print preview

Research Program 1 - Reconnaissance and Surveillance

The reconnaissance and surveillance research program operated by the armasuisse Science and Technology competence sector deals with five capability-oriented competence areas in the field of ISTAR (Intelligence, Surveillance, Target Acquisition and Reconnaissance). In addition, new methods of procuring information are identified and technological and scientific expertise is developed to rectify any capability shortages within the Armed Forces. All of this is carried out with the help of a multilateral cooperation network.

WTF_FoPrgm1_Titelbild_Kamera


Information that is relevant for making decisions can in future be generated quicker, more accurately and also under difficult conditions, such as during rainy and cloudy weather. There is a wide range of reasons behind this. In comparison to the situation today, the further development of intelligent algorithms will allow for the improved tracking and classification of targets. This applies to the further development of radar technology for air surveillance, for example. The latest developments in the field of cognitive and multistatic radar technologies allow for the improved detection of air targets through the use of environmental information. Intelligent algorithms also play a key role in the pooling of data from numerous sensors and the consolidation of information to form an overview appropriate to the situation.

Due to the advances made in electronics, the collected sensor data can be increasingly digitised and processed. This can be seen, for example, in image-based reconnaissance. Using multi-camera systems, wide-angle shots with a very high image resolution can be taken in real time. Other developments in electronics and semi-conductor technology allow for the miniaturisation of sensor components, which is of interest for applications with micro- and mini-drones. The advances made in electronics opens up spectral ranges that have not yet been able to be used with the sensor systems currently available. This promises improvements in the reconnaissance of targets in unfavourable weather conditions and under camouflage.

The latest technological developments are pushing the performance limits of future reconnaissance and surveillance devices and equipment. The main tasks of the research program are thus as follows:

  • The identification of the relevant technologies and their trends in relation to intelligence gathering (IMINT, RADINT, MASINT, ACCOUSTINT, SAR, GEOINT)
  • The identification of new technological options
  • The securing of the fundamentals and specialist knowledge for advice, testing and expertise

Competence areas

Luftaufklärung
Air reconnaissance

The advances made in antenna technology, high-frequency engineering and algorithmics will allow for new applications in the future. Research topics include cognitive, multistatic and passive radar systems. Interference, such as echo signals caused by the terrain as well as backscatter signals from aircraft, must also be taken into consideration. New approaches for detecting drones are being evaluated.

IMINT Technologie für Abstandsaufklärung
IMINT technologies for standoff reconnaissance

In comparison to traditional systems, the advances made in technology promise an improved detection of ground targets, e.g. with hyperspectral sensors. Important information can also be recorded in bad weather conditions with imaging radar sensors (Synthetic Aperture Radar – SAR). The further development of SAR technology on multi-channel systems pledges to record human activities on the ground in real time

Intelligente Ueberwachung Boden
Intelligent surveillance of activities on the ground

Due to the ever-increasing volume of data being recorded, an intelligent sensor-based preliminary evaluation is gaining in significance. The additional trend towards networking promises to safeguard surveillance tasks with low staff costs. In this competence area, the trends and limits of intelligent and networked surveillance must be identified and assessed.

Leistungsgrenze moderner Sensorik
Improvements to detectors

The new developments in detector and sensor technology are being evaluated with respect to their performance limits. This relates to multi-sensor systems, miniaturisation and sensor systems that access new spectral bands, as well as new methods of wide-angle reconnaissance. Research is also being carried out into new approaches for increasing sensor distances and for deployments in urban terrain (e.g. through-wall sensing).

 

Zieldetektion und Tarnanalyse
Target detection and camouflage analysis

The properties of targets and the background are captured for radar, visual, hyperspectral, infra-red-based and acoustic sensors. Signature analysis and the analysis of human influences form the core of the evaluation. Furthermore, the advances made in multispectral, mobile and adaptive camouflage are collected and evaluated in this competence area.

Technology demonstrators

Gefechtsfeldradar
Gefechtsfeldradar

The FERAMO experimental field radar is used for close-range reconnaissance tasks (a few hundred meters). It can detect people, vehicle and small drones.

GigaEye Demonstrator
GigaEye Demonstrator

The experimental sensor permits complete all-round coverage, which is of particular interest for surveillance tasks. This allows simultaneous observation of sectors in a variety of different directions.

MIRANDA Radarsensor
MIRANDA

The MIRANDA technology demonstrator allows images of the ground to be taken from the air even during bad weather when other sensors are unable to deliver any useable information. Quicklook pictures have been transmitted in real time up to a distance of 120km and high-resolution SAR images have produced resolutions of up to 15 cm.

WTF_FoPrgm1_TD5_HostileFireIndication


Due to engine noise, helicopter crews are unlikely to hear gunshots aimed at their aircraft. It is therefore even more important in such cases for pilots to receive automatic warnings indicating the proximity of hazardous zones. In order to develop expertise in this area, a Cougar helicopter has been fitted with 14 special microphones for test purposes.

Demonstrator Multisensor
Demonstrator Multisensor

The desired reconnaissance result can often not be achieved with a single sensor. The multi-sensor platform makes it possible to exploit the potential of sensor data fusion.

Adaptive Tarnung
Adaptive Camouflage

This project examines demonstration camouflage kits which adapt vehicles to match their background (immediate surroundings). This type of adaptation is of interest in both the thermal infrared and visual electromagnetic spectrum.

Network

The development of expertise is based on a wide network of partners from the professional world, academia, universities and other research institutes in Switzerland and abroad. In order to keep track of skills and capabilities, close contact and an exchange of information is maintained with users and the planning, procurement and test centres of the DDPS.

Research Program Manager

Research Program Manager
Dr. Peter Wellig

Our «Reconnaissance and Surveillance» research program manager is delighted at your interest!


Science and Technology Field of Study Research Management and Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 28 10

Research Program Manager

Dr. Peter Wellig

E-Mail

Science and Technology

Field of Study Research Management and Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun

print preview

Forschungsprogramm 1 - Aufklärung und Überwachung

Das Forschungsprogramm Aufklärung und Überwachung des Kompetenzbereiches Wissenschaft und Technologie der armasuisse bearbeitet fünf fähigkeitsorientierte Kompetenzfelder im Bereich ISTAR (Intelligence, Surveillance, Target Acquisition and Reconnaissance). Dazu werden neue Möglichkeiten zur Informationsbeschaffung aufgezeigt und technisch-wissenschaftliche Fachkompetenzen zu den Fähigkeitslücken der Armee aufgebaut. Dies wird mit Hilfe eines multilateralen Kooperationsnetzwerkes sichergestellt.

Aufklärung und Überwachung

 

Entschlussrelevante Informationen können in Zukunft zeitnaher, präziser und auch unter erschwerten Bedingungen, wie bei Regen und Wolken, generiert werden. Die Gründe sind vielfältig. Im Vergleich zu heute wird die Weiterentwicklung von intelligenten Algorithmen erlauben Ziele besser zu erfassen und zu klassifizieren. Dies trifft beispielsweise bei der Weiterentwicklung der Radartechnologie für die Luftraumüberwachung zu. Neuste Entwicklungen im Bereich von kognitiven und multistatischen Radartechnologien ermöglichen eine verbesserte Detektion von Luftzielen durch die Nutzung von Informationen aus der Umgebung. Intelligente Algorithmen spielen auch bei der Fusion von Daten verschiedener Sensoren und bei der Verdichtung von Informationen zu einem situationsgerechten Lagebild eine wichtige Rolle.

Aufgrund der Fortschritte in der Elektronik können detektierte Sensordaten zunehmend digitalisiert und weiterverarbeitet werden. Dies zeigt sich beispielsweise bei der bildbasierten Aufklärung. Weitwinkelaufnahmen in sehr hoher Bildauflösung, basierend auf Multikamerasystemen, können in Echtzeit erfasst werden. Andere Entwicklungen in der Elektronik und Halbleitertechnologie ermöglichen die Miniaturisierung von Sensorbauteilen, was nicht zuletzt für Anwendungen auf Mikro- und Mini-Drohnen von Interesse ist. Die fortschreitende Entwicklung in der Elektronik erschliesst Spektralbereiche, welche mit der heutigen Sensorik noch nicht genutzt werden konnten, was Verbesserungen in der Aufklärung von Zielen bei ungünstigen Wetterbedingungen oder von Tarnstellungen verspricht.

Aktuelle Technologieentwicklungen wirken sich auf die Leistungsgrenzen zukünftiger Aufklärungs- und Überwachungsmittel aus. Deshalb sind die zentralen Aufgaben des Forschungsprogramms

  • die Erfassung der relevanten Technologien und ihrer Trends in Bezug auf Nachrichtengewinnung (IMINT, RADINT, MASINT, ACCOUSTINT, SAR, GEOINT)
  • das Aufzeigen von neuen technischen Möglichkeiten
  • die Sicherstellung von Grundlagen und Fachkenntnissen für Beratung, Erprobung und Expertisen

Kompetenzfelder

Luftaufklärung
Luftaufklärung

Die Fortschritte in Antennentechnologie, Hochfrequenztechnik und Algorithmik werden zukünftig neue Anwendungen ermöglichen. Forschungsthemen sind kognitive, multistatische oder passive Radarsysteme. Auch Störeffekte, wie topographisch bedingte Echosignale als auch das Rückstreuverhalten von Flugobjekten, gilt es zu berücksichtigen. Für die Detektion von Drohnen werden neue Ansätze evaluiert.

IMINT Technologie für Abstandsaufklärung
IMINT Technologie für Abstandsaufklärung

Technologiefortschritte versprechen im Vergleich zu traditionellen Systemen eine bessere Erkennung von Bodenzielen z.B. mit Hyperspektralsensoren. Wichtige Informationen können auch bei schlechtem Wetter mit abbildenden Radarsensoren (SAR) erfasst werden. Die Weiterentwicklung der SAR-Technologie auf mehrkanalige Systeme verspricht menschliche Aktivitäten am Boden in Echtzeit zu erfassen.

Intelligente Ueberwachung Boden
Intelligente Überwachung am Boden

Aufgrund der stetig zunehmenden Menge an erfassten Daten gewinnt eine intelligente sensornahe Vorauswertung an Bedeutung. Der zusätzliche Trend zur Vernetzung verspricht Überwachungsaufgaben mit kleinem Personalaufwand zu lösen. In diesem Kompetenzfeld gilt es die Trends und Grenzen der intelligenten und vernetzten Überwachung zu erfassen und zu beurteilen.

Leistungsgrenze moderner Sensorik
Leistungsgrenze moderner Sensorik

Die Fortschritte der Detektoren und Sensoren werden in Bezug auf die Leistungsgrenzen beurteilt. Dies betrifft Multisensorik, Miniaturisierung und Sensorik, welche auf neue spektrale Bänder zugreifen, sowie neue Möglichkeiten in der Weitwinkelaufklärung. Es werden auch neue Ansätze zur Erweiterung der Sensordistanzen oder für Einsätze im urbanen Gelände (z.B. Through Wall Sensing) untersucht.

Zieldetektion und Tarnanalyse
Zieldetektion und Tarnanalyse

Die Eigenschaften von Zielen und Hintergrund werden für Radar-, visuelle, hyperspektrale, infrarotbasierte und akustische Sensoren erfasst. Im Zentrum stehen die Signaturanalyse und die Analyse menschlicher Einflüsse bei der Auswertung. Im Weiteren werden in dem Kompetenzfeld die Fortschritte zu multispektraler, mobiler und adaptiver Tarnung erhoben und beurteilt.

Technologiedemonstratoren

Gefechtsfeldradar
Gefechtsfeldradar

Das Experimentalfeldradar FERAMO wird für Aufklärungszwecke im Nahbereich (einige 100m) eingesetzt. Personen, Fahrzeuge und Kleindrohnen können erfasst werden.

GigaEye Demonstrator
GigaEye Demonstrator

Der Experimentalsensor ermöglicht die räumliche Rundumabdeckung, was insbesondere für Überwachungsaufgaben von Interesse ist. Beobachtungsbereiche in unterschiedlicher Richtung können gleichzeitig erfasst werden.

MIRANDA Radarsensor
MIRANDA Radarsensor

Der Technologiedemonstrator MIRANDA ermöglicht luftgestützte Aufnahmen des Bodens auch bei schlechten Wetterverhältnissen, bei denen andere Sensoren keine brauchbaren Informationen liefern. Quicklookbilder konnten bis zu einer Entfernung von 120 km in Echtzeit übertragen werden und hochaufgelöste SAR-Bilder zeigten Auflösungen bis zu 15 cm.

WTF_FoPrgm1_TD5_HostileFireIndication

Gewehrschüsse auf Helikopter sind für die Crew kaum hörbar, da sie im Helikopterlärm untergehen. Umso wichtiger wäre es für den Piloten im Ereignisfall automatische Warnungen und Hinweise auf Gefahrenzonen zu erhalten. Um Beurteilungskompetenzen hierzu aufzubauen, wurde ein Cougar-Helikopter mit 14 Spezialmikrofonen für Testzwecke ausgestattet.

Demonstrator Multisensor
Demonstrator Multisensor

Mit einem Sensor alleine lässt sich oft nicht das gewünschte Aufklärungsresultat erzielen. Die Multisensorplattform ermöglicht das Potenzial der Sensordatenfusion zu nutzen.

Adaptive Tarnung
Adaptive Tarnung

In diesem Projekt werden Tarn-Demonstratoren untersucht, mit welchen Fahrzeuge an den Hintergrund (lokale Umgebung) angepasst werden. Von Interesse ist die Anpassung sowohl im thermischen Infrarot wie auch im visuellen elektromagnetischen Spektrum.

Netzwerk

Der Aufbau von Fachkompetenzen basiert auf einem breiten Netzwerk von Partnern aus Wirtschaft, Hochschulen, Universitäten und anderen Forschungsstellen im In- und Ausland. Zur Sicherstellung der Fähigkeitsorientierung findet ein enger Kontakt und Informationsaustausch mit Nutzern, Planungs-, Beschaffungs- und Erprobungsstellen des VBS statt.

Forschungsprogrammleiter

Forschungsprogrammleiter
Dr. Peter Wellig

Unser Forschungsprogrammleiter «Aufklärung und Überwachung» freut sich über Ihr Interesse! 


Wissenschaft und Technologie Fachbereich Forschungsmanagement
und Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 28 10

Leiter Forschungsprogramm

Dr. Peter Wellig

E-Mail

Wissenschaft und Technologie

Fachbereich Forschungsmanagement
und Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun