Research Program 3 - Cyberspace and Information

Information superiority through technological lead

Cyberspace und Information

The armed forces' operational capabilities in cyberspace are becoming increasingly important. The 'Cyberspace and Information' research program is developing the necessary expertise so as to extend traditional military capabilities in the areas of intelligence and command and control into the operational  domain of cyberspace. This is  achieved through research projects, demonstrators in laboratory  environements, and experiments in real-life environments.

 

 

Areas of expertise

WTF_FoPrgm3_KF1_CyberDefense

Digital interconnectedness leads to information and communication infrastructures being increasingly misused by criminals, terrorists, intelligence services or for the purposes of power politics. New security technologies and cyber defence concepts are being examined to identify threats at an early stage and to increase resilience to them in cyberspace.

WTF_FoPrgm3_KF2_Informationsmanagement

Having the right information of the right quality at the right time is essential for operational command and control. Expertise is developed so as to be able to assess the latest information systems and architectures in view of the increasing volume, speed and heterogeneity of data from cyberspace (the big data problem).

WTF_FoPrgm3_KF3_Informationsfusion-Visualisierung

Modern analytical processes mean that data from a range of sensors and sources of information have to be combined and presented in a uniform context. Activities focus on new semantic and probabilistic ways of fusing and visualizing information so as to keep track of the situation and issue alerts.

WTF_FoPrgm3_KF4_Informationsbeschaffung

Acquiring information from publicly accessible sources in cyberspace offers fresh opportunities but also involves significant risks. New procedures for acquiring information will be examined and various approaches evaluated so that the interests and the identity of the people searching for information can be better protected.

Technology demonstrators

Main social networks connected by a triangle mesh
Main social networks connected by a triangle mesh

Analysing information from social media presents novel technical and analytical challenges. A demonstrator is being developed at S+T to investigate and present in a simple way technologies and procedures for acquiring information from, analysing and visualizing data obtained from social media.

Research Program Manager

Forschungsprogrammleiter
Dr. Vincent Lenders

Our "Cyberspace and Information" research program manager is delighted at your interest.

Downloads


Science and Technology C4I-Networks
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 27 68

Research Program Manager

Dr. Vincent Lenders
E-Mail


Print contact

Science and Technology

C4I-Networks
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun

Show map

Forschungsprogramm 3 - Cyberspace und Information

Informationsüberlegenheit durch Technologievorsprung

Cyberspace und Information

Die operationellen Fähigkeiten der Armee nehmen im Cyberpace stark an Bedeutung zu. Das Forschungsprogramm Cyberspace und Information baut die notwenigen Expertenkompetenz auf, um die traditionellen militärischen Fähigkeiten in den Bereichen Nachrichtendienst und Führung in der Operationssphäre Cyberspace auszubauen. Dies wird durch Forschungsprojekte und Demonstratoren in Laborversuchen und im realen Umfeld sichergestellt.

 

 

Kompetenzfelder

WTF_FoPrgm3_KF1_CyberDefense

Die digitale Vernetzung führt dazu, dass Informations- und Kommunikationsinfrastrukturen für kriminelle, nachrichten-dienstliche, machtpolitische oder terroristische Zwecke vermehrt missbraucht werden. Zur frühzeitigen Erkennung von Bedrohungen und zur Erhöhung der Widerstandsfähigkeit im Cyberspace werden neue Sicherheitstechnologien und Cyber-Abwehrkonzepte untersucht.

WTF_FoPrgm3_KF2_Informationsmanagement

Die richtige Information in der richtige Qualität und zur richtigen Zeit zu haben ist essentiell für die operative Führung. Kompetenzen werden aufgebaut um moderne Informationssysteme und Architekturen hinsichtlich steigender Menge, Geschwindigkeit und Heterogenität der Daten aus dem Cyberspace (Big Data Problematik) beurteilen zu können.

WTF_FoPrgm3_KF3_Informationsfusion-Visualisierung

Moderne Analyseverfahren erfordern Daten aus unterschiedlichen Sensoren und Informationsquellen zu verknüpfen und in einen gemeinsamen Kontext zu bringen. Der Fokus liegt auf neuen semantischen und probabilistischen Methoden zur Fusion und Visualisierung von Informationen für die Lageverfolgung und Alarmierung.

WTF_FoPrgm3_KF4_Informationsbeschaffung

Die Beschaffung von Informationen aus öffentlich zugänglichen Quellen im Cyberspace bietet neue Chancen, aber auch erhebliche Risiken. Neue Verfahren zur Beschaffung von Informationen werden untersucht sowie Ansätze evaluiert um die Interessen und Identität der Suchenden besser zu schützen.

Technologiedemonstrator

Main social networks connected by a triangle mesh
Main social networks connected by a triangle mesh

Die Auswertung von Informationen aus sozialen Medien stellt neuartige technische und analytische Herausforderungen dar. Anhand eines Demonstrators werden bei W+T neue Technologien und Verfahren für die Informationsbeschaffung, Analyse und Visualisierung von Daten aus sozialen Medien untersucht und in einer einfachen Art präsentiert.

Forschungsprogrammleiter

Forschungsprogrammleiter
Dr. Vincent Lenders

Unser Forschungsprogrammleiter "Cyberspace und Information" freut sich über Ihr Interesse! 

Downloads


Wissenschaft und Technologie Fachbereich C4I Netzwerke
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 27 68

Leiter Forschungsprogramm

Dr. Vincent Lenders
E-Mail


Kontakt drucken

Wissenschaft und Technologie

Fachbereich C4I Netzwerke
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun

Karte ansehen