not the only one.

Technology is an important factor in digitalisation but not the only one

Where do you see challenges in the area of digitalisation and digital transformation for the DDPS and why?

I see the challenges in the framework conditions, which we will only be able to partially influence or adapt: We live in a world which is constantly changing, and which is characterised by instability and unpredictable changes. The intervals between these events and changes are becoming increasingly shorter. This initial situation – which is summarised today in the acronym VUKA – describes the changed framework conditions of government authorities and companies, especially in the digitalisation environment. VUKA is made up of the four terms volatility, uncertainty, complexity and ambiguity. This challenging starting point also requires far-reaching changes in the context of digital transformation.

However for me, the biggest challenge is how we shape this transition or even the transformation in the DDPS and integrate all employees in this change to take them on the Digital Journey.

Perceiving the opportunities of digital transformation must not be thwarted by prevailing fears with regard to the change

What are the opportunities and risks of digitalisation and digital transformation?

This question was discussed during the strategy process of the «Digital Journey». The «man-machine interaction», for example, is seen as an opportunity – in other words, the digitalisation of processes. Employees thus have more time for thinking as well as connectivity and networking inside as well as outside of the DDPS. Interesting job content and a new culture aim to increase the attraction of the DDPS as an employer.

Risks are considered to be, for example, overwork and excessive demand as a result of constant availability and the flow of information, but also uncertainty and fear of new technologies. The shorter intervals between changes are also a challenge. And last but not least, credibility as a reliable and secure partner in the digital world.

Are digital pioneers needed to drive digitalisation forward and how are these people trained?

Pioneers help when you venture into unknown territory and this is the case with the «Digital Journey».

A one-year learning journey with the ada fellowship learning programme is starting for around 30 employees from all over the DDPS. Here, they learn how to apply interdisciplinary thinking, methods as well as the practical transfer to the organisation. These competences help to master the digital transformation in a practical manner and to train the participants to become effective multiplicators of digitalisation in their administrative units.

Why is digital transformation closely connected with agility?

The factors of the VUKA world mentioned above require more agility in the organisation but also in the mindset of each individual. Agility does not mean that everything has to be converted to agile procedures and agile organisations. We must be able to react to the increasingly complex environment and the more rapid change with a higher level of adaptability. Agility is therefore closely connected with digital change.

In the working world, digitalisation is an enormous challenge for me but a very exciting one

What does digitalisation mean for you personally?

For me as an employee, this means helping to influence the environment, the organisation and the common working method such that we seize the opportunities of technological advances in order to be able to react to the risks, which undoubtedly also exist.

As a private individual and citizen, digitalisation for me means consciously using new technologies where they bring me added value. With regard to the administration, I as a citizen hope that all government services will also be offered in digitalised form.

Brief profile Michael Sahli

Michael Sahli (45) joined the DDPS in 2020. Previously, Michael Sahli worked as a Lean Agile Leader as well as a Head of Project Portfolio and Quality Management. Since joining the DDPS, he has been responsible for the management of IT and Digitalisation at the DDPS. Michael Sahli is leading the DDPS through the digital transformation process, with the leading responsibility for the «Digital Journey».

print preview

«Die Digitalisierung betrifft uns alle, sowohl in der Arbeitswelt wie auch in unserem Privatleben»

Die Digitalisierung ist einer der Schwerpunkte des VBS für die kommenden Jahre. Dieser Transformationsprozess betrifft nicht nur die Technologie sondern auch die Prozesse, die Kultur und die Zusammenarbeit. Diese digitale Transformation wird als «Digital Journey VBS» bezeichnet. Aber was ist eigentlich konkret unter Digitalisierung oder digitaler Transformation zu verstehen?

Lea Ryf, Fachbereich Kommunikation, Kompetenzbereich Ressourcen und Support

Michael Sahli, Chef Informatik und Digitalisierung VBS, im Interview über Digitalisierung und digitale Transformation
Michael Sahli, Chef Informatik und Digitalisierung VBS, im Interview über Digitalisierung und digitale Transformation

Welche Ziele verfolgt die «Digital Journey VBS»?

Die Digitalisierung ist auch für das VBS ein Transformationsprozess: technologisch, organisatorisch und kulturell. «Digital Journey» bezeichnet eine Lernreise, die in absehbarer Zeit nicht zu Ende sein wird. Unser Fokus liegt daher nicht nur auf dem Ziel, sondern auf der Reise selbst.

In einer ersten Etappe erarbeiten wir dieses Jahr das Zielbild, die Ambitionen und die Handlungsfelder für die Digitalisierung im VBS. Damit setzen wir den strategischen Rahmen für das gesamte VBS, der als Kompass für die Reise dient.

Der gesellschaftliche Wandel hängt stark mit der Digitalisierung zusammen

Digitalisierung und digitale Transformation ist ein reines Technologievorhaben und tangiert nur die Informatik. Stimmen Sie dieser Aussage zu?

Die bisherigen Schritte der Digitalisierung, beispielsweise der erste Einsatz von Computern, waren vor allem eine technologische Veränderung. Der Begriff der digitalen Transformation umfasst neben dem Gebrauch von neuen, digitalen Technologien auch die Veränderungen in der Gesellschaft: neue Bedürfnisse und veränderte Abläufe entstehen. Etwa die Nutzung von Social Media, die sportlichen Begleiter am Handgelenk oder das Bezahlen per Smartphone. Wirtschaftliche und politische Auswirkungen folgen.

Durch die fortschreitende Entwicklung im technologischen Bereich ergeben sich strukturelle Änderungen und neue Anwendungen und Systeme, wie beispielsweise die Schaffung von Netzwerken oder der Einsatz von künstlicher Intelligenz (KI). Prozesse können heute durchgängig automatisiert respektive digitalisiert werden. Technologie ist daher sicherlich ein wichtiger aber nicht der einzige Faktor der Digitalisierung.

Technologie ist ein wichtiger aber nicht der einzige Faktor der Digitalisierung

Wo sehen Sie Herausforderungen im Bereich der Digitalisierung und digitalen Transformation für das VBS und warum?

Ich sehe die Herausforderungen in den Rahmenbedingungen, die wir nur zum Teil werden beeinflussen oder anpassen können: Wir leben in einer Welt, die sich ständig verändert, von Instabilität und unvorhersehbaren Veränderungen geprägt ist. Die Abstände zwischen diesen Ereignissen und Veränderungen reduzieren sich immer stärker. Diese Ausgangslage – welche heute im Akronym VUKA zusammengefasst wird – beschreibt die veränderten Rahmenbedingungen von Behörden und Unternehmen insbesondere im Umfeld der Digitalisierung. VUKA setzt sich zusammen aus den vier Begriffen Volatilität, Unsicherheit, Komplexität und Ambiguität (Mehrdeutigkeit). Diese anspruchsvolle Ausganslage erfordert auch weitgehende Veränderungen im Kontext der digitalen Transformation.

Für mich besteht die grösste Herausforderung aber darin, wie wir diesen Übergang oder eben die Transformation im VBS gestalten und alle Mitarbeitenden in diesen Wandel integrieren und auf die «Digital Journey» mitnehmen.

Die Wahrnehmung der Chancen von digitaler Transformation darf nicht durch überwiegende Ängste bezüglich dem Wandel ausgebremst werden

Welche Chancen und Risiken birgt die Digitalisierung und digitale Transformation?

Diese Frage wurde im Rahmen des Strategie-Prozesses der «Digital Journey» diskutiert. Als Chance gilt zum Beispiel die «Mensch-Maschine Interaktion», also die Digitalisierung von Prozessen. Somit haben die Mitarbeitenden mehr Zeit für Denkarbeit sowie die Konnektivität und Vernetzung innerhalb und ausserhalb des VBS. Interessante Arbeitsinhalte und eine neue Kultur sollen die Attraktivität des VBS als Arbeitgeber steigern.

Als Risiken gelten beispielweise die Überlastung und Überforderung durch die ständige Verfügbarkeit und den Informationsüberfluss, aber auch Unsicherheit und Ängste gegenüber neuen Technologien. Auch die kürzeren Abstände zwischen Veränderungen sind eine Herausforderung. Und nicht zuletzt die Glaubwürdigkeit als verlässlicher und sicherer Partner in der digitalen Welt.

Braucht es digitale Pioniere, welche die Digitalisierung vorantreiben, und wie bildet man diese Personen aus?

Pioniere helfen, wenn man sich in unbekannte Gebiete begibt und dies ist auch bei der «Digital Journey» der Fall.

Für rund 30 Mitarbeitende aus dem gesamten VBS beginnt eine einjährige Lernreise mit dem ada fellowship-Lernprogramm. Dort lernen sie bereichsübergreifende Denkweisen anzuwenden, Methoden sowie den praktischen Transfer in die Organisation. Diese Kompetenzen helfen dabei, den digitalen Wandel praxisnah zu meistern und die Teilnehmenden zu wirksamen Multiplikatoren der Digitalisierung in ihren Verwaltungseinheiten auszubilden.

Warum ist digitale Transformation eng verknüpft mit Agilität?

Die erwähnten Faktoren der VUKA-Welt erfordern mehr Agilität in der Organisation aber auch in der Denkhaltung jedes einzelnen. Agilität bedeutet nicht, dass alles auf agile Vorgehensweisen und agile Organisation umgestellt werden muss. Man muss aber auf die komplexer werdende Umgebung und die schnelleren Wechsel mit einer höheren Anpassungsfähigkeit reagieren können. Deshalb ist die Agilität eng mit dem digitalen Wandel verknüpft.

In der Arbeitswelt ist Digitalisierung für mich eine enorme aber sehr spannende Herausforderung

Was bedeutet für Sie persönlich Digitalisierung?

Für mich als Mitarbeiter bedeutet dies mitzuhelfen, das Umfeld, die Organisation und die gemeinsame Arbeitsweise so zu beeinflussen, dass wir die Chancen der technologischen Fortschritte packen und damit wir auf die Risiken, die es zweifelsohne auch gibt, reagieren können.

Als Privatperson und Bürger bedeutet die Digitalisierung für mich, neue Technologien bewusst dort einzusetzen, wo sie mir einen Mehrwert bringen. In Bezug auf die Verwaltung erhoffe ich mir als Bürger, dass sämtliche Behördenleistungen auch digitalisiert angeboten werden.

Kurzporträt Michael Sahli

Michael Sahli (45) trat 2020 ins VBS ein. Davor war Michael Sahli als Lean Agile Leader sowie Leiter Projektportfolio und Qualitätsmanagement tätig. Seit seinem Eintritt ins VBS obliegt ihm die Leitung Informatik und Digitalisierung VBS. Mit der leitenden Verantwortung für die «Digital Journey» führt Michael Sahli das VBS durch den digitalen Transformationsprozess.