print preview

Cyber-Defence and Information

Security organizations are increasingly reliant on reliable and secure communication and information-gathering means. Close attention, therefore, needs to be paid to technological developments and threats in cyberspace. This means that information security is not merely a matter of technology. Adequate effectiveness of protective measures need to be continuously verified and tuned with the responsible agencies for them to act quickly and effectively in care of a cyber attack. Attacks of this type occur soundlessly and without warning, and the slightest weak point can result in major damage.

td2

Risk analysis of information and communication systems

armasuisse_GHH_3_026

The effectiveness of security plans and security measures needs to be constantly validated under operational and threat scenarios. Plans are reviewed and formal information system audits are conducted for this purpose. These can be supplemented by verification and penetration tests for assessing the suitability, robustness and reliability of measures for protecting the flow of information.

Information management and information security management

armasuisse_GHH_3_035

A central task performed by information management and information security management is to design and improve control and performance delivery procedures in the field of information and communication technologies (ICT). This includes continuously and comprehensively assessing strategy, objectives and outcomes, and the potential risks to the ICT function.

Developing «cyber-defence» expertise

armasuisse_GHH_3_054

The Armed Forces are reliant on precisely targeted monitoring of developments in technology with respect to threats. Scenarios which include possible courses of action and sustainable, risk-based protective measures are defined for the long term. To achieve this, we design and implement prototypes and demonstrators. This allows decision-makers, developers and users to close the gap between aspirations and specific requirements and to manage complexity.

Cyber-Defence Campus

Defence_Campus_Keyvisual

Thanks to its wide-ranging expertise and international competence network, the Cyber Defence Campus is the link between the DDPS, industry, academic institutions and hacker communities when it comes to all things related to cyber security. To be able to keep one step ahead of cyber threats and developments in this area, the CYD Campus works closely with academic institutions such as the ETHZ and the EPFL and, where possible, also involves partners from industry.

CYD Campus

Factsheet 1

SDR system architecture

Software

Software-defined radio (SDR) systems are ideally structured in the same way as conventional radios. The signal first passes through the RF front end, before being processed and finally output for the user. 

Read more...

Factsheet 2

Software which tells the hardware what to do.....

Software

The technological trend points to the decreasing specialisation of hardware components. For the most part, ICT systems will in future be controlled primarily by software.

In the past, hardware components tended to be replaced by cheaper and higher-performance hardware components: ever faster processors and larger memories were the order of the day. But now hardware components are controlled by software and hence one is networked with the other. The general virtualisation of all ICT resources promises greater flexibility at lower cost by dividing up the available resources appropriately and deploying them according to need. Rigorous specialisation through software configuration and control makes it possible, for example, to adapt the necessary processing, memory and network elements flexibly in line with functional and performance requirements. In figurative terms, it is thus possible to switch within a short time from a large auditorium to several separate classrooms – or vice versa – as capacity can be freely allocated. But this increased flexibility also means greater risks. The experts at S+T examine all types of software and hardware systems by regularly testing them, comparing them and checking their safety.

Factsheet 3

Practice makes perfect – the world of simulator training

Cockpit

S+T has produced a summary of existing training and simulator systems. Training facilities are a vital element in all security-related organizations – not least of all the Swiss Armed Forces, given the growing shortage of training opportunities, training periods and training staff. It is essential to keep developing these facilities with a view to optimizing the usefulness of the training results.

Factsheet 4

Methodical decision-making processes – a strategic core competency in a changing environment

Bereitstellung für Vorversuch
Practice-proven: equipment ready for preliminary testing

Organizations with security-related roles such as the DDPS, the police or the cantons are constantly confronted with the need to adapt to a rapidly changing environment. Here a methodical approach is beneficial to decision-making and also saves costs. In this context, S+T is conducting a multi-phase proof-of-principle trial. This covers the whole process from the initial on-screen simulation and the initial field trials through to full-scale exercises with armed forces personnel.

Factsheet 5

armasuisse - ETH Zurich team receives Best Paper Award

Best Paper Award
Best Paper Award

Vincent Lenders (armasuisse Science and Technology) together with David Gugelmann, Fabian Gasser and Bernhard Ager (ETH Zurich) have received an award at the annual Digital Forensic Research Workshop conference (DFRWS EU 2015) in Dublin.

Read more...


Sciences and technology C4I-Networks
Mr. Adrian Turtschi
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 468 27 52
Fax
+41 58 468 28 41

E-Mail

Sciences and technology

C4I-Networks
Mr. Adrian Turtschi
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun

print preview

Cyber-Defence und Information

Sicherheitsorganisationen sind immer stärker auf zuverlässige und sichere Informations- und Kommunikationsmittel angewiesen. Daher müssen die technologischen Entwicklungen und Bedrohungen im Informationsraum (Cyberspace) aufmerksam verfolgt werden. Informationssicherheit ist deshalb weit mehr als bloss Technologie. Die hinreichende Wirksamkeit von Schutzmassnahmen muss laufend mit den Einsatzverantwortlichen überprüft und abgestimmt werden, um im Fall eines Angriffs auf Informationen und Systeme schneller und effektiver handeln zu können. Solche Angriffe erfolgen lautlos, überraschend und können bei geringsten Schwachstellen grosse Schäden erzeugen.

WTF_FoPrgm2_TD2

Risikoanalyse Informations- und Kommunikationssysteme

armasuisse_GHH_3_026


Die Wirkung der Sicherheitskonzepte und der Sicherheitsmassnahmen müssen stetig unter Einsatz- und Bedrohungsszenarien nachgewiesen werden. Dazu werden Konzeptionsreviews und formale Information Systems Audits durchgeführt. Ergänzt werden können diese durch sogenannte Verifikations- und Penetrationstests, welche darüber Auskunft geben, wie leistungsfähig, robust und vertrauenswürdig der Informationsfluss sichergestellt ist.

Informationsmanagement und Informationssicherheitsmanagement

armasuisse_GHH_3_035


Eine zentrale Aufgabe des Informationsmanagements und Informationssicherheitsmanagements ist, die Steuerungs- und Leistungserstellungsprozesse im Bereich Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie (IKT) zu gestalten und zu verbessern. Dazu gehört, dass die Strategie, Zielsetzungen und Ergebnisse laufend und die Risiken der IKT-Funktion umfassend beurteilt werden.

Kompetenzentwicklung «Cyber-Defence»

armasuisse_GHH_3_054


Die Armee ist auf ein gezieltes Monitoring der Technologie- und Bedrohungsentwicklung angewiesen. Szenarien mit möglichen Handlungsoptionen und nachhaltigen, risikobasierten Schutzmassnahmen werden langfristig definiert. Dafür werden Prototypen und Demonstratoren entworfen und umgesetzt. Dies erlaubt Entscheidträgern, Entwickler und Anwender die Lücke von Vorstellungen hin zu konkreten Anforderungen zu schliessen und die Komplexität zu beherrschen.

Cyber-Defence Campus

Defence_Campus_Keyvisual

Der Cyber-Defence Campus stellt durch sein breites Know-how und sein internationales Kompetenznetzwerk das Bindeglied zwischen VBS, der Industrie, der Akademie und Hacker Communities in allen cyberrelevanten Themen dar. Um mit den rasanten Entwicklungen und den Bedrohungen im Bereich Cyber Schritt zu halten, wird der CYD Campus eng mit den akademischen Institutionen wie der ETHZ oder der EPFL zusammenarbeiten. Wo immer möglich wird zudem die Industrie mit eingebunden.

CYD Campus

Factsheet 1

SDR Systemarchitektur

Software WTC4i

Software-defined Radio (SDR) Systeme werden optimalerweise in einer Struktur aufgebaut, wie dies bereits von klassischen Radios bekannt ist. Dabei passiert das Signal zuerst das RF Frontend, danach wird das Signal verarbeitet und zum Schluss für den Benutzer ausgegeben.

Lesen Sie mehr...

Factsheet 2

Die Software sagt der Hardware, wo es lang geht...

Cockpit FA/18

Der Technologietrend geht in die Richtung, dass sich die Spezialisierung von Hardwarekomponenten auflöst. Gesteuert werden die IKT Systeme primär nur noch über die Software.

Früher wurden Hardware-Komponenten jeweils durch eine günstigere mit höherer Leistungsfähigkeit bestückten Hardware-Komponenten ausgetauscht: Noch ein schnellerer Prozessor, noch mehr Speicher war die Devise. Mittlerweile werden Hardware-Kompontenten über Software gesteuert und somit miteinander vernetzt. Die generelle Virtualisierung aller IKT Ressourcen verspricht mehr Flexibilität zu tieferen Kosten, indem sie die verfügaren Ressourcen geeignet aufteilt und bedarfsgerecht einsetzt. Die konsequente Spezialisierung durch Softwarekonfiguration und -steuerung ermöglicht es beispielsweise, die notwendigen Verarbeitungs-, Speicher- und Netzwerkelemente mittels Softwarekonfiguration auf den benötigten Funktions- und Leistungsbedarf anzupassen und elastisch anzupassen. Es ist also, bildlich gesprochen, möglich, in kurzer Zeit von einem grossen Konferenzsaal in mehrere getrennte Schulungsräume zu wecheln und umgekehrt, da die Kapazitäten frei zugeordnet werden können. Zunehmender Gewinn an Flexibilität heisst aber gleichzeitig auch mehr Risiken. Die Experten von W+T untersuchen jegliche Soft- und Hardware-Systeme, indem sie diese regelmässig testen, vergleichen und sie auf ihre Sicherheit überprüfen.

Factsheet 3

Übung macht den Meister – die Welt des Simulationstrainings

Cockpit FA/18

W+T hat mit einer Übersicht den Bestand von Ausbildungs- und Simulationssystemen zusammengestellt. Ausbildung ist zentraler Pfeiler für alle Sicherheitsorganisationen, gerade bei der Schweizer Armee, da Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten, -zeiten und Ausbilder zunehmend knapper werden. Die Entwicklung gestützt auf eine Nutzwertoptimierung mit Blick auf die Ausbildungsergebnisse bleibt zentral.

Lesen Sie mehr...

Factsheet 4

armasuisse - ETH Zürich-Team erhält Best Paper Award

Best Paper Award
Best Paper Award

Vincent Lenders (armasuisse Wissenschaft und Technologie) sowie David Gugelmann, Fabian Gasser und Bernhard Ager (ETH Zürich) wurden an der jährlichen Forschungskonferenz für digitale Forensik (DFRWS EU 2015) in Dublin ausgezeichnet.

Lesen Sie mehr...

Factsheet 5

Methodische Entscheidungsfindung als strategische Kernkompe-tenz im veränderlichen Umfeld

Bereitstellung für Vorversuch
In der Praxis erprobt : Bereitstellung für Vor- versuch

Sicherheitsorganisationen wie das VBS, die Polizei oder die Kantone stehen vor der ständigen Aufgabe, sich in einem schnell entwickelnden Umfeld anzupassen. Methodisches Vorgehen schafft damit Entscheidungskompetenz und spart zusätzlich Kosten. W+T führt anlässlich eines Prinzipversuchs eine mehrstufige Untersuchung durch. Dabei geht es von der Simulation am Bildschirm bis in die ersten Vorversuche ins Feld zu einer Volltruppenübung.


Wissenschaft und Technologie Cyber-Defence und Information
Dr. Vincent Lenders
Feuerwerkerstrasse 39
CH-3602 Thun
Tel.
+41 58 480 10 65
Fax
+41 58 468 28 41

E-Mail

Cyber-Defence Campus