print preview

The Swiss Drone and Robotics Centre (SDRC)

The Swiss Drone and Robotics Centre of the DDPS (SDRC DDPS) supports the Swiss Armed Forces and other authorities by introducing unmanned systems for national safety and security. It is the governmental specialist authority for questions regarding drones and robot technology in terms of their threat and potential for the Swiss national security.

Research & innovation

Eine futuristische Libelle steht unter einem Mikroskop, auf dem W+T eingraviert ist. Die Libelle steht auf einem Glas, das die Umrisse der Schweiz hat.

The SDRC DDPS is part of armasuisse Science and Technology (ar S+T) and manages the research programme «Unmanned systems/ robotics». Apart from its research focus, the SDRC is committed to Swiss robotic innovations for safety and security.
 

ARCHE

Drohnenaufnahme aller Beteiligten der Arche, welche im Halbkreis stehen, im Hintergrund ist der Schreitbagger Menzi Muck zu sehen.

The goal of our yearly event called ARCHE (Advanced Robotic Capabilities for Hazardous Environments) is to assess the degree of technological maturity and the practical suitability of Swiss robotics for disaster relief.

 

Infrastructure

ARCHE 2018 Rettungsroboter

As a part of armasuisse S+T, the SDRC DDPS possesses unique access to equipment and infrastructures for testing and assessing robotic systems.

Technology transfer & operations

Eine Person steht an einem Tisch, vor ihr auf dem Tisch steht ein kleiner Roboter mit Rädern. Das Bild ist in der Mitte gesplitet. Auf der linken Seite trägt die Person einen blauen Laboranzug und eine Hygienemaske. Sie hält ein Gerät an den Roboter. Auf der rechten Seite trägt die Person einen militärischen Kampfanzug. Hinter ihr wird ein Brand gelöscht.

The aim is to transfer promising robotic platforms from research and innovation into the field more frequently and in a more efficient manner. The intension is for robots on land, in the air and in the water to support the emergency services in performing their missions.

ARDET

Drohne vor dem Abheben auf dem Boden

ARDET (Advanced Robotic Detachement) is a task force for rapid deployment of the Swiss Armed Forces, which is supported by new robotic platforms from the SDRC in order to cope with extraordinary and especially hazardous events.

SAB & partners

Auf der Schweizer Karte sind die verschiedenen Partner des SDRZ gekennzeichnet.

The SDRC DDPS is supported by the Strategic Advisory Board (SAB), which consists of leading figures from the Swiss Armed Forces, Swiss research institutions and the Swiss industry.. The expertise and contributions from these board members are of great value to the SDRC DDPS to act and grow as aspecialist authority.

Statement on autonomous weapons systems

Based on international law and moral reasoning, the SDRC deliberately does not conduct research which uses autonomous weapon systems. Research is conducted in order to assess the threat and risk posed by such technologies. Research is also conducted in order to evaluate our defence capabilities and effective countermeasures for such weapon systems.

cf. Arms Control and Disarmament Strategy 2022–2025

Team

The team,  Joseph Boucher, Dr Tonya Müller, Pascal Vörös, Dr Markus Höpflinger, Kai Holtmann, Marc Avondet
Left to right: Joseph Boucher, Dr Tonya Müller, Pascal Vörös, Dr Markus Höpflinger, Kai Holtmann, Marc Avondet

The SDRC currently consists of a small team of six. The SDRC accomplishes its tasks with the support of the colleagues from armasuisse S+T as well as the network of Swiss robotic research and industry.

Web articles

13.07.2022

ARCHE 2022 - Swiss robotics for the disaster relief of the future
Anymal is inspected by members of the army

ARCHE is the largest Swiss event for studying robots intended for use in disaster relief. The event took place for the fifth time at the training village in Wangen an der Aare from 4 to 8 July 2022. Around 150 persons from the Armed Forces, science, industry and armasuisse were on the ground to test the latest technology in a realistic environment and for the purposes of disaster relief.

17.06.2022

Handover of diving robot to the Swiss Armed Forces
The core team of the project (Captain Kim Rindlisbacher (EOD diver), Jonas Wüst (Tethys Robotics), Kai Holtmann (SDRC DDPS), Lieutenant Colonel Reto Schaffner (EOD Command)) at handover.

The Swiss Drone and Robotics Centre of armasuisse Science + Technology is carrying out research on a diving robot together with Tethys Robotics from ETH Zurich and the Command Explosive Ordnance Disposal and Demining (EOD). After about two years of cooperation with EOD, the first prototype was handed over to the divers of the EOD Command on 30/5/2022.

18.05.2022

SDRC Video Podcast
Illustration debris field with excavator, anymal, robot, drones and people

A video podcast of the Digital Society Initiative (DSI)and the Swiss Drone and Robotics Centre (SDRC DDPS) of armasuisse Science and Technology addresses the question of why the Swiss Armed Forces could one day also deploy rescue robots. Here, the technical, ethical and legal issues involved are also explained.

01.02.2022

Ethics in the use of autonomous robot systems
Pascal Vörös, on the left in the picture, and Daniel Trusilo, on the right in the picture, sit opposite each other on a staircase in the army village of Wangen an der Aare.

Who bears the responsibility for what autonomous systems do and decide? Daniel Trusilo explores the use of autonomous robotic systems in the conflict environment. In a video interview, he talks about why we need to think about ethics in the use of autonomous robot systems in security applications.

24.01.2022

Handover of robotised construction machine to army
Seven persons, both in civilian as well as orange protective clothing, stand in a debris basin of the SBB in front of the automated Armeno caterpillar excavator.

On 16 December 2021, armasuisse Science and Technology (S+T) handed over a robotised construction machine to the training unit Engineer/Rescue/ABC of the Swiss Armed Forces. The handover took place as part of an experiment between the SBB, ETH Zurich, armasuisse S+T and other partners. In the process, the remote-controlled and computer-aided deployment of this construction machine for excavating material from a debris basin was demonstrated.


The Swiss Drone and Robotics Centre (SDRC) Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 27 78

E-Mail

Head of the SDRC, Dr Markus Höpflinger

Drone Defence Bure 2021

Broadcast in «Einstein»

Keyvisual Einstein

The SRF science broadcast «Einstein» explored the question of how drones and robots save lives. Among others, the Swiss Drone and Robotics Centre of armasuisse W+T took part in the broadcast.

Watch here

print preview

Das Schweizer Drohnen- und Robotik-Zentrum (SDRZ)

Das Schweizer Drohnen- und Robotik-Zentrum des VBS (SDRZ VBS) unterstützt die Schweizer Armee und weitere Behörden im Umgang mit der Robotik im Sicherheitsumfeld. Es ist die Schweizer Fachstelle für Fragen zu Drohnen- und Robotertechnologie in deren Bedeutung für die nationale Sicherheit.

Forschung & Innovation

Eine futuristische Libelle steht unter einem Mikroskop, auf dem W+T eingraviert ist. Die Libelle steht auf einem Glas, das die Umrisse der Schweiz hat.

Das SDRZ VBS führt im Rahmen der Ressortforschung von armasuisse W+T das Forschungsprogramm «Unbemannte Systeme/Robotik». Neben dem Forschungsfokus setzt sich das SDRZ für Schweizer Robotik-Innovationen für Sicherheitsaufgaben ein.

ARCHE

Drohnenaufnahme aller Beteiligten der Arche, welche im Halbkreis stehen, im Hintergrund ist der Schreitbagger Menzi Muck zu sehen.

ARCHE (Advanced Robotic Capabilities for Hazardous Environments) dient der Beurteilung des Technologiereifegrades und der Anwendungstauglichkeit der Schweizer Robotik für die Katastrophenhilfe. 

Infrastruktur

ARCHE 2018 Rettungsroboter

Das SDRZ VBS verfügt als Teil von armasuisse W+T über einzigartiges Equipment und Infrastrukturen, um robotische Systeme zu testen und zu beurteilen. 

Technologietransfer & Einsätze

Eine Person steht an einem Tisch, vor ihr auf dem Tisch steht ein kleiner Roboter mit Rädern. Das Bild ist in der Mitte gesplitet. Auf der linken Seite trägt die Person einen blauen Laboranzug und eine Hygienemaske. Sie hält ein Gerät an den Roboter. Auf der rechten Seite trägt die Person einen militärischen Kampfanzug. Hinter ihr wird ein Brand gelöscht.

Vielversprechende Roboter aus Forschung & Innovation sollen vermehrt und schneller in den Einsatz gebracht werden. Roboter zu Land, Luft und Wasser sollen den Einsatzkräften helfen, ihre Missionen zu erfüllen. 
 

ARDET

Drohne vor dem Abheben auf dem Boden

ARDET (Advanced Robotic Detachement) ist eine Initiative des SDRZ zur Einführung von neuen robotischen Systemen in die Formationen und Einsätze der Schweizer Armee.
 

SAB & Partner

Auf der Schweizer Karte sind die verschiedenen Partner des SDRZ gekennzeichnet.

Das SDRZ VBS wird durch zahlreiche Partner aus Forschung und Industrie und ein Strategic Advisory Board (SAB) unterstützt. Die Arbeit unserer Partner ist essenziell, um unsere Aufgabe als Fachstelle zu erfüllen.

Pocketcard zu autonomen Waffensystemen

Team

Das Team, Joseph Boucher, Dr. Tonya Müller, Pascal Vörös, Dr. Markus Höpflinger, Kai Holtmann, Marc Avondet, vor dem Menzi Muck.
v.l.n.r. Joseph Boucher, Dr. Tonya Müller, Pascal Vörös, Dr. Markus Höpflinger, Kai Holtmann, Marc Avondet

Das SDRZ besteht heute aus einem kleinen, sechsköpfigen Kernteam. Seine Aufgabe bewältigt das Zentrum in Unterstützung der Kolleginnen und Kollegen von armasuisse W+T, sowie des Netzwerks der Schweizer Robotikforschung und -industrie. 

Downloads

Webmitteilungen

13.07.2022

ARCHE 2022 - Schweizer Robotik für die Katastrophenhilfe der Zukunft
Ein Anymal wird von Armeeangehörigen begutachtet

ARCHE ist die grösste Schweizer Veranstaltung zur Untersuchung von Robotern für die Katastrophenhilfe. Der Anlass hat zum fünften Mal im Übungsdorf in Wangen an der Aare vom 4. Juli bis 8. Juli 2022 stattgefunden. Rund 150 Personen aus Armee, Wissenschaft, Industrie und armasuisse waren vor Ort, um neuste Technologie in realitätsnaher Umgebung und zu Gunsten der Katastrophenhilfe zu testen.

17.06.2022

Übergabe von Tauchroboter an die Schweizer Armee
Das Kernteam des Projekts bei der Übergabe halten den Tauchroboter in der Hand: (v.l.n.r.) Hptm Kim Rindlisbacher (KAMIR-Taucher), Jonas Wüst (Tethys Robotics), Kai Holtmann (SDRZ VBS), Oberstlt Reto Schaffner (Kdo KAMIR)

Das Schweizer Drohnen- und Robotik-Zentrum von armasuisse Wissenschaft und Technologie forscht gemeinsam mit Tethys Robotics der ETH Zürich und dem Kommando Kampfmittelbeseitigung und Minenräumung (KAMIR) an einem Tauchroboter. Nach rund zweijähriger Zusammenarbeit mit KAMIR konnte ein erster Prototyp am 30. Mai 2022 an die Taucher des Kommando KAMIR übergeben werden.

18.05.2022

SDRZ Video-Podcast
Illustration Trümmerfeld mit Bagger, Anymal, Roboter, Drohnen und Menschen

Ein Video-Podcast der Digital Society Initiative (DSI) und des Schweizer Drohnen- und Robotik-Zentrums (SDRZ VBS) von armasuisse Wissenschaft und Technologie geht der Frage nach, warum die Schweizer Armee dereinst auch Rettungsroboter einsetzen könnte. Dabei werden auch die damit zusammenhängenden technischen, ethischen und rechtlichen Fragen erläutert.

01.02.2022

Ethik im Einsatz autonomer Robotersysteme
Pascal Vörös, links auf dem Bild und Daniel Trusilo, rechts auf dem Bild, sitzen sich gegenüber auf einer Treppe im Armeedorf Wangen an der Aare.

Wer trägt die Verantwortung für das, was autonome Systeme tun und entscheiden? Daniel Trusilo erforscht die Nutzung von autonomen Robotiksystemen im Konfliktumfeld. Im Video-Interview spricht er darüber, warum wir uns über die Ethik im Einsatz autonomer Robotersysteme in Sicherheitsanwendungen Gedanken machen müssen.

24.01.2022

Übergabe roboterisierte Baumaschine an Armee
Sieben Personen, sowohl in ziviler als auch oranger Schutzbekleidung, stehen in einem Gerschiebsammler der SBB vor dem automatisierten Armeno-Raupenbagger.

Am 16. Dezember 2021 überreichte armasuisse Wissenschaft und Technologie (W+T) dem Lehrverband Genie/Rettung/ABC der Schweizer Armee eine roboterisierte Baumaschine. Die Übergabe fand im Rahmen eines Versuchs zwischen der SBB, ETH Zürich, armasuisse W+T und weiteren Partnern statt. Dabei wurde der ferngesteuerte und computerunterstützte Einsatz dieser Baumaschine zum Ausheben von Material aus einem Geschiebesammler demonstriert.


Das Schweizer Drohnen- und Robotik-Zentrum (SDRZ) Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 27 78

E-Mail

Leiter SDRZ, Dr. Markus Höpflinger

Drohnenabwehr Bure 2021

SDRZ bei Einstein

Keyvisual Einstein

In der Sendung vom 19. Mai 2022 ging das SRF-Wissensmagazin Einstein der Frage nach, wie Drohnen und Roboter Leben retten. In der Sendung mit dabei waren u.a. das Schweizer Drohnen- und Robotik-Zentrum von armasuisse W+T sowie der Lehrverband Genie/Rettung/ABC.

Jetzt reinschauen