print preview

Space

The Swiss Armed Forces is dependent on services from space in order to perform its tasks. In order to enable this, the area of Space researches, develops and tests the latest technologies for intelligence collection, command support, precision navigation and synchronisation. We enable the required operational capabilities to be built up in outer space, as well as possible alternatives.

GPS or weather satellite in Earth orbit

Our competences

Icons of the different competences of the space sector

Our projects

Capability-based research

Space Situational Awareness

The GPS satellites revolve around the earth.

Due to the increasing military usage of the space domain, it is also essential for the Swiss Armed Forces to have precise knowledge of the situation and operations in space. For this reason, we examine various technologies and methods for acquisition, processing and fusion as well as visualising information from space.

Tracking and prediction of satellite positions

Luminous orbits of the orbits that circle the Earth

To plan military operations and manoeuvres, the troops need a reliable prediction of satellite positions in the future. They need to know when which satellite is located where, and which capabilities this satellite has (in other words, which objects can be  recognized). In order to provide the Armed Forces with this basis for planning, we are researching various technologies for active and passive tracking as well as reliable prediction of satellite positions in the future. On the one hand, this is performed by active measuring using optical or electromagnetic methods but also by using open source data or data from partnerships with foreign armed forces. The data obtained will be analysed using, amongst other methods, machine learning algorithms, in order to be able to assess the status, intentions or manoeuvres of satellites.

Satellite communication

Three communication satellite dishes during thunderstorms.

The troops need the ability to network their own forces in all situations with redundant communication resources. In these cases, satellite-based communication creates a possible redundancy. For this reason, we research satellite communication with all its applications and assess the performance capacity but also the limits of modern commercial satellites and satellite constellations. In addition, we analyse and assess the availability, reliability and security of satellite-based connections in various forms (such as geostationary versus low earth orbit). 

Imagery and signals intelligence

GPS or weather satellite in Earth orbit

In order to fulfil its mission and to cover its own areas of interest, the Armed Forces require information and data from outer space. Here, the focus is on capabilities in the area of imagery intelligence (IMINT) and signals intelligence (SIGINT). Our research in the area of image and signal reconnaissance is focused on the assessment of the performance capacity and the limits of existing modern reconnaissance satellites as well as the performance appraisal of new (commercial) satellites and satellite constellations. With the technological developments in the area of artificial intelligence and machine learning, a further focus is on the assessment of the possibilities and limits in the automation of satellite image evaluation, in particular in signature detection in the EO, IR and SAR areas. 

Satellite navigation

A satellite is examined in the laboratory

Almost all military systems today are dependent on permanent and precise signals for positioning, navigation and timing  provided by the various Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS). Due to this high level of dependence, we deal intensively with detecting and securing targeted disruptions of GNSS signals (jamming and spoofing) checking the quality and integrity of signals, handling weak and falsified signals and the use of signals similar to GNSS from different earth- or air-based sources. We also research alternatives to GNSS, such as navigation by radio signals, image-based information or other sensor data.

Decision support

Monitoring technology and market development

Rocket flying through the clouds on moonlight 3d illustration

As in many other technical areas, technological progress in space is also advancing at an increasingly rapid pace. In addition, it is not only large countries and governments who are using outer space, but in particular visionary entrepreneurs who are massively driving forward developments in what is known as «New Space». On behalf of the Armed Forces, we therefore monitor the national and international developments and demonstrate the possible impact on the fulfilment of tasks as well as Armed Forces projects in the domain of operations of outer space. Our focus is on technical feasibility, availability, usability, costs and dependence.

Swiss Space Capabilities

A team of engineers works on building a satellite. International space mission of the Aerospace Agency: Various groups of scientists develop spacecraft and calculate the orbital trajectory on the computer

As a founding member of the European Space Agency ESA, Switzerland has been actively pursuing efforts in outer space since the 1970s. As a result, a wide range of organisations and companies have established themselves in various application areas in Switzerland. As part of the development of capabilities in the area of outer space, on behalf of the Armed Forces we create and maintain an overview of the institutions and their capabilities in order to identify and assess their potential.

Innovation

SitSat: Space Situational Awareness for the Swiss Armed Forces

Screenshot of the demonstrator SitSat

Situational Awareness of outer space is only significant if it can be made available to various units of the Armed Forces and other relevant authorities. In order to achieve this purpose, we have developed the application SitSat («situation of the satellite») in cooperation with an external partner. SitSat enables the situation of all known satellites to be displayed and precisely analysed at any reference location worldwide and in any time frame. It can also be determined whether and in what time frame the selected reference location is visible for a reconnaissance satellite and whether a connection to a communication or navigation satellite is possible. At the same time, the application takes into account both the prevailing weather conditions and the topographical circumstances. On the one hand, SitSat exists as a web application, to obtain a comprehensive picture of the situation at operational level and to provide targeted support for operative planning. On the other hand, SitSat is also available as an application for tablets and smartphones, in order to gain rapid situational awareness at a tactical level and to speed up tactical decisions. 


armasuisse Science and Technology Research Management
and Operations Research
Dr. Ulrich Langer
Scientific project manager
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 484 64 68

E-Mail

print preview

Weltraum

Damit die Schweizer Armee ihre Aufgaben wahrnehmen kann, ist sie bereits heute auf Leistungen aus dem Weltraum angewiesen. Um dies zu ermöglichen erforscht, entwickelt und erprobt der Bereich Weltraum modernste Weltraumtechnologien zur Nachrichtenbeschaffung, Führungsunterstützung, Präzisionsnavigation und Synchronisation. Damit ermöglichen wir den Aufbau der notwendigen operationellen Fähigkeiten im Weltraum sowie möglicher Alternativen.

GPS oder Wettersatellit in der Erdumlaufbahn

Unsere Kompetenzen

Icons der verschiedenen Kompetenzen des Bereichs Weltraum

Unsere Projekte

Fähigkeitsorientierte Forschung

Lagebild Weltraum

Die GPS-Satelliten drehen sich um die Erde.

Aufgrund der steigenden militärischen Nutzung des Weltraums ist es auch für die Schweizer Armee zwingend notwendig, eine genaue Kenntnis der Situation und der Vorgänge im Weltraum zu haben. Aus diesem Grund untersuchen wir verschiedene Technologien und Methoden zur Beschaffung, Verarbeitung und Fusionierung sowie Visualisierung von Weltrauminformationen.

Tracking und Vorhersage von Satellitenpositionen

Leuchtende Bahnen der Orbite, welche die Erde umkreisen

Für die Planung von militärischen Operationen und Manöver benötigt die Truppe eine zuverlässige Vorhersage des Weltraumlagebilds in der Zukunft. Sie muss wissen, wann sich welcher Satellit wo befinden wird, und welche Fähigkeiten dieser Satellit aufweist (resp. welche Objekte damit aufgeklärt werden können). Um der Armee diese Planungsgrundlage zur Verfügung zu stellen, erforschen wir verschiedene Technologien zum aktiven und passiven Tracking sowie der zuverlässigen Vorhersage von Satellitenpositionen in der Zukunft. Dies erfolgt einerseits durch aktive Vermessung mit optischen oder elektromagnetischen Methoden aber auch durch Verwendung von Open Source Daten oder Daten aus Partnerschaften mit ausländischen Streitkräften. Die gewonnenen Daten werden unter anderem mit Algorithmen des maschinellen Lernens analysiert um Zustand, Absichten oder Manöver von Satelliten beurteilen zu können.

Weltraumanwendung Satellitenkommunikation

Drei Kommunikations-Satellitenschüsseln bei Gewitter.

Die Truppe benötigt die Fähigkeit, eigene Kräfte in allen Lagen mit redundanten Kommunikationsmitteln zu vernetzen. Satellitengestützte Kommunikation schafft in diesen Fällen eine mögliche Redundanz. Aus diesem Grund erforschen wir die Satellitenkommunikation mit all ihren Anwendungen und beurteilen das Leistungsvermögen aber auch die Grenzen moderner kommerzieller Satelliten und Satellitenkostellationen. Zusätzlich analysieren und bewerten wir die Verfügbarkeit, Zuverlässigkeit und Sicherheit von satellitengestützten Verbindungen in unterschiedlichen Ausprägungen (z.B. geostationäre vs. niedrige Erdumlaufbahn). 

Weltraumanwendung Bild- und Signalaufklärung

GPS oder Wettersatellit in der Erdumlaufbahn

Für die Erfüllung ihres Auftrages und zur Abdeckung der eigenen Interessenräume benötigt die Armee Informationen und Daten aus dem Weltraum. Dabei stehen Fähigkeiten im Bereich Bildaufklärung (IMINT) und Signalaufklärung (SIGINT) im Vordergrund. Unsere Forschung im Bereich Bild- und Signalaufklärung konzentriert sich auf die Beurteilung des Leistungsvermögens und der Grenzen moderner Satellitenaufklärung sowie der Einschätzung der Leistungsfähigkeiten neuer (kommerzieller) Satelliten bzw. Satellitenkonstellationen. Mit den technologischen Entwicklungen im Bereich der künstlichen Intelligenz und des maschinellen Lernens liegt ein weiterer Fokus auf der Beurteilung der Möglichkeiten und Grenzen in der Automatisierung der Satellitenbildauswertung, insbesondere in der Signaturerkennung im EO-, IR- und SAR-Bereich. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt liegt in der Bewertung der Nutzung von modernen Software definierten Empfängern.

Weltraumanwendung Satellitennavigation

Ein Satellit wird im Labor untersucht

Nahezu alle militärischen Systeme sind heute auf permanente und präzise Positions-, Navigations- und Zeitsignale angewiesen, welche durch die verschiedenen Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS) bereitgestellt werden. Aufgrund dieser grossen Abhängigkeit befassen wir uns intensiv mit dem Erkennen und Absichern von gezielten Störungen der GNSS Signale (Jamming und Spoofing), der Prüfung der Qualität bzw. Integrität der Signale, dem Umgang mit schwachen und verfälschten Signalen und der Verwendung von GNSS ähnlichen Signalen aus anderen erd- oder luftgestützten Quellen. Zudem erforschen wir auch Alternativen zu GNSS z.B. Navigation mittels Funksignalen, bildbasierten Informationen oder anderen Sensordaten.

Entscheidungsunterstützung

Überwachung der Technologie und Marktentwicklung

Rakete fliegt durch die Wolken auf Mondlicht 3d illustration

Wie in vielen anderen technischen Bereichen schreitet auch in der Raumfahrt der technologische Fortschritt zunehmend schneller voran. Darüber hinaus nutzen nicht mehr nur große Staaten und Regierung den Weltraum, sondern vor allem visionäre Unternehmer treiben die Entwicklungen im sogenannten «New Space» massiv voran. Im Auftrag der Armee überwachen wir deshalb die nationalen und internationalen Entwicklungen und zeigen mögliche Auswirkungen auf die Aufgabenerfüllung sowie Vorhaben der Armee in der Operationssphäre Weltraum auf. Dabei stehen technische Machbarkeit, Verfügbarkeit, Einsetzbarkeit, Kosten und Abhängigkeit im Zentrum.

Weltraumfähigkeiten in der Schweiz

Ein Team von Ingenieuren arbeitet am Bau eines Satelliten. Internationale Weltraummission der Agentur für Luft- und Raumfahrt: Verschiedene Wissenschaftlergruppen entwickeln Raumfahrzeuge und berechnen die Flugbahn im Orbit am Computer

Als Gründungsmitglied der europäischen Raumfahrtbehörde ESA verfolgt die Schweiz seit den 70er Jahren aktiv Bestrebungen im Weltraum. Infolgedessen hat sich eine Vielzahl von Organisationen und Unternehmen in den verschiedensten Anwendungsbereichen in der Schweiz etabliert. Im Rahmen des Fähigkeitsaufbaus im Bereich Weltraum erstellen und unterhalten wir im Auftrag der Armee eine Übersicht der Institutionen und ihrer Fähigkeiten um ihr Potenzial zu identifizieren und bewerten.

Innovation

SitSat: Die Weltraumapplikation der Schweizer Armee

Screenshot des Demonstrators SitSat

Die erworbenen Informationen über das Lagebild des Weltraums sind erst dann von Bedeutung, wenn sie verschiedenen Einheiten der Armee und anderen relevanten Behörden zur Verfügung gestellt werden können. Um diesen Zweck zu erfüllen haben wir in Zusammenarbeit mit einem externen Partner die Anwendung SitSat («Situation des Satelliten») entwickelt. SitSat erlaubt es, die Situation aller bekannten Satelliten an einem beliebigen weltweiten Referenzort und in einem beliebigen Zeitfenster darzustellen und genauestens zu analysieren. Ebenfalls kann ermittelt werden, ob und in welchem Zeitfenster der ausgewählte Referenzort für einen Aufklärungssatelliten sichtbar ist und ob eine Verbindung zu einem Kommunikations- oder Navigationssatelliten möglich ist. Dabei berücksichtigt die Applikation sowohl die vorherrschenden Wetterbedingungen wie auch topografische Gegebenheiten. SitSat existiert einerseits als Webanwendung, um auf operativer Ebene ein umfassendes Lagebild zu erhalten und die operative Planung gezielt zu unterstützen. Andererseits liegt SitSat aber auch als Applikation für Tablets und Smartphones vor, um auf taktischer Ebene ein schnelles Lagebewusstsein zu erlangen und taktische Entscheidungen zu beschleunigen. 


armasuisse Wissenschaft und Technologie Fachbereich Forschungsmanagement und Operations Research
Dr. Ulrich Langer
Forschungsprogrammleiter
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 484 64 68

E-Mail