Research Program 4 - Impact, Protection and Safety

Know the effects, reduce risks, increase protection and safety

Wirkung, Schutz und Sicherheit

Switzerland attaches great importance to security. To make competent assessments of national safety and security issues, knowledge weapons and ways of providing protection against them is indispensable. The ‚Impact, Protection and Safety‘ research program being undertaken by the Science and Technology (S+T) competence sector at armasuisse monitors the development of defence technology in the area of chemical, kinetic and electromagnetic effectors. Protection concepts are designed and investigated in order to minimize the consequences of attacks against our own forces and infrastructures. Expertise is being specifi cally developed within research projects and with partnerships. 

Areas of expertise

WTF_FoPrgm4_KF1_Wirkung

A comprehensive overview and knowledge of the potential effects of current and future threats and weapon systems; basic principles and technical expertise in respect of the internal, external and terminal ballistics of thermokinetic weapons and electromagnetic effectors; technical expertise regarding safety for handling and storage of explosives, incl. vulnerability, ageing and environmental impact.

WTF_FoPrgm4_KF2_mobile Objekte

Basic and specialist knowledge for assessing modern protection concepts for mobile platforms; ballistic protection; protection against mines and electromagnetic effectors (lasers, HPE); reducing mass and volume of armours while retaining the same level of protection; ballistic and thermal properties of modern composite materials; electromagnetic shielding potential of nanomaterials.

WTF_FoPrgm4_KF3_Infrastruktur

Expertise in protecting infrastructure and buildings against thermokinetic and electromagnetic effectors; assessing the dynamic properties of construction materials such as fibre-reinforced concrete; concepts for the structural hardening of buildings; shielding of important infrastructure from high-power electromagnetic fields.

WTF_FoPrgm4_KF4_Rechenmodelle

Modelling and simulation of the external and terminal ballistics of thermokinetic effectors; calculating electromagnetic effects, including non-ionizing radiation; basic principles for material models; numerical simulation of highly dynamic phenomena.

Technology demonstrators

WTF_FoPrgm4_TD_30mm-APFSDS-Zerstört_Format-3-2

In collaboration with RUAG Defence, the possibility of providing active protection against flechette-type munitions and long rod penetrators was examined. Trials were conducted with ammunition calibers of between 30mm and 120mm. The results illustrate the feasibility of such active protection systems and show the degree of precision, both as regards timing and locational accuracy, which needs to be achieved to provide the necessary protective effect.

WTF_FoPrgm4_TD2_IED-GDELS

Model charges with easily reproducible terminal ballistic properties were developed in collaboration with GDELS/Mowag. The projectiles will demonstrate similar characteristics to IED charges found in Iraq and Afghanistan. They will be used to examine and, if necessary, improve the protective properties of passive protection systems.

WTF_FoPrgm4_TD3 Thermobarics_2

Terrorist attack scenarios have to factor in the likelihood of ever greater charges at close effective ranges. The effects of large explosive charges and providing protection against their destructive potential are being examined.

Research Program Manager

Forschungsprogrammleiter
Dr. André Koch

Our 'Impact, Protection and Safety' research program manager is delighted at your interest.

Downloads


Science and Technology Research Management
and Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 29 11

Research Programm Manager

Dr. André Koch

E-Mail


Print contact

Science and Technology

Research Management
and Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun

Show map

Forschungsprogramm 4 - Wirkung, Schutz und Sicherheit

Wirkung kennen, Risiken senken, Schutz und Sicherheit steigern

Wirkung, Schutz und Sicherheit

Sicherheit hat in der Schweiz einen hohen Stellenwert. Kenntnisse über Wirkmittel und Schutzkonzepte sind unabdingbar, um nationale Sicherheitsaspekte auch in Zukunft kompetent beurteilen zu können. Das Forschungsprogramm Wirkung, Schutz und Sicherheit des Kompetenzbereiches Wissenschaft und Technologie der armasuisse verfolgt die wehrtechnische Entwicklung im Bereich der chemischen, kinetischen, thermischen und elektromagnetischen Wirkmittel. Um die Folgen von Angriffen auf eigene Kräfte und Infrastrukturen minimal zu halten, werden Schutzkonzepte konzipiert und untersucht. Zielgerichtet wird Expertenkompetenz mithilfe von Forschungsprojekten und Partnerschaften ausgebaut.

 

 

Kompetenzfelder

WTF_FoPrgm4_KF1_Wirkung

Umfassende Übersicht und Kenntnisse zur potenziellen Wirkung heutiger und künftiger Bedrohungs- und Waffensysteme; Grundlagen- und Fachkompetenz über die Innen-, Aussen- und Endballistik von kinetisch-thermischen Waffen und elektromagnetischen Effektoren; Fachkompetenz betreffend Sicherheit bei der Handhabung und Lagerung von Explosivstoffen, inkl. Verwundbarkeit, Alterung und Umweltbelastung.

WTF_FoPrgm4_KF2_mobile Objekte

Grundlagen- und Fachkenntnisse zur Beurteilung moderner Schutzkonzepte mobiler Plattformen; ballistischer Schutz; Schutz vor Minen und elektromagnetischen Effektoren (Laser, HPE); Reduktion der Masse und des Volumens bei ähnlichem Schutzniveau; ballistische und thermische Eigenschaften moderner Verbundwerkstoffe; elektromagnetisches Abschirmungspotenzial von Mikro- und Nanomaterialien

WTF_FoPrgm4_KF3_Infrastruktur

Kenntnisse zum Schutz von Infrastrukturen und Gebäuden gegen kinetisch-thermische und elektromagnetische Effektoren; Beurteilung der dynamischen Eigenschaften von Baumaterialien wie beispielsweise faserverstärkter Beton; Konzepte für die bauliche Härtung von Gebäuden; Abschirmung wichtiger Infrastrukturen vor elektromagnetischen Hochleistungsfeldern.

WTF_FoPrgm4_KF4_Rechenmodelle

Modellbildung und Simulation der Aussen- und Endballistik kinetisch-thermischer Effektoren; Berechnung von elektromagnetischen Effekten, inklusive nicht-ionisierenden Strahlungen (NIS); Grundlagen für Materialmodelle; numerische Simulation hochdynamischer Phänomene.

Technologiedemonstratoren

WTF_FoPrgm4_TD_30mm-APFSDS-Zerstört_Format-3-2

In Zusammenarbeit mit RUAG Defence wurde die Möglichkeit untersucht, sich vor Pfeilmunition aktiv zu schützen. Dazu wurden Versuche mit 30mm bis 120mm Munition durchgeführt. Die Ergebnisse illustrieren die Machbarkeit solcher Aktivschutzsysteme und zeigen, welche zeitliche und räumliche Präzision erreicht werden muss, um die notwendige Schutzwirkung zu erzielen.

WTF_FoPrgm4_TD2_IED-GDELS

Der Experimentalsensor ermöglicht die räumliche Rundumabdeckung, was insbesondere für Überwachungsaufgaben von Interesse ist. Beobachtungsbereiche in unterschiedlicher Richtung können gleichzeitig erfasst werden.

WTF_FoPrgm4_TD3 Thermobarics_2

Modell-Ladungen mit gut reproduzierbaren endballistischen Eigenschaften wurden in Kooperation mit GDELS/Mowag entwickelt. Die Geschosse sollen ähnliche Charakteristiken aufweisen, wie diejenigen von in Irak und Afghanistan aufgefundenen IED-Ladungen. Das Schutzvermögen von passiven Schutzsystemen wird damit untersucht und eventuell verbessert.

Forschungsprogrammleiter

Forschungsprogrammleiter
Dr. André Koch

Unser Forschungsprogrammleiter "Wirkung, Schutz und Sicherheit" freut sich über Ihr Interesse! 

Downloads


Wissenschaft und Technologie Fachbereich Forschungsmanagement
und Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 29 11

Leiter Forschungsprogramm

Dr. André Koch

E-Mail


Kontakt drucken

Wissenschaft und Technologie

Fachbereich Forschungsmanagement
und Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun

Karte ansehen