Research Program 1 - Reconnaissance and Surveillance

Information superiority from modern electronics and intelligent algorithms

Aufklärung und Überwachung

The Reconnaissance and Surveillance research program being undertaken by the specialist Science and Technology competence sector at armasuisse is working on five capability-oriented areas of expertise within the overall sphere of ISTAR (Intelligence, Surveillance, Target Acquisition and Reconnaissance). To this end, new ways of acquiring information are being identified and the technical and scientific expertise needed to fill the armed forces capability gaps is being developed. This will be achieved with the aid of a multilateral collaborative network.

 

 

Areas of expertise

KF1_Luftraumaufklaerung_der_Zukunft

Progress in antenna and high-frequency technologies and in algorithmics will allow the development of new applications in future. The topics being researched are cognitive, multi-static and passive radar systems. Account also needs to be taken of disruptive effects such as topography-related echo signals and the backscatter pattern from flying objects. New approaches to detecting drones are being evaluated.

KF2_Moderne_IMINT_Technologien_fuer_Abstandsaufklaerung

Compared with traditional systems, technological progress promises better detection of ground targets by using hyperspectral sensors, for example. Important information can be captured using imaging radar sensors (SAR) even in bad weather. Further developments in SAR technology on multi-channel systems hold out the promise of being able to record human activity on the ground in real time.

KF3_Intelligente_vernetzte_Ueberwachung_AktivitaetenBoden

Because of the constant increase in the volume of data captured, intelligent pre-analysis close to the sensor is gaining in importance. In addition, the trend towards networking offers the prospect of carrying out surveillance tasks with less human input. The goal of this area of expertise is to identify and assess the trends and limits of intelligent and networked surveillance.

Leistungsgrenze moderner Sensorik
Improvements to detectors

Improvements to detectors and sensors are being evaluated as regards their performance limits. This affects multi-sensory systems, miniaturization and sensors which make use of new spectral bands, and new possibilities for wide-angle reconnaissance. New approaches to extending sensor operating distances or to employing them in built-up areas (e.g. 'through wall sensing') are also being explored.

KF5_Zieldetektion-und-Tarnanalyse

The characteristics of targets and their backgrounds are recorded for radar, visual, hyperspectral, infrared-based and acoustic sensors. The main priorities are signature analysis and analysis of the human impact on evaluation. In addition, this area of expertise is surveying and assessing progress towards multi-spectral, mobile and adaptive camouflage.

Technology demonstrators

Demonstrator_1_Miniaturisierter_Gefechtsfeldradar

The FERAMO experimental field radar is used for close-range reconnaissance tasks (a few hundred meters). It can detect people, vehicle and small drones.

Demonstrator_2_GigaEye

The experimental sensor permits complete all-round coverage, which is of particular interest for surveillance tasks. This allows simultaneous observation of sectors in a variety of different directions.

MIRANDA Radarsensor
MIRANDA

The MIRANDA technology demonstrator allows images of the ground to be taken from the air even during bad weather when other sensors are unable to deliver any useable information. Quicklook pictures have been transmitted in real time up to a distance of 120km and high-resolution SAR images have produced resolutions of up to 15 cm.

Passivradar
passive radar

The main advantage for users of passive radar systems is that it is extremely difficult to determine the location of the receiver. However, the technology is complex and its performance limits are largely unknown. By employing a receiver infrastructure and using scientific analysis methods, expertise in evaluating passive radars is being developed within S+T and in cooperation with research partners.

WTF_FoPrgm1_TD5_HostileFireIndication

Due to engine noise, helicopter crews are unlikely to hear gunshots aimed at their aircraft. It is therefore even more important in such cases for pilots to receive automatic warnings indicating the proximity of hazardous zones. In order to develop expertise in this area, a Cougar helicopter has been fitted with 14 special microphones for test purposes.

Demonstrator_5_a_Multisensor

The desired reconnaissance result can often not be achieved with a single sensor. The multi-sensor platform makes it possible to exploit the potential of sensor data fusion.

Demonstrator_6_AdaptiveIR_Tarnung

This project examines demonstration camouflage kits which adapt vehicles to match their background (immediate surroundings). This type of adaptation is of interest in both the thermal infrared and visual electromagnetic spectrum.

Research Program Manager

Forschungsprogrammleiter
Dr. Peter Wellig

Our "Reconnaissance and Surveillance" research program manager is delighted at your interest!

Downloads


Science and Technology Research Management
and Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 28 10

Research Program Manager

Dr. Peter Wellig

E-Mail


Print contact

Science and Technology

Research Management
and Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun

Show map

Forschungsprogramm 1 - Aufklärung und Überwachung

Informationsüberlegenheit dank moderner Elektronik und intelligenter Algorithmen

Aufklärung und Überwachung

Das Forschungsprogramm Aufklärung und Überwachung des Kompetenzbereiches Wissenschaft und Technologie der armasuisse bearbeitet fünf fähigkeitsorientierte Kompetenzfelder im Bereich ISTAR (Intelligence, Surveillance, Target Acquisition and Reconnaissance). Dazu werden neue Möglichkeiten zur Informationsbeschaffung aufgezeigt und technisch- wissenschaftliche Fachkompetenzen zu den Fähigkeitslücken der Armee aufgebaut. Dies wird mit Hilfe eines multi-lateralen Kooperationsnetzwerkes sichergestellt.

 

 

Kompetenzfelder

KF1_Luftraumaufklaerung_der_Zukunft

Die Fortschritte in Antennentechnologie, Hochfrequenztechnik und Algorithmik werden zukünftig neue Anwendungen ermöglichen. Forschungsthemen sind kognitive, multistatische oder passive Radarsysteme. Auch Störeffekte, wie topographisch bedingte Echosignale als auch das Rückstreuverhalten von Flugobjekten, gilt es zu berücksichtigen. Für die Detektion von Drohnen werden neue Ansätze evaluiert.

KF2_Moderne_IMINT_Technologien_fuer_Abstandsaufklaerung

Technologiefortschritte versprechen im Vergleich zu traditionellen Systemen eine bessere Erkennung von Bodenzielen, z.B. mit Hyperspektralsensoren. Wichtige Informationen können auch bei schlechtem Wetter mit abbildenden Radarsensoren (SAR) erfasst werden. Die Weiterentwicklung der SAR-Technologie auf mehrkanalige Systeme verspricht menschliche Aktivitäten am Boden in Echtzeit zu erfassen.

KF3_Intelligente_vernetzte_Ueberwachung_AktivitaetenBoden

Aufgrund der stetig zunehmenden Menge an erfassten Daten gewinnt eine intelligente sensornahe Vorauswertung an Bedeutung. Der zusätzliche Trend zur Vernetzung verspricht Überwachungsaufgaben mit kleinem Personalaufwand zu lösen. In diesem Kompetenzfeld gilt es die Trends und Grenzen der intelligenten und vernetzten Überwachung zu erfassen und zu beurteilen.

Leistungsgrenze moderner Sensorik
Leistungsgrenze moderner Sensorik

Die Fortschritte der Detektoren und Sensoren werden in Bezug auf die Leistungsgrenzen beurteilt. Dies betrifft Multisensorik, Miniaturisierung und Sensorik, welche auf neue spektrale Bänder zugreifen, sowie neue Möglichkeiten in der Weitwinkelaufklärung. Es werden auch neue Ansätze zur Erweiterung der Sensordistanzen oder für Einsätze im urbanen Gelände (z.B. Through Wall Sensing) untersucht.

KF5_Zieldetektion-und-Tarnanalyse

Die Eigenschaften von Zielen und Hintergrund werden für Radar-, visuelle, hyperspektrale, infrarotbasierte und akustische Sensoren erfasst. Im Zentrum stehen die Signaturanalyse und die Analyse menschlicher Einflüsse bei der Auswertung. Im Weiteren werden in dem Kompetenzfeld die Fortschritte zu multispektraler, mobiler und adaptiver Tarnung erhoben und beurteilt.

Technologiedemonstratoren

Demonstrator_1_Miniaturisierter_Gefechtsfeldradar

Das Experimentalfeldradar FERAMO wird für Aufklärungszwecke im Nahbereich (einige 100m) eingesetzt. Personen, Fahrzeuge und Kleindrohnen können erfasst werden.

Demonstrator_2_GigaEye

Der Experimentalsensor ermöglicht die räumliche Rundumabdeckung, was insbesondere für Überwachungsaufgaben von Interesse ist. Beobachtungsbereiche in unterschiedlicher Richtung können gleichzeitig erfasst werden.

MIRANDA Radarsensor
MIRANDA Radarsensor

Der Technologiedemonstrator MIRANDA ermöglicht luftgestützte Aufnahmen des Bodens auch bei schlechten Wetterverhältnissen, bei denen andere Sensoren keine brauchbaren Informationen liefern. Quicklookbilder konnten bis zu einer Entfernung von 120 km in Echtzeit übertragen werden und hochaufgelöste SAR-Bilder zeigten Auflösungen bis zu 15 cm.

Passivradar
Passivradar

Der Hauptvorteil für den Anwender von Passivradarsystemen ist, dass eine Lokalisierung des Empfängers äusserst schwierig ist. Allerdings ist die Technologie komplex und die Grenzleistungen weitgehend unbekannt. Mittels einer Empfängerinfrastruktur und wissenschaftlichen Analysemethoden werden Beurteilungskompetenzen zu Passivradar innerhalb W+T und in Kooperation mit Forschungspartnern aufgebaut.

WTF_FoPrgm1_TD5_HostileFireIndication

Gewehrschüsse auf Helikopter sind für die Crew kaum hörbar, da sie im Helikopterlärm untergehen. Umso wichtiger wäre es für den Piloten im Ereignisfall automatische Warnungen und Hinweise auf Gefahrenzonen zu erhalten. Um Beurteilungskompetenzen hierzu aufzubauen, wurde ein Cougar-Helikopter mit 14 Spezialmikrofonen für Testzwecke ausgestattet.

Demonstrator_5_a_Multisensor

Mit einem Sensor alleine lässt sich oft nicht das gewünschte Aufklärungsresultat erzielen. Die Multisensorplattform ermöglicht das Potenzial der Sensordatenfusion zu nutzen.

Demonstrator_6_AdaptiveIR_Tarnung

In diesem Projekt werden Tarn-Demonstratoren untersucht, mit welchen Fahrzeuge an den Hintergrund (lokale Umgebung) angepasst werden. Von Interesse ist die Anpassung sowohl im thermischen Infrarot wie auch im visuellen elektromagnetischen Spektrum.

Forschungsprogrammleiter

Forschungsprogrammleiter
Dr. Peter Wellig

Unser Forschungsprogrammleiter "Aufklärung und Überwachung" freut sich über Ihr Interesse! 

Downloads


Wissenschaft und Technologie Fachbereich Forschungsmanagement
und Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 28 10

Leiter Forschungsprogramm

Dr. Peter Wellig

E-Mail


Kontakt drucken

Wissenschaft und Technologie

Fachbereich Forschungsmanagement
und Operations Research
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun

Karte ansehen