print preview

Really autonomous – or perhaps just automatic?

We are autonomous if we are independent and self-reliant. If we talk about a robotic or unmanned autonomous system, does this mean that the robot is likewise independent and self-reliant? To determine the extent to which a system may actually act without human influence is essential for many questions in the area of autonomy.

Pascal Vörös and Elianne Egli, armasuisse Science and Technology

Excerpt of the video on slaughterbots. In the foreground, a speaker can be seen on the stage, while in the background a nano drone is shown.
The slaughterbot video was published on YouTube on 12 November 2017 by the Future of Life Institute and Stuart Russell, a professor of computer science in Berkeley, and has reached over three million views to date.
© IEEE Spectrum

The debate on unmanned, autonomous systems culminates in the questions surrounding the «Lethal Autonomous Weapons Systems (LAWS)» and has been ongoing at an international level for many years.

In May of this year, a veritable wave of media broke out around the deployment of a Turkish attack drone Kargu-2 in the war zone in Libya. An UNO report suggests that a drone could have autonomously attacked a human for the first time. Numerous media sources picked up the ball and posed the question of whether we have arrived in the era of the so-called «killer robots». However, the Turkish manufacturer STM subsequently denied that the drone can execute completely autonomous attacks.

As a part of the technology centre of the DDPS, armasuisse Science and Technology, the Swiss Drone and Robotics Centre (SDRC) deals intensively with the current and future applications of unmanned, mobile systems. In this armasuisse Insights article, we would like to give you a brief insight into the complexity of the topic «Autonomy in robotics» (cf. (undocs.org)).

How autonomous is a robot? – 1. Looking outwards 

One of the most referenced classification systems in the autonomy literature for unmanned systems is the ALFUS (Autonomy Level for Unmanned Systems) Framework. This has existed since 2004 and development has been ongoing since then. Three core elements are key here for assessing autonomy: the environment complexity, the mission complexity and the dependency on human operators.

The graphic shows how the autonomous ability for unmanned systems is captured in three dimensions in the model: 1) Independence from humans: To what extent the system can act with or without minimum human intervention; 2) complexity of the mission: how complex are the missions which the unmanned system can perform; and 3) complexity of the environment: how difficult is the mission environment. Today’ lawnmower robots and vacuum robots are for example, relatively independent of humans (at least, once they have been installed and calibrated). They exercise a few functions in a relatively static, simple and flat environment. The comparatively simple command structures require only a few parameters to be set. Overall, such robots therefore have a deep autonomy (green curve). If we take, for example, the Swiss walking robot ANYmal on an inspection mission, it is also relatively independent of humans. However, it is also capable of acting in the complex environments of industrial plants and rough terrains, to notice details in its environment and to avoid obstacles. The sensors offer visual, thermal and acoustic insights for status monitoring and are used for scanning the environment for precise positioning of the robot. Algorithms based on artificial intelligence analyse the environment and recognise anomalies. These are then reported to the technicians, who can initiate further actions.  ANYmal therefore has a much higher level of autonomy (orange curve). We will return to the last, red curve further below. 

How autonomous is a robot? – 2. Looking inwards

As part of a research project, the SDRC is working on a multi-dimensional system for autonomy classification independent of the mission and environment complexity. This has given rise to the SPDA model, in which the level of autonomy of a system is determined by its characteristics in the dimensions Sense, Plan, Decide and Act. The systems can then be classified into one of the four autonomy levels Manual, Automatic, Semi-autonomous and Autonomous.

Sense: Information intake and classification; further processing into an environmental model; contains the «orientation ability» of a system

Plan: Analysis, valuation and interpretation of the environment model; derivation of courses of action; assessment and prioritisation with several courses of action; contains the «situation awareness» of a system

Decide: Selection and activation of the course of action to be executed; digital decision: «Go» or «No go»; contains the «decision-making ability» of a system

Act: Execution of the selected course of action; contains the «capacity to act» of a system

Level of autonomy using the fictitious example of the «slaugtherbot» 

But how are systems specifically classified into the different autonomy levels? Perhaps you remember the fictitious slaughterbot video, in which nano drones selectively eliminate human targets. We have attempted below to classify the functions of the nano drone in the slaughterbot film in an exemplary and simplified form along the SPDA scheme. 

We have identified three main functions for the nano drone to fulfil its task: 

  1. Flight
  2. Target recognition
  3. Attack

In accordance with the SPDA model and based on the information in the film and our interpretations, we have determined the level of autonomy of these three main functions as follows:

Functional autonomy of the flight

The nano drone flies independently of the autopilot. This can calculate the movement of the drone using information from the integrated sensors. An on-board computer recognises the environment surrounding the drone and keeps it a minimum distance from the ground and from obstacles during the flight. This also applies for movable obstacles, which the drone avoids accordingly. The human operator can start the drone by gestures (hurl into the air) and control it (hold out a hand and the drone lands on it). Furthermore, the pictures suggest that the drone flies within a predefined space and has various different flight phases (such as search and destroy; hover, landing manoeuvre, etc.).
The dimensions Sense, Decide and Act are accepted by the system’s computer. Only in the dimension «Plan» does the human come into play, by gesturing the drone to automatically complete specific flight manoeuvres. The level of autonomy of the flight function is thus «Semi-autonomous».

Functional autonomy of target recognition

Cameras are attached to the drone, which simultaneously take photos all around the drone. In addition, it has algorithms for friend-foe identification including face recognition software. A target profile predefined by the operator is stored (with, for example, age, gender, health condition, clothing, ethnicity, etc.). The data is passed on to the processor and processed. An algorithm is able to recognise the targets based on the specified characteristics.
All four dimensions Sense, Plan, Decide and Act are accepted by the system. The level of autonomy of object recognition is thus «Autonomous».

Functional autonomy of the attack

The nano drone is equipped with a hollow charge with 3 grams of explosive. If a target is recognised, the drone flies directly towards the head of the target. Using the distance to the target which is calculated by the processor, it is detonated shortly before the drone touches down.
Here, too, all dimensions are accepted by the system without human influence. The level of autonomy of the attack is thus «Autonomous».

As mentioned at the beginning, the example is greatly simplified. Another element in the film is, for example, the behaviour of the drone in a swarm. If we briefly recall Graphic 1, we have thus identified the slaughterbot as the robot with the highest level of autonomy. The reason for this is that the mission and environmental complexity during the autonomous attack shown on the students of a university is very high, and the drones, once released, are completely independent from humans. For example, the drones have to recognise points of entry in a building, search the rooms systematically for targets, coordinate the attacks, plan their path in real time, etc. 

How autonomous is a robot? – 3. Looking ahead 

The explanations above show that the question of autonomy in robots is complex. In the light of this, let us return to the example of the Kargu-2 drone mentioned at the beginning. According to the UN report, the Kargu-2 drone was programmed such that it can attack targets without a data connection between humans and the system. This would be a real «fire, forget and find» function and would mean that the operator would start the drone, for example, and allow it to fly into the target zone. Here, the drone would navigate independently, identify the target and attack without the pilot’s involvement. Regarding the autonomy of the drone, we would thus be, in the real world of 2021, fairly close to the depicted fictitious reality of 2017. However, the CEO of the manufacturer STM, Ozgur Guleryuz, disagreed with this assessment. He explained that autonomous technology is focused on the navigation and identification of target types. An attack could only be started by the operator «pressing the button», with an option of aborting at any time until the drone reaches its target.  

This illustrates how important it is to assess the autonomy of a robot in detail. In our view, both perspectives are needed. The external view of how independent the robot is in its environment and in the fulfilment of its mission and how independently from humans it acts. The internal view of which of the robot’s functionalities are implemented manually, automatically, semi-autonomously or autonomously. Is it the human who decides whether a combatant is attacked by the drone or is it the algorithm of the drone? In our next article in armasuisse Insights we would like to demonstrate why the subject is of such high importance in a military context. 

Further examinations by armasuisse S+T on slaughterbots

Back in 2018, the SDRC already examined whether the lethal effect of the nano drone could actually have a fatal effect on a human.

print preview

Wirklich autonom – oder vielleicht doch nur automatisch?

Wir sind autonom, wenn wir unabhängig und selbstständig sind. Sprechen wir von einem robotischen oder unbemannten autonomen System, bedeutet dies, dass der Roboter ebenfalls unabhängig und selbstständig ist? Zu bestimmen, inwieweit ein System tatsächlich ohne menschlichen Einfluss agieren darf, ist für viele Fragestellungen im Bereich der Autonomie essentiell.

Pascal Vörös und Elianne Egli, armasuisse Wissenschaft und Technologie

Ausschnitt des Videos über Slaughterbots. Im Vordergrund ist ein Referent auf einer Bühne zu erkennen, im Hintergrund wird eine Nanodrohne gezeigt.
Das Slaughterbot-Video wurde am 12. November 2017 vom Future of Life Institute und Stuart Russell, einem Professor für Informatik in Berkeley, auf YouTube veröffentlicht und erreichte bis heute über drei Millionen Aufrufe.
© IEEE Spectrum

Die Debatte um unbemannte, autonome Systeme findet ihren Höhepunkt in den Fragestellungen rund um tödliche autonome Waffensysteme so genannte «Lethal Autonomous Weapons Systems (LAWS) » und wird seit Jahren international geführt.
Im Mai dieses Jahres brach eine veritable Medienwelle rund um den Einsatz einer türkischen Angriffsdrohne Kargu-2 im Kriegsgebiet in Lybien aus. Ein Uno-Bericht legte nahe, dass eine Drohne erstmals einen Menschen autonom attackiert haben könnte[1]. Zahlreiche Medien nahmen den Ball auf und stellten sich die Frage, ob wir in der Ära der so genannten «Killerroboter» angekommen sind. Der türkische Hersteller STM hatte nachfolgend jedoch dementiert, dass die Drohne vollständig autonome Angriffe ausführen kann (vgl. (undocs.org)).

Als Teil des Technologiezentrums des VBS, armasuisse Wissenschaft und Technologie, befasst sich das Schweizer Drohnen- und Robotik-Zentrum (SDRZ) intensiv mit aktuellen und zukünftigen Anwendungen unbemannter, mobiler Systeme. In diesem Beitrag der armasuisse Insights möchten wir Ihnen einen kurzen Einblick in die Komplexität des Themas «Autonomie in der Robotik» geben. 

Wie autonom ist ein Roboter? – 1. Blick nach aussen 

Eines der meistreferenzierten Klassifikationssysteme in der Autonomie-Literatur für unbemannte Systeme ist das ALFUS (Autonomy Level for Unmanned Systems) Framework. Dieses existiert seit dem Jahr 2004 und wird seither weiterentwickelt. Drei Kernelemente sind dabei zentral für die Beurteilung der Autonomie: Die Umgebungs-Komplexität, die Missions-Komplexität und die Abhängigkeit von menschlichen Operateuren.

Die Grafik zeigt, wie im Modell die autonome Fähigkeit für unbemannte Systeme in drei Dimensionen erfasst wird: 1) Unabhängigkeit vom Menschen: In welchem Masse das System ohne oder mit minimalem menschlichen Eingriff agieren kann; 2) Komplexität der Mission: wie komplex die Missionen sind, die das unbemannte System ausführen kann; und 3) Komplexität der Umwelt: wie schwierig die Missionsumgebung ist. Heutige Rasenmäher-Roboter oder Staubsauger-Roboter sind zum Beispiel relativ unabhängig vom Menschen (zumindest, wenn einst installiert und kalibriert). Sie üben wenige Funktionen in einer relativ statischen, einfachen und flachen Umgebung aus. Die vergleichbar simplen Befehlsstrukturen benötigen das Einstellen von nur wenigen Parametern. Gesamthaft haben solche Roboter deshalb eine tiefe Autonomie (grüne Kurve). Nehmen wir als Beispiel den Schweizer Laufroboter ANYmal Roboter in einer Inspektionsmission, so ist dieser ebenfalls relativ unabhängig vom Menschen. Er ist jedoch auch fähig in den komplexeren Umgebungen von Industrieanlagen und im unwegsamen Gelände zu agieren, sich Detail seiner Umgebung zu merken sowie Hindernissen auszuweichen. Die Sensorik bietet visuelle, thermische und akustische Einblicke für die Zustandsüberwachung und dient dem Scannen der Umgebung zur genauen Positionierung des Roboters. Auf künstlicher Intelligenz basierte Algorithmen analysieren die Umgebung und erkennen Anomalien. Solche werden dann den Technikern gemeldet, welche weitere Aktionen einleiten können. Daher verfügt der ANYmal über eine weit höhere Autonomie (orange Kurve). Auf die letzte, rote Kurve kommen wir weiter unten zurück. 

Wie autonom ist ein Roboter? – 2. Blick ins Innere

Im Rahmen eines Forschungsprojektes arbeitet das SDRZ an einem multidimensionalen System zur Autonomieklassifikation unabhängig von der Missions- und Umgebungskomplexität. Entstanden ist dabei das SPDA-Modell, bei dem der Autonomiegrad eines Systems anhand seiner Charakteristiken in den Dimensionen Wahrnehmen (Sense), Planen (Plan), Entscheiden (Decide) und Ausführen (Act) bestimmt wird. Die Systeme lassen sich anschliessend in eine der vier Autonomiestufen Manuell, Automatisch, Semi-Autonom und Autonom einteilen.

Wahrnehmen: Informationsaufnahme und –klassifikation; Weiterverarbeitung zu einem Umgebungsmodell; beinhaltet die «Orientierungsfähigkeit» eines Systems

Planen: Analyse, Wertung und Interpretation des Umgebungs-Modells; Ableitung von Handlungsoptionen; Bewertung und Priorisierung bei mehreren Handlungsoptionen; beinhaltet die «Situation Awareness» eines Systems

Entscheiden: Auswahl und Auslösung der auszuführenden Handlungsoption; Digitale Entscheidung: «Go» oder «No-Go»; beinhaltet die «Entscheidungsfähigkeit» eines Systems

Ausführen: Ausführung der ausgewählten Handlungsoption; beinhaltet die «Handlungsfähigkeit» eines Systems

Autonomiegrad am fiktiven Beispiel des «Slaugtherbots» 

Doch wie werden Systeme konkret in die verschiedenen Autonomiestufen eingeteilt? Vielleicht erinnern Sie sich an das fiktive Slaugtherbotvideo, in welchem Nanodrohnen menschliche Ziele gezielt eliminieren. Wir haben nachfolgend versucht, exemplarisch und vereinfacht die Funktionen der Nanodrohne des Slaugtherbotfilms entlang des SPDA Schemas zu klassifizieren. 

  1. Flug
  2. Zielerkennung
  3. Attacke

Gemäss dem SPDA-Modell und basierend auf den Informationen innerhalb des Filmes und unserer Interpretationen haben wir die Autonomiegrade dieser drei Hauptfunktionen folgendermassen bestimmt:

Funktionsautonomie des Fluges

Die Nanodrohne fliegt selbstständig des Autopiloten. Dieser kann die Bewegung der Drohne mit Hilfe von Informationen aus den integrierten Sensoren berechnen. Ein Bordcomputer erkennt die Umgebung rund um die Drohne und lässt sie während des Fluges einen Mindestabstand zum Boden und Hindernissen einhalten. Dies gilt auch für bewegliche Hindernisse, welchen die Drohne entsprechend ausweicht. Der menschliche Operateur kann die Drohne via Gestik starten (in die Luft schleudern) und steuern (Hand ausstrecken und die Drohne landet darauf). Des Weiteren lassen die Bilder vermuten, dass die Drohne innerhalb eines vordefinierten Raumes fliegt und über verschiedene Flugphasenverfügt (z.B. Suchen und Zerstören; Schweben, Landemanöver, etc.).
Die Dimensionen Wahrnehmen, Entscheiden, Ausführen werden durch den Computer des Systems übernommen. Einzig bei der Dimension "Planen" kommt der Mensch ins Spiel, indem er durch seine Gestik die Drohne dazu bewegt, automatisch spezifische Flugmanöver zu absolvieren. Der Autonomiegrad der Flugfunktion ist somit «Semi-autonom».

Funktionsautonomie der Zielerkennung

An der Drohne sind Kameras angebracht, welche zeitgleich Bilder rund um die Drohne aufnehmen. Des Weiteren verfügt sie über Algorithmen zur Freund-Feind-Erkennung inklusive Gesichtserkennungssoftware. Hinterlegt ist ein durch den Operateur vordefiniertes Zielprofil (z.B. Alter, Geschlecht, Gesundheitszustand, Kleidung, Ethnizität, etc.). Die Daten werden an den Prozessor weitergegeben und verarbeitet. Anhand der vorgegebenen Merkmale ist ein Algorithmus in der Lage die Ziele zu erkennen.
Alle vier Dimensionen Wahrnehmen, Planen, Entscheiden und Ausführen werden vom System übernommen. Der Autonomiegrad der Objekterkennung ist somit «Autonom».

Funktionsautonomie der Attacke

Die Nanodrohne ist mit einer Hohlladung mit 3 Gramm Sprengstoff ausgestattet. Wird ein Ziel erkannt, so fliegt die Drohne direkt auf den Kopf des Zieles zu. Mittels der vom Prozessor berechneten Distanz zum Ziel wird diese kurz vor dem Aufsetzen der Drohne zur Explosion gebracht.
Auch hier werden alle Dimensionen ohne menschlichen Einfluss vom System übernommen. Der Autonomiegrad der Attacke ist somit «Autonom».

Wie eingangs erwähnt ist das Beispiel stark vereinfacht. Ein weiteres Element im Film ist beispielweise das Verhalten der Drohne im Schwarm. Wenn wir kurz die Grafik 1 in Erinnerung rufen, so haben wir die Slaughterbot als Roboter mit dem höchsten Autonomiegrad identifiziert. Grund dafür ist, dass die Missions- und Umweltkomplexität beim gezeigten autonomen Angriff auf die Studenten einer Universität sehr hoch ist und die Drohnen, wenn einmal losgelassen, völlig unabhängig vom Menschen sind. Beispielweise müssen die Drohnen Eindringpunkte bei Gebäude erkennen, die Räume systematisch nach Zielen durchsuchen, die Attacken koordinieren, in Echtzeit ihren Pfad planen, usw.

Wie autonom ist ein Roboter? – 3. Blick nach vorne

Die obigen Ausführungen zeigen, dass die Frage zur Autonomie von Robotern komplex ist. Kommen wir im Lichte dessen auf das eingangs erwähnte Beispiel der Kargu-2-Drohne zurück. Gemäss UN Bericht wurde die Kargu-2-Drohne so programmiert, dass sie Ziele ohne eine Datenverbindung zwischen dem Menschen und dem System angreifen kann. Dies wäre eine echte «Fire, Forget and Find»-Funktion und würde bedeuten, dass der Operateur die Drohne zum Beispiel startet und in das Zielgebiet fliegen lässt. Die Drohne würde dabei selbstständig navigieren, das Ziel identifizieren und ohne Zutun des Piloten angreifen. Was die Autonomie der Drohne angeht, wären wir somit 2021 in der realen Welt ziemlich nahe an der 2017 gezeigten fiktiven Realität. Der CEO des Herstellers STM, Ozgur Guleryuz, widersprach jedoch dieser Einschätzung. Er erklärte, dass die autonome Technologie sich auf die Navigation und die Identifizierung von Zieltypen konzentriere. Ein Angriff könne nur durch das «Drücken des Buttons» durch den Operateur starten, mit einer Option, jederzeit abzubrechen, bis die Drohne ihr Ziel treffe.  

Dies veranschaulicht, wie wichtig es ist, die Autonomie eines Roboters im Detail zu beurteilen. Dabei braucht es unserer Ansicht nach beide Perspektiven. Die Aussensicht, wie selbstständig der Roboter in seiner Umwelt und in der Erfüllung seiner Mission ist und wie unabhängig er vom Menschen agiert. Die Innensicht, welche Funktionalitäten des Roboters manuell, automatisch, semi-autonom oder autonom vollzogen werden. Ist es der Mensch, der entscheidet, ob ein Kombattant durch die Drohne angegriffen wird oder ist es der Algorithmus der Drohne? In unserem nächsten Beitrag bei armasuisse Insights möchten wir aufzeigen, weshalb das Thema im militärischen Kontext von so hoher Bedeutung ist. 

Weitere Untersuchungen von armasuisse W+T zu Slaughterbots

Bereits im Jahr 2018 untersuchte das SDRZ, ob die letale Wirkung der Nanodrohne tatsächlich eine tödliche Wirkung für einen Menschen habe könnte.