print preview

Simulation and outer space

In the areas of simulation and outer space, we are researching, developing and testing technologies and solutions for capability development, mission support as well as education and training of the Swiss Armed Forces. Bringing added value to the troops is our purpose.

Capability-based research

A yellow beam of the shines out of the astronomical institute of the University of Bern into the luminous night sky
© AIUB Uni Bern

With our research programmes Outer Space and Complexity Management, we are specifically building assessment competences for technologies which are relevant for the operational skills of the Swiss Armed Forces. Using technology monitoring, we are continuously monitoring national and international developments and assess them according to aspects such as technical feasibility, availability, usability, costs and dependencies.
 

Innovation

Screenshot of the SitSat application

Innovations only result from ideas when these are transposed into new products, services or procedures which are actually used successfully. In order for the Swiss Armed Forces to benefit from the added value of these innovations, we are developing, testing and transferring solutions for optimum support of the troops in the areas of capability development, mission support as well as education and training.

Decision support

Close-up of a compass
© pixabay

Where customer orders are concerned, we support the troops in complex issues. Here, we help our customers in selecting the ap-propriate technology and architecture (in concept develop-ment and experimentation (CD&E), in simulating and analysing military threat scenarios as well as in holistic and robust decision-making for operations or comprehensive investments. Our objective is to make the military added value from science and technology available to the troops in good time.

Testing

Screenshot of a simulation application: A tank can be seen in the foreground, a burning car in the background

In order to review conceptual ideas or new acquisitions of systems for their suitability and feasibility early on, we test innovative products for the troops. Through extensive examinations in our laboratories, we test products from the areas of simulation and outer space with regard to their impact on military operations. The knowledge obtained flows into new conceptions or acquisitions at any early stage and thus helps to minimise risks early on.


Our customers

The various coats of arms of the Operations and Training Command, the Army Staff, the FUB and the Logistics Base.


Our areas

Simulation

Screenshot of a simulation application

Space

An orbit circles the earth


armasuisse Science and Technology Dr. Michael Rüegsegger
Head of Operations Research and System Analysis (ORSA)
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 483 88 89

E-Mail

print preview

Simulation und Weltraum

Im Bereich Simulation und Weltraum erforschen, entwickeln und erproben wir Technologien und Lösungen für die Streitkräfteentwicklung, Einsatzunterstützung sowie Ausbildung und Training der Schweizer Armee. Dabei steht der militärische Mehrwert für die Truppen stets im Zentrum.

Fähigkeitsorientierte Forschung

Ein gelber Strahl aus dem strahlt aus dem astronomischen Institut der Uni Bern in den leuchtenden Nachthimmel
© AIUB Uni Bern

Mit dem Forschungsprogramm Weltraum und dem Forschungsquerschnitt Komplexitätsmanagement bauen wir gezielt Beurteilungskompetenzen zu Technologien auf, welche für die operationellen Fähigkeiten der Schweizer Armee relevant sind. Mittels Technologie Monitoring überwachen wir laufend nationale und internationale Entwicklungen und bewerten sie nach Gesichtspunkten wie technischer Machbarkeit, Verfügbarkeit, Einsetzbarkeit, Kosten und Abhängigkeiten.

Innovation

Screenshot der Anwendung SitSat

Innovationen resultieren erst dann aus Ideen, wenn diese in neue Produkte, Dienstleistungen oder Verfahren umgesetzt werden, die tatsächlich erfolgreich Anwendung finden. Damit die Schweizer Armee vom Mehrwert dieser Innovationen profitieren kann, entwickeln, testen und überführen wir Lösungen zur optimalen Unterstützung der Truppen in den Bereichen Streitkräfteentwicklung, Einsatzunterstützung sowie Ausbildung und Training.

Entscheidungsunterstützung

Nahaufnahme eines Kompasses
© pixabay

Im Rahmen von Kundenaufträgen unterstützen wir die Truppe bei komplexen Fragenstellungen. Dabei helfen wir unseren Kunden bei der Wahl der passenden Technologie und Architektur (Konzeptionen), bei der Überprüfung von Konzepten (CD&E), bei der Simulation und Analyse von militärischen Bedrohungsszenarien sowie bei einer ganzheitlichen und robusten Entscheidungsfindung für Einsätze oder umfangreichen Investitionen. Unser Ziel dabei ist es den militärischen Mehrwert aus Wissenschaft und Technologie der Truppe rechtzeitig zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Erprobung

Screenshot einer Simulationsanwendung: Im Vordergrund ist ein Panzer zu sehen, im Hintergrund ein brennendes Auto

Um konzeptionelle Ideen oder Neubeschaffungen von Systemen frühzeitig auf ihre Tauglichkeit und Realisierbarkeit zu überprüfen, erproben wir für die Truppe neuartige Produkte. Mittels aufwändigen Untersuchungen in unseren Laboren testen wir Produkte aus den Bereichen Simulation und Weltraum bezüglich ihrem militärischen Mehrwert. Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse fliessen dabei in neue Konzeptionen oder Neubeschaffungen ein und helfen damit das Risiko frühzeitig zu minimieren.


Unsere Kunden

Die verschiedenen Wappen vom Kommando Operationen,  Ausbildung, des Armeestabs, der FUB und der Logisitikbasis


Unsere Bereiche

Simulation

Screenshot einer Simulationsanwendung

Weltraum

Ein Orbit umkreist die Erde


armasuisse Wissenschaft und Technologie Dr. Michael Rüegsegger
Leiter Operations Research und System Analyse (ORSA)
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 483 88 89

E-Mail