Research Program 2 - Communication

Communications technologies at the forefront of command, control, communications, computers and information systems.

Kommunikation

Information and communications technologies develop rapidly, and their development cycles are correspondingly short. There is therefore a risk of technologies becoming obsolete within a foreseeable period. This risk needs to be countered by employing new solutions which balance technology against cost. In order to develop the necessary technnological and scientific expertise, technology monitoring studies, research projects, and field and laboratory trials are carried out and demonstrators are built. A multi-lateral collaborative network is available for this purpose.

 

 

Areas of expertise

Kommunikationssysteme

The development in communications networks is being investigated by integrating the relevant technologies in a modular fashion. Approaches directed towards continuously and intelligently optimizing resource allocations will be examined in accordance with the operational requirements and based on the current resource situation.

WTF_FoPrgm2_KF2_Effiziente_Anwendung_EM_Raum1

In addition to optimizing spectral efficiency, smart antennae can also lead to a lower detectability and reduced energy requirements. The cognitive radio approach allows the available frequency bands to be allocated more intelligently, flexibly and economically.

WTF_FoPrgm2_KF3_Militärische_Relevanz_ziv_Kommunikationstech

The rapid pace of technical development and the resulting short life cycles of civilian telecommunications systems mean that military applications have to constantly adopt new designs and technical systems. The options for developing military communications networks are examined by continuously incorporating the relevant new civilian technologies.

Technology demonstrators

TD1_Software Defined Radio

The RECOMS platform developed by the Engineering School in Yverdon combines a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) and a Linux computer as well as a software development environment designed to examine wave forms and new methods for software defined and cognitive radios in real-life environments.

WTF_FoPrgm2_TD2

An autonomous swarm of micro-aerial vehicles is being used to investigate broadband communications networks between aerial platforms and/or units deployed on the ground.

Research Program Manager

Forschungsprogrammleiter
Dr. Alain Jaquier

Our "Communications" research program manager is delighted at your interest!

Downloads


Science and Technology Networks and Protection
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 27 41

Research Program Manager

Dr. Alain Jaquier

E-Mail


Print contact

Science and Technology

Networks and Protection
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun

Show map

Forschungsprogramm 2 - Kommunikation

Die Kommunikationstechnologien im Zentrum der Führungs- und Informationssysteme.

Kommunikation

Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien entwickeln sich rasch, die Entwicklungszyklen sind entsprechend kurz. Deshalb besteht ein Risiko, dass Technologien in absehbarer Zeit obsoleszent werden. Diesem Risiko muss mit neuen, technisch und wirtschaftlich ausgewogen Lösungen, begegnet werden. Um die notwendige technisch-wissenschaftliche Expertenkompetenz aufzubauen, werden Technologiemonitoringstudien, Forschungsprojekte sowie Feld- und Laborversuche mit Demonstratoren durchgeführt, wobei ein multi-laterales Kooperationsnetzwerk genutzt werden kann.

 

 

Kompetenzfelder

Kommunikationssysteme

Die Entwicklung von Kommunikationsnetzwerken wird durch modulare Integration relevanter Technologien untersucht. Ansätze bezüglich der kontinuierlichen und intelligenten Optimierung der Ressourcenverteilung werden gemäss dem aktuellen Einsatzbedarf und gestützt auf die Lageinformation überprüft.

WTF_FoPrgm2_KF2_Effiziente_Anwendung_EM_Raum1

Smart Antennen können neben der Optimierung der spektralen Effizienz die Detektierbarkeit und den Energiebedarf reduzieren. Der Ansatz des kognitiven Radios ermöglicht, dass die zur Verfügung stehenden Frequenzbänder intelligenter, flexibler und ökonomischer belegt werden.

WTF_FoPrgm2_KF3_Militärische_Relevanz_ziv_Kommunikationstech

Der rasante Verlauf der technischen Entwicklung und die damit verbundenen kurzen Systemlebenszyklen der zivilen Telekommunikationsmittel haben für die militärische Anwendung den Einsatz stets neuer Konzepte und technischer Systeme zur Folge. Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten für militärische Kommunikationsnetzwerke werden durch die kontinuierliche Einbindung relevanter und neuer ziviler Technologien geprüft.

Technologiedemonstratoren

TD1_Software Defined Radio

Die Plattform RECOMS der Ingenieurschule in Yverdon kombiniert einen Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) und einen Linux Rechner sowie eine Software Entwicklungsumgebung um Wellenformen und neue Verfahren für Software Defined Radio und Cognitive Radio in realen Umgebungen zu untersuchen.

WTF_FoPrgm2_TD2

Ein autonomer Schwarm von Mikrodrohnen wird eingesetzt um breitbandige Kommunikationsnetzwerke zwischen luftgestützten Plattformen und /oder Einsatzkräften am Boden zu untersuchen.

Forschungsprogrammleiter

Forschungsprogrammleiter
Dr. Alain Jaquier

Unser Forschungsprogrammleiter "Kommunikation" freut sich über Ihr Interesse! 

Downloads


Wissenschaft und Technologie Fachbereich Kommunikation und elektromagnetischer Schutz
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 27 41

Leiter Forschungsprogramm

Dr. Alain Jaquier

E-Mail


Kontakt drucken

Wissenschaft und Technologie

Fachbereich Kommunikation und elektromagnetischer Schutz
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun

Karte ansehen