print preview

Test Center

of the army‘s most important abilities. Functional safety is also of highest priority with regard to the procurement of weapons systems and ammunition. Experts from this neutral and independent department assess the effectiveness of ballistic and detonation protection and the usability of weapon systems and ammunition. Tests and technical clarifications are carried out using state-of-the-art testing and measurement technology.

WTT_testcenter

Weapon and Ammunition Tests

The core abilities include ballistic assessments (exterior, interior, and end ballistics), ammunition impact analyses and the testing of shooting safety. Ammunition and weapons systems are also tested or assessed for their operational capability. An ongoing task is to ensure and further develop Switzerland‘s unique expertise in ammunition technology, ballistics and wound ballistics as well as weapon efficacy and detonics.

Ballistic experiments are usually associated with significant noise emissions. Noise protection structures (LSBT) were built in Thun in the 1990s to minimise the impact on the population and the environment. LSBT comprises four instrumented underground systems with lengths between 30 m and 500 m. These allow for ballistic tests and trials with all calibres and types of ammunition permitted in Switzerland under laboratory conditions without resulting in significant emissions.

Ballistic and Detonics Protection Tests

S+T‘s accredited test centre STS0118 is specifically responsible for bullet and impact resistance verification including stab/puncture protection in the areas of protective clothing and light armour. Protection tests are also carried out on armoured vehicles and building sections at S+T. Protection concepts for people, vehicles and buildings are experimentally investigated and assessed in the context of concept trials.

Unique Test Infrastructure

Our measuring and testing facilities are available to national and international customers for system and component testing. All facilities have state-of-the-art equipment, and our highly qualified personnel ensure professional testing.

Outdoor Firing Range 450 m

WTT_schiessachse_im_freien_450m

The longest-running firing range extends over 450 m and is cleared for most ammunition types imported into Switzerland, but is usually only used if none of the underground facilities can be used.

Special Firing Range 200 m

WTT_schiessachte_200m

In the 200 m firing range it is possible to use smaller guided missiles or ammunition with warheads; Furthermore, the 200 m firing range is designed to fire at explosive targets or to activate smaller explosions. 

Outdoor Firing Range 50 m

WTT_schiessachse_im_freien_50m

The smaller firing range is designed for small calibre and non-lethal weapons (NLW) and has two 50 m cable pulleys, a mobile bullet trap and a covered sand backstop.

Underground Firing Range (500, 200, 40 and 30 m)

ballistische_schutzprüfungen

The noise protection structures in Thun (LSBT) have four underground systems, of which the two long firing ranges were built specifically for exterior, interior and end ballistics. They are cleared for all tube-shot inert ammunition types up to and including 155 mm calibre (artillery).

Factsheet 1

Maintain a safe distance when shooting? Of course, but within reason!

Hilly terrain surrounding a firing range

The safe distances that have to be maintained as per the rulebook when shooting are based on physical attributes and relate to flat terrain. Users (soldiers) then inevitably pose the question of whether hilly or mountainous terrain surrounding a firing range could not act as a natural backstop, thus making it possible to greatly reduce the safe distances stipulated.

Read more...

Factsheet 2

Fuel cells deployed in the Alps

Fuel cells deployed in the Alps

For ballistic trials and testing on firing ranges in the Alps, radio relays are generally used to ensure the safety of everyone involved (and of uninvolved parties) and to ensure that work proceeds smoothly. Armasuisse S+T is currently conducting tests with fuel cells in the high Alpine zone with a view to finding a more modern and sustainable alternative to the existing system, which involves crates full of batteries.

Read more...

Factsheet 3

News

Simulation

Developing protective clothing poses permanent challenges

Protective clothing in the form of body armour has been constantly modified and improved since time immemorial. The two world wars of the 20th century ensured that further developments to protective clothing were continuously pursued. Today, protective clothing is mainly worn by the armed forces and the police and is subject to standardised test procedures applicable throughout the world.

Factsheet 4

New Pencil Probes tested in the Shock Tube

New Pencil Probes tested in the Shock Tube

Until recently, laboratories throughout the world were reliant on just one commercial manufacturer of pencil probes. It was only at the end of last year that a competitor launched its own sensors, thus providing an alternative source for the first time in years.

Read more...

Factsheet 5

Successful reaccreditation

Certificate S+T

Science and Technology (S+T) was tasked with monitoring and evaluating the development of the new explosive practice round 16 for our mortars. The ammunition has been subjected to a series of tests in various S+T establishments. The aim is provide units with a safe and reliable product.

Read more...

Factsheet 6

Qualification of the new practice ammunition for the 81 mm mortar

The round leaving the barrel
The round leaving the barrel

Science and Technology (S+T) was tasked with monitoring and evaluating the development of the new explosive practice round 16 for our mortars. The ammunition has been subjected to a series of tests in various S+T establishments. The aim is provide units with a safe and reliable product.

Factsheet 7

Protective spectacles testing: so that nothing gets in your eyes

Model head made of polyurethane
Model head made of polyurethane

All members of the Swiss Armed Forces are equipped with spectacles as protection against fragments from projectiles or missiles. Minute fragments in particular can quickly enter the eyes and cause irreparable damage. S+T was commissioned by armasuisse's P+C Competence Sector to draw up an appropriate test method for protective spectacles as there were to date no adequate guidelines for the Armed Forces' needs.


Science and technology Test Center
Dr. Stephan Lampert
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 30 68
Fax
+41 58 468 28 41

E-Mail

print preview

Testcenter

Im Einsatz ist bei der Armee der individuelle Schutz eine der wichtigsten Fähigkeiten. Auch bei der Beschaffung von Waffensystemen und Munition geniesst die Funktionssicherheit höchste Priorität. Experten der unabhängigen und neutralen Fachstelle beurteilen die Effektivität des ballistischen und detonischen Schutzes sowie die Einsatzfähigkeit von Waffensystemen und Munition. Erprobungen und technische Abklärungen werden mit modernster Versuchs- und Messtechnik durchgeführt.

WTT_testcenter

Waffen- und Munitionserprobungen

Zu den wichtigsten Kernkompetenzen gehören ballistische Beurteilungen (Innen-, Abgangs- und Aussenballistik), Munitionswirkungsanalysen und die Überprüfung der Sicherheit beim Schiessen. Weiter werden Munition und Waffensysteme bezüglich der Einsatzfähigkeit getestet respektive erprobt. Eine dauernde Aufgabe ist das Sicherstellen und Weiterentwickeln der schweizweit einzigartigen Fachkompetenzen bei der Munitionstechnik, Ballistik und Wundballistik sowie der Waffenwirkung und Detonik.

Ballistische Versuche sind gemeinhin mit erheblichen Lärmimmissionen verbunden. Damit die Belastung für Bevölkerung und Umwelt so gering wie möglich gehalten werden kann, wurden in den 90er-Jahren die Lärmschutzbauten Thun (LSBT) gebaut. Unter diesem Namen sind vier instrumentierte Unterfluranlagen mit Längen zwischen 30 m und 500 m zusammengefasst. Diese ermöglichen ballistische Versuche und Erprobungen mit allen in der Schweiz zulässigen Kalibern und Munitionssorten unter Laborbedingungen ohne dass dadurch nennenswerte Immissionen entstehen.

Ballistische und detonische Schutzprüfungen

Die akkreditierte Prüfstelle STS0118 von W+T ist eigens zuständig für die Durchschusshemmung inklusive des Stichschutzes in den Bereichen Schutzbekleidung und Leichtpanzerungen. Bei W+T werden aber auch Schutzprüfungen an gepanzerten Fahrzeugen und an Gebäudeteilen durchgeführt. Schutzkonzepte für Menschen, Fahrzeuge und Gebäude werden unter anderem im Rahmen von Prinzipversuchen experimentell untersucht und beurteilt. 

Einzigartige Testinfrastruktur

Unsere Mess- und Erprobungsanlagen stehen für System- und Komponentenerprobungen nationalen und internationalen Kunden zur Verfügung. Alle Anlagen sind mit modernsten Einrichtungen ausgerüstet. Unser hoch qualifiziertes Personal stellt die professionelle Versuchsabwicklung sicher.

Unterflur-Schiessachsen 500m, 200m, 40m und 30m

WTT_unterflur_schiessachsen

Die Lärmschutzbauten Thun (LSBT) beinhalten vier Unterfluranlagen. Die beiden langen Schiessachsen sind spezifisch für Aussen- resp. Innen- und Endballistik gebaut. Sie sind für alle rohrverschossenen inerten Munitionssorten bis und mit Kaliber 155mm (Artillerie) freigegeben. 

Schiessachse (SA) 200m

WTT_schiessachte_200m

In der SA 200 ist es möglich, kleinere Lenkwaffen oder Munition mit Sprengköpfen zum Einsatz zu bringen; des Weiteren ist die SA 200 dafür ausgelegt, auf explosive Ziele zu schiessen oder kleinere Sprengungen durchzuführen. 

Schiessachse im Freien (SIF) 450m

WTT_schiessachse_im_freien_450m

Die dienstälteste Schiessachse erstreckt sich über 450m
und ist für die meisten in der Schweiz eingeführten Munitionssorten freigegeben.
Sie wird in der Regel aber nur verwendet, wenn keine der Unterfluranlagen infrage
kommt.  

Schiessachse im Freien (SIF) 50m

WTT_schiessachse_im_freien_50m

Die kleinere Schiessachse ist für Kleinkaliber und nicht letale Wirkmittel (NLW) konzipiert und verfügt über zwei 50-m-Seilzuganlagen, einen mobilen Kugelfang sowie einen gedeckten Sandkugelfang. 

Aktuell

8,1 cm Mörser 19-Truppenversuch in Walenstadt

8,1 cm Mörser 19 – Truppenversuch in Walenstadt

Nach Abschluss der Instruktion findet von der 41. bis zur 44. Kalenderwoche in Walenstadt und auf dem Schiessplatz Wichlen der Truppenversuch mit dem neuen Mörsersystem 19 statt.

Lesen Sie mehr...

Factsheet 1

Sicherheitsabstände beim Schiessen? Ja sicher, aber bitte nach Mass!

Gebirgige Topografie eines Schiessplatzes

Die reglementarischen Sicherheitsabstände beim Schiessen basieren auf physikalischen Grundlagen und beziehen sich auf ebenes Gelände. Unweigerlich stellt sich da der Benutzer (Truppe) die Frage, ob denn die hügelige oder gebirgige Topografie eines Schiessplatzes nicht als natürlicher Kugelfang wirke und so die Sicherheitsabstände drastisch reduziert werden könnten.

Lesen Sie mehr...

Factsheet 2

Brennstoffzellen in alpinem Einsatz

Brennstoffzellen in alpinem Einsatz

Für ballistische Versuche und Erprobungen auf alpinen Schiessplätzen werden in der Regel Funkrelais benötigt, damit die Sicherheit aller Beteiligter (und Unbeteiligter), sowie ein reibungsloser Ablauf der Arbeiten gewährleistet werden kann. Armasuisse W+T führt zur Zeit hochalpine Versuche mit Brennstoffzellen durch, damit die bisher verwendete Lösung mit Kisten voller Akkus durch eine zeitgemässe und nachhaltige Lösung ersetzt werden kann.

Lesen Sie mehr...

Factsheet 3

Permanente Herausforderungen in der Entwicklung der Schutzkleidung

Simulation eines Anpressdrucks

Schutzkleidungen in Form von Rüstungen waren schon in der Antike Objekte, an denen stets getüftelt wurde. Auch die beiden Weltkriege des 20. Jahrhunderts haben dafür gesorgt, dass Schutzkleidungen immer weiterentwickelt wurden. Heute sind Armee und Polizei die wichtigsten Träger von Schutzkleidung. Sie unterliegen weltweit geltenden standardisierten Prüfverfahren.

Factsheet 4

Neue Drucklanzen im Stossrohr geprüft

Teil des Strossrohrs mit eingebautem Sensor

Bis vor kurzem mussten sich Labors weltweit auf einen einzigen kommerziellen Hersteller für Drucklanzen verlassen. Erst Ende des letzten Jahres hat ein weiterer Produztent eigene Sensoren zur Marktreife gebracht und damit seit Jahren erstmals wieder eine Alternative geboten.

Lesen Sie mehr...

Factsheet 5

Re-Akkreditierung erfolgreich bestanden

Zertifikat
Zertifikat Prüfstelle STS 0118

W+T wurde als Prüfstelle STS 0118 für angriffshemmende Materialien und Konstruktionen für weitere 5 Jahre bis zum 5. Februar 2021 akkreditiert. Die offizielle Schweizerische Akkreditierungsstelle SAS bescheinigte W+T einen sehr guten und kompetenten Gesamteindruck.

Lesen Sie mehr...

Factsheet 6

Qualifizierung der neuen Übungsmunition für Minenwerfer 8,1 cm

Geschoss beim Austritt aus dem Rohr
Geschoss beim Austritt aus dem Rohr

Der Kompetenzbereich Wissenschaft und Technologie W+T ist damit beauftragt worden, die Entwicklung des neuen Sprenggeschosses 16 zu Übungszwecken für unsere Minenwerfer zu verfolgen und zu bewerten. Die Munition wurde in diversen Einrichtungen von W+T einer ganzen Reihe Tests unterzogen. Ziel ist es, den Truppen ein sicheres und zuverlässiges Produkt zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Factsheet 7

Schutzbrillentest: Damit nichts ins Auge geht

Testdummy
Testdummy

Alle Angehörigen der Armee werden mit Schutzbrillen ausgerüstet, um gegen geschleuderte oder geschossene Körper geschützt zu sein. Gerade Kleinstsplitter können schnell ins Auge gehen und irreparable Schäden ver-ursachen. W+T wurde vom Kompetenzbereich E+K der armasuisse damit beauftragt, eine geeignete Prüfmethode für Schutzbrillen zu eruieren, da bisher keine adäquaten Richtlinien für die Bedürfnisse der Armee existieren.

Lesen Sie mehr...


Wissenschaft und Technologie Testcenter
Dr. Stephan Lampert
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 30 68
Fax
+41 58 468 28 41

E-Mail

Wissenschaft und Technologie

Testcenter
Dr. Stephan Lampert
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun