print preview

«Being part of a highly motivated and ambitious team is just fantastic for me»

Bernhard Gippert is the Head of the Air2030 Program Support in CS LU (Aeronautical Systems). In this interview, he tells us about his task area and the associated challenges.

Aeronautical Systems, Air2030 Programme

Interview with Bernhard Gippert
Bernhard Gippert, Head of the Air2030 Program Support

Mr. Gippert, what does a Head of Air2030 Program Support do?

As the name implies, we support the program management in all matters concerning the Air2030 program. The various tasks are distributed over several shoulders, and I am responsible for coordinating the activities. The range includes program administration, reporting, program risk management, as well as preparation and follow-up of the program committee meetings. In addition to the coordination activities, my personal range of tasks includes managing the Air2030 Risk Management Board as well as project-specific assignments.

Which are the most exciting challenges for you?

One exciting task is managing the direct offset process with the bidders of the NFA (new fighter aircraft) and the Bodluv ER (enhanced range ground-based air defence systems, extended range) projects during the evaluation phase: The candidates are very interested in having their direct offset projects, which they have conceived together with Swiss industry, pre-approved by armasuisse before submitting the proposals. The so-called “Pre-Approval” requires a certain expertise, combined with good knowledge of the offset rules. This combination is what makes the subject attractive for me. Of course, I am also strongly supported by my colleagues from Engineering and Product Support in this respect, as well as in particular by Per Magnus Larsson, lawyer and offset manager of armasuisse.

Another exciting challenge is determining the life cycle costs for the new fighter aircraft: Creating a reliable cost forecast for 30 years is a task that needs to be approached analytically and with small, verifiable steps.

How did you do it?

First of all, we created a generic model. Its backbone forms the logical link of expenditure and price data (such as fuel consumption times fuel price) of the most important cost drivers (fuel, personnel expenditure and parts supply cost). The model needs a multitude of variables for this purpose (fleet size, flight hour performance, maintenance effort, etc.). The model as well as the ageing parameters to be applied for the model have been verified and specified by the Air2030 Engineering role. This function is also located on program level and manages, among other things, the System-of-Systems Engineering, as well as creating technical specifications for cross-program aspects.

How can a high degree of reliability of the forecast be attained in this manner?

In order for the forecast to be reliable, it is important that the input data has relatively low tolerances: The effort and price parameters are taken from the binding proposals of the various bidders. Own work performed in Switzerland can also be generated from the bidder data (for example, from the maintenance plan of the respective aircraft type). The model can also be used for a plausibility check of some of the received data. Some cost drivers can vary in their field of tolerance over thousands of calculation runs, which delivers a statistical measure for the “reliability” as a result. In addition, the model was validated using the “real data” of the current F/A-18C/D cost trend.

What do you enjoy most about this role?

Being part of a highly motivated and ambitious team is just fantastic for me.
 

Brief profile

After studying mechanical engineering at the HTL in Biel (Biel School of Engineering), Bernhard Gippert (46) joined “Swissair” in Zürich. As an aircraft system engineer, he was responsible for the pneumatic and the air conditioning system of the MD-11 at SR Technics. After a post-degree study as an industrial engineer (FH), he became interested in the connection between technology and commerce, which led him to Lufthansa Technik in Frankfurt, where he was a Customer Support Engineer for a couple of years. Before Bernhard Gippert joined armasuisse, he was responsible for the maintenance of our F-5 and F/A-18 jets (for the part that was assigned to the industry) as Department Manager at RUAG Aviation. Since September 2018 Bernhard Gippert is the Head of the Air2030 Program Support in CS LU (Aeronautical Systems).

print preview

«Teil eines hochmotivierten und ambitionierten Teams sein zu dürfen, ist für mich der Hammer»

Bernhard Gippert ist Leiter Programmunterstützung Air2030 im KB LU. Im Interview gibt er Auskunft über sein Aufgabengebiet und die damit verbundenen Herausforderungen.

Luftfahrtsysteme, Programm Air2030

Interview mit Bernhard Gippert
Bernhard Gippert, Leiter Programmunterstützung Air2030

Herr Gippert, was macht ein Leiter Programmunterstützung Air2030?

Wie es der Name schon sagt, unterstützen wir die Programmleitung Air2030 in allen Belangen rund um das Programm Air2030. Die verschiedenen Aufgaben sind auf mehrere Schultern verteilt, wobei ich die Tätigkeiten koordinieren darf. Die Palette reicht von der Programmadministration mit dem Programmreporting, über das Programm-Risikomanagement bis hin zur Vor- und Nachbereitung der Programmausschusssitzungen. Mein persönliches Aufgabenspektrum umfasst nebst der Koordinationsaufgabe die Leitung des Risikomanagementboards Air2030 und projektspezifische Aufgaben.

Welches sind die spannendsten Herausforderungen für Sie?

Eine spannende Aufgabe ist die Führung des direkten Offsetprozesses mit den Anbietern in den Projekten NKF und Bodluv GR während der Evaluationsphase. Die Anbieter haben ein grosses Interesse, ihre mit der Schweizer Industrie konzipierten direkten Offsetprojekte bereits vor Einreichung der Offerten von der armasuisse vorgenehmigen zu lassen. Diese Genehmigung beziehungsweise das sogenannte "Pre-Approval" verlangt eine gewisse Sachkenntnis, verbunden mit guter Kenntnis der Offsetregeln. Diese Kombination macht für mich den Reiz des Themas aus. Natürlich werde ich auch hier durch meine Kollegen vom Engineering und vom Produktesupport stark unterstützt, so wie insbesondere von Per Magnus Larsson, Jurist und Offsetverantwortlicher der armasuisse.

Eine andere spannende Herausforderung ist die Ermittlung der Lebenswegkosten beim neuen Kampfflugzeug: Eine möglichst verlässliche Kostenprognose auf 30 Jahre zu erstellen, ist eine Aufgabe, der man sich analytisch und mit kleinen, verifizierbaren Schritten nähern muss.

Wie haben Sie dies gemacht?

Zunächst wurde ein generisches Modell erstellt. Sein Rückgrat bildet die logische Verknüpfung von Aufwand- und Preis-Daten, wie z.B. der Treibstoffverbrauch mal Treibstoffpreis, und der wesentlichen Kostentreiber; d.h. Treibstoff, Personalaufwand und Teileversorgungskosten. Das Modell braucht dafür eine Vielzahl von Variablen. Diese stellen sich unter anderem zusammen aus der Flottengrösse, Flugstundenleistung und dem Wartungsaufwand. Das Modell sowie der für das Modell anzuwendende Alterungsparameter wurde von der Technik Air2030 vorgegeben. Diese Funktion ist übrigens ebenfalls auf Programmstufe angesiedelt und führt u.a. das System-of-Systems Engineering und erstellt technische Vorgaben für programmübergreifende Aspekte.

Wieso lässt sich damit eine hohe Verlässlichkeit der Prognose erzielen?

Für die Verlässlichkeit einer Prognose ist es wichtig, dass die Eingabedaten verhältnismässig kleine Toleranzen aufweisen. Die Aufwand- und Preisparameter stammen von den verbindlichen Angeboten der verschiedenen Anbieter. Die in der Schweiz erbrachte Eigenleistung lässt sich ebenfalls aus den Anbieterdaten generieren, z. B. aus dem Wartungsplan des jeweiligen Flugzeugtyps. Das Modell kann damit auch zur Plausibilisierung einiger Anbieterdaten verwendet werden. Einige Kostentreiber lassen sich während tausenden von Berechnungsläufen um ihr Toleranzfeld variieren, was als Resultat ein statistisches Mass für die "Verlässlichkeit" liefert. Zudem wurde das Modell anhand der "Echtdaten" des aktuellen F/A-18C/D Kostenverlaufs validiert.

Was macht Ihnen am meisten Spass an dieser Funktion?

Teil eines hochmotivierten und ambitionierten Teams sein zu dürfen, ist für mich "der Hammer".

Kurzporträt

Nach dem Maschinenbaustudium an der HTL Biel zog es Bernhard Gippert (46) zur "Swissair" nach Zürich. Als Aircraft System Engineer war er bei SR Technics u.a. für das Pneumatik- und Klimasystem des MD-11 zuständig. Nach dem Abschluss zum Wirtschaftsingenieur (FH) reizte ihn die Verbindung von Technik und Kommerz, was ihn als Customer Support Engineer für ein paar Jahre nach Frankfurt zur Lufthansa Technik führte. Vor seinem Stellenantritt bei armasuisse war er als Abteilungsleiter bei RUAG Aviation für die an die Industrie vergebene Wartung unserer F-5 und F/A-18 zuständig. Seit September 2018 ist er nun als Leiter Programmunterstützung Air2030 tätig.