Research Program 56 - Unmanned Mobile Systems

Capability Enhancement, Reducing Workload and Protecting People

unbemannte mobile Systeme

Unmanned systems will fundamentally change the field in which security forces operate.

There is a wide range of potential applications, extending from information gathering, monitoring, protection, disruption, deception and explosive ordnance disposal to logistic tasks. Unmanned systems significantly reduce the potential risks to which people are exposed and are thus ideally suited to carrying out missions in hostile environments.

The aim of the research program is to safeguard technical and scientific expertise for assessing the operational use of unmanned systems on the ground and in the air. Operational opportunities and risks will also be demonstrated.

Ultimately, the program also aims to support Swiss security policy in matters relating to ethics, international law and arms control in conjunction with unmanned systems.

 

Areas of expertise

WTF_FoPrgm56_KF1_Bewegungskonzept

Today‘s robotics are opening up new locomotion concepts that are fundamentally different from the drive technologies employed in classical vehicle construction. New ‚intelligent‘ mechanical designs and advanced control algorithms are being investigated in order to improve movement behavior and patterns as regards agility, energy efficiency and versatility.

WTF_FoPrgm56_KF2_Navigation

Advances in localization, mapping and path planning are needed if unmanned systems are to operate very reliably in unknown challenging areas, largely without human support. The program will produce solutions which will function without external navigation aids (e.g. GPS) and regardless of communication failures.

WTF_FoPrgm56_KF3_MenschTechnikUmwelt

Unmanned mobile systems open up major potential benefits but they also pose risks and dangers to humans and the environment. In addition to topics such as intuitive man-machine interfaces and interfaces between machines operating in parallel, studies into protecting humans and the environment against threats from unmanned systems are of vital importance.

WTF_FoPrgm56_KF4_Schlüsseltechnologien

The development of enabling technologies for sensor systems, drive and control engineering, data processing, energy conversion and storage, and communications will advance unmanned systems significantly. This process will be driven by civilian markets, allowing the relevant components to be adapted to military needs for integrating into an overall system.

WTF_FoPrgm56_KF5_TaktischeAnwendung

The potential for employing unmanned systems is diverse, extending from intelligence gathering missions (SIGINT, COMINT, RADINT, IMINT, ELINT), surveillance, communication, disruption and deception and explosive ordnance disposal to transporting people and goods. The research program will investigate unarmed applications, mainly in the area of information acquisition and logistics.


Science and Technology Research Management
and Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 27 78

Research Program Manager

Dr. Markus Höpflinger
E-Mail


Print contact

Science and Technology

Research Management
and Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun

Show map

Forschungsprogramm 56 - Unbemannte Mobile Systeme

Erweiterung der Fähigkeiten, Entlastung und Schutz des Menschen

unbemannte mobile Systeme

Unbemannte mobile Systeme werden das Operationsfeld von Sicherheitskräften grundlegend verändern.

Die potentiellen Anwendungsmöglichkeiten sind vielfältig und reichen von der Informationsbeschaffung, Überwachung, Sicherung, Störung, Täuschung und Kampfmittelbeseitigung bis hin zu logistischen Aufgaben. Unbemannte Systeme reduzieren das Gefahrenpotential für den Menschen erheblich und sind daher prädestiniert für Einsätze in menschenfeindlicher Umgebung.

Das Ziel des Forschungsprogrammes ist die Sicherstellung von technisch-wissenschaftlichen Kompetenzen zur Beurteilung unbemannter Systeme in den Operationsphären Boden und Luft. Zudem werden operationelle Chancen und Risiken aufgezeigt.

Schliesslich geht es auch um die Unterstützung der Schweizerischen Sicherheitspolitik im Bereich ethischer, völkerrechtlicher oder rüstungskontrollpolitischer Fragen in Zusammenhang mit unbemannten Systemen.

 

 

Kompetenzfelder

WTF_FoPrgm56_KF1_Bewegungskonzept

Die moderne Robotik erschliesst neue Fortbewegungskonzepte, welche sich grundlegend von der Antriebstechnik des klassischen Fahrzeugbaus unterscheiden. Zur Verbesserung des Fortbewegungsverhaltens bezogen auf Agilität, Energieeffizienz, Hindernistauglichkeit und Vielseitigkeit werden neue ‚intelligente‘ mechanische Designs und fortschrittliche Regelungsalgorithmen untersucht.

WTF_FoPrgm56_KF2_Navigation

Damit unbemannte Systeme weitgehend ohne menschliche Unterstützung mit hoher Zuverlässigkeit in anspruchsvollen, unbekannten Gebieten agieren können, sind Fortschritte in der Lokalisierung, der Kartographierung und der Pfadplanung nötig. Im Programm werden Lösungen erarbeitet, die ohne externe Navigationshilfen (z.B. GPS) und trotz Kommunikationsausfällen funktionieren.

WTF_FoPrgm56_KF3_MenschTechnikUmwelt

Unbemannte mobile Systeme erschliessen grosse Nutzenpotenziale, bergen aber auch Risiken und Gefahren für Mensch und Umwelt. Neben der Erforschung von intuitiven Schnittstellen zwischen Mensch und Maschine und zwischen parallel operierenden Maschinen sind daher auch Untersuchungen zum Schutz von Mensch und Umwelt vor Bedrohungen durch unbemannte Systeme von zentraler Bedeutung.

WTF_FoPrgm56_KF4_Schlüsseltechnologien

Die Entwicklung von Schlüsseltechnologien der Sensorik, Antriebs- und Regelungstechnik, Datenverarbeitung, Energiewandlung/-speicherung wie auch der Kommunikation ermöglicht bei unbemannten Systemen wesentliche Fortschritte. Dieser Prozess wird oft durch zivile Märkte getrieben, so dass entsprechende Komponenten an militärische Bedürfnisse angepasst und in ein Gesamtsystem integriert werden müssen.

WTF_FoPrgm56_KF5_TaktischeAnwendung

Das Anwendungspotential unbemannter Systeme ist vielfältig und reicht von Missionen für die Aufklärung (SIGINT, COMINT, RADINT, IMINT, ELINT), Überwachung, Kommunikation, Störung und Täuschung, Kampfmittelbeseitigung bis hin zum Transport von Menschen und Gütern. Das Forschungsprogramm befasst sich mit unbewaffneten Anwendungen, hauptsächlich im Bereich der Informationsbeschaffung.


Wissenschaft und Technologie Fachbereich Forschungsmanagement
und Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 27 78

Leiter Forschungsprogramm

Dr. Markus Höpflinger
E-Mail


Kontakt drucken

Wissenschaft und Technologie

Fachbereich Forschungsmanagement
und Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun

Karte ansehen