print preview

«A functioning logistics system provides the fundamental prerequisite for the weapon system to be operated»

In the last article of our Air2030 series, we focus on product support. Product support ensures that the system remains functional throughout its service life. In the evaluation of a new fighter aircraft and an extended-range ground-based air defence system, product support plays a major role and accounts for 25 percent of the benefit analysis. Walter Infanger, project manager for product support, describes in the following article how product support is embedded in the evaluation process of a new fighter aircraft.

Aeronautical Systems, Air2030 Programme

Portrait of Walter Infanger
Walter Infanger, project manager for product support «new fighter aircraft»

Product support for a high-technology weapon system, such as a combat aircraft, is of central importance. Product support plays a major role in ensuring the required fleet availability as well as the associated operational capability and autonomy of the Air Force. For the combat aircraft, as the primary operational asset of the Air Force, this applies to all situations and in particular to times of increased tension up to the point of defence.

(Almost) everything around the weapon system

A functioning logistics system provides the fundamental prerequisite for the weapon system to be operated. Product support includes all the logistics elements required for subsequent operation. These include tools, spares with an appropriate management strategy, inspection and test facilities, technical documentation, pilot and technical training, training equipment, infrastructure and much more. Related safety and environmental aspects are also part of product support.

Working in a integrated Team

During the evaluation the Product Support Core Team consists of one employee of armasuisse, one employee of the Armed Forces Logistics Base and one employee of the Air Force, thus forming an integrated team. This core team is supported in various areas by further specialists from the above-mentioned organisational units. The product support requirements for the new fighter aircraft were defined at the beginning of the project. armasuisse is responsible for the project until its introduction. The system responsibility is then transferred to the Armed Forces Logistics Base, which is responsible for the utilisation phase. As a future user, it is important that the Air Force is actively involved in the operational aspects in all phases.

Evaluation and validation of data

In the Request for Proposal, candidates were asked to provide extensive binding data, which they had to submit with their proposals. The plausibility of the data was validated both during product support audits and during flight and ground tests. The audits were carried out with the respective armed forces abroad. Specialists from the areas of operations, maintenance, logistics and training audited the candidates for three days each according to defined test points. The flight and ground tests took place in Switzerland. During the evaluation, the binding data as well as the results of the audits and the flight and ground tests are now evaluated, assessed and compared with regard to various assessment points. A possible evaluation point could be «ease of maintenance». Among other things, the ease with which aircraft maintenance can be carried out will be assessed under this point. The efficiency of aircraft maintenance also has an influence on personnel workload, which in turn has an impact on the life cycle costs.

Evaluation criteria for the new fighter aircraft

In the cost-benefit analysis of the evaluation, the weighting of product support is 25 percent on the benefit axis. The other main evaluation criteria for the benefit of the system are effectiveness with 55 percent, cooperation between the armed forces and cooperation between procurement authorities with 10 percent and direct offsets with 10 percent. Only at the end of the evaluation process, after the comparison of total benefits and total costs in the evaluation report, is it possible to determine the results of the evaluation.

Bref portrait

Walter Infanger (49) is a graduate engineer in electrical engineering. After working as mechanic, technician, systems engineer and project manager in Swiss aviation companies he joined armasuisse in 2008. From November 2008 - until March 2018 Walter Infanger was responsible for the integrated logistics support for the fighter aircraft F/A-18C/D Hornet. In addition, he was project manager for product support in the projects Upgrade 25 (U25) and Service Life Extension (NUV) F/A-18C/D as well as project manager for spares procurement within the framework of the armament programs 13 and 16. Since 2018 he has been project manager for product support of the «New Fighter Aircraft» project.

print preview

«Eine funktionierende Logistik schafft die Grundvoraussetzung, damit das Waffensystem überhaupt eingesetzt werden kann»

Im letzten Teil unserer Air2030-Serie widmen wir uns dem Produktesupport. Denn dieser stellt sicher, dass das System über seine Lebensdauer hinweg funktionstüchtig ist. In der Evaluation für ein neues Kampfflugzeug und ein bodengestütztes Luftverteidigungssystem grösserer Reichweite spielt der Produktesupport dementsprechend eine grosse Rolle und fliesst mit 25 Prozent in die Nutzwertbetrachtung ein. Walter Infanger, Teilprojektleiter für Produktesupport, beschreibt im nachfolgenden Artikel wie der Produktesupport im Evaluationsprozess eines neuen Kampfflugzeuges eingebettet ist.

Luftfahrtsysteme, Programm Air2030

Porträt von Walter Infanger
Walter Infanger, Teilprojektleiter Produktesupport «Neues Kampfflugzeug»

Der Produktesupport für ein hochtechnologisches Waffensystem, wie beispielsweise für ein Kampflugzeug, ist von zentraler Bedeutung. Der Produktesupport trägt massgeblich dazu bei, die geforderte Flottenverfügbarkeit sowie die damit verbundene Einsatzfähigkeit und die Autonomie der Luftwaffe sicherzustellen. Für das Kampfflugzeug, als primäres Einsatzmittel der Luftwaffe, gilt das für alle Lagen und insbesondere für Zeiten erhöhter Spannungen bis hin zum Verteidigungsfall.

(Fast) alles rund um das Waffensystem

Eine funktionierende Logistik schafft die Grundvoraussetzung, damit das Waffensystem überhaupt eingesetzt werden kann. Der Produktesupport umfasst alle Logistikelemente, die es für den späteren Betrieb braucht. Das sind unter anderem Werkzeuge, Ersatzmaterial mit einer entsprechenden Bewirtschaftungsstrategie, Prüf- und Testeinrichtungen, technische Dokumentationen, fliegerische und technische Ausbildung, Ausbildungsmittel, Infrastruktur und vieles mehr. Damit verbundene Sicherheits- und Umweltaspekte sind ebenfalls im Produktesupport angesiedelt.

Arbeiten in einem integrierten Team

Das Kernteam des Produktesupports besteht während der Evaluation aus je einem Mitarbeitenden der armasuisse, der Logistikbasis der Armee und der Luftwaffe und bildet so ein integriertes Team. Dieses Kernteam wird in verschiedenen Bereichen durch weitere Spezialisten aus den erwähnten Organisationseinheiten unterstützt. Die Anforderungen an den Produktesupport des neuen Kampfflugzeugs wurden am Anfang des Projekts definiert. Die Projektverantwortung bis zur Einführung obliegt der armasuisse. Die Systemverantwortung geht anschliessend an die Logistikbasis der Armee über, welche für die Nutzungsphase verantwortlich ist. Als zukünftiger Anwender ist es wichtig, dass die Luftwaffe in allen Phasen bei den betrieblichen Aspekten aktiv mitwirkt.

Auswertung und Validierung der Daten

In den Offertanfragen wurden von den Kandidaten umfangreiche verbindliche Daten verlangt, welche diese mit ihren Angeboten einreichen mussten. Die Plausibilität der Angaben wurde sowohl während Produktesupport-Audits als auch während der Flug- und Bodenerprobung validiert. Die Audits wurden bei den entsprechenden Streitkräften im Ausland durchgeführt. Dabei haben Spezialisten aus den Bereichen Bereitstellung & Betrieb, Instandhaltung, Logistik und Ausbildung während je drei Tagen die Kandidaten beziehungsweise deren Streitkräfte gemäss definierten Prüfpunkten auditiert. Die Flug- und Bodenerprobung hat in der Schweiz stattgefunden. Während der Evaluation werden nun die verbindlichen Daten sowie die Ergebnisse aus den Audits und der Flug- und Bodenerprobung hinsichtlich verschiedener Bewertungspunkte ausgewertet, beurteilt und verglichen. Als möglicher Bewertungspunkt kann die «Wartungsfreundlichkeit» dienen. Unter diesem Punkt wird unter anderem beurteilt, wie einfach eine Flugzeuginstandhaltung durchgeführt werden kann. Die Effizienz der Flugzeuginstandhaltung hat zudem einen Einfluss auf die Personalaufwände, was sich wiederum auf die Lebenswegkosten auswirkt.

Evaluationskriterien für das neue Kampfflugzeug

In der Kosten-Nutzen-Betrachtung der Evaluation beträgt die Gewichtung des Produktesupports 25 Prozent auf der Nutzen-Achse. Die anderen Hauptevaluationskriterien für den Nutzen des Systems sind die Wirksamkeit (operationelle Wirksamkeit, Einsatzautonomie) mit 55 Prozent, die Kooperation zwischen den Streitkräften und die Kooperation zwischen den Beschaffungsbehörden mit 10 Prozent und die direkten Offsets mit 10 Prozent. Welches Kampfflugzeug letztlich wie abschneidet, kann erst am Ende des Evaluationsprozesses, nach der Gegenüberstellung von Gesamtnutzen und Gesamtkosten im Evaluationsbericht, beurteilt werden.

Kurzporträt

Walter Infanger (49) ist diplomierter Ingenieur HTL in Elektrotechnik. Nach Stationen als Mechaniker, Techniker, Systemingenieur und Projektleiter in Schweizer Luftfahrtunternehmen ist er 2008 in die armasuisse eingetreten. Von November 2008 – bis März 2018 war Walter Infanger verantwortlich für den integrierten Logistiksupport für das Kampfflugzeug F/A-18C/D Hornet. Daneben war er Teilprojektleiter Produktesupport bei den Projekten Erhalt der Fähigkeiten (U25) und Nutzungsdauerverlängerung (NUV) F/A-18C/D sowie Projektleiter bei Ersatzmaterialbeschaffungen im Rahmen der Rüstungsprogramme RP13 und RP16. Seit 2018 ist er Teilprojektleiter für Produktesupport des Projekts «Neues Kampfflugzeug».